DETAILED ACTION
The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA . Pursuant to communications filed on 25 March 2025, this is a First Action Non-Final Rejection on the Merits. Claims 1-20 are currently pending in the instant application.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 15 April 2025 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement has been considered by the Examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 14-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 14, Applicant provides the claim limitation, “wherein the proximal-link planes have uneven angular spacings in a link-plane parallel to the backplane” however, based on the currently provided claim language, it is unclear what the metes and bounds of this limitation encompass, and therefore claim 14 is rendered indefinite. Specifically, it is unclear what the metes and bounds regarding the proximal-link planes having “uneven angular spacings” correlates to and therefore claim 14 is rejected under this section. Accordingly, appropriate correction and/or clarification are earnestly solicited.
Regarding claims 15-20, these claims are either directly or indirectly dependent upon independent claim 14 and therefore are also rejected under this section for at least their dependency upon a rejected base claim.
Examiner notes wherein the claim have been addressed below in view of the prior art, as best understood by the Examiner, in light of the 35 USC 112(b), or second paragraph, rejections provided herein.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3 and 14-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Ilch (US 10,507,576 B2).
Regarding claim 1, Ilch teaches a robot comprising:
a vertical backplane (Figure 1, base 1; at least as in column 5, lines 6-10, wherein “FIGS. 1 to 5 show a model embodiment of an industrial robot with parallel kinematics according to the delta principle having a robot base 1, a carrier element 2 to which a gripper, a tool or a machine element can be arranged, and three actuating units 4 in the form of control arms.”);
three actuators (Figure 1, actuating units 4) mounted to the vertical backplane, each actuator defining an axis of rotation (Figure 1; at least as in column 5, lines 12-15, wherein “Each of the three actuating units is connected by means of a drive shaft not identifiable in the drawing to an actuating-unit drive 6 in the form of a motor. The actuating-unit drives generate a torque.”); and
three arms each extending from a respective one of the actuators (Figure 1, actuating units 4; at least as in column 5, lines 6-26, wherein “FIGS. 1 to 5 show a model embodiment of an industrial robot with parallel kinematics according to the delta principle having a robot base 1, a carrier element 2 to which a gripper, a tool or a machine element can be arranged, and three actuating units 4 in the form of control arms.” and further wherein “All three actuating units 4 have the same design. The actuating units 4 comprise an upper arm section 7 and a lower arm section 8.”), each arm including:
a proximal link (Figure 1, upper arm section 7) connected to the respective one of the actuators (Figure 1; at least as in column 5, lines 16-26, wherein “The actuating units 4 comprise an upper arm section 7 and a lower arm section 8. The upper arm section 7 is characterised by high stability and low weight. Each actuating-unit drive 6 transmits a torque to the upper arm section 7 connected to it. The lower arm section 8 comprises two parallel running rods 9 and 10. The two rods 9 and 10 of the lower arm section 8 of an actuating unit 4 are connected by means of joints 11 at their upper end to the upper arm section 7 of the actuating unit 4 and by means of joints 12 to the carrier element 2.”);
a distal link (Figure 1, lower arm section 8) connected to the proximal link via a first rotary joint (Figure 1; at least as in column 5, lines 16-26, wherein “The actuating units 4 comprise an upper arm section 7 and a lower arm section 8. The upper arm section 7 is characterised by high stability and low weight. Each actuating-unit drive 6 transmits a torque to the upper arm section 7 connected to it. The lower arm section 8 comprises two parallel running rods 9 and 10. The two rods 9 and 10 of the lower arm section 8 of an actuating unit 4 are connected by means of joints 11 at their upper end to the upper arm section 7 of the actuating unit 4 and by means of joints 12 to the carrier element 2.”); and
an end effector (Figure 1, carrier element 2) connected to each of the distal links via a second rotary joint (Figure 1; at least as in column 5, lines 6-26, wherein “FIGS. 1 to 5 show a model embodiment of an industrial robot with parallel kinematics according to the delta principle having a robot base 1, a carrier element 2 to which a gripper, a tool or a machine element can be arranged, and three actuating units 4 in the form of control arms.” and further wherein “The actuating units 4 comprise an upper arm section 7 and a lower arm section 8. The upper arm section 7 is characterised by high stability and low weight. Each actuating-unit drive 6 transmits a torque to the upper arm section 7 connected to it. The lower arm section 8 comprises two parallel running rods 9 and 10. The two rods 9 and 10 of the lower arm section 8 of an actuating unit 4 are connected by means of joints 11 at their upper end to the upper arm section 7 of the actuating unit 4 and by means of joints 12 to the carrier element 2.”).
Regarding claim 2, Ilch further teaches wherein a first of the proximal links pivots in a first plane orthogonal to the vertical backplane and a pair of the proximal links pivots in a second plane orthogonal to both the first plane and the vertical backplane (Figure 1; at least as in column 5, lines 6-26).
Regarding claim 3, Ilch further teaches wherein the end effector has exactly three pairs of rotary joints (Figure 1, joints 12), one of the pairs for each of the three distal links (Figure 1; at least as in column 5, lines 6-26).
Regarding claim 14, Ilch teaches a robot comprising:
a backplane (Figure 1, base 1; at least as in column 5, lines 6-10, wherein “FIGS. 1 to 5 show a model embodiment of an industrial robot with parallel kinematics according to the delta principle having a robot base 1, a carrier element 2 to which a gripper, a tool or a machine element can be arranged, and three actuating units 4 in the form of control arms.”);
actuators (Figure 1, actuating units 4) mounted to the backplane, each actuator defining an axis of rotation (Figure 1; at least as in column 5, lines 12-15, wherein “Each of the three actuating units is connected by means of a drive shaft not identifiable in the drawing to an actuating-unit drive 6 in the form of a motor. The actuating-unit drives generate a torque.”); and
an arm (Figure 1, actuating units 4) extending from each of the actuators (Figure 1, actuating units 4; at least as in column 5, lines 6-26, wherein “FIGS. 1 to 5 show a model embodiment of an industrial robot with parallel kinematics according to the delta principle having a robot base 1, a carrier element 2 to which a gripper, a tool or a machine element can be arranged, and three actuating units 4 in the form of control arms.” and further wherein “All three actuating units 4 have the same design. The actuating units 4 comprise an upper arm section 7 and a lower arm section 8.”), each arm including:
a proximal link (Figure 1, upper arm section 7) connected to the respective one of the actuators and operable in a proximal-link plane orthogonal to the backplane (Figure 1; at least as in column 5, lines 16-26, wherein “The actuating units 4 comprise an upper arm section 7 and a lower arm section 8. The upper arm section 7 is characterised by high stability and low weight. Each actuating-unit drive 6 transmits a torque to the upper arm section 7 connected to it. The lower arm section 8 comprises two parallel running rods 9 and 10. The two rods 9 and 10 of the lower arm section 8 of an actuating unit 4 are connected by means of joints 11 at their upper end to the upper arm section 7 of the actuating unit 4 and by means of joints 12 to the carrier element 2.”);
a distal link (Figure 1, lower arm section 8) connected to the proximal link via a first rotary joint (Figure 1; at least as in column 5, lines 16-26, wherein “The actuating units 4 comprise an upper arm section 7 and a lower arm section 8. The upper arm section 7 is characterised by high stability and low weight. Each actuating-unit drive 6 transmits a torque to the upper arm section 7 connected to it. The lower arm section 8 comprises two parallel running rods 9 and 10. The two rods 9 and 10 of the lower arm section 8 of an actuating unit 4 are connected by means of joints 11 at their upper end to the upper arm section 7 of the actuating unit 4 and by means of joints 12 to the carrier element 2.”); and
an end effector (Figure 1, carrier element 2) connected to each of the distal links via a second rotary joint (Figure 1; at least as in column 5, lines 6-26, wherein “FIGS. 1 to 5 show a model embodiment of an industrial robot with parallel kinematics according to the delta principle having a robot base 1, a carrier element 2 to which a gripper, a tool or a machine element can be arranged, and three actuating units 4 in the form of control arms.” and further wherein “The actuating units 4 comprise an upper arm section 7 and a lower arm section 8. The upper arm section 7 is characterised by high stability and low weight. Each actuating-unit drive 6 transmits a torque to the upper arm section 7 connected to it. The lower arm section 8 comprises two parallel running rods 9 and 10. The two rods 9 and 10 of the lower arm section 8 of an actuating unit 4 are connected by means of joints 11 at their upper end to the upper arm section 7 of the actuating unit 4 and by means of joints 12 to the carrier element 2.”);
wherein the proximal-link planes intersect at a robot center (Figure 1; at least as in column 5, lines 6-26, at least as shown in Figure 1); and
wherein the proximal-link planes have uneven angular spacings in a link-plane parallel to the backplane (Figure 1; at least as in column 5, lines 6-26, at least as shown in Figure 1).
Regarding claim 15, Ilch further teaches wherein the uneven angular spacings include one angular spacing of at least 150 degrees (Figure 1; at least as in column 5, lines 6-26, at least as shown in Figure 1).
Regarding claim 16, Ilch further teaches wherein the uneven angular spacings include one angular spacing of 180 degrees (Figure 1; at least as in column 5, lines 6-26, at least as shown in Figure 1).
Regarding claim 17, Ilch further teaches wherein the proximal-link planes define three angular spacings (Figure 1; at least as in column 5, lines 6-26, at least as shown in Figure 1).
Regarding claim 18, Ilch further teaches wherein the three angular spacings include two equal angular spacings (Figure 1; at least as in column 5, lines 6-26, at least as shown in Figure 1).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4 and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ilch (US 10,507,576 B2) in view of Bhageria et al (US 11,745,348 B2, hereinafter Bhageria).
The teachings of Ilch have been discussed above.
Regarding claim 4, Ilch is silent specifically regarding the robot further comprising a backplane support connected to the backplane and a fourth actuator connected between the backplane support and the vertical backplane, the fourth actuator to move the vertical backplane relative to the backplane support. Bhageria, in the same field of endeavor of industrial robots, teaches a robotic arrangement that includes multiple robots that are fixed to a frame (i.e. backplane support), and further wherein the frame may include a gantry style robot arrangement, wherein the robot is configured to move in one or more additional degrees of freedom. Bhageria goes on to teach wherein the industrial robots may include a delta robot type (i.e. parallel-link robot) (Figures 21A-22; at least as in column 4, lines 31-55, column 8, lines 59-66 and column 10, line 59-column 11, line 3). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the instant invention to modify the teachings of Ilch to provide a frame (i.e. backplane support) for affixing said delta robot and providing an additional degree of freedom movement as taught by Bhageria, since Bhageria teaches wherein such an arrangement provides increased dexterity of the robotic system.
Regarding claim 19, Ilch is silent regarding the robot further comprising a second robot with second proximal links defining a second robot center. Bhageria, in the same field of endeavor of industrial robots, teaches a robotic arrangement that includes multiple robots that are fixed to a frame (i.e. backplane support), and further wherein the frame may include a gantry style robot arrangement, wherein the robot is configured to move in one or more additional degrees of freedom. Bhageria goes on to teach wherein the industrial robots may include a delta robot type (i.e. parallel-link robot) (Figures 21A-22; at least as in column 4, lines 31-55, column 8, lines 59-66 and column 10, line 59-column 11, line 3). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the instant invention to modify the teachings of Ilch to provide a frame (i.e. backplane support) for affixing said delta robot and providing an additional degree of freedom movement as taught by Bhageria, since Bhageria teaches wherein such an arrangement provides increased dexterity of the robotic system.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5-13 are allowed.
Claim 20 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. Examiner notes wherein the 35 USC 112(b), or second paragraph rejection would also need to be overcome, and possibly reevaluated in light of potential amendments, in order to place the claim in condition for allowance.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See attached PTO-892 – Notice of References Cited form. Examiner additionally notes the following prior art references, in the same field of endeavor as the instant invention, and also appear to read on some of the currently provided claim limitations above;
US 11,318,603 B2, issued to Handfest et al, which is directed towards a delta robot includes a robot base, an end effector carrier that can be positioned in space, and three parallelogram articulated couplings which connect the end effector carrier to the robot base and are designed to connect the end effector carrier in a displaceable manner while maintaining its orientation in space relative to the robot base
US 9,457,474 B1, issued to Lisso et al, which is directed towards a conveying system(s) for transporting containers including multiple delta robots for performing one or more functions/tasks along the conveying system(s).
/JONATHAN L SAMPLE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3657