Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I (claims 1-7) in the reply filed on 9/1/2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 8-17 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected Group.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers submitted under 35 U.S.C. 119(a)-(d), which papers have been placed of record in the file.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 3/25/2025, 5/4/2026 and 8/24/2026 have been considered by the examiner. Initialed copies accompany this action.
Drawings
The Drawings filed 3/25/2025 are approved by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Fouad et al (J. Anal. Appl. Pyrolysis 78 (2007) 65–69).
Regarding claim 1, Fouad discloses composition including lithium-containing compounds, the composition comprising lithium compounds including LiAlO2; and at least one of Li.sub.2CO.sub.3, LiF, and Li.sub.5AlO.sub.4, wherein the major phase detected is g-LiAlO2 together with traces of residual aluminum metal and another lithium aluminate phase, Li5AlO4. Fouad inherently discloses the limitation of a content of LiAlO.sub.2 is 12% or more with respect to 100 wt % of a total weight of the composition.
Regarding claim 2, Fouad discloses the composition including lithium-containing compounds is recovered from a waste battery (page 66, Experimental).
Regarding claims 3 and 4, Fouad discloses the recitation of “30% or less, 30% or less, and 40% or less” includes zero as a lower limit. Therefore, Fouad meets the claimed.
Regarding claim 6, Fouad discloses the composition including lithium-containing compounds satisfies the following Expression 2: 0.1 ≤IA/IB≤1.5, IA represents a peak intensity value of 2θ=21°±0.5° of LiAlO2 product, and IB represents a peak intensity value of 2θ=32.6°±0.4° of LiAlO2 product (Fig. 5).
Regarding claim 7, Fouad discloses the composition including lithium-containing compounds satisfies the claimed expression 3 (Li/Al mole ratio of 3.9).
Claim 5 is rejected as being dependent on a rejected claim.
Conclusion
/HAIDUNG D NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1761
9/30/2026