Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 03/25/2025; 04/08/2025; 08/15/2025 & 01/22/2026 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Objections
Claims 5-7, 12, 17, 19, 21 & 26 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Regarding claim 5, the limitation reciting “calculated in each the multiple of different reference the specific power switch” is grammatically incomplete. The phrase appears to omit “of” after “each” and “frames” after “reference.” Applicant is required to correct the limitation, for example, to recite “calculated in each of the multiple of different reference frames, the specific power switch,” or otherwise amend the claim to clearly set forth the intended language.
Regarding claim 6, the limitation reciting “measure the alternating current values of each multiphase AC output of the circuit” is inconsistent with the previously recited “multiphase AC output power.” It appears that the intended measurement is of the current value associated with each phase of the multiphase AC output. Applicant is required to correct the terminology, for example, to recite “measure the alternating current values of each phase of the multiphase AC output of the circuit.”
Regarding claim 7, the limitation reciting “receive the alternating current values of each multiphase AC output of the circuit” contains the same terminology issue noted above with respect to claim 6. Applicant is required to correct the terminology, for example, to recite “receive the alternating current values of each phase of the multiphase AC output of the circuit.”
Regarding claim 12, the limitation reciting “wherein each of the multiple different reference frames are rotated” contains a subject-verb disagreement. Because the subject “each” is singular, “are rotated” should be amended to “is rotated.”
Regarding claim 17, the limitation reciting “calculate alpha currents in each of a three (3) different reference frames” is grammatically incorrect. Applicant is required to amend “each of a three (3) different reference frames” to “each of the three (3) different reference frames,” or otherwise correct the grammatical error.
Regarding claim 19, although the claim initially recites current sensors configured to measure “the alternating current values of each of the three (3) phases of AC output of the circuit,” the claim subsequently recites “receive the alternating current values of each multiphase AC output of the circuit.” The latter terminology is inconsistent with the preceding phase-specific language. Applicant is required to correct the latter limitation, for example, to recite “receive the alternating current values of each of the three (3) phases of the AC output of the circuit.”
Regarding claim 21, the limitation reciting “calculate alpha currents in each of a three (3) different reference frames” is grammatically incorrect. Applicant is required to amend “each of a three (3) different reference frames” to “each of the three (3) different reference frames,” or otherwise correct the grammatical error. Claim 21 further recites in the preamble “detecting a potential open circuit fault,” whereas the concluding limitation recites “whether a potential circuit fault occurred.” The latter phrase appears to inadvertently omit the word “open.” Applicant is required to amend “potential circuit fault” to “potential open circuit fault” for consistency with the remainder of the claim.
Regarding claim 26, the claim recites “calculate beta currents in each of the multiple of different reference frames,” whereas independent claim 21 recites three (3) different reference frames, and claim 26 subsequently refers to “each of the three (3) different reference frames.” Applicant is required to correct the inconsistent terminology, for example, by amending “each of the multiple of different reference frames” to “each of the three (3) different reference frames.”
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-13, 16-22 & 25-26 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bagheri et al. (U.S. 2024/0149693 A1) in view of Ishikawa et al. (U.S. 2022/0416688 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Bagheri et al. disclose a system for detecting a fault in a power switch in a circuit for converting direct current to multiphase alternating current output power where the circuit comprises a plurality of power switches (see inverter 32 receiving DC voltage Vs and converting the DC voltage into a three-phase current waveform through an array of switches S1-S6, wherein electric control unit 302 detects a type of failure, such as a short circuit or open circuit, and a location of the failure, such as which switch has failed, paragraph [0055], Fig. 3); the system configured to calculate alpha currents (see [0059] wherein transforming samples of the three-phase current waveform Ia, Ib and Ic into two orthogonal signals Iα and Iβ using an α-β transformation and, more particularly, a Clarke transformation, paragraph [0060], Fig. 4B); check the signs of the alpha currents calculated (see Fig. 9 wherein determine the polar quadrants I-IV occupied by the Iα/Iβ representation in the α-β plane, wherein under the broadest reasonable interpretation determination of the occupied quadrant necessarily determines whether the α coordinate is positive or negative, paragraph [0076]); and determine, based upon the signs of the alpha currents calculated whether a fault occurred in one of the plurality of power switches (see [0075] wherein determine short-circuit or open-circuit failure modes and identify the faulty inverter switch S1-S6 based on the rotation angle and occupied α-β quadrants, paragraphs [0079], Tables 4-5).
Bagheri et al. are not understood to explicitly disclose calculating the alpha currents in each of a multiple of different reference frames using respective alpha-beta transformations in each of the multiple of different reference frames.
Ishikawa et al. disclose calculating the alpha currents in each of a multiple of different reference frames using respective alpha-beta transformations in each of the multiple of different reference frames (see [0055], wherein a phase-referenced three-phase/two-phase transformation wherein AC currents iu, iv and iw are converted into α-axis and β-axis components, the positive direction of a phase current is used as the α-axis reference, and a U-phase reference vector transformation matrix is expressly provided, see [0060]-[0061]); Ishikawa et al. further disclose that the U-phase, V-phase and W-phase AC currents are mutually shifted by 120 degrees (paragraph [0053], wherein and that the αβ coordinate space is analyzed according to angular orientations including 60-degree and 120-degree angular relationships (paragraph [0070], Fig. 6).
It therefore would have been obvious to one skilled in the art, prior to the effective filing date, to modify Bagheri et al. by incorporating the phase-referenced alpha-beta transformation for the respective phase directions as taught by Ishikawa et al., thereby calculating the alpha-beta currents relative to multiple phase-referenced coordinate frames, as doing so would provide phase-specific transformed-current information for more reliably detecting and locating an inverter switching-element failure because Ishikawa et al. emphasize in paragraph [0099] that the electrical-angle technique permits failure of a switching element to be detected with high accuracy using the three-phase AC current values regardless of amplitude accuracy, thus improving the reliability of inverter fault detection and localization.
As to claim 2, Bagheri et al. & Ishikawa et al. disclose the system of claim 1, wherein Bagheri et al. further disclose calculate beta currents in each of the multiple of different reference frames using the respective alpha-beta transformations in each of the multiple of different reference frames (Bagheri et al. disclose applying a Clarke transformation to three-phase currents Ia, Ib and Ic to obtain both Iα and Iβ, paragraph [0060]; in combination with the phase-referenced transformation teachings of Ishikawa et al. in paragraphs [0053], [0055] and [0060]-[0061] as discussed above); and check the signs of the beta currents calculated in each of the multiple of different reference frames (Bagheri et al. determine the polar quadrants I-IV occupied by the Iα/Iβ representation in the α-β plane, wherein under the broadest reasonable interpretation determination of an occupied quadrant necessarily determines whether the β coordinate is positive or negative, paragraph [0076], Figs. 9 and 11).
As to claim 3, Bagheri et al. & Ishikawa et al. disclose the system of claim 2, wherein Bagheri et al. further disclose determine, based upon the signs of both the alpha currents and the beta currents, whether a short circuit occurred in one of the plurality of power switches (Bagheri et al. disclose determining that a particular inverter switch S1-S6 has a short-circuit failure based on the rotation angle and polar quadrants occupied by the Iα/Iβ representation; for example, Table 4 expressly associates each faulty switch S1-S6 with corresponding occupied α-β quadrants, paragraph [0077], Table 4, Fig. 9).
As to claim 4, Bagheri et al. & Ishikawa et al. disclose the system of claim 2, wherein Bagheri et al. further disclose determine, based upon the signs of both the alpha currents and the beta currents calculated in each of the multiple different reference frames, whether a potential open circuit fault occurred in one of the plurality of power switches (Bagheri et al. disclose determining an open-circuit failure mode based on the rotation angle and occupied quadrants of the Iα/Iβ representation and identifying the particular open-circuited switch S1-S6, paragraphs [0078]-[0079], Table 5, Fig. 11; in combination with the phase-referenced αβ transformation of Ishikawa et al. discussed above).
As to claim 5, Bagheri et al. & Ishikawa et al. disclose the system of claim 2, wherein Bagheri et al. further disclose identify, based upon the signs of both the alpha currents and the beta currents calculated in each the multiple of different reference the specific power switch out of the plurality of power switches that had a short circuit fault or a potential open circuit fault (Bagheri et al. expressly associate the α-β quadrant patterns and rotation angles with specific faulty switches S1-S6 for both short-circuit and open-circuit failure modes, paragraphs [0077]-[0079], Tables 4-5).
As to claim 6, Bagheri et al. & Ishikawa et al. disclose the system of claim 1, wherein Bagheri et al. further disclose one or more current sensors configured to measure the alternating current values of each multiphase AC output of the circuit (see current sensor 304 detecting and obtaining three current components Ia, Ib and Ic corresponding to the respective phases of the three-phase current waveform, paragraph [0058], Figs. 2 and 13).
As to claim 7, Bagheri et al. & Ishikawa et al. disclose the system of claim 6, wherein Bagheri et al. further disclose receive the alternating current values of each multiphase AC output of the circuit (current sensor 304 detects and provides three-phase current components Ia, Ib and Ic to electric control unit 302, paragraph [0058]); and use the received alternating current values to calculate the alpha currents and the beta currents in each of the multiple different reference frames (the received three-phase current samples Ia, Ib and Ic are transformed into Iα and Iβ using a Clarke transformation, paragraph [0060], in combination with the phase-referenced αβ transformation teachings of Ishikawa et al. in paragraphs [0053], [0055] and [0060]-[0061]).
As to claim 8, Bagheri et al. & Ishikawa et al. disclose the system of claim 1, wherein Bagheri et al. further disclose the number of multiple different reference frames of multiphase AC output power of the circuit (Bagheri et al. disclose a three-phase inverter and three phase-current components Ia, Ib and Ic, paragraphs [0055], [0058]).
Bagheri et al. are not understood to explicitly disclose that the number of different reference frames is equal to the number of phases.
Ishikawa et al. disclose the number of different reference frames is equal to the number of phases (see three respective phase currents U, V and W separated by 120 degrees, together with a phase-referenced αβ transformation in which the positive phase-current direction establishes the α-axis reference (paragraphs [0053], [0055], [0060]-[0061]).
It therefore would have been obvious to one skilled in the art, prior to the effective filing date, to modify Bagheri et al. by incorporating t three different reference frames as taught by Ishikawa et al., thereby calculating the alpha-beta currents relative to multiple phase-referenced coordinate frames, as doing so would provide phase-specific transformed-current information for more reliably detecting and locating an inverter switching-element failure because Ishikawa et al. emphasize in paragraph [0099] that the electrical-angle technique permits failure of a switching element to be detected with high accuracy using the three-phase AC current values regardless of amplitude accuracy, thus improving the reliability of inverter fault detection and localization.
As to claim 9, Bagheri et al. disclose the system of claim 1, wherein the number of phases of multiphase AC output power of the circuit is three phases and the number of multiple different reference frames is three reference frames (Bagheri et al. disclose inverter 32 producing a three-phase current waveform comprising three current components Ia, Ib and Ic, paragraphs [0055], [0058]).
Bagheri et al. are not understood to explicitly disclose is three phases and the number of multiple different reference frames is three reference frames.
Ishikawa et al. disclose three different reference frames (wherein the U-, V- and W-phase currents shifted from one another by 120 degrees and a phase-referenced αβ transformation in which a phase-current direction establishes the α-axis reference (paragraphs [0053], [0055], [0060]-[0061]).
It therefore would have been obvious to one skilled in the art, prior to the effective filing date, to modify Bagheri et al. by incorporating three different reference frames as taught by Ishikawa et al., thereby calculating the alpha-beta currents relative to multiple phase-referenced coordinate frames, as doing so would provide phase-specific transformed-current information for more reliably detecting and locating an inverter switching-element failure because Ishikawa et al. emphasize in paragraph [0099] that the electrical-angle technique permits failure of a switching element to be detected with high accuracy using the three-phase AC current values regardless of amplitude accuracy, thus improving the reliability of inverter fault detection and localization.
As to claim 10, Bagheri et al. disclose the system of claim 9, wherein the different reference frames are rotated (Bagheri et al. disclose that the three current phasors Pa, Pb and Pc have 120-degree phase shifts therebetween, paragraph [0058]).
Bagheri et al. are not understood to explicitly disclose three reference frames rotated 120 degrees from each adjacent reference frame.
Ishikawa et al. disclose three reference frames rotated 120 degrees from each adjacent reference frame (see at the U-, V- and W-phase AC currents are shifted from one another by 120 degrees and define an α-axis reference according to a phase-current direction using a phase-reference vector transformation matrix (paragraphs [0053], [0055], [0060]).
It therefore would have been obvious to one skilled in the art, prior to the effective filing date, to modify Bagheri et al. by incorporating three different reference frames as taught by Ishikawa et al., thereby calculating the alpha-beta currents relative to multiple phase-referenced coordinate frames, as doing so would provide phase-specific transformed-current information for more reliably detecting and locating an inverter switching-element failure because Ishikawa et al. emphasize in paragraph [0099] that the electrical-angle technique permits failure of a switching element to be detected with high accuracy using the three-phase AC current values regardless of amplitude accuracy, thus improving the reliability of inverter fault detection and localization.
As to claim 11, Bagheri et al. disclose the system of claim 1, wherein the multiple different reference frames is rotated (Bagheri et al. disclose three current phasors having 120-degree phase shifts therebetween, paragraph [0058]).
Bagheri et al. are not understood to explicitly disclose multiple reference frames rotated with respect to adjacent reference frames.
Ishikawa et al. disclose multiple reference frames rotated with respect to adjacent reference frames (see phase-reference transformation based on the phase-current direction and U-, V- and W-phase currents mutually displaced by 120 degrees (paragraphs [0053], [0055], [0060], thereby teaching phase-referenced coordinate orientations rotated with respect to one another).
It therefore would have been obvious to one skilled in the art, prior to the effective filing date, to modify Bagheri et al. by incorporating three different reference frames as taught by Ishikawa et al., thereby calculating the alpha-beta currents relative to multiple phase-referenced coordinate frames, as doing so would provide phase-specific transformed-current information for more reliably detecting and locating an inverter switching-element failure because Ishikawa et al. emphasize in paragraph [0099] that the electrical-angle technique permits failure of a switching element to be detected with high accuracy using the three-phase AC current values regardless of amplitude accuracy, thus improving the reliability of inverter fault detection and localization.
As to claim 12, Bagheri et al. disclose the system of claim 9, wherein each of the reference frames are rotated and divided by the number of phases of multiphase AC output power of the circuit with respect to the adjacent different reference frame (Bagheri et al. disclose a three-phase system in which the three phase-current phasors are mutually shifted by 120 degrees, paragraph [0058], wherein 120 degrees equals 360 degrees divided by three phases).
Bagheri et al. are not understood to explicitly disclose the claimed corresponding multiple reference frames rotated 360 degrees.
Ishikawa et al. likewise disclose multiple reference frames (see U-, V- and W-phase currents separated by 120 & 360 degrees together with the phase-reference transformation described in paragraphs [0053], [0055] and [0060], thereby teaching the corresponding 360°/three-phase rotational relationship between phase-referenced orientations).
It therefore would have been obvious to one skilled in the art, prior to the effective filing date, to modify Bagheri et al. by incorporating three different reference frames as taught by Ishikawa et al., thereby calculating the alpha-beta currents relative to multiple phase-referenced coordinate frames, as doing so would provide phase-specific transformed-current information for more reliably detecting and locating an inverter switching-element failure because Ishikawa et al. emphasize in paragraph [0099] that the electrical-angle technique permits failure of a switching element to be detected with high accuracy using the three-phase AC current values regardless of amplitude accuracy, thus improving the reliability of inverter fault detection and localization.
As to claim 13, Bagheri et al. & Ishikawa et al. disclose the system of claim 4, wherein Bagheri et al. further disclose confirm whether the potential open circuit fault occurred in one of the plurality of power switches (Bagheri et al. determine an open-circuit failure mode when the occupied α-β quadrants and rotation angle correspond to the predetermined open-circuit categories associated with switches S1-S6, paragraphs [0078]-[0079], Table 5).
As to claim 16, Bagheri et al. & Ishikawa et al. disclose the system of claim 13, wherein Bagheri et al. further disclose configured to identify, based upon the signs of the alpha currents and the beta currents in each of the multiple different reference frames, the specific power switch out of the plurality of power switches that had the potential open circuit fault (Bagheri et al. identify the particular open-circuited switch S1-S6 based on the occupied Iα/Iβ quadrants and rotation angle, paragraphs [0078]-[0079], Table 5; in combination with the phase-referenced αβ transformation teachings of Ishikawa et al. discussed above).
Regarding claim 17, Bagheri et al. disclose a system for detecting a short circuit fault in a power switch in a circuit for converting direct current to three phase alternating current output power where the circuit comprises a plurality of power switches (inverter 32 receives DC voltage Vs and converts it into three-phase current through switches S1-S6, and electric control unit 302 detects a short-circuit failure and identifies which switch failed, paragraph [0055], Fig. 3); the system configured to: calculate alpha currents (Bagheri et al. disclose calculating Iα and Iβ from three-phase currents Ia, Ib and Ic using an α-β/Clarke transformation, paragraphs [0059]-[0060]); calculate beta currents (see paragraph [0060]); check the signs of the alpha currents calculated in each of the three different reference frames (Bagheri et al. determine occupied polar quadrants in the α-β plane, which under the broadest reasonable interpretation necessarily determines the sign of the α coordinate, paragraph [0076]); check the signs of the beta currents calculated in each of the three different reference frames (determination of the occupied α-β quadrant necessarily determines the sign of the β coordinate, paragraph [0076]); and determine, based upon the signs of the alpha currents and the beta currents calculated in each of the three different reference frames, whether a short circuit fault occurred in one of the plurality of power switches (Bagheri et al. determine short-circuit failure of a particular switch S1-S6 using the occupied α-β quadrants and rotation angle, paragraph [0077], Table 4).
Bagheri et al. are not understood to explicitly disclose calculating the alpha currents and beta currents in each of three different reference frames using respective alpha-beta transformations in each of the three different reference frames.
Ishikawa et al. disclose calculating the alpha currents and beta currents in each of three different reference frames using respective alpha-beta transformations in each of the three different reference frames (see [0073-0074] wherein calculating the alpha currents in each of a multiple of different reference frames using respective alpha-beta transformations in each of the multiple of different reference frames (see [0055], wherein a phase-referenced three-phase/two-phase transformation wherein AC currents iu, iv and iw are converted into α-axis and β-axis components, the positive direction of a phase current is used as the α-axis reference, and a U-phase reference vector transformation matrix is expressly provided, see [0060]-[0061]); Ishikawa et al. further disclose that the U-phase, V-phase and W-phase AC currents are mutually shifted by 120 degrees (paragraph [0053], wherein and that the αβ coordinate space is analyzed according to angular orientations including 60-degree and 120-degree angular relationships (paragraph [0070], Fig. 6).
It therefore would have been obvious to one skilled in the art, prior to the effective filing date, to modify Bagheri et al. by incorporating the phase-referenced alpha-beta transformation for the respective phase directions as taught by Ishikawa et al., thereby calculating the alpha-beta currents relative to multiple phase-referenced coordinate frames, as doing so would provide phase-specific transformed-current information for more reliably detecting and locating an inverter switching-element failure because Ishikawa et al. emphasize in paragraph [0099] that the electrical-angle technique permits failure of a switching element to be detected with high accuracy using the three-phase AC current values regardless of amplitude accuracy, thus improving the reliability of inverter fault detection and localization.
As to claim 18, Bagheri et al. & Ishikawa et al. disclose the system of claim 17, wherein Bagheri et al. further disclose configured to identify, based upon the signs of the alpha currents and the beta currents calculated in each of the three different reference frames, the specific power switch out of the plurality of power switches that had the short circuit fault (Bagheri et al. expressly identify each faulty switch S1-S6 from corresponding occupied α-β quadrants and rotation angles for the short-circuit failure mode, paragraph [0077], Table 4).
As to claim 19, Bagheri et al. & Ishikawa et al. disclose the system of claim 17, wherein Bagheri et al. further disclose one or more current sensors configured to measure the alternating current values of each of the three phases of AC output of the circuit (current sensor 304 detects and obtains the three current components Ia, Ib and Ic corresponding to the respective phases of the three-phase current waveform, paragraph [0058], Figs. 2 and 13); and the system further configured to: receive the alternating current values of each multiphase AC output of the circuit (electric control unit 302 receives the phase-current components detected using current sensor 304, paragraph [0058]); and use the received alternating current values to calculate the alpha currents and the beta currents in each of the three different reference frames (Bagheri et al. transform the three-phase current samples into Iα and Iβ using a Clarke transformation, paragraph [0060]).
As to claim 20, Bagheri et al. disclose the system of claim 17, wherein the three different reference frames (Bagheri et al. disclose three phase-current phasors having 120-degree phase shifts therebetween, paragraph [0058]).
Bagheri et al. are not understood to explicitly disclose three different reference frames rotated 120 degrees from each adjacent reference frame.
Ishikawa et al. disclose three different reference frames rotated 120 degrees from each adjacent reference frame (see [0055] wherein U-, V- and W-phase AC currents shifted by 120 degrees and an αβ transformation referenced to a phase-current direction, including the U-phase reference vector transformation matrix (paragraphs [0053] & [0060]; applying the same phase-reference transformation successively relative to the three phase directions would therefore result in corresponding reference orientations separated by 120 degrees).
It therefore would have been obvious to one skilled in the art, prior to the effective filing date, to modify Bagheri et al. by incorporating the phase-referenced alpha-beta transformation for the respective phase directions as taught by Ishikawa et al., thereby calculating the alpha-beta currents relative to multiple phase-referenced coordinate frames, as doing so would provide phase-specific transformed-current information for more reliably detecting and locating an inverter switching-element failure because Ishikawa et al. emphasize in paragraph [0099] that the electrical-angle technique permits failure of a switching element to be detected with high accuracy using the three-phase AC current values regardless of amplitude accuracy, thus improving the reliability of inverter fault detection and localization.
Regarding claim 21, Bagheri et al. disclose a system for detecting a potential open circuit fault in a power switch in a circuit for converting direct current to three phase alternating current output power where the circuit comprises a plurality of power switches (inverter 32 receives DC voltage Vs and converts it into a three-phase current waveform through switches S1-S6, and electric control unit 302 detects an open-circuit failure and identifies which inverter switch failed, paragraphs [0055], [0078]-[0079]); the system configured to: calculate alpha currents (Bagheri et al. disclose obtaining Iα and Iβ from three-phase current samples using an α-β/Clarke transformation, paragraphs [0059]-[0060]); check the signs of the alpha currents calculated in each of the different reference frames (Bagheri et al. determine the polar quadrants occupied by the Iα/Iβ representation, wherein under the broadest reasonable interpretation determining an occupied quadrant necessarily determines whether Iα is positive or negative, paragraph [0076]); and determine, based upon the signs of the alpha currents calculated in each of the three different reference frames, whether a potential circuit fault occurred in one of the plurality of power switches (Bagheri et al. determine an open-circuit failure mode and identify a particular failed switch S1-S6 based upon the occupied α-β quadrants and rotation angle, paragraphs [0078]-[0079], Table 5).
Bagheri et al. are not understood to explicitly disclose calculating alpha currents in each of three different reference frames using respective alpha-beta transformations in each of the three different reference frames.
Ishikawa et al. disclose calculating the alpha currents in each of a multiple of different reference frames using respective alpha-beta transformations in each of the multiple of different reference frames (see [0055], wherein a phase-referenced three-phase/two-phase transformation wherein AC currents iu, iv and iw are converted into α-axis and β-axis components, the positive direction of a phase current is used as the α-axis reference, and a U-phase reference vector transformation matrix is expressly provided, see [0060]-[0061]); Ishikawa et al. further disclose that the U-phase, V-phase and W-phase AC currents are mutually shifted by 120 degrees (paragraph [0053], wherein and that the αβ coordinate space is analyzed according to angular orientations including 60-degree and 120-degree angular relationships (paragraph [0070], Fig. 6).
It therefore would have been obvious to one skilled in the art, prior to the effective filing date, to modify Bagheri et al. by incorporating the phase-referenced alpha-beta transformation for the respective phase directions as taught by Ishikawa et al., thereby calculating the alpha-beta currents relative to multiple phase-referenced coordinate frames, as doing so would provide phase-specific transformed-current information for more reliably detecting and locating an inverter switching-element failure because Ishikawa et al. emphasize in paragraph [0099] that the electrical-angle technique permits failure of a switching element to be detected with high accuracy using the three-phase AC current values regardless of amplitude accuracy, thus improving the reliability of inverter fault detection and localization.
As to claim 22, Bagheri et al. & Ishikawa et al. disclose the system of claim 21, wherein Bagheri et al. further disclose configured to confirm that an open circuit fault occurred in one of the plurality of power switches (Bagheri et al. disclose determining an open-circuit failure mode of the inverter based on the rotation angle and the polar quadrants occupied by the Iα/Iβ representation and identifying the particular failed switch S1-S6, wherein the determined α-β quadrant pattern is compared with the predetermined open-circuit failure categories of Table 5 to determine and confirm the open-circuit failure, see paragraphs [0078]-[0079], Table 5 and Fig. 11).
As to claim 25, Bagheri et al. & Ishikawa et al. disclose the system of claim 21, wherein Bagheri et al. further disclose configured to identify, based upon the signs of the alpha currents, the specific power switch out of the plurality of power switches that has the potential open circuit fault (Bagheri et al. disclose identifying the particular open-circuited inverter switch S1-S6 based upon the polar quadrants occupied by the Iα/Iβ representation and the corresponding rotation angle, see paragraphs [0078]-[0079], Table 5 and Fig. 11; under the broadest reasonable interpretation, determining the occupied α-β quadrant necessarily determines whether the alpha-current component Iα is positive or negative, and the claim does not require that the sign of the alpha current be the sole information used to identify the specific faulty power switch).
As to claim 26, Bagheri et al. & Ishikawa et al. disclose the system of claim 21, wherein Bagheri et al. further disclose calculate beta currents in each of the multiple of different reference frames using the respective alpha-beta transformations in each of the three different reference frames (Bagheri et al. calculate Iβ together with Iα from the three-phase current components using the Clarke transformation, paragraph [0060], in combination with Ishikawa et al.’s phase-referenced transformation teachings in paragraphs [0053], [0055] and [0060]-[0061]); check the signs of the beta currents calculated in each of the three different reference frames (Bagheri et al. determine the polar quadrants occupied by the Iα/Iβ representation, wherein under the broadest reasonable interpretation determination of an occupied quadrant necessarily determines whether the β coordinate is positive or negative, paragraph [0076]); and identify, based upon the signs of the alpha currents and the beta currents calculated in each of the three different reference frames, the specific power switch that has the potential open circuit fault (Bagheri et al. identify the particular open-circuited switch S1-S6 according to the occupied Iα/Iβ quadrants and rotation angle, paragraphs [0078]-[0079], Table 5).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 14-15 & 23-24 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance:
In terms of claim 14, the prior art of record does not teach alone or in combination of “wherein configuring to confirm whether the potential open circuit fault occurred in one of the plurality of power switches comprises configuring the system to: determine the absolute voltage of the circuit using the alpha voltage and the beta voltage of the respective one of the plurality of power switches; and determine if the absolute voltage is greater than the minimum voltage output by the circuit” in combination with all other elements in claims 1-2, 4 & 13.
In terms of claim 23, the prior art of record does not teach alone or in combination of “wherein configuring to confirm whether an open circuit fault occurred in one of the plurality of power switches comprises configuring the system to: determine the absolute voltage of the circuit using the alpha voltage and the beta voltage of the respective one of the plurality of power switches; and determine if the absolute voltage is greater than the minimum voltage output by the circuit” in combination with all other elements in claims 21-22.
Claims 15 & 24 variously depending from claims 14 & 23 are allowable for the same above reasons.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
U.S. 2013/0119973 A1 to Lindegger et al. disclose an ambulatory infusion device for infusion of a liquid drug into a patient's body over an extended period of time and methods thereof are disclosed. The device includes a sensor assembly, which produces a sensor assembly output based on an infusion characteristic of the ambulatory infusion device and based on a supply voltage/current, and a supply unit which is coupled to a sensor of the sensor assembly and generates the supply voltage/current. A sensor testing unit detects a failure of the sensor assembly, wherein the sensor testing unit is coupled to the sensor assembly and the supply unit, and the sensor testing unit carries out a sensor testing sequence. The sensor testing sequence includes controlling the supply unit so as to produce a variation of the supply voltage/current, and determining whether the variation of the supply voltage/current produces a corresponding variation of the sensor assembly output.
U.S. 12,445,046 B2 to Chivie Zabalza et al. disclose a power conversion circuitry configured to detect an electrical fault, and methods of detecting an electrical fault in power conversion circuitry, the power conversion circuitry including: switching circuitry configured to control a current flowing along a current path between first and second nodes of the power conversion circuitry; a current sensor connected to the current path, the current sensor configured to measure a rate of change of the current flowing along the current path; and control circuitry connected to the current sensor and the switching circuitry, the control circuitry configured to: detect an electrical fault if a rate of change of the current measured by the current sensor exceeds a fault threshold, and configure the switching circuitry to adjust current flow in the power conversion circuitry when an electrical fault is detected.
U.S. 2023/0251327 A1 to Aizawa et al. disclose a diagnostic apparatus of an electric power converter is provided, and the electric power converter outputs a converted AC electric power to an electric motor, thereby driving the electric motor. The diagnostic apparatus includes an output control unit and a degradation determination unit. The output control unit controls operations of semiconductor elements of the electric power converter, thereby outputting electric power from the electric power converter to the electric motor by constant voltage output, which constantly sets an output voltage to the electric motor in a target voltage pattern. The degradation determination unit determines a degradation state for at least one of the semiconductor elements based on a current flowing through the electric motor in the constant voltage output.
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to TRUNG NGUYEN whose telephone number is (571)272-1966. The examiner can normally be reached on Mon- Friday 8AM - 4:00PM Eastern Time. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Huy Phan can be reached on 571-272-7924. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of an application may be obtained from the Patent Application Information Retrieval (PAIR) system. Status information for published applications may be obtained from either Private PAIR or Public PAIR. Status information for unpublished applications is available through Private PAIR only. For more information about the PAIR system, see http://pair-direct.uspto.gov. Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative or access to the automated information system, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
Examiner: /Trung Q. Nguyen/- Art 2858
/RAUL J RIOS RUSSO/Examiner, Art Unit 2858