DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 03-25-2025 are acknowledged. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 5 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claim 5 and 15 are rejected because of the limitations “the chassis extending into the first aperture and engaging the cushioning element proximate to the first aperture and the outsole extending into the second aperture and engaging the cushioning element proximate to the second aperture” lacks support in the original specification which filed 03-25-2025; therefore such lack of detailed support in the original disclosure constitutes new matter.
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 1 and 11 are rejected because of the limitations "a carriage disposed between the chassis and the outsole." It is not clear how the carriage (170) can be disposed between the chassis (106) and the outsole (104) since figure 5 shows that the carriage is part of the chassis (i.e. carriage is the chassis itself).
Claim 5 and 15 are rejected because of the limitations “the chassis extending into the first aperture” It is not clear how the chassis (160) can extend into the aperture since fig 5 shows that the aperture is part of the chassis.
Any remaining claims are rejected as depending from a rejected base claim.
In the art rejections below the claims have been treated as best understood by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4, 7-14, and 17-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kilgore et al. (5,343,639) in view of Asciolla (2002/0178620).
Regarding claim 1, Kilgore teaches a sole structure for an article of footwear, the sole structure (figs 1-19b) comprising:
a chassis (member 22);
an outsole (member 20) extending from an anterior end of the chassis to a posterior end of the chassis; and
a carriage (member 26) disposed between the chassis and the outsole and including a pair of frames spaced apart from and connected to each other by a flexure, the frames converging toward one another in a direction from a heel region of the sole structure to a forefoot region of the sole structure (figs 1 and 11d annotated above).
Asciolla teaches a shoe having an outsole (fig 1, member 20 and 22) removably coupled to the chassis (fig 1, member 16, para 0025 to 0026).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claim invention to modify the shoe of Kilgore by making the parts removably coupled to another, as taught by Asciolla, in order to just replace the damage part as needed (Acciolla, para 00276).
Regarding claim 2, the modified footwear Kilgore-Asciolla discloses a cushioning element (Kilgore, member 32) disposed between the chassis and the outsole.
Regarding claim 3, the modified footwear Kilgore-Asciolla discloses the cushioning element is disposed within the carriage between the pair of frames (fig 11d annotated above).
Regarding claim 4, the modified footwear Kilgore-Asciolla discloses the cushioning element tapers in a direction away from the flexure (fig 11d annotated above).
Regarding claim 7, the modified footwear Kilgore-Asciolla discloses the flexure is a living hinge (fig 11d annotated above).
Regarding claim 8, the modified footwear Kilgore-Asciolla discloses the flexure includes an arcuate portion extending between a first frame of the pair of frames and a second frame of the pair of frames (fig 11d annotated above).
Regarding claim 9, the modified footwear Kilgore-Asciolla discloses the arcuate portion includes a convex surface facing a posterior end of the sole structure and a concave surface facing an anterior end of the sole structure (fig 11d annotated above).
Regarding claim 10, the modified footwear Kilgore-Asciolla discloses an article of footwear incorporating the sole structure of Claim 1 (fig 1).
Regarding claim 11, Kilgore teaches a sole structure for an article of footwear, the sole structure (figs 1-19b) comprising:
a chassis (member 22);
an outsole (member 20) extending from an anterior end of the chassis to a posterior end of the chassis; and
a carriage (member 26) disposed between the chassis and the outsole and including a pair of frames spaced apart from each other in a direction extending from the chassis to the outsole, the pair of frames connected at a first end of each frame of the pair of frames by an arcuate portion having a convex surface facing a posterior end of the sole structure and a concave surface opposing an anterior end of the sole structure (fig 11d annotated above).
Regarding claim 12, the modified footwear Kilgore-Asciolla discloses a cushioning element (Kilgore, member 32) disposed between the chassis and the outsole.
Regarding claim 13, the modified footwear Kilgore-Asciolla discloses the cushioning element is disposed within the carriage between the pair of frames (fig 11d annotated above).
Regarding claim 14, the modified footwear Kilgore-Asciolla discloses the cushioning element tapers in a direction away from the arcuate portion (fig 11d annotated above).
Regarding claim 17, the modified footwear Kilgore-Asciolla discloses the arcuate portion is a living hinge (fig 11d annotated above).
Regarding claim 18, the modified footwear Kilgore-Asciolla discloses the frames are convergent (fig 11d annotated above).
Regarding claim 19, the modified footwear Kilgore-Asciolla discloses the frames converge toward one another in a direction from a heel region of the sole structure to a forefoot region of the sole structure (fig 11d annotated above).
Regarding claim 20, the modified footwear Kilgore-Asciolla discloses an article of footwear incorporating the sole structure of Claim 11 (fig 1).
Claim(s) 6 and 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kilgore et al. (5,343,639) and Asciolla (2002/0178620) as applied to claims 1 and 11 above, and further in view of Aveni et al. (2010/0107444).
Regarding claims 6 and 16, the modified sole Kilgore-Asciolla teaches all limitations of the claim except the cushioning element is a fluid-filled chamber. Aveni teach a cushioning element is a fluid-filled chamber (para 0006).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claim invention to modify the sole of Kilgore by having fluid-filled chamber, as taught by Aveni, in order to provide better cushioning for the sole.
Examiner Note
Claims 5 and 15 do not have any art rejection due to the 35 USC § 112a and 112b. However, the claims may or may not have art rejection after the 112 rejection is resolved.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-4, 6, 10-13, 16, and 20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 12,285,072. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both applications claim essentially the same elements such as a chassis, an outsole, a removable cushioning element, a carriage comprising a pair of frames.
Claims 1-4, 6, 10-13, 16, and 20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 11,737,514. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both applications claim essentially the same elements such as a chassis, an outsole, a removable cushioning element, a carriage comprising a pair of frames.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon, is listed on the attached PTO-892.
BAO-THIEU L. NGUYEN
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3732
/BAO-THIEU L NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3732