DETAILED ACTION
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-7, 14-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1), (a)(2) as being anticipated by He, (US Publication No. 2011/0265146), hereinafter “He”.
Regarding claims 1, 14, He discloses
receiving first information from a requester, wherein the first information indicates a first terminal [He, figures 1-3, paragraphs 35-42, receive an authentication request message that carries authentication mode indication];
obtaining an authentication mode corresponding to the first terminal [He, figures 1-3, paragraphs 35-42, 54-63, receive an authentication request message that carries authentication mode indication]; and
performing a procedure corresponding to the authentication mode [He, figures 1-3, paragraphs 35-42, 54-63, perform authentication processing according to the authentication mode].
Regarding claims 2, 15, He further discloses
wherein the authentication mode comprises any one of: a two-way authentication mode, a one-way authentication mode [He, figures 1-3, 6, paragraphs 35-42, 54-63, 113-115];
wherein two-way authentication is between the first terminal and the requester, and the two-way authentication is between the first terminal and a first network corresponding to the core network device [He, figures 1-3, 6, paragraphs 35-42, 54-63, 113-115]; or
a one-way authentication mode comprising any one of:
one-way authentication performed by the requester on the first terminal, one-way authentication performed by a first network corresponding to the core network device on the first terminal, one-way authentication performed by the first terminal on the requester, or one-way authentication performed by the first terminal on the first network corresponding to the core network device [He, figures 1-3, 6, paragraphs 35-42, 54-63, 113-115].
Regarding claims 3, 16, He further discloses
when the authentication mode is one-way authentication performed by the first terminal on the requester, receiving a random number from the first terminal, and sending the random number to the requester; and receiving a check value or ciphertext information from the requester, and sending the check value or the ciphertext information to the first terminal; when the authentication mode is one-way authentication performed by the requester on the first terminal, receiving a random number from the requester, and sending the random number to the first terminal; and receiving a check value or ciphertext information from the first terminal, and sending the check value or the ciphertext information to the requester; when the authentication mode is one-way authentication performed by the requester on the first terminal, obtaining a random number, and sending the random number to the first terminal; and receiving a check value or ciphertext information from the first terminal, sending the random number to the requester, and sending the check value or the ciphertext information to the requester; when the authentication mode is two-way authentication between the first terminal and the requester, receiving a random number from the first terminal, and sending the random number to the requester; receiving a first check value or first ciphertext information from the requester, and sending the first check value or the first ciphertext information to the first terminal; and receiving a second check value or second ciphertext information from the first terminal, and sending the second check value or the second ciphertext information to the requester; [[or]] when the authentication mode is one-way authentication performed by the first terminal on the first network corresponding to the core network device, receiving a first random number from the first terminal; obtaining a second random number; and obtaining a check value or ciphertext information based on the first random and the second random number, and sending the check value or the ciphertext information to the first terminal; when the authentication mode is one-way authentication performed by the first terminal on the first network corresponding to the core network device, receiving a first random number from the first terminal; and obtaining a check value or ciphertext information based on the first random, and sending the check value or the ciphertext information to the first terminal; [[or]] when the authentication mode is one-way authentication performed by the first network corresponding to the core network device on the first terminal, obtaining a random number, and sending the random number to the first terminal; and receiving a check value or ciphertext information from the first terminal, and checking the check value or the ciphertext information based on the random number; when the authentication mode is one-way authentication performed by the first network corresponding to the core network device on the first terminal, obtaining a random number, and sending the random number to the first terminal; and receiving a check value or ciphertext information from the first terminal, sending the random number to another core network device, and sending the check value or the ciphertext information to the another core network device, so that the another core network device checks the check value or the ciphertext information based on the random number; [[or]] when the authentication mode is two-way authentication between the first terminal and the first network corresponding to the core network device, receiving a first random number from the first terminal; obtaining a second random number; obtaining a first check value or first ciphertext information based on the first random number and the second random number, and sending the first check value or the first ciphertext information to the first terminal; and receiving a second check value or second ciphertext information from the first terminal, and checking the second check value or the second ciphertext information based on the second random number; or
when the authentication mode is two-way authentication between the first terminal and the first network corresponding to the core network device, receiving a first random number from the first terminal; obtaining a first check value or first ciphertext information based on the first random number, sending the first check value or the first ciphertext information to the first terminal, and sending a second random number to the first terminal; and receiving a second check value or second ciphertext information from the first terminal, and checking the second check value or the second ciphertext information based on the second random number [He, figures 1-3, 6, paragraphs 35-42, 54-67, 113-115].
Regarding claims 4, 17, He further discloses
wherein the first information further indicates the authentication mode corresponding to the first terminal; and [[the]] obtaining [[an]]the authentication mode corresponding to the first terminal comprises: obtaining, based on the first information, the authentication mode corresponding to the first terminal [He, figures 1-3, 6, paragraphs 35-42, 54-67, 113-115].
Regarding claims 5, 18, He further discloses
obtaining first context information, first policy information, a first service configuration, or first subscription data of the first terminal, wherein the first context information, the first policy information, the first service configuration, or the first subscription data comprises the authentication mode for the first terminal [He, figures 1-3, 6, paragraphs 35-42, 54-67, 113-115]; and obtaining, based on the first context information, the first policy information, the first service configuration, or the first subscription data, the authentication mode corresponding to the first terminal [He, figures 1-3, 6, paragraphs 35-42, 54-67, 113-115].
Regarding claims 6, 19, He further discloses
obtaining second context information, second policy information, a second service configuration, or second subscription data of the requester, wherein the second context information, the second policy information, the second service configuration, or the second subscription data comprises an authentication mode corresponding to each of one or more terminals managed by the requester, and the one or more terminals managed by the requester comprise the first terminal; and obtaining, based on the second context information, the second policy information, the second service configuration, or the second subscription data, the authentication mode corresponding to the first terminal [He, figures 1-3, 6, paragraphs 35-42, 54-67, 113-115].
Regarding claims 7, 20, He further discloses
wherein after [[the]] obtaining [[an]]the authentication mode corresponding to the first terminal, the method further comprises: sending information about the authentication mode to the first terminal [He, figures 1-3, 6, paragraphs 35-42, 54-67, 113-115].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 8-13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over He, and further in view of Bendersky, (US Patent No. 10,652,241), hereinafter “Bendersky”.
Regarding claim 8, He discloses
receiving first information from a requester, wherein the first information indicates a first terminal [He, figures 1-3, paragraphs 35-42, receive an authentication request message that carries authentication mode indication];
obtaining an authentication mode corresponding to the first terminal [He, figures 1-3, paragraphs 35-42, receive an authentication request message that carries authentication mode indication],
He does not specifically disclose, however Bendersky teaches
wherein the authentication mode corresponding to the first terminal is no authentication performed [Bendersky, Abstract, column 10, lines 8-65, figures 3A, 3B, column 2, lines 1-23];
determining that a location of the first terminal falls within a preset location range [Bendersky, Abstract, column 10, lines 8-65, figures 3A, 3B, column 2, lines 1-23]; and
allowing the requester or a first network corresponding to the core network device to skip an authentication procedure for the first terminal [Bendersky, Abstract, column 10, lines 8-65, figures 3A, 3B, column 2, lines 1-23].
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide a trust relationship to a known device within a certain range or location in order to maintain security of the system while providing convivence to the users.
It would have been obvious to combine Bendersky’s location system with He’s login system as each art relates to a user accessing a device/resource.
Regarding claim 9, He-Bendersky further discloses
wherein after [[the]] receiving the first information from [[a]]the requester, the method further comprises:
obtaining an identifier of the first terminal [He, figures 1-3, paragraphs 35-42]; and
sending the identifier of the first terminal to the requester [He, figures 1-3, paragraphs 35-42].
Regarding claim 10, He-Bendersky further discloses
determining that the location of the first terminal is outside the preset location range [Bendersky, Abstract, column 10, lines 8-65, figures 3A, 3B, column 2, lines 1-23]; and
performing a procedure corresponding to a configured authentication mode used to authenticate a terminal that accesses a network in which the core network device is located [He, figures 1-3, paragraphs 35-42].
Regarding claim 11, He-Bendersky further discloses
wherein the location of the first terminal comprises one or more oBendersky, Abstract, column 10, lines 8-65, figures 3A, 3B, column 2, lines 1-23].
Regarding claim 12, He-Bendersky further discloses
wherein the location of the first terminal is represented by a first identifier, and the preset location range is a preset identifier range, wherein the first identifier comprises one or more o
an identifier of an access network device accessed by the first terminal, an identifier of a cell in which the first terminal is located, an identifier of a tracking area in which the first terminal is located, an identifier of a network accessed by the first terminal, an identifier of a slice accessed by the first terminal, an identifier of a closed access group accessed by the first terminal, an identifier of an access network device accessed by a second terminal, an identifier of a cell in which the second terminal is located, an identifier of a tracking area in which the second terminal is located, an identifier of a network accessed by the second terminal, an identifier of a slice accessed by the second terminal, or an identifier of a closed access group accessed by the second terminalBendersky, Abstract, column 10, lines 8-65, figures 3A, 3B, column 2, lines 1-23].
Regarding claim 13, He-Bendersky further discloses
wherein before [[the]] sending the identifier of the first terminal to the requester, the method further comprises: sending, to the first terminal, indication information indicating access success of the first terminal [Bendersky, Abstract, column 10, lines 8-65, figures 3A, 3B, column 2, lines 1-23].
Conclusion
/William J. Goodchild/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2433