DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on March 25, 2025; June 25, 2025 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Drawings
The drawings filed on March 25, 2025 are accepted.
Claim Objections
Claims 2-5, 9-13 and 15 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claims 2 and 10 recite “photoplethsmography” should read “photoplethysmography” missing the middle y.
Claim 2-5 and 9-13 recites, “EMG”, “ECG”, “E-nose”, “EOG”, “PSG” are not properly defined. The full spelling should be followed by the abbreviation in parenthesis, like how “CPAP” was first introduced in the claim. “PSG” is not defined in claim 5.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier.
Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
Claim 1: Claim limitation “a stroke onset detection module” has been interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because it uses a generic placeholder “unit” coupled with functional language “for identifying an onset of stroke” without reciting sufficient structure to achieve the function. Furthermore, the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier that has a known structural meaning before the phrase “unit”.
Claim 1: Claim limitation “a stroke onset alert module” has been interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because it uses a generic placeholder “unit” coupled with functional language “for outputting a stroke onset alert signal” without reciting sufficient structure to achieve the function. Furthermore, the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier that has a known structural meaning before the phrase “unit”.
A review of the specification shows that the following appears to be the corresponding structure described in the specification for the 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph limitation:
Claim 1: “a stroke onset detection module” and “a stroke onset alert module” refers to the specification page 9 discussing computer components. Therefore the modules is interpreted as a processor, along with the instructions/algorithm for performing the corresponding functions as described in the specification.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 6-13 and 16-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mumford et al. (US 2007/0208269 A1) (“Mumford”) in view of Grashow (US 11,844,898 B2) (“Grashow”) in further view of Vardoulis et al. (US 2025/0169768 A1) (“Vardoulis”).
Regarding claims 1 and 8, Mumford discloses A method for stroke onset alert for a continuous positive airway pressure (CPAP) system, the method comprising (Abstract and entire document):
providing, via a blower, a pressurized flow of breathable gas to a patient interface device being worn by a subject during delivery of the pressurized flow of breathable gas, via a patient circuit fluidly coupled between the blower and the patient interface device (FIG. 1 and at least [0055], “a CPAP system 10 including a mask assembly 12 and a CPAP device 14 with an associated monitoring unit 16 for use by a CPAP device wearer 18… The mask assembly 12 also includes a gas inlet 28 for receiving air, or another suitable gas such as pure oxygen, from the CPAP device 14 via a hose 30.”);
monitoring and recording, via a monitoring unit integral with the patient interface device, a predetermined set of vital signs and physical symptoms of the subject relating to an onset of acute stroke attack or stroke episode (FIG. 1 and at least [0055 - 60], “sensors 32”, “monitoring unit 16”, integral sensors part of the mask detect vital signs relating to stroke);
identifying, via a stroke onset detection module, an onset of stroke based on an analysis of the monitored and recorded set of vital signs and physical symptoms (FIG. 1 and at least [0147], “Embodiments may also be used within the context of an intensive care unit (ICU), for example to assist in detection of a seizure, stroke, ischemia, burst-suppression or brain hemorrhage or for use in determining a level of consciousness, sedation or delirium of a patient.”); and
Mumford fails to disclose outputting, via a stroke onset alert module, a stroke onset alert signal based on the identification of the onset of stroke via the stroke onset detection module,
wherein the monitoring unit comprises a plurality of sensors for implementing one or more series of sensor modalities for determination of at least heart rate variability, heart rate and arrythmias.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Grashow teaches outputting, via a stroke onset alert module, a stroke onset alert signal based on the identification of the onset of stroke via the stroke onset detection module (Col. 9 lines 16-47),
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the system/method as taught by Mumford to include outputting, via a stroke onset alert module, a stroke onset alert signal based on the identification of the onset of stroke via the stroke onset detection module, as taught by Grashow to alert a caregiver (Col. 9 lines 16-47).
Mumford as modified fails to disclose wherein the monitoring unit comprises a plurality of sensors for implementing one or more series of sensor modalities for determination of at least heart rate variability, heart rate and arrythmias.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Vardoulis teaches wherein the monitoring unit comprises a plurality of sensors for implementing one or more series of sensor modalities for determination of at least heart rate variability, heart rate and arrythmias ([0046], “ECG”, “HRV”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the system/method as taught by Mumford to include wherein the monitoring unit comprises a plurality of sensors for implementing one or more series of sensor modalities for determination of at least heart rate variability, heart rate and arrythmias as taught by Vardoulis to assist in stroke detection monitoring multi-factor consideration ([0046]).
Regarding claims 2 and 9-11, Mumford as modified discloses The method of claim 1, Mumford as modified further discloses wherein the plurality of sensors are selected from the group consisting of photoplethsmography PPG sensors, EMG sensors, ECG sensors, and E-nose sensors, wherein the PPG sensors are integrated in different places of the patient interface device, wherein the EMG sensors are integrated in different places in the patient interface device that include a mask portion and a headgear strap portion, further wherein the EMG sensors are adapted (i) to detect muscle tension in a predetermined number of places on the subject's face, (ii) to detect and distinguish muscle weakness and muscle atonia, and (iii) to enable a comparison of muscle tension on both sides of the subject's face based on a determination of individual differences and individual thresholds (Mumford [0058], “EEG, EMG, EOG”; Vardoulis [0046], ECG, EEG,), and
wherein the ECG sensors are integrated in different places of the patient interface device, further wherein the ECG sensors are adapted to determine heart rate variability HRV and HRV changes, and wherein an HRV decease is associated with acute stroke severity (Vardoulis [0046], “ECG”, “HRV”).
Regarding claims 3 and 12, Mumford as modified discloses The method of claim 1, Mumford as modified further discloses wherein the plurality of sensors includes at least one of (i) a breath pattern sensor modality adapted for determination of brain hypoxia based on a breathing pattern of the subject, or (ii) electronic nose, E-nose, sensors adapted for breath analysis and a determination of volatile markers and a given concentration linked to a moment of stroke onset (Grashow Col. 9 lines 3-15).
Regarding claim 13, Mumford as modified discloses The system of claim 8, Mumford as modified further discloses wherein the plurality of sensors includes sensor modalities of EOG sensors and EEG sensors, wherein the EOG sensors are integrated in the patient interface device to detect a lateralized asymmetry of the subject's face, and wherein the EEG sensors are adapted for monitoring progressive changes in EEG morphology amplitude, and frequency that correlate with a severity of stroke (Mumford FIG. 1 and [0058]).
Regarding claims 6 and 16, Mumford as modified discloses The method of claim 1, Mumford as modified further discloses wherein the stroke onset detection module comprises a dedicated algorithm to process and analyze the monitored and recorded set of vital signs and physical symptoms for identification of a presence of the onset of the acute stroke attack or stroke episode, and wherein the monitored and recorded set includes at least measured physical symptoms and hemodynamic and respiratory parameters (Vardoulis [0027]).
Regarding claims 7 and 17, Mumford as modified discloses The method of claim 1, Mumford as modified further discloses wherein the stroke onset detection module is configured to use machine learning or predictive modeling algorithms for the analysis of the monitored and recorded set of vital signs and physical symptoms to identify the onset of stroke (Vardoulis [0027]).
Regarding claim 18, Mumford as modified discloses The system of claim 8, Mumford as modified further discloses wherein the stroke onset alert signal comprises at least one of (i) a warning signal configured to carry out one or more of (a) alert the subject, (b) alert someone other than the subject, and (c) initiate an emergency call to a medical provider, emergency medical personnel, or rescue team, or (ii) one or more of a tactile, visual, and auditory alert for signaling an occurrence of the onset of stroke (Grashow Col. 9 lines 16-47).
Regarding claims 19, Mumford as modified discloses The system of claim 8, Mumford as modified further discloses wherein the stroke onset alert signal further comprises a follow-up information signal for use in seeking additional information, wherein the follow-up information signal is communicated to a remote audio-visual display device based on a given level of uncertainty in a prediction of the onset of stroke based on the identified onset of stroke (Grashow Col. 9 lines 16-47).
Regarding claim 20, Mumford as modified discloses A patient interface adapted to be used in the CPAP system of claim 8, wherein the patient interface comprises the monitoring unit (Mumford FIG. 1 and at least [0055 - 60], “sensors 32”, “monitoring unit 16”, integral sensors part of the mask detect vital signs relating to stroke).
Claims 4 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mumford in view of Grashow in further view of Vardoulis in further view of Lim et al. (US 2018/0125386 A1) (“Lim”).
Regarding claims 4 and 14, Mumford as modified discloses The method of claim 1, wherein the plurality of sensors includes at least one of (i) sensor modalities of EOG sensors and EEG sensors, wherein the EOG sensors are integrated in the patient interface device to detect a lateralized asymmetry of the subject's face, and wherein the EEG sensors are adapted for monitoring progressive changes in EEG morphology amplitude, and frequency that correlate with a severity of stroke (Mumford FIG. 1 and [0058]), or
Mumford as modified fails to disclose (ii) a facial camera integrated in the patient interface device and adapted for use in detecting stroke onset based on a positioning of the subject's head and features of the subject's face, or
(iii) simultaneous use of stimulating and recording electroneurography ENoG electrodes integrated in the patient interface device and adapted for use in detecting stroke onset.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Lim teaches (ii) a facial camera integrated in the patient interface device and adapted for use in detecting stroke onset based on a positioning of the subject's head and features of the subject's face ([0209]), or
(iii) simultaneous use of stimulating and recording electroneurography ENoG electrodes integrated in the patient interface device and adapted for use in detecting stroke onset ([0187]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the system/method as taught by Mumford to include (ii) a facial camera integrated in the patient interface device and adapted for use in detecting stroke onset based on a positioning of the subject's head and features of the subject's face, or (iii) simultaneous use of stimulating and recording electroneurography ENoG electrodes integrated in the patient interface device and adapted for use in detecting stroke onset as taught by Lim for additional information in the consideration ([0187]).
Claims 5 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mumford in view of Grashow in further view of Vardoulis in further view of Ferriera Dos Santos Da Fonseca et al. (US 2020/0093422 A1) (“Ferriera”).
Regarding claims 5 and 15, Mumford as modified discloses The method of claim 1, Mumford as modified fails to disclose wherein the plurality of sensors includes ambulatory PSG sensors adapted for detecting sleep stages and apnea events.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Ferriera teaches wherein the plurality of sensors includes ambulatory PSG sensors adapted for detecting sleep stages and apnea events ([0044], “PSG”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the system/method as taught by Mumford to include wherein the plurality of sensors includes ambulatory PSG sensors adapted for detecting sleep stages and apnea events as taught by Ferriera to use the gold standard ([0044]).
Conclusion
/JOSEPH A TOMBERS/ Examiner, Art Unit 3791