Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of Group I, Option I, Category II, Species VIII in the reply filed on 15 December 2025 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that the searching would overlap in scope. This is not found persuasive because of the reasons already explained on Page 5 of the Requirement for Restriction mailed on 16 October 2025.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
The Examiner notes while the Applicant explicitly withdrew claims 6 and 14-15 in response to the restriction/election requirement, claims 5, 7, 9-12, 17, and 19-20 are further withdrawn from consideration through the explicit selection of Group I, Option I, Category II, Species VIII (which encompasses the embodiment shown in Figures 10-11) by the Applicant. For further explanation see below:
Claim 5 is withdrawn from consideration because it encompasses the embodiment drawn to Species XI (FIG. 16-17). This structure is exclusively contradictory to the embodiment shown in Figure 10-11.
Claim 7 is withdrawn from consideration because it depends on withdrawn claim 6.
Claim 9 is withdrawn from consideration because it encompasses drawn to an embodiment with a larger gap, for example Species I-VII (FIG. 2-9). This structure is exclusively contradictory to the embodiment shown in Figure 10-11.
Claims 10-12 are withdrawn from consideration because they ultimately depend on withdrawn claim 9.
Claim 10 is further withdrawn from consideration because it is drawn to an embodiment with a larger gap, for example Species I-VII (FIG. 2-9).. This structure is exclusively contradictory to the embodiment shown in Figure 10-11.
Claim 17 is withdrawn from consideration because it encompasses the embodiment drawn to Species IX (FIG. 12-13). This structure is exclusively contradictory to the embodiment shown in Figure 10-11.
Claim 19 is withdrawn from consideration because it encompasses the embodiment drawn to Species XII (FIG. 18). This structure is exclusively contradictory to the embodiment shown in Figure 10-11.
Claim 20 is withdrawn from consideration because it encompasses the embodiment drawn to at least Species I (FIG. 2) where there is cluster spacing. This structure is exclusively contradictory to the embodiment shown in Figure 10-11.
For the reasons as explained above, the restriction requirement is deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
This action is in reply to the communications filed on 15 December 2025.
Claims 1-20 are currently pending.
Claims 5-7, 9-12, 14-15, 17 and 19-20 are withdrawn from consideration.
Claims 1-4, 8, 13, 16, and 18 are being considered.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement(s) (IDS) submitted was/were considered by the Examiner.
Claim Interpretation
Examiner note: no 112(f) invocations have been identified by the Office.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4, 8, 13, and 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Breeze-Stringfellow et al (US 20210222575), hereafter referred to as Breeze-Stringfellow.
Regarding Claim 1, Breeze-Stringfellow discloses the following:
A turbofan engine (10) defining a circumferential direction, the turbofan engine (10) comprising:
a turbomachine (30);
an unducted rotor assembly (12) drivingly coupled to the turbomachine (30), the unducted rotor assembly (12) including a plurality of unducted rotor blades (16); and
a plurality of outlet guide vanes (20A, 20B; FIG. 2) positioned downstream of the plurality of unducted rotor blades (16), the plurality of outlet guide vanes (20A, 20B; FIG. 2) each defining a span, wherein the spans of the plurality of outlet guide vanes (20A, 20B; FIG. 2) are nonuniform,
wherein the unducted rotor assembly (12) defines a circumferential position, θ0 (As per [0113-114] of the Instant Application, the highest loaded blade may be located at the three o'clock position (FIG. 10) during a climbing mode operating condition or may be based on the position of a pylon fairing, wing, etc. during other operating conditions such as cruise, thus the highest loaded blade changes based on intended use of the engine and other factors beyond the engine itself. Since the Breeze-Stringfellow reference teaches same claimed structures of the Instant Application pertaining to "the highest loaded rotor blade", the highest loaded rotor blade may be in the same 3 o'clock position as the Instant Application, during the same intended use of the Instant Application, for example a climbing operating mode, in as much as the Instant Application .), of the highest loaded rotor blade at a first turbofan engine (10) operating condition, wherein a rotor blade of the unducted rotor assembly (12) further defines a tip radius, RTIP wherein the turbofan engine (10) defines an axial spacing, S, between the plurality of unducted rotor blades (16) and the plurality of outlet guide vanes (20A, 20B; FIG. 2) and an advance ratio, J, and wherein the turbofan engine (10) defines a circumferential swirl offset, θSWIRL_OFF, equal to
2
×
tan
-
1
(
π
×
S
f
×
R
T
I
P
)
and wherein the plurality of outlet guide vanes (20A, 20B; FIG. 2) includes a first outlet guide vane with a first span not greater than the spans of the other outlet guide vanes (20A, 20B; FIG. 2), the first outlet guide vane located at a circumferential position between θ0 and θSWIRL_OFF. (It is noted, FIG. 11 of the instant application shows the range of a circumferential position between θ0 and θSWIRL_OFF that is nearly 180 degrees, and the part span outlet guide vanes 20B of Breeze-Stringfellow are disclosed to be alternatingly disposed circumferentially around the engine with the full span outlet guide vanes 20A, thus at least one of the part span blades 20B would fall within the claimed range. Also see FIG. 2 of Breeze-Stringfellow which shows the alternating blades 20A, 20B.)
Regarding Claim 2, Breeze-Stringfellow discloses the following:
The turbofan engine (10) of claim 1,
wherein θSWIRL_OFF is defined in a direction of rotation of the unducted rotor assembly (12)(As discussed above, the position of θSWIRL_OFF is defined by intended use, and Breeze-Stringfellow discloses the same claimed structures that are capable of performing the intended use.).
Regarding Claim 3, Breeze-Stringfellow discloses the following:
The turbofan engine (10) of claim 1,
wherein the plurality of outlet guide vanes (20A, 20B; FIG. 2) includes a second outlet guide vane (20A) with a second span not shorter than the spans of the other outlet guide vanes (20A, 20B; FIG. 2), wherein the second outlet guide vane (20A) is located at a circumferential position between 150 degrees and 210 degrees offset from the first outlet guide vane (Based on FIG. 2 and paragraph [0036], which teaches the first and second guide vanes extend circumferentially, one of ordinary skill in the art would understand that 16 blades, 8 of each of the first and second blades, are disclosed and would be spaced 22.5 degrees apart. Thus from any first blade at least two second blades would be within the 150 degree to 210 range, one being located at 157.5 degrees and the other at 202.5 degrees).
Regarding Claim 4, Breeze-Stringfellow discloses the following:
The turbofan engine (10) of claim 1,
wherein the turbofan engine (10) is configured to be mounted to an aircraft through a pylon at a pylon attachment location (see [0068, 120]),
wherein the circumferential position, θ0, of the highest loaded rotor blade is aligned circumferentially with the pylon attachment location (see [0068, 120]),
wherein the first outlet guide vane is aligned with the pylon attachment location (see [0068, 120]) or positioned within θSWIRL_OFF of the pylon attachment location (see [0068, 120]) in a direction of rotor rotation.
Regarding Claim 8, Breeze-Stringfellow discloses the following:
The turbofan engine (10) of claim 1,
wherein the spans of the plurality of outlet guide vanes (20A, 20B; FIG. 2) increases from the first span to a second span according to a function, and
wherein the function is one of a sinusoidally-varying function (as seen in FIG. 2).
Regarding Claim 13, Breeze-Stringfellow discloses the following:
The turbofan engine (10) of claim 1,
wherein the plurality of outlet guide vanes (20A, 20B; FIG. 2) includes at least one fixed-pitch (see [0056]) outlet guide vane.
Regarding Claim 16, Breeze-Stringfellow discloses the following:
An outlet guide vane assembly for a turbofan engine (10), the turbofan engine (10) defining a circumferential direction and including a turbomachine (30) and an unducted rotor assembly (12) drivingly coupled to the turbomachine (30), the outlet guide vane assembly comprising:
a plurality of outlet guide vanes (20A, 20B; FIG. 2) configured to be positioned downstream of a plurality of unducted rotor blades (16) of the unducted rotor assembly (12) when installed in the turbofan engine (10), the plurality of outlet guide vanes (20A, 20B; FIG. 2) each defining a span,
the spans of the plurality of outlet guide vanes (20A, 20B; FIG. 2) being nonuniform along the circumferential direction,
wherein the unducted rotor assembly (12) defines a circumferential position, θ0, of the highest loaded rotor blade (As per [0113-114] of the Instant Application, the highest loaded blade may be located at the three o'clock position (FIG. 10) during a climbing mode operating condition or may be based on the position of a pylon fairing, wing, etc. during other operating conditions such as cruise, thus the highest loaded blade changes based on intended use of the engine and other factors beyond the engine itself. Since the Breeze-Stringfellow reference teaches same claimed structures of the Instant Application pertaining to "the highest loaded rotor blade", the highest loaded rotor blade may be in the same 3 o'clock position as the Instant Application, during the same intended use of the Instant Application, for example a climbing operating mode, in as much as the Instant Application .) at a first turbofan engine (10) operating condition and a tip radius, RTIP, wherein the turbofan engine (10) defines an axial spacing, S, between the plurality of unducted rotor blades (16) and the plurality of outlet guide vanes (20A, 20B; FIG. 2) and an advance ratio, J, and wherein the turbofan engine (10) defines a circumferential swirl offset, θSWIRL_OFF, equal to
2
×
tan
-
1
(
π
×
S
f
×
R
T
I
P
)
and wherein a first outlet guide vane is located at a circumferential position between θ0 and θSWIRL_OFF, wherein θSWIRL_OFF is defined in a direction of rotation of the unducted rotor assembly (12)(It is noted, FIG. 11 of the instant application shows the range of a circumferential position between θ0 and θSWIRL_OFF that is nearly 180 degrees, and the part span outlet guide vanes 20B of Breeze-Stringfellow are disclosed to be alternatingly disposed circumferentially around the engine with the full span outlet guide vanes 20A, thus at least one of the part span blades 20B would fall within the claimed range. Also see FIG. 2 of Breeze-Stringfellow which shows the alternating blades 20A, 20B.)(As discussed above, the position of θSWIRL_OFF is defined by intended use, and Breeze-Stringfellow discloses the same claimed structures that are capable of performing the intended use.).
Double Patenting
Claim 18 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 12276199. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claim 1 contains all the limitations of claim 18. With respect to the additional features in the Patent number 12276199, Claim 1 is obvious over the Instant Claim 18 as the Patent Claim 1 otherwise anticipates the Application Claim 18. (See MPEP 804 II. B. 1)
Conclusion
See form No. 892 for other references pertinent to the application that may not have been cited within the Office Action.
For references which show similar guide vane arrangements see Pages 1-2.
/BRIAN CHRISTOPHER DELRUE/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3745