DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
In re Claim 1, the claim language specifies a wire guard apparatus with a first fastener means configured to attach the first end to a truss member and a second fastener means configured to attach the second end to a truss member. A roof is made up of multiple truss members, however Figures 3 and Figure 10 show that the wire guard is attached to a single truss member. This contradiction renders the scope of the claim indefinite. The examiner is interpreting “truss member” as an entire conventional truss. If applicant intends that their “truss member” only be a part of the entire truss, then the examiner suggests the applicant claim “a truss including at least a first truss member and a second truss member, wherein a first end of the wire guard is attached to the first truss member and a second end of the wire guard is attached to the second truss member”, or something to that effect. An appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a2) as being anticipated by Brakeman et al. (U.S. 10,870,991).
In re Claim 1, Brakeman teaches providing a building truss wire guard apparatus that is capable of/configured to keep electrical wire away from one or more of a metal gusset plate and a pinch point. The building truss wire guard apparatus includes an elongate support member (940b,940c,100d-100f,100g,100i) having a first end with a generally planar portion, a second end, opposite the first end, with a generally planar portion, a first fastener means (120,150) adjacent the first end configured to attach the first end to a truss member, and a second fastener (120,150) means adjacent/close to the second end configured to attach the second end to a truss member; locating one or more of a metal gusset plate and a pinch point; positioning the building truss wire guard apparatus on a truss location adjacent to the one or more of a metal gusset plate and a pinch point so that a portion of the building truss wire guard apparatus extends beyond an outer periphery of the one or more of a metal gusset plate and a pinch point; and attaching the building truss wire guard apparatus to the truss location. As was noted in the above 112 rejection, the wire guard with the first and second fastener means is attached to a single truss member. In Figures 9 and 10, for instance, it is truss member (900). However, the claim states that the first and second fastener means need only be configured to attach the first end to a truss member and the second end to a truss member. The first and second fastener means are capable of this function and are as capable as those disclosed in the instant application (Figures 1-10, annotated Figure)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2, 3, 4, 5, and 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Brakeman et al. (U.S. 10,870,991) in view of Old Home Buyers Inspection Service, https://qbis.com.au/electrical-cable-danger-in-roof/.
In re Claims 2 and 5, Brakeman has been previously discussed but does not teach running electrical wire over the portion of the building truss wire apparatus that extends beyond the outer periphery.
Old Home Buyers Inspection Service teaches that it is known to string multiple electrical cables through the angled openings near the bottom of roof truss members, as can be seen in Figures 1 and 2.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the invention to modify Brakeman with the electrical wiring through the truss member openings as taught by Old Home Buyers Inspection Service. This would allow electrical wiring to be strung up in the attic away from the more high traffic areas of the house. Figures 9, 10, and the annotated Figure 9 of Brakeman shows that the guard apparatus has multiple openings in the truss that could accommodate electrical wiring(labeled electrical wire opening) including locations off to the side and away from the attic floor(near the truss bottom) where such wires can pose a hazard. In this location the wire over the portion of the building truss wire apparatus that extends beyond the outer periphery of the gusset plate and the pinch point
In re Claims 3 and 6, the modified Brakeman has been previously discussed. Figures 9, 10, and the annotated Figure 9 of Brakeman show a single truss member (900) with multiple guard apparatus and multiple electrical wire openings. Figures 1 and 2 of Old Home Buyers Inspection Service show that there can be multiple electrical wire strung through the attics. Since a roof is made of multiple truss members then repeatedly stringing the multiple wires through multiple electrical openings and over the portion of the multiple portions of the wire guard apparatus would be obvious to one ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the invention in order to distribute the electrical wiring throughout the house.
In re Claim 4, Brakeman teaches providing a building truss wire guard apparatus configured to keep electrical wire away from one or more of a metal gusset plate and a pinch point, the building truss wire guard apparatus including an elongate support member (940b,940c,100d-100f,100g,100i) with a first end with a generally planar portion, a second end, opposite the first end, with a generally planar portion. The disclosure identifies channels as being apertures in drawings. Therefore Brakemen discloses a first channel (131,132,163,164) adjacent/close to the first end, the first channel generally perpendicular to a longitudinal axis of the elongate support member, and a second channel (131,132,163,164 adjacent/close to the second end, the second channel generally perpendicular to a longitudinal axis of the single piece elongate support member; locating one or more of a metal gusset plate and a pinch point; positioning the building truss wire guard apparatus on a truss location adjacent to the one or more of a metal gusset plate and a pinch point so that a portion of the building truss wire guard apparatus extends beyond an outer periphery of the one or more of a metal gusset plate and a pinch point; and attaching the building truss wire guard apparatus to the truss location. (Figures 1-10, annotated Figure)
The elongate support member can be said to be a single piece as the constituent elements (940b,940c,100d-100f,100g,100i) are combined into a single piece. However, should the applicant dispute this, It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to have the elongate support member be a single piece, since it has been held that forming in one piece an article which has formerly been formed in two pieces and put together involves only routine skill in the art. Howard v. Detroit Stove Works, 150 U.S. 164 (1993). Such a single piece support element would simplify construction and speed assembly time.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See PTO-892.
/ADAM G BARLOW/Examiner, Art Unit 3633
/BRIAN E GLESSNER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3633