DETAILED ACTION
Priority
2. Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of documents required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
3. The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 03/25/2025, 05/09/2025 and 07/16/2026 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97 and were considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
6. Claims 1-11 and 13-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Stec (US-PGPUB 2021/0136288).
Regarding claim 1, Stec discloses an image processing apparatus (Camera 10; see fig. 1 and paragraph 0014) comprising:
an image sensor (Event-sensor 14; see fig. 1) configured to detect an event in a case where a luminance change for each pixel exceeds a predetermined threshold value (Event-sensor 14 comprises an array of pixels each of which can generate an event in response to a change in light intensity greater than a threshold amount in a given period of time; see paragraph 0014), and to output an event signal including information on a time of the event and a pixel position at which the event has occurred (Events can occur at any given time and are then communicated across a bus to a processor 16 for further processing. Event information can be written to memory and read from memory by the processor 16; see paragraph 0014);
a drive unit (Actuator 18; see fig. 1) configured to drive at least one of an optical member constituting at least a part of an imaging optical system and the image sensor (paragraphs 0017, 0023-0024) so that the luminance change exceeds the predetermined threshold value (The processor 16 can at any time cause the actuator 18 to move sufficiently to cause the entire light field incident on the event-sensor 14 to change—in this case to shift. This will cause a change in light intensity at any pixels located close to any edges in the light field incident on the event-sensor 14. Where these changes are greater than the threshold amount set for the event-sensor 14, events will be generated by the relevant pixels and provided to the processor 16; see paragraphs 0018, 0021); and
a processor (Processor 16; see fig. 1) configured to process the event signal output from the image sensor while the drive unit drives the at least one of the optical member and the image sensor, and to control a focus lens in the imaging optical system based on a processed image (The lens assembly being configured to focus a light field onto a surface of the event-sensor. Shifting the lens assembly relative to the sensor in order to maintain a sharp image. The processor 16 can at any time cause the actuator 18 to move sufficiently to cause the entire light field incident on the event-sensor 14 to change—in this case to shift. The invention could work equally well if this movement comprised any of pitch, yaw or roll of the lens assembly 12 relative to the optical axis. It could also be possible to mount the event-sensor 14 so that it could be moved relative to the incident light field. Since the change in light field caused by the above described actuators is predictable and measurable, it is possible to separate scene and object motion even from a set of events generated simultaneously in response to triggering the actuator 18; see abstract and paragraphs 0017-0018, 0023-0024, 0028. See feedback loop in fig. 1).
Regarding claim 2, Stec discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 1). In addition, Stec discloses the drive unit changes an imaging position in the image sensor by driving the optical member or the image sensor (Movement comprised any of pitch, yaw or roll of the lens assembly 12 relative to the optical axis. It could also be possible to mount the event-sensor 14 so that it could be moved relative to the incident light field. The processor 16 can at any time cause the actuator 18 to move sufficiently to cause the entire light field incident on the event-sensor 14 to change—in this case to shift; see paragraphs 0018, 0023-0024).
Regarding claim 3, Stec discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 2). In addition, Stec discloses the drive unit drives the optical member, and wherein the optical member includes a shift lens or a vari-angle prism configured to deflect an optical axis of the imaging optical system (Movement comprised any of pitch, yaw or roll of the lens assembly 12 relative to the optical axis. Shifting the lens assembly relative to the sensor in order to maintain a sharp image; see paragraphs 0017, 0018, 0023).
Regarding claim 4, Stec discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 2). In addition, Stec discloses the drive unit drives the image sensor, and wherein the image sensor is movable in a direction including a component orthogonal to an optical axis of the imaging optical system (It could also be possible to mount the event-sensor 14 so that it could be moved relative to the incident light field. The event-sensor 14 to be mounted where it could be shifted orthogonally in one or more directions relative to the optical axis. The processor 16 can at any time cause the actuator 18 to move sufficiently to cause the entire light field incident on the event-sensor 14 to change—in this case to shift; see paragraphs 0018, 0024).
Regarding claim 5, Stec discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 2). In addition, Stec discloses the drive unit rotates and drives the imaging optical system and the image sensor in a pan direction and a tilt direction (Movement comprised any of pitch, yaw or roll of the lens assembly 12 relative to the optical axis. The event-sensor 14 to be mounted where it could be shifted orthogonally in one or more directions relative to the optical axis; see paragraphs 0023-0024, 0018).
Regarding claim 6, Stec discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 2). In addition, Stec discloses the drive unit drives the optical member (see paragraph 0023), and wherein the optical member is a light-amount adjusting unit configured to adjust a light amount passing through the imaging optical system (The processor 16 can at any time cause the actuator 18 to move sufficiently to cause the entire light field incident on the event-sensor 14 to change—in this case to shift. This will cause a change in light intensity at any pixels located close to any edges in the light field incident on the event-sensor 14; see paragraph 0018).
Regarding claim 7, Stec discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 6). In addition, Stec discloses the light-amount adjusting unit includes an aperture stop or a neutral density filter (One or more actuable colour filter layers could be provided in the light path anywhere between the front surface of the lens assembly 12 and the imaging surface of the event-sensor 14. Such filter(s) when actuated could change the transmissivity along the light path of light of a given colour to therefore cause the required change in light intensity for pixels distributed across the event sensor 14; see paragraphs 0034-0035).
Regarding claim 8, Stec discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 2). In addition, Stec discloses the drive unit drives the optical member, wherein the optical member includes a zoom lens, and wherein the image sensor outputs the event signal in a case where a focal length changes as the zoom lens moves in an optical axis direction of the imaging optical system (Changing the light field incident on the event-sensor 14 can include using a zoom lens and changing the focal length sufficiently to cause a change in magnification sufficient to generate a radial change in the light field incident on the event-sensor 14 and again generate event information for pixels close to edges in the light field; see paragraph 0026).
Regarding claim 9, Stec discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 1). In addition, Stec discloses a setting unit configured to set a first mode and a second mode, wherein in a case where the first mode is set, the drive unit drives the at least one of the optical member and the image sensor so that the luminance change exceeds the predetermined threshold value (Setting to trigger the use of the actuator 18 when detecting a frequency of event information dropping below a threshold, when not seen movement withing a set time or when idle; see paragraph 0021), and in a case where the second mode is set, the drive unit does not drive the optical member or the image sensor (Setting Not to trigger the use of actuator when detecting a frequency of event information higher than a threshold, when seeing movement withing a set time; see paragraph 0021).
Regarding claim 10, Stec discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 1). In addition, Stec discloses a shake detector configured to detect shake of the image processing apparatus (Processor 16 is connected to an inertial measurement unit (IMU) comprising a gyroscope and/or one or more accelerometers and the processor responds to camera movement detected during the acquisition of an image to cause counter movements in the actuator, so shifting the lens assembly relative to the sensor in order to maintain a sharp image; see paragraph 0017), and a setting unit configured to set a first mode and a second mode, wherein in a case where the first mode is set, the drive unit drives the at least one of the optical member and the image sensor so that the luminance change exceeds the predetermined threshold value (Setting to trigger the use of the actuator 18 when detecting a frequency of event information dropping below a threshold, when not seen movement withing a set time or when idle; see paragraph 0021), and, in a case where the second mode is set, the drive unit drives the at least one of the optical member and the image sensor to a target position generated based on an output signal from the shake detector (Using actuator 18 to counteract movements detected by the IMU; see paragraph 0017).
Regarding claim 11, Stec discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 1). In addition, Stec discloses the processor controls the focus lens in the imaging optical system based on the processed image and a drive amount of the optical member or image sensor by the drive unit (The lens assembly being configured to focus a light field onto a surface of the event-sensor. Shifting the lens assembly relative to the sensor in order to maintain a sharp image. The processor 16 can at any time cause the actuator 18 to move sufficiently to cause the entire light field incident on the event-sensor 14 to change—in this case to shift. The invention could work equally well if this movement comprised any of pitch, yaw or roll of the lens assembly 12 relative to the optical axis. It could also be possible to mount the event-sensor 14 so that it could be moved relative to the incident light field. Since the change in light field caused by the above described actuators is predictable and measurable, it is possible to separate scene and object motion even from a set of events generated simultaneously in response to triggering the actuator 18; see abstract and paragraphs 0017-0018, 0023-0024, 0028. See feedback loop in fig. 1).
Regarding claim 13, Stec discloses an image pickup apparatus (Camera 10; see fig. 1 and paragraph 0014) comprising: an image processing apparatus (Processor 16; see fig. 1); and an imaging optical system (Lens assembly; see fig. 1), wherein the image processing apparatus includes:
an image sensor (Even-sensor 14; see fig. 1) configured to detect an event in a case where a luminance change for each pixel exceeds a predetermined threshold value (Event-sensor 14 comprises an array of pixels each of which can generate an event in response to a change in light intensity greater than a threshold amount in a given period of time; see paragraph 0014), and to output an event signal including information on a time of the event and a pixel position at which the event has occurred (Events can occur at any given time and are then communicated across a bus to a processor 16 for further processing. Event information can be written to memory and read from memory by the processor 16; see paragraph 0014),
a drive unit (Actuator 18; see fig. 1) configured to drive at least one of an optical member constituting at least a part of an imaging optical system and the image sensor (see paragraph 0017) so that the luminance change exceeds the predetermined threshold value (The processor 16 can at any time cause the actuator 18 to move sufficiently to cause the entire light field incident on the event-sensor 14 to change—in this case to shift. This will cause a change in light intensity at any pixels located close to any edges in the light field incident on the event-sensor 14. Where these changes are greater than the threshold amount set for the event-sensor 14, events will be generated by the relevant pixels and provided to the processor 16; see paragraphs 0018, 0021), and
a processor (Processor 16; see fig. 1) configured to process the event signal output from the image sensor while the drive unit drives the at least one of the optical member or the image sensor, and to control a focus lens in the imaging optical system based on a processed image (The lens assembly being configured to focus a light field onto a surface of the event-sensor. Shifting the lens assembly relative to the sensor in order to maintain a sharp image. The processor 16 can at any time cause the actuator 18 to move sufficiently to cause the entire light field incident on the event-sensor 14 to change—in this case to shift. The invention could work equally well if this movement comprised any of pitch, yaw or roll of the lens assembly 12 relative to the optical axis. It could also be possible to mount the event-sensor 14 so that it could be moved relative to the incident light field. Since the change in light field caused by the above described actuators is predictable and measurable, it is possible to separate scene and object motion even from a set of events generated simultaneously in response to triggering the actuator 18; see abstract and paragraphs 0017-0018, 0023-0024, 0028. See feedback loop in fig. 1).
Regarding claim 14, Stec discloses an image processing method comprising:
driving an optical member constituting at least a part of an imaging optical system or an image sensor (The invention could work equally well if this movement comprised any of pitch, yaw or roll of the lens assembly 12 relative to the optical axis. It could also be possible to mount the event-sensor 14 so that it could be moved relative to the incident light field; see paragraphs 0023-0024);
detecting an event in a case where a luminance change for each pixel of the image sensor exceeds a predetermined threshold value while the optical member or the image sensor is being driven (The processor 16 can at any time cause the actuator 18 to move sufficiently to cause the entire light field incident on the event-sensor 14 to change—in this case to shift. This will cause a change in light intensity at any pixels located close to any edges in the light field incident on the event-sensor 14. Where these changes are greater than the threshold amount set for the event-sensor 14, events will be generated by the relevant pixels and provided to the processor 16; see paragraphs 0018, 0021);
outputting an event signal including information on a time of the event and a pixel position where the event has occurred (Event-sensor 14 comprises an array of pixels each of which can generate an event in response to a change in light intensity greater than a threshold amount in a given period of time. Events can occur at any given time and are then communicated across a bus to a processor 16 for further processing. Event information can be written to memory and read from memory by the processor 16; see paragraph 0014);
processing the event signal output from the image sensor; and controlling a focus lens in the imaging optical system based on a processed image (The lens assembly being configured to focus a light field onto a surface of the event-sensor. Shifting the lens assembly relative to the sensor in order to maintain a sharp image. The processor 16 can at any time cause the actuator 18 to move sufficiently to cause the entire light field incident on the event-sensor 14 to change—in this case to shift. Since the change in light field caused by the above described actuators is predictable and measurable, it is possible to separate scene and object motion even from a set of events generated simultaneously in response to triggering the actuator 18; see abstract and paragraphs 0017-0018, 0023-0024, 0028. See feedback loop in fig. 1).
Regarding claim 15, Stec discloses a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium storing a program that causes a computer (Processor 16 executing operations; see fig. 1) to execute the image processing method according to claim 14 (Event information can be written to memory and read from memory by the processor 16; see paragraph 0014).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
9. Claims 1-6, 8-11 and 13-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Taya (US-PGPUB 2024/0161503).
Regarding claim 1, Taya discloses an image processing apparatus (see fig. 1) comprising:
an image sensor (Units 22 and 23; see fig. 1) configured to detect an event in a case where a luminance change for each pixel exceeds a predetermined threshold value (Unit 23 is provided integrally with the imaging unit 22, and detects presence or absence of an event on the basis of whether or not a change (luminance change) in which the pixel signal generated for each pixel by the imaging unit 22 exceeds a preset threshold value (luminance threshold value) has occurred; see paragraph 0063), and to output an event signal including information on a time of the event and a pixel position at which the event has occurred (As a data format of the event detection information including the position information of the pixel in which the event has been detected, the time information indicating the time when the event has occurred, and the polarity information of the light amount change as the event, for example, a data format called an address event representation (AER) can be adopted; see paragraph 0065);
a drive unit (Units 42a and 24; see fig. 1) configured to drive at least one of an optical member constituting at least a part of an imaging optical system and the image sensor so that the luminance change exceeds the predetermined threshold value (Unit 42a generates movement information regarding the movement of the position of the optical image performed by the event detection unit 20 on the basis of the control signal. The imaging unit 22 is moved in a direction orthogonal to the optical axis of the imaging optical system 21. The optical axis of the imaging optical system 21 is moved with respect to the imaging unit 22; see paragraphs 0076, 0078-0080 and steps ST3-ST6); and
a processor (Unit 40-1; see fig. 1) configured to process the event signal output from the image sensor while the drive unit drives the at least one of the optical member and the image sensor (Determination unit 41a determines whether or not there is a region in which no event is detected on the basis of the event detection information generated in step ST1. In a case where there is a region where no event is detected, the determination unit 41a determines the event non-detection state and proceeds to step ST4; see fig. 1 and paragraph 0076), and to control a focus lens in the imaging optical system based on a processed image (System 21 drives the focus lens, the zoom lens, and the like to form an optical image indicating a subject (a subject optical image) on an imaging surface of the imaging unit 22; see paragraph 0061. See control loop in fig. 1).
Regarding claim 2, Taya discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 1). In addition, Taya discloses the drive unit changes an imaging position in the image sensor by driving the optical member or the image sensor (The movement control unit 42a generates movement information (a movement amount, a movement direction, and the like) regarding the movement of the position of the optical image performed by the event detection unit 20 on the basis of the control signal. In a case where the imaging unit 22 is moved in a direction orthogonal to the optical axis of the imaging optical system 21, the movement control unit 42a generates information indicating the movement amount and the movement direction of the imaging unit 22 as the movement information. Furthermore, in a case where the optical axis of the imaging optical system 21 is moved with respect to the imaging unit 22, the movement control unit 42a generates information indicating a drive amount and a drive direction of the shake correction lens of the imaging optical system 21 as the movement information; see paragraph 0079).
Regarding claim 3, Taya discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 2). In addition, Taya discloses the drive unit drives the optical member, and wherein the optical member includes a shift lens or a vari-angle prism configured to deflect an optical axis of the imaging optical system (The movement control unit 42a generates movement information (a movement amount, a movement direction, and the like) regarding the movement of the position of the optical image performed by the event detection unit 20 on the basis of the control signal. In a case where the optical axis of the imaging optical system 21 is moved with respect to the imaging unit 22, the movement control unit 42a generates information indicating a drive amount and a drive direction of the shake correction lens of the imaging optical system 21 as the movement information; see paragraph 0079).
Regarding claim 4, Taya discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 2). In addition, Taya discloses the drive unit drives the image sensor, and wherein the image sensor is movable in a direction including a component orthogonal to an optical axis of the imaging optical system (The movement control unit 42a generates movement information (a movement amount, a movement direction, and the like) regarding the movement of the position of the optical image performed by the event detection unit 20 on the basis of the control signal. In a case where the imaging unit 22 is moved in a direction orthogonal to the optical axis of the imaging optical system 21, the movement control unit 42a generates information indicating the movement amount and the movement direction of the imaging unit 22 as the movement information; see paragraph 0079).
Regarding claim 5, Taya discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 2). In addition, Taya discloses the drive unit rotates and drives the imaging optical system and the image sensor in a pan direction and a tilt direction (In a case where the imaging unit 22 is moved in a direction orthogonal to the optical axis of the imaging optical system 21, the movement control unit 42a generates information indicating the movement amount and the movement direction of the imaging unit 22 as the movement information. Furthermore, in a case where the optical axis of the imaging optical system 21 is moved with respect to the imaging unit 22, the movement control unit 42a generates information indicating a drive amount and a drive direction of the shake correction lens of the imaging optical system 21 as the movement information; see paragraph 0079).
Regarding claim 8, Taya discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 2). In addition, Taya discloses the drive unit drives the optical member, wherein the optical member includes a zoom lens, and wherein the image sensor outputs the event signal in a case where a focal length changes as the zoom lens moves in an optical axis direction of the imaging optical system (The imaging optical system 21 drives the focus lens, the zoom lens, and the like to form an optical image indicating a subject (a subject optical image) on an imaging surface of the imaging unit 22; see paragraph 0061 and fig. 1).
Regarding claim 9, Taya discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 1). In addition, Taya discloses a setting unit configured to set a first mode and a second mode, wherein in a case where the first mode is set, the drive unit drives the at least one of the optical member and the image sensor so that the luminance change exceeds the predetermined threshold value (If YES at step ST3, the method proceeds to step ST4 and Lens 21/Sensor 22 are moved; see fig. 1 and paragraphs 0076-0080), and in a case where the second mode is set, the drive unit does not drive the optical member or the image sensor (If NO at step ST3, the method proceeds to ST8 and Lens 21/Sensor 22 are not moved; see fig. 1 and paragraph 0076).
Regarding claim 10, Taya discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 1). In addition, Taya discloses a shake detector configured to detect shake of the image processing apparatus (Motion sensor 30 detects motion; see paragraph 0095 and fig. 6), and a setting unit configured to set a first mode and a second mode, wherein in a case where the first mode is set, the drive unit drives the at least one of the optical member and the image sensor so that the luminance change exceeds the predetermined threshold value (If YES at step ST13, the method proceeds to step ST14 and ST16 and Lens 21/Sensor 22 are moved to generate event; see fig. 7 and paragraphs 0105, 0107), and, in a case where the second mode is set, the drive unit drives the at least one of the optical member and the image sensor to a target position generated based on an output signal from the shake detector (On the basis of the motion information supplied from the motion sensor 30, the movement control unit 42b generates a control signal so that the event detection unit 20 can acquire information in another direction different from a movement direction of the event detection unit 2; see paragraph 0105).
Regarding claim 11, Taya discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 1). In addition, Taya discloses the processor controls the focus lens in the imaging optical system based on the processed image and a drive amount of the optical member or image sensor by the drive unit (System 21 drives the focus lens, the zoom lens, and the like to form an optical image indicating a subject (a subject optical image) on an imaging surface of the imaging unit 22; see paragraph 0061. See control loop in fig. 1).
Regarding claim 13, Taya discloses an image pickup apparatus (see fig. 1) comprising: an image processing apparatus (Unit 40-1; see fig. 1); and an imaging optical system (Lens 21; see fig. 1), wherein the image processing apparatus includes:
an image sensor (Units 22 and 23; see fig. 1) configured to detect an event in a case where a luminance change for each pixel exceeds a predetermined threshold value (Unit 23 is provided integrally with the imaging unit 22, and detects presence or absence of an event on the basis of whether or not a change (luminance change) in which the pixel signal generated for each pixel by the imaging unit 22 exceeds a preset threshold value (luminance threshold value) has occurred; see paragraph 0063), and to output an event signal including information on a time of the event and a pixel position at which the event has occurred (As a data format of the event detection information including the position information of the pixel in which the event has been detected, the time information indicating the time when the event has occurred, and the polarity information of the light amount change as the event, for example, a data format called an address event representation (AER) can be adopted; see paragraph 0065),
a drive unit (Units 42a and 24; see fig. 1) configured to drive at least one of an optical member constituting at least a part of an imaging optical system and the image sensor so that the luminance change exceeds the predetermined threshold value (Unit 42a generates movement information regarding the movement of the position of the optical image performed by the event detection unit 20 on the basis of the control signal. The imaging unit 22 is moved in a direction orthogonal to the optical axis of the imaging optical system 21. The optical axis of the imaging optical system 21 is moved with respect to the imaging unit 22; see paragraphs 0076, 0078-0080 and steps ST3-ST6), and
a processor (Unit 40-1; see fig. 1) configured to process the event signal output from the image sensor while the drive unit drives the at least one of the optical member or the image sensor (Determination unit 41a determines whether or not there is a region in which no event is detected on the basis of the event detection information generated in step ST1. In a case where there is a region where no event is detected, the determination unit 41a determines the event non-detection state and proceeds to step ST4; see fig. 1 and paragraph 0076), and to control a focus lens in the imaging optical system based on a processed image, (System 21 drives the focus lens, the zoom lens, and the like to form an optical image indicating a subject (a subject optical image) on an imaging surface of the imaging unit 22; see paragraph 0061. See control loop in fig. 1).
Regarding claim 14, Taya discloses an image processing method comprising:
driving an optical member constituting at least a part of an imaging optical system or an image sensor (Unit 42a generates movement information regarding the movement of the position of the optical image performed by the event detection unit 20 on the basis of the control signal. The imaging unit 22 is moved in a direction orthogonal to the optical axis of the imaging optical system 21. The optical axis of the imaging optical system 21 is moved with respect to the imaging unit 22; see paragraphs 0076, 0078-0080 and steps ST3-ST6);
detecting an event in a case where a luminance change for each pixel of the image sensor exceeds a predetermined threshold value while the optical member or the image sensor is being driven (Unit 23 is provided integrally with the imaging unit 22, and detects presence or absence of an event on the basis of whether or not a change (luminance change) in which the pixel signal generated for each pixel by the imaging unit 22 exceeds a preset threshold value (luminance threshold value) has occurred; see paragraph 0063);
outputting an event signal including information on a time of the event and a pixel position where the event has occurred (As a data format of the event detection information including the position information of the pixel in which the event has been detected, the time information indicating the time when the event has occurred, and the polarity information of the light amount change as the event, for example, a data format called an address event representation (AER) can be adopted; see paragraph 0065);
processing the event signal output from the image sensor (Determination unit 41a determines whether or not there is a region in which no event is detected on the basis of the event detection information generated in step ST1. In a case where there is a region where no event is detected, the determination unit 41a determines the event non-detection state and proceeds to step ST4; see fig. 1 and paragraph 0076); and controlling a focus lens in the imaging optical system based on a processed image (System 21 drives the focus lens, the zoom lens, and the like to form an optical image indicating a subject (a subject optical image) on an imaging surface of the imaging unit 22; see paragraph 0061. See control loop in fig. 1).
Regarding claim 15, Taya discloses a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium storing a program that causes a computer to execute the image processing method according to claim 14 (Executing various program codes by a storage medium provided in a computer-readable form; see paragraphs 0026-0027, 01525-0153).
Allowable Subject Matter
10. Claim 12 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Regarding claim 12, the specific limitation of “the processor is configured to: determine an in-focus state based on the processed image, and change a threshold value that is used to determine the in-focus state based on a driving amount of the optical member or the image sensor by the drive unit” in the combination as claimed is neither anticipated nor made obvious over the prior art made of record.
Citation of Pertinent Art
11. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure.
Horesh (US-PGPUB 2019/0014258) discloses event-based imaging device includes a sensor including a pixel array and an optical pathway modulator to move, via a micro-saccadic movement, one or more components of an optical pathway including the sensor to shift incident light on the pixel array to cause a change in light intensity on the pixel in at least one pixel of the pixel array.
Naganuma (US-PGPUB 2021/0274081) discloses when the actuator 120 that has received the control signal is driven (S102), the sensor array 111 is displaced in a predetermined direction, and the event signals generated by the sensors 111A, 111B, . . . corresponding to the edges of all the subjects in principle are transmitted from the vision sensor 110 to the control unit 200 (S103).
Contact Information
/CYNTHIA CALDERON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2639 08/13/2026