2025Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status
Claim Objections
Claims 4, 13, 16, 17 & 19–22 are objected to because of minor informalities in the claim language. Appropriate correction is required.
Regarding claim 4, the phrase the number and/or the position of the first measurement blocks in the inspection tool is adjustable contains an inconsistency in grammatical number. Applicant is requested to revise the limitation for grammatical clarity, for example, to recite at least one of the number and the position of the first measurement blocks in the inspection tool is adjustable according to different types of standard shells.
Regarding claim 13, the phrase a number, a layout, a position or an orientation of third insertion holes should read a number, a layout, a position or an orientation of the third insertion holes to maintain consistent terminology and reference to the previously recited third insertion holes.
Regarding claim 16, the phrase the third pins of the third shell unit of different types of inspected shells should read the third pins of the third shell units of different types of inspected shells consistent with the plurality of third shell units previously recited in claim 15.
Regarding claim 17, the phrase the third insertion holes penetrates through the third measurement blocks contains a grammatical error. The plural subject third insertion holes requires the plural verb penetrate. Accordingly, the phrase should read the third insertion holes penetrate through the third measurement blocks.
Regarding claim 19, the phrase a plurality of partition plates, each partition plate is clamped between a pair of adjacent measurement blocks is grammatically improper. Applicant is requested to revise the phrase, for example, to recite a plurality of partition plates, wherein each partition plate is clamped between a pair of adjacent measurement blocks of the different measurement blocks to adjust a spacing between the pair of adjacent measurement blocks.
Regarding claim 20, the limitations the partition plates include a first partition plate with a first thickness and a second partition plate with a second thickness, the first thickness is different from the second thickness are grammatically joined by a comma. Applicant is requested to revise the limitation, for example, to recite wherein the partition plates include a first partition plate with a first thickness and a second partition plate with a second thickness, and wherein the first thickness is different from the second thickness.
Regarding claim 21, the phrase a front side and a rear side of the different measurement blocks and a front side and a rear side of the partition plates are respectively pressed against a front inner wall and a rear inner wall of the installation chamber is grammatically awkward because plural measurement blocks and partition plates are referenced using singular a front side and a rear side, and the correspondence expressed by respectively is unnecessarily unclear. Applicant is requested to revise the limitation, for example, to recite the front sides of the different measurement blocks and the partition plates are pressed against a front inner wall of the installation chamber, and the rear sides of the different measurement blocks and the partition plates are pressed against a rear inner wall of the installation chamber.
Regarding claim 22, the phrase a right side of the positioning block is pressed against a side of a leftmost measurement block of the different measurement blocks should be clarified to consistently identify the particular side of the leftmost measurement block. Consistent with the disclosed arrangement, applicant is requested to revise the phrase to recite the right side of the positioning block is pressed against a left side of the leftmost measurement block of the different measurement blocks.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xiang et al. (U.S. 2023/0138996 A1, hereinafter Xiang) in view of Poetzinger et al. (U.S. 2015/0338440 A1, hereinafter Poetzinger).
Regarding claim 1, Xiang et al. disclose an inspection tool (a connecting device 100 adapted for electrically connecting an electrical device under test 200 to a test instrument; see Figs. 1-6; paragraphs [0014]-[0015]) comprising: a plurality of different measurement blocks assembled together (a plurality of upper modules 22 respectively disposed in a plurality of slots 210 of an upper module seat 21, wherein at least two of the upper modules 22 have different dimensions from each other; see Figs. 1-3; paragraph [0016]); the different measurement blocks include a first measurement block having a plurality of first insertion holes (each upper module 22 includes an upper module housing 221 having a movable portion 2212 with an upper wall 2216 having a plurality of through holes 2214 formed therethrough; see Figs. 3-4; paragraph [0017]).
Xiang et al. do not explicitly disclose a layout and a position of the first insertion holes are consistent with a plurality of first pins of a first shell unit of a standard shell, the first pins on the first shell unit of the standard shell are insertable into the first insertion holes in the first measurement block, the first measurement block is used to check whether a layout and a position of a plurality of first pins on a first shell unit of an inspected shell are qualified.
Poetzinger et al. teach a layout and a position of the first insertion holes are consistent with a plurality of first pins of a first shell unit of a standard shell, the first pins on the first shell unit of the standard shell are insertable into the first insertion holes in the first measurement block, the first measurement block is used to check whether a layout and a position of a plurality of first pins on a first shell unit of an inspected shell are qualified (see [0006 & 0009] wherein the relevant positional relationship of this limitation, see an electronic component 11 has projecting contact springs 12 whose position is mechanically controlled by a guide and support member; stopper pins 5 act directly on the contact springs 12 and maintain the electronic component and contacts in an exact predetermined position during testing; improper positioning of the contact springs can result in poor or non-reproducible contact and bending or damage; see paragraphs [0040]-[0041]).
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art, prior to the effective filing date, to modify Xiang et al. by configuring the plurality of through holes 2214 of the removable upper module 22 according to the predetermined layout and position of the connector pins, as taught by Poetzinger et al., as doing so would provide accurate positioning and alignment of the connector pins during inspection because Poetzinger et al. emphasize in paragraph [0009] that failure to maintain the contact springs in a defined position results in poor or non-reproducible contact and may bend or damage the contact springs, thus improving inspection reliability and preventing damage to improperly positioned pins.
Regarding claim 2, Xiang et al., in view of Poetzinger et al. disclose the inspection tool according to claim 1 as set forth above, and Xiang et al. further disclose:
wherein, when the layout and the position of the first pins on the first shell unit of the inspected shell are qualified, the first pins of the inspected shell are insertable into the first insertion holes in the first measurement block (insert plug 201 is fittingly insertable into socket port 2217 of the corresponding upper module 22 and is brought into a predetermined aligned relationship with the through-hole/contact arrangement; see paragraphs [0017], [0019]).
Xiang et al. do not explicitly disclose and when the layout and/or the position of the first pins on the first shell unit of the inspected shell is not qualified, the first pins of the inspected shell cannot be inserted into the first insertion holes in the first measurement block.
Poetzinger et al. teach the layout and/or the position of the first pins on the first shell unit of the inspected shell is not qualified, the first pins of the inspected shell cannot be inserted into the first insertion holes in the first measurement block (see [0009] contact springs 12 are required to occupy a defined exact position during testing, and loss of that defined position results in improper contact and may cause bending or damage; see paragraphs [0040]-[0041]).
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art, prior to the effective filing date, to modify Xiang et al. by dimensioning and positioning the insertion holes so that properly positioned pins are received while improperly positioned pins are prevented from proper insertion, as taught by Poetzinger et al., as doing so would provide a simple mechanical determination of whether the pins are properly positioned because Poetzinger et al. emphasize in paragraph [0009] that loss of a defined contact position causes poor or non-reproducible contact and may result in bending of the contacts, thus improving reliability and preventing damage during testing.
Regarding claim 3, Xiang et al. disclose the inspection tool according to claim 2
wherein the first measurement block is one of a plurality of first measurement blocks of the different measurement blocks (a plurality of upper modules 22 are respectively disposed in the plurality of slots 210 of upper module seat 21; paragraph [0016]);
the first measurement blocks are assembled to correspond to a plurality of first shell units of the standard shell (electrical device under test 200 has a plurality of insert plugs 201, and upper modular unit 2 includes a plurality of corresponding upper modules 22; paragraphs [0014], [0016]).
Xiang et al. do not explicitly disclose simultaneously inspect whether the layout and the position of the first pins on a plurality of first shell units of the inspected shell are qualified.
Poetzinger et al. teach simultaneously inspect whether the layout and the position of the first pins on a plurality of first shell units of the inspected shell are qualified (wherein the relevant simultaneous inspection feature of this limitation, see several test sockets with several guides and a corresponding number of guide and support members may be operated in parallel so that a corresponding number of electronic components may be simultaneously tested; paragraph [0055]).
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art, prior to the effective filing date, to modify Xiang et al. by using the plurality of corresponding measurement modules to simultaneously inspect the corresponding connector portions, as taught by Poetzinger et al., as doing so would provide increased inspection throughput because Poetzinger et al. emphasize in paragraph [0055] that several test structures can be operated in parallel to simultaneously test a corresponding number of electronic components, thus reducing overall inspection time.
Regarding claim 4, Xiang et al. disclose the inspection tool according to claim 3
wherein the number and/or the position of the first measurement blocks in the inspection tool is adjustable according to different types of standard shells (each upper module 22 is removably fastened in a respective slot 210 by a detachable screw, thereby permitting individual installation and replacement of the modules; at least two upper modules 22 have different dimensions; paragraph [0016]);
Xiang et al. do not explicitly disclose the inspection tool can be used to inspect the layout and the position of the first pins of the first shell units of different types of inspected shells.
Poetzinger et al. teach the inspection tool can be used to inspect the layout and the position of the first pins of the first shell units of different types of inspected shells (see [0010] the step of adapting a common testing fixture to different electronic-component configurations, wherein spacer plates of selectable thickness permit adjustment of the fixture for different semiconductor components, and support geometry may be varied or reversibly oriented according to the component being tested; see paragraphs [0036] & [0038]).
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art, prior to the effective filing date, to modify Xiang et al. by selecting the number and position of the removable upper modules according to the particular shell configuration, as taught by Poetzinger et al., as doing so would provide adaptability of a common inspection fixture to different component configurations because Poetzinger et al. emphasize in paragraph [0038] that varying support configurations provide improved adjustment to varying components to be tested, thus reducing the need for a separate inspection fixture for each shell type.
Regarding claim 5, Xiang et al. & Poetzinger et al. disclose the inspection tool according to claim 3 wherein Xiang et al. further disclose the first measurement blocks each include a left side and a right side opposite in a first direction, a front side and a rear side opposite in a second direction, and an upper side and a lower side opposite in a third direction (each upper module 22 is a three-dimensional module housing having opposing lateral, longitudinal, and upper/lower surfaces; see Figs. 1-4; paragraphs [0016]-[0017]); the first insertion holes penetrate through the first measurement blocks along the third direction (through holes 2214 are formed through upper wall 2216 in the up-down direction; see Fig. 3; paragraph [0017]); and the first measurement blocks are assembled in the first direction to correspond to the first shell units of the standard shell (plural upper modules 22 are disposed adjacent one another in corresponding slots 210 of upper module seat 21 for respective connector portions of the DUT; see Figs. 1-3; paragraphs [0014], [0016]).
Regarding claim 6, Xiang et al. & Poetzinger et al. disclose the inspection tool according to claim 5 wherein Xiang et al. further disclose the first insertion holes in each of the first measurement blocks are arranged in a plurality of rows and columns (a plurality of spaced through holes 2214 are formed across the upper wall 2216 and correspond to a plurality of spaced upper connecting terminals 222; see Fig. 3; paragraph [0017]); the first direction is a row direction, and the second direction is a column direction (the first and second directions correspond to the two transverse directions across the face of the upper module and the array of spaced through holes; see Fig. 3).
Regarding claim 7, Xiang et al. disclose the inspection tool according to claim 1 wherein the different measurement blocks include a second measurement block having a plurality of second insertion holes (a plurality of separate upper modules 22 are provided, each having a plurality of through holes 2214; paragraphs [0016]-[0017]);
a layout and a position of the second insertion holes are consistent with a plurality of second pins of a second shell unit of the standard shell (the plurality of separate upper modules correspond to separate connector insert plugs 201 and respective terminal arrangements; paragraphs [0014], [0016]-[0017]); the second pins on the second shell unit of the standard shell are insertable into the second insertion holes in the second measurement block (the corresponding insert plug 201 is fittingly insertable into the socket port 2217 of the corresponding upper module 22; paragraphs [0017], [0019]);
a number, a layout, a position or an orientation of the second insertion holes in the second measurement block is different from that of the first insertion holes in the first measurement block (at least two upper modules 22 have different dimensions, and Xiang et al. expressly permit differing arrangements of connecting terminals; paragraphs [0016], [0020]).
Xiang et al. do not explicitly disclose the second measurement block is used to check whether a layout and a position of a plurality of second pins on a second shell unit of an inspected shell are qualified.
Poetzinger et al. teach the second measurement block is used to check whether a layout and a position of a plurality of second pins on a second shell unit of an inspected shell are qualified (see [0038], wherein maintaining projecting contacts of an electronic component in an exact predetermined position during testing and adapting fixture geometry to varying component configurations, see paragraphs [0040]-[0041]).
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art, prior to the effective filing date, to modify Xiang et al. by providing the second removable module with a second insertion-hole configuration corresponding to the second pin configuration, as taught by Poetzinger et al., as doing so would provide improved adaptability and accurate positioning for different connector configurations because Poetzinger et al. emphasize in paragraph [0038] that varying support geometries enable better adjustment to varying electronic components, thus permitting reliable inspection of differently configured pin arrangements.
Regarding claim 8, Xiang et al. disclose the inspection tool according to claim 7 wherein, when the layout and the position of the second pins on the second shell unit of the inspected shell are qualified, the second pins on the second shell unit of the inspected shell are insertable into the second insertion holes in the second measurement block (corresponding connector portions are fittingly received by the respective upper modules in a predetermined aligned relationship; paragraphs [0017], [0019]).
Xiang et al. do not explicitly disclose the layout and/or the position of the second pins on the second shell unit of the inspected shell is not qualified, the second pins on the second shell unit of the inspected shell cannot be inserted into the second insertion holes in the second measurement block.
Poetzinger et al. teach that the layout and/or the position of the second pins on the second shell unit of the inspected shell is not qualified, the second pins on the second shell unit of the inspected shell cannot be inserted into the second insertion holes in the second measurement block (see 0012] wherein the projecting contacts must occupy a defined exact position and that loss of the defined position results in poor or non-reproducible contact and possible bending or damage, see paragraphs [0009-0011]).
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art, prior to the effective filing date, to modify Xiang et al. by dimensioning and positioning the second insertion holes so that properly positioned second pins can be received while improperly positioned second pins cannot be properly inserted, as taught by Poetzinger et al., as doing so would provide a mechanical determination of pin-position qualification because Poetzinger et al. emphasize in paragraph [0009] that loss of a defined contact position results in poor or non-reproducible contact and possible contact damage, thus improving inspection reliability.
Regarding claim 9, Xiang et al. disclose the inspection tool according to claim 7
wherein the second measurement block is one of a plurality of second measurement blocks assembled to correspond to a plurality of second shell units of the standard shell (a plurality of upper modules 22 are disposed in respective slots 210 and correspond to the plurality of insert plugs 201 of the DUT; paragraphs [0014], [0016]).
Xiang et al. do not explicitly disclose the second measurement blocks simultaneously inspect whether the layout and the position of the second pins on the second shell units of the inspected shell are qualified.
Poetzinger et al. teach the second measurement blocks simultaneously inspect whether the layout and the position of the second pins on the second shell units of the inspected shell are qualified (see the step of operating several testing structures in parallel so that a corresponding number of electronic components are simultaneously tested, paragraph [0055]).
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art, prior to the effective filing date, to modify Xiang et al. by simultaneously operating the plurality of second measurement blocks, as taught by Poetzinger et al., as doing so would provide increased testing throughput because Poetzinger et al. emphasize in paragraph [0055] that several test structures may be operated in parallel to simultaneously test a corresponding number of electronic components, thus reducing overall inspection time.
Regarding claim 10, Xiang et al. disclose the inspection tool according to claim 9 wherein the number and/or the position of the second measurement blocks in the inspection tool can be adjusted according to different types of standard shells (see the upper modules 22 are individually removably mounted in respective slots 210 and at least two modules may have different dimensions; paragraph [0016]).
Xiang et al. do not explicitly disclose the inspection tool that can be used to inspect the layout and the position of the second pins of the second shell units of different types of inspected shells.
Poetzinger et al. teach the inspection tool can be used to inspect the layout and the position of the second pins of the second shell units of different types of inspected shells (see [0010] the step of adapting the spacing and support geometry of a test fixture to different electronic components, paragraphs [0036], [0038]).
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art, prior to the effective filing date, to modify Xiang et al. by selecting the number and position of the removable second measurement blocks according to the particular shell configuration, as taught by Poetzinger et al., as doing so would provide increased adaptability to different inspected shells because Poetzinger et al. emphasize in paragraph [0038] that varying support configurations enable improved adjustment to varying components, thus permitting a common fixture to inspect different shell types.
Regarding claim 11, Xiang et al. & Poetzinger et al. disclose the inspection tool according to claim 9 wherein Xiang et al. further the second measurement blocks each include a left side and a right side opposite in a first direction, a front side and a rear side opposite in a second direction, and an upper side and a lower side opposite in a third direction (each upper module 22 is a three-dimensional module housing received in the upper module seat 21; Figs. 1-4; paragraphs [0016]-[0017]); the second insertion holes penetrate through the second measurement blocks along the third direction (through holes 2214 extend through upper wall 2216 in the up-down direction; Fig. 3; paragraph [0017]); the second measurement blocks are assembled in the first direction to correspond to the second shell units of the standard shell (plural upper modules 22 are assembled in corresponding slots 210 for the plurality of connector insert plugs 201; paragraphs [0014], [0016]).
Regarding claim 12, Xiang et al. & Poetzinger et al. disclose the inspection tool according to claim 11 wherein Xiang et al. further disclose the second insertion holes in each of the second measurement blocks are arranged in a row in the second direction. (a plurality of spaced through holes 2214 are provided across the upper module surface corresponding to spaced connecting terminals; Fig. 3; paragraph [0017]).
Regarding claim 13, Xiang et al. disclose the inspection tool according to claim 7 wherein the different measurement blocks include a third measurement block having a plurality of third insertion holes (the upper modular unit includes a plurality of separately removable upper modules 22, each having through holes 2214; paragraphs [0016]-[0017]); a layout and a position of the third insertion holes are consistent with a plurality of third pins of a third shell unit of the standard shell (the separate modules correspond to separate connector portions and associated terminal arrangements; paragraphs [0014], [0016]-[0017]); the third pins on the third shell unit of the standard shell are insertable into the third insertion holes in the third measurement block (the corresponding connector insert plug 201 is fittingly insertable into the corresponding upper module; paragraphs [0017], [0019]); a number, a layout, a position or an orientation of third insertion holes in the third measurement block is different from that of the first insertion holes in the first measurement block and also different from that of the second insertion holes in the second measurement block (Xiang et al. provide differently dimensioned removable modules and expressly contemplate differing terminal arrangements; paragraphs [0016], [0020]).
Xiang et al. do not explicitly disclose the third measurement block is used to check whether a layout and a position of a plurality of third pins on a third shell unit of the inspected shell are qualified.
Poetzinger et al. teach the third measurement block is used to check whether a layout and a position of a plurality of third pins on a third shell unit of the inspected shell are qualified (see [0038] wherein maintaining projecting contacts in an exact predetermined position during testing and varying fixture-support geometry to accommodate varying component configurations, [0040]-[0041]).
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art, prior to the effective filing date, to modify Xiang et al. by providing a third removable measurement block having a third insertion-hole configuration corresponding to a third pin configuration, as taught by Poetzinger et al., as doing so would provide adaptability and accurate positioning for an additional connector configuration because Poetzinger et al. emphasize in paragraph [0038] that varying support configurations enable improved adjustment to varying components, thus allowing the same modular inspection fixture to accommodate multiple different pin arrangements.
Regarding claim 14, Xiang et al. disclose the inspection tool according to claim 13 wherein, when the layout and the position of the third pins on the third shell unit of the inspected shell are qualified, the third pins on the third shell unit of the inspected shell are insertable into the third insertion holes in the third measurement block (corresponding connector portions are fittingly received by corresponding upper modules in an aligned relationship; paragraphs [0017], [0019]).
Xiang et al. do not explicitly disclose the layout and/or the position of the third pins on the third shell unit of the inspected shell is not qualified, the third pins on the third shell unit of the inspected shell cannot be inserted into the third insertion holes in the third measurement block.
Poetzinger et al. teach that the layout and/or the position of the third pins on the third shell unit of the inspected shell is not qualified, the third pins on the third shell unit of the inspected shell cannot be inserted into the third insertion holes in the third measurement block (see projecting contacts must occupy a defined exact position during testing and that loss of such position may cause poor contact, bending, or damage, paragraphs [0009-0011]).
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art, prior to the effective filing date, to modify Xiang et al. by dimensioning and positioning the third insertion holes so that properly positioned third pins are received while improperly positioned third pins are prevented from proper insertion, as taught by Poetzinger et al., as doing so would provide a simple mechanical indication of whether the third pins are properly positioned because Poetzinger et al. emphasize in paragraph [0009] that loss of a defined contact position results in poor or non-reproducible contact and possible damage, thus improving inspection accuracy and protecting the connector pins.
Regarding claim 15, Xiang et al. disclose the inspection tool according to claim 13 wherein the third measurement block is one of a plurality of third measurement blocks assembled to correspond to a plurality of third shell units of the standard shell (a plurality of upper modules 22 are assembled in corresponding slots 210 for a plurality of insert plugs 201; paragraphs [0014], [0016]).
Xiang et al. do not explicitly disclose the third measurement blocks simultaneously inspect whether the layout and the position of the third pins on the third shell units of the inspected shell are qualified.
Poetzinger et al. teach the third measurement blocks simultaneously inspect whether the layout and the position of the third pins on the third shell units of the inspected shell are qualified (see [0053], wherein simultaneously operating several test structures to simultaneously test a corresponding number of electronic components, see paragraph [0055]).
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art, prior to the effective filing date, to modify Xiang et al. by simultaneously operating the plurality of third measurement blocks, as taught by Poetzinger et al., as doing so would provide increased inspection throughput because Poetzinger et al. emphasize in paragraph [0055] that several test structures can be operated in parallel to simultaneously test a corresponding number of electronic components, thus reducing the time required to inspect multiple connector units.
Regarding claim 16, Xiang et al. disclose the inspection tool according to claim 15 wherein the number and/or the position of the third measurement blocks in the inspection tool can be adjusted according to different types of standard shells (each upper module 22 is individually removably fastened in a respective slot 210 and at least two modules may have different dimensions; paragraph [0016]).
Xiang et al. do not explicitly disclose the inspection tool that can be used to inspect the layout and the position of the third pins of the third shell unit of different types of inspected shells.
Poetzinger et al. teach the inspection tool can be used to inspect the layout and the position of the third pins of the third shell unit of different types of inspected shells (see [0010] the step of adapting test-fixture spacing and support geometry according to different electronic-component configurations, paragraphs [0036], [0038]).
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art, prior to the effective filing date, to modify Xiang et al. by selecting the number and position of the removable third measurement blocks according to the configuration of the particular shell, as taught by Poetzinger et al., as doing so would provide adaptability to different inspected shells because Poetzinger et al. emphasize in paragraph [0038] that varying support configurations provide improved adjustment to varying components, thus permitting the same modular fixture to accommodate different connector configurations.
Regarding claim 17, Xiang et al. & Poetzinger et al. disclose the inspection tool according to claim 15 wherein Xiang et al. further disclose the third measurement blocks each include a left side and a right side opposite in a first direction, a front side and a rear side opposite in a second direction, and an upper side and a lower side opposite in a third direction (each upper module 22 is a three-dimensional module housing received in upper module seat 21; Figs. 1-4; paragraphs [0016]-[0017]); the third insertion holes penetrates through the third measurement blocks along the third direction (through holes 2214 are formed through the upper wall 2216 in the up-down direction; Fig. 3; paragraph [0017]); the third measurement blocks are assembled in the first direction to correspond to the third shell units of the standard shell (plural upper modules 22 are disposed adjacent one another in corresponding slots 210 for respective connector portions; paragraphs [0014], [0016]).
Regarding claim 18, Xiang et al. & Poetzinger et al. disclose the inspection tool according to claim 17, wherein Xiang et al. further disclose wherein the third insertion holes in the third measurement blocks are arranged in a row in the first direction (see plural through holes 2214 are spaced across the upper module surface and correspond to plural spaced connector contacts; see Fig. 3; paragraph [0017]).
Regarding claim 19, Xiang et al. disclose the inspection tool according to claim 1 (the limitations of claim 1 are disclosed for the reasons set forth above);
Xiang et al. do not explicitly disclose further comprising a plurality of partition plates, each partition plate is clamped between a pair of adjacent measurement blocks of the different measurement blocks to adjust a spacing between the pair of adjacent measurement blocks.
Poetzinger et al. teach a plurality of partition plates, each partition plate is clamped between a pair of adjacent measurement blocks of the different measurement blocks to adjust a spacing between the pair of adjacent measurement blocks (see the relevant spacer-plate structure of this limitation, wherein spacer plates 6 are incorporated into a modular electronic-component testing fixture and are mounted between structural components so that the distance between the supports 4 can be precisely adjusted to correspond to the electronic component being tested; paragraph [0033]; fixture elements may further be retained by a tight fit and clamping relationship; paragraph [0039]).
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art, prior to the effective filing date, to modify Xiang et al. by incorporating spacer or partition plates between adjacent removable measurement blocks as taught by Poetzinger et al., as doing so would provide precise adjustment of the spacing between adjacent measurement blocks because Poetzinger et al. emphasize in paragraph [0033] that spacer plates 6 permit the distance between the supports 4 to be precisely adjusted to the electronic component being tested, thus allowing the measurement blocks to be accurately positioned according to the spacing of the corresponding shell units.
Regarding claim 20, Xiang et al. do not disclose wherein the partition plates include a first partition plate with a first thickness and a second partition plate with a second thickness; the first thickness is different from the second thickness.
Poetzinger et al. teach wherein the partition plates include a first partition plate with a first thickness and a second partition plate with a second thickness, the first thickness is different from the second thickness (see [0010], wherein provide spacer plates 6 whose thickness determines the resulting spacing between the corresponding fixture supports; paragraphs [0010], [0036]; the first thickness is different from the second thickness. (different spacer-plate thicknesses are selected according to the spacing or width required for different components; paragraphs [0010], [0036]).
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art, prior to the effective filing date, to modify Xiang et al. by incorporating spacer plates having different respective thicknesses as taught by Poetzinger et al., as doing so would provide independent adjustment of the spacing between different adjacent measurement blocks because Poetzinger et al. emphasize in paragraph [0036] that the thickness of spacer plate 6 determines the resulting spacing and identifies the component widths for which the test fixture can be used, thus enabling the fixture to accommodate differing spacing requirements.
Regarding claim 21, Xiang et al. disclose the inspection tool according to claim 19 further comprising a frame body having an installation chamber (upper module seat 21 provides a common frame/support body having a plurality of slots 210 for receiving the upper modules 22; see Figs. 1-3; paragraph [0016]); the different measurement blocks and the partition plates are assembled in the installation chamber of the frame body (plural upper modules 22 are received in corresponding portions of upper module seat 21; paragraph [0016]);
Xiang et al. do not explicitly disclose a front side and a rear side of the different measurement blocks and a front side and a rear side of the partition plates are respectively pressed against a front inner wall and a rear inner wall of the installation chamber.
Poetzinger et al. teach a front side and a rear side of the different measurement blocks and a front side and a rear side of the partition plates are respectively pressed against a front inner wall and a rear inner wall of the installation chamber (see the relevant constrained-receptacle relationship of this limitation, wherein attachment modules 3 provide channel-shaped receptacles having opposing boundary structures for receiving supports 4, and the supports may be retained by a tight fit and clamping relationship that limits movement in the receptacle; paragraphs [0037]-[0039]).
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art, prior to the effective filing date, to modify Xiang et al. by closely receiving the measurement blocks and partition plates between opposing inner walls of the installation chamber as taught by Poetzinger et al., as doing so would provide accurate retention and reduced movement of the assembled fixture elements because Poetzinger et al. emphasize in paragraph [0039] that a tight fit and clamping relationship can limit the remaining degree of freedom of a fixture element in its receptacle, thus maintaining the measurement blocks and partition plates in their predetermined positions during repeated inspection operations.
Regarding claim 22, Xiang et al. disclose the inspection tool according to claim 21 further comprising a positioning block disposed in the installation chamber of the frame body (the upper module seat 21 includes structures for positioning and stabilizing the modular components; paragraph [0016], as modified according to the positioning structures of Poetzinger et al.); the different measurement blocks are arranged in a row (the plurality of upper modules 22 are disposed adjacent one another in corresponding slots 210 of upper module seat 21; see Figs. 1-3; paragraph [0016]);
Xiang et al. do not explicitly disclose and a rightmost measurement block of the different measurement blocks is pressed against an inner surface of a right side of the installation chamber, a left side of the positioning block is pressed against an inner surface of a left side of the installation chamber, a right side of the positioning block is pressed against a side of a leftmost measurement block of the different measurement blocks.
Poetzinger et al. teach a rightmost measurement block of the different measurement blocks is pressed against an inner surface of a right side of the installation chamber, a left side of the positioning block is pressed against an inner surface of a left side of the installation chamber, a right side of the positioning block is pressed against a side of a leftmost measurement block of the different measurement blocks (see the relevant positioning and spacing relationships of this limitation (spacer plates 6 establish predetermined relative spacing between fixture components; paragraph [0033]; fixture elements may be tightly fitted or clamped in corresponding receptacles to restrict movement; paragraph [0039]; stopper pins 5 act as positioning stops and maintain the tested component and its contacts in an exact predetermined position; paragraphs [0040]-[0041]).
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art, prior to the effective filing date, to modify Xiang et al. by incorporating an end positioning block between an inner wall of the installation chamber and the leftmost measurement block as taught by Poetzinger et al., as doing so would provide accurate positioning and restrict lateral movement of the row of measurement blocks because Poetzinger et al. emphasize in paragraph [0039] that a tight fit and clamping relationship limits unwanted movement of fixture elements within a receptacle, thus maintaining the assembled measurement blocks and partition plates in their predetermined positions during repeated inspections.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
U.S. 10,156,586 B2 to Adams et al. disclose a testing system for electrical interconnects having a removable device under test printed circuit board (DUT PCB) that electrically connects with the electrical testing components of the system. A removable top plate is placed on top of the DUT PCB and is locked in place by a plurality of locking posts that selectively connect to cam surfaces in the top plate that pull the top plate down sandwiching the DUT PCB between the top plate and the electrical testing components of the system. An actuator is also presented that presses the device under test into the electrical interconnect at increments where tests are performed on one, some or all of the contact points of the electrical interconnect. This information is then analyzed and graphed to assist with determine the optimum force and/or height to use during actual use.
U.S. 2023/0339359 A1 to Numata et al. disclose a battery pack includes a battery, a battery monitoring apparatus, a battery control apparatus, a housing, a transmissive portion, and a protection mechanism. The battery monitoring apparatus that monitors a state of the battery; a battery control apparatus that performs wireless communication with the battery monitoring apparatus, acquires battery information that is a monitoring result from the battery monitoring apparatus, and performs various types of control. The housing houses the battery, the battery monitoring apparatus, and the battery control apparatus. The transmissive portion is provided in at least a portion of the housing and allows transmission of radio waves. The protection mechanism is provided in the battery monitoring apparatus and the battery control apparatus and protects the battery information when wireless communication is performed.
U.S. 2024/0280539 A1 to Yun et al. disclose an apparatus and method for inspecting lithium precipitation may form a magnetic field around a battery cell to be inspected to induce an eddy current and may compare measured impedance of the battery cell with standard data to detect lithium plating in the battery cell, thereby providing high stability and reliability.
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to TRUNG NGUYEN whose telephone number is (571)272-1966. The examiner can normally be reached on Mon- Friday 8AM - 4:00PM Eastern Time. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Huy Phan can be reached on 571-272-7924. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of an application may be obtained from the Patent Application Information Retrieval (PAIR) system. Status information for published applications may be obtained from either Private PAIR or Public PAIR. Status information for unpublished applications is available through Private PAIR only. For more information about the PAIR system, see http://pair-direct.uspto.gov. Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative or access to the automated information system, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
Examiner: /Trung Q. Nguyen/- Art 2858
/RAUL J RIOS RUSSO/Examiner, Art Unit 2858