DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 3/25/2025 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Amano US 2022/0286585.
Re claim 1, Amano discloses an image pickup apparatus (10) comprising: an image sensor unit (20) including an image sensor (14), electrical components (image processing unit 22), and an image sensor substrate (30) on which the image sensor (14) and the electrical components (22) are mounted (figures 1-4; paragraphs 36-40); a heat radiating plate (heat sink 28) configured to radiate heat from the image sensor unit (14) ; and a heat radiating member (heat dissipation plate 26) configured to transfer the heat from the image sensor unit (14) to the heat radiating plate (28) (figures 1-4; paragraphs 36-40), wherein the image sensor (14) is disposed on a first surface (front surface) of the image sensor substrate(30)(figures 1-4, 8-9), wherein the electrical components (image processing unit 22) are disposed on a second surface (top and side of substrate) of the image sensor substrate (30 opposite the first surface (figures 1-4, 8-9), wherein the heat radiating member (heat dissipation plate 26) is disposed between the image sensor substrate (30) and the heat radiating plate (heat sink 28), and wherein at least a part of the heat radiating member (26) overlaps the image sensor (14) when viewed from an optical axis direction (figures 1-4; paragraphs 36-40).
Re claim 2, Amano further discloses that when viewed from the optical axis direction, the second surface (back) of the image sensor substrate (30) has a first area (through hole) including a center of the image sensor (14), and a second area in which the electrical components are disposed (image processing unit 22 disposed on top and side of substrate 30), the second area being different from the first area, and wherein at least the part of the heat radiating member is disposed between the image sensor substrate and the heat radiating plate in the first area (heat dissipation plate 26 disposed between image sensor 14 and heat sink 28 in a center area of image sensor 14)(figures 1-4, 8-9; paragraphs 36-40).
Re claim 3, Amano further discloses that the second area is an area surrounding the first area when viewed from the optical axis direction (image processing unit 22 is disposed on the top and side/peripheral areas of substrate 30) (figures 1-4, 8-9; paragraphs 36-40).
Re claim 4, Amano further discloses that the image sensor unit (imaging unit 20) further includes a frame (18) provided to surround an outer perimeter of the image sensor substrate (30) (figures 2-3; paragraphs 36-40).
Re claim 5, Amano further discloses a holding member (frame 18) that holds the image sensor unit (imaging unit 20), wherein the heat radiating plate (heat sink 28) is fixed to the holding member (18)(the main frame 18 supports the imaging unit 20 and is thus also fixed to the heat sink 28 which is part of the imaging unit 20)(figures 2-3; paragraphs 36-40).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 6-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Amano US 2022/0286585 in view of Endo et al. US 2023/0353850.
Re claim 6, Amano discloses all of the limitations of claim 1 above including a heat dissipation plate 26 and a heat sink 28 for dissipating heat from an image sensor 14) (figures 1-4; paragraphs 36-40). However, although the Amano reference discloses all of the limitations above, it fails to specifically disclose that the heat radiating member includes an elastic member and a heat radiating sheet surrounding the elastic member.
However, Endo discloses that it is well known in the imaging art to dissipate heat from an image sensor of an imaging apparatus by using an elastic/rubber heat conductive member 330 and a heat conduction sheet 310 in contact with each other (figure 10; paragraph 89). Therefore, it would have been obvious for one skilled in the art before the effective filing date to have been motivated to include the teaching of using an elastic/rubber heat conductive member and a heat conductive sheet in order to dissipate heat from an image sensor as disclosed by the Endo reference in the image pickup apparatus including a heat dissipation unit disclosed by the Amano reference. Doing so would provide a means for flexibly connecting different heat dissipating elements to various different heat generating components of an image pickup apparatus.
Re claim 7, Endo further discloses that the elastic member has a long plate shape and the heat radiating sheet is flexible (heat is dissipated from an image sensor of the imaging apparatus by using an elastic/rubber heat conductive member 330 and a heat conduction sheet 310 in contact with each other) (figure 10; paragraph 89).
Re claim 8, Endo further discloses that the elastic member is made of urethane or rubber (heat is dissipated from an image sensor of the imaging apparatus by using an elastic/rubber heat conductive member 330 and a heat conduction sheet 310 in contact with each other) (figure 10; paragraph 89).
Re claim 9, Amano discloses all of the limitations of claim 1 above including a heat dissipation plate 26 and a heat sink 28 for dissipating heat from an image sensor 14) (figures 1-4; paragraphs 36-40). However, although the Amano reference discloses all of the limitations above, it fails to specifically disclose that the heat radiating member is a thermally conductive elastic member.
However, Endo discloses that it is well known in the imaging art to dissipate heat from an image sensor of an imaging apparatus by using an elastic/rubber heat conductive member 330 and a heat conduction sheet 310 in contact with each other (figure 10; paragraph 89). Therefore, it would have been obvious for one skilled in the art before the effective filing date to have been motivated to include the teaching of using an elastic/rubber heat conductive member and a heat conductive sheet in order to dissipate heat from an image sensor as disclosed by the Endo reference in the image pickup apparatus including a heat dissipation unit disclosed by the Amano reference. Doing so would provide a means for flexibly connecting different heat dissipating elements to various different heat generating components of an image pickup apparatus.
Re claim 10, Amano discloses all of the limitations of claim 1 above including a heat dissipation plate 26 and a heat sink 28 for dissipating heat from an image sensor 14) (figures 1-4; paragraphs 36-40). However, although the Amano reference discloses all of the limitations above, it fails to specifically disclose that the image pickup apparatus further comprises: a control substrate configured to control driving of the image sensor unit; and a first connecting member configured to electrically connect the image sensor unit and the control substrate, wherein the first connecting member is connected to the image sensor substrate at a joint portion, and wherein at least a part of the heat radiating member is disposed between the joint portion and the heat radiating plate.
However, Endo discloses that it is well known in the imaging art for an image pickup apparatus to include a control substrate (control circuit board 11) configured to control driving of an image sensor unit (102); and a first connecting member (300) configured to electrically connect the image sensor unit (102) and the control substrate (11), wherein the first connecting member (300) is connected to the image sensor substrate at a joint portion, and wherein at least a part of the heat radiating member is disposed between the joint portion and the heat radiating plate (heat conduction sheet 310 and heat conduction member 330 are connected to image sensor unit to transfer heat from image sensor unit)(figures 9A-10; paragraphs 87-89). Therefore, it would have been obvious for one skilled in the art before the effective filing date to have been motivated to include the teaching of using a heat conduction member and a heat conductive sheet in order to dissipate heat from an image sensor as disclosed by the Endo reference in the image pickup apparatus including a heat dissipation unit disclosed by the Amano reference. Doing so would provide a means for flexibly connecting different heat dissipating elements to various different heat generating components of an image pickup apparatus.
Re claim 11, Endo further discloses that a wiring is formed on the image sensor substrate, and wherein a signal from the first connecting member is transferred to the wiring via the joint portion (image sensor board 102 is electrically connected to the control circuit board 11 via electrical connection member 300)(figures 9A-10; paragraphs 87-89).
Re claim 12, Amano discloses all of the limitations of claim 1 above including a heat dissipation plate 26 and a heat sink 28 for dissipating heat from an image sensor 14) (figures 1-4; paragraphs 36-40). However, although the Amano reference discloses all of the limitations above, it fails to specifically disclose that the image pickup apparatus further comprises: a first sheet member disposed between the heat radiating member and the heat radiating plate, and a second sheet member disposed between the heat radiating member and the image sensor substrate.
However, Endo discloses that it is well known in the imaging art for an image pickup apparatus to include flexible heat conduction sheets 310 to conduct and transfer heat generated by an image sensor (figures 9A-10; paragraphs 87-89). Therefore, it would have been obvious for one skilled in the art before the effective filing date to have been motivated to include the teaching of using heat conductive sheets in order to dissipate heat from an image sensor as disclosed by the Endo reference in the image pickup apparatus including a heat dissipation unit disclosed by the Amano reference. Doing so would provide a means for flexibly connecting different heat dissipating elements to various different heat generating components of an image pickup apparatus.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 13 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Re claim 13, the prior art fails to teach or suggest, an image pickup apparatus having the specific configurations disclosed in claim 13, wherein the image pickup apparatus comprises: an image sensor unit including an image sensor, electrical components, and an image sensor substrate on which the image sensor and the electrical components are mounted; a heat radiating plate configured to radiate heat from the image sensor unit; and a heat radiating member configured to transfer the heat from the image sensor unit to the heat radiating plate, wherein the image sensor is disposed on a first surface of the image sensor substrate, wherein the electrical components are disposed on a second surface of the image sensor substrate opposite the first surface, wherein the heat radiating member is disposed between the image sensor substrate and the heat radiating plate, and wherein at least a part of the heat radiating member overlaps the image sensor when viewed from an optical axis direction, further comprising: a base member; a support member fixed to the base member; and a movable member supported by the support member so as to be displaceable within a plane orthogonal to an optical axis relative to the support member, wherein the movable member includes at least the image sensor unit, the heat radiating member, and the heat radiating plate. The prior art fails to specifically disclose an image pickup apparatus including a heat radiating plate, a heat radiating member, an image sensor, a base member, a support member and a movable member configured and arranged in the exact configuration disclosed in the specification and the claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Oe US 12,411,394 discloses an image capturing apparatus including a heat dissipation member.
Tomimoto et al. US 2024/0074030 discloses an image pickup apparatus including a heat dissipation member.
Shigeta et al. US 2023/0370704 discloses an image pickup apparatus with a heat dissipation member and an air-cooling mechanism.
Yamashita US 2023/0280639 discloses a cooling apparatus for an imaging device.
Contacts
/KELLY L JERABEK/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2699