DETAILED ACTION
The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA . In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status.
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
The lengthy specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant’s cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim(s) 3-4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
In regards to claim 3-4,
Claim 3-4 recite “wherein the internal electrode layers contain nickel” which causes the claim to be indefinite as it is unclear if the nickel is in addition to the base metal and the copper or if the nickel is the base metal. For the purpose of examination, the examiner is taking “wherein the base metal element is nickel”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 3, & 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Doi et al. (US 2016/0358712).
In regards to claim 1, Doi ‘712 discloses
A multilayer ceramic electronic component, comprising:
multiple dielectric layers (2 – fig. 1; [0021]) laminated along a first axis;
multiple internal electrode layers (3-4 – fig. 1; [0021]) respectively placed along the first axis between adjacent pairs of the dielectric layers; and
intermediate regions (near-surface regions – [0026]) placed between the dielectric layers and the internal electrode layers, respectively;
wherein: the dielectric layers contain a compound expressed by a general formula ABO3-α (0≤α≤1) and having a perovskite structure, as well as an additive element, wherein A and B represent an A-site element and a B-site element, respectively, of the perovskite structure ([0030-0031]);
the internal electrode layers contain a base metal element as a main component, as well as copper ([0025]);
the intermediate regions have a higher content of the additive element than in the internal electrode layers, respectively, and a higher content of copper than in the dielectric layers, respectively, based on energy dispersive X-ray spectroscopy (EDX) analysis ([0026] & [0034-0041] – noting that during firing diffusion of the additive element will occur); and
the additive element encompasses one or more elements selected from holmium, yttrium, samarium, dysprosium, europium, gadolinium, terbium, erbium, thulium, and ytterbium ([0031]).
In regards to claim 3, Doi ‘712 discloses
The multilayer ceramic electronic component according to claim 1, wherein the internal electrode layers contain nickel ([0026]).
In regards to claim 5, Doi ‘712 discloses
The multilayer ceramic electronic component according to claim 1, wherein the dielectric layers contain barium titanate as the compound having the perovskite structure ([0030]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Matsuda et al. (US 2012/0147518) in view of Cho et al. (US 2021/0035741).
In regards to claim 1,
Matsuda ‘518 discloses a multilayer ceramic electronic component, comprising:
multiple dielectric layers (3 – fig. 1; [0033]) laminated along a first axis;
multiple internal electrode layers (4-5 – fig. 1; [0033]) respectively placed along the first axis between adjacent pairs of the dielectric layers; and
intermediate regions placed between the dielectric layers and the internal electrode layers (interface formed between layers), respectively;
wherein: the dielectric layers contain a compound expressed by a general formula ABO3-α (0≤α≤1) and having a perovskite structure, as well as an additive element, wherein A and B represent an A-site element and a B-site element, respectively, of the perovskite structure ([0036]);
the internal electrode layers contain a base metal element as a main component ([0057]);
the intermediate regions have a higher content of the additive element than in the internal electrode layers, respectively, based on energy dispersive X-ray spectroscopy (EDX) analysis ([0037] – during firing the rare earth element will diffuse towards the interface); and
the additive element encompasses one or more elements selected from holmium, yttrium, samarium, dysprosium, europium, gadolinium, terbium, erbium, thulium, and ytterbium ([0036]). Matsuda ‘518 fails to disclose the internal electrode layers contains copper; the intermediate regions have a higher content of copper than in the dielectric layers, respectively, based on energy dispersive X-ray spectroscopy (EDX) analysis.
Cho ‘741 discloses the internal electrode layers contains nickel as a main component and copper ([0031]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to form the internal electrodes of Matsuda ‘518 to include copper as taught by Cho ‘741 thus obtaining the intermediate regions have a higher content of copper than in the dielectric layers, respectively, based on energy dispersive X-ray spectroscopy (EDX) analysis (noting Cu will diffuse towards interface during firing) to obtain a capacitor wherein connectivity between Ni particles of the internal electrodes is improved, strength of the internal electrodes is improved, and high temperature load reliability, moisture reliability, and the like, of the multilayer electronic component are improved.
In regards to claim 2,
Matsuda ‘518 as modified by Cho ‘741 further discloses wherein an average value of atomic ratio of a content of the additive element is 0.13 at% or higher but no higher than 0.67 at%, and an average value of atomic ratio of a content of copper is 0.32 at% or higher but no higher than 3.15 at%, in the intermediate regions based on three-dimensional atom probe analysis ([0019], [0037], & table 1 of Matsuda – noting when the structure/method of manufacturing recited in the references is substantially identical to that of the claims, claimed properties (at%) are presumed to be inherent).
In regards to claim 3,
Matsuda ‘518 as modified by Cho ‘741 further discloses wherein the internal electrode layers contain nickel ([0031] of Cho ‘741).
In regards to claim 4,
Matsuda ‘518 as modified by Cho ‘741 further discloses wherein the internal electrode layers contain nickel ([0031] of Cho ‘741).
In regards to claim 5,
Matsuda ‘518 as modified by Cho ‘741 further discloses wherein the dielectric layers contain barium titanate as the compound having the perovskite structure ([0036] of Matsuda).
In regards to claim 6,
Matsuda ‘518 as modified by Cho ‘741 further discloses wherein the dielectric layers contain barium titanate as the compound having the perovskite structure ([0036] of Matsuda).
In regards to claim 7,
Matsuda ‘518 discloses a method for manufacturing multilayer ceramic electronic component, comprising:
a dielectric green sheet (3 – fig. 1; [0035]) forming step to form dielectric green sheets that contain a compound expressed by a general formula ABO3-α (0≤α≤1) and having a perovskite structure, as well as an additive element, wherein A and B represent an A-site element and a B-site element, respectively, of the perovskite structure ([0036]);
an internal electrode layer (4-5 – fig. 1; [0033]) forming step to form, on a surface of the dielectric green sheets, internal electrode layer patterns that contain a base metal element as a main component, and thereby produce ceramic green sheets ([0034]); and
a firing step to fire a laminated body constituted by the ceramic green sheets that have been laminated ([0037] & table 1);
wherein:
the additive element encompasses one or more elements selected from holmium, yttrium, samarium, dysprosium, europium, gadolinium, terbium, erbium, thulium, and ytterbium ([0036]); and,
in the firing step, a temperature is raised at a rate of rise in temperature of 30,000°C/h or higher over a range from 600°C to the firing temperature ([0019], [0037], & table 1 – noting 40°C/sec is equivalent to 144,000°C/h). Matsuda ‘518 fails to disclose the internal electrode layers contains copper.
Cho ‘741 discloses the internal electrode layers contains nickel as a main component and copper ([0031]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to form the internal electrodes of Matsuda ‘518 to include copper as taught by Cho ‘741 to obtain a capacitor wherein connectivity between Ni particles of the internal electrodes is improved, strength of the internal electrodes is improved, and high temperature load reliability, moisture reliability, and the like, of the multilayer electronic component are improved.
In regards to claim 8,
Matsuda ‘518 as modified by Cho ‘741 further discloses wherein the firing temperature is 1,000°C or higher but no higher than 1,400°C (table 1 & [0063] of Matsuda ‘518).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim(s) 9 is/are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
The prior art does not teach or suggest (in combination with the other claim limitations) wherein the holding period at the firing temperature is 10 seconds or less (claim 9).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US 2015/0187498 – table 1 US 2004/0201137 – [0019]
US 2023/0187141 – fig. 3 US 5,097,391 – fig. 2
US 5,910,881 – fig. 2 US 2021/0304969 – [0014] US 2023/0170143 – [0136]
Communication
/David M Sinclair/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2847