This document is responsive to applicant’s IDS filed 3/30/2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 and 3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Grahl (US PG Pub 2016/0044903).
Regarding claim 1, Grahl discloses:
A reel seat for a fishing rod having a rod blank with a butt end and a rod tip, comprising: a body having a proximal end and a distal end and a middle portion therebetween, wherein only the proximal end of the body is directly secured to the rod blank adjacent the butt end of the rod blank (see at least fig 1A and paragraph 0034 – notably the bait casting configuration), wherein the middle portion and the distal end of the body are spaced from an exterior surface of the rod blank passing through the middle portion and the distal end of the body, thereby allowing limited radial movement of the rod blank within the middle portion and distal end of the body (see at least fig 1A and paragraph 0034); and wherein the body further comprises at least a first opening in a bottom side of the distal end of the body, the first opening configured to allow at least one of a user's fingers to directly contact the rod blank (see at least paragraph 0033).
Regarding claim 3, Grahl discloses:
The reel seat of claim 1, further comprising a front reel foot cavity on a top side adjacent the distal end of the body (see paragraph 0034 and fig 3).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Grahl (US PG Pub 2016/0044903) in view of Oyama et al. (US 5,337,507).
Regarding claim 4, Grahl discloses the reel seat of claim 1 and a rear reel foot component having a rear reel foot cavity (see fig 3), but does not disclose the rear reel foot component configured to slide onto and along the proximal end of the body. Oyama teaches a similar device having a rear reel foot component configured to slide onto and along the proximal end of the body (see figs 7 and 8 and col 5, lines 14-32). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to move the sliding reel foot component from the front to the rear since it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art. In re Japikse, 86 USPQ 70.
Regarding claim 5, Grahl as modified discloses:
The reel seat of claim 4, wherein the proximal end of the body further comprises external threads and further comprising a locking nut having internal threads and configured to engage the external threads of the body and be advanced or retracted along the proximal end of the body to position the rear reel foot component (see Oyama figs 7 and 8 and col 5, lines 14-32).
Regarding claim 6, see the rejection of claims 1, 4, and 5.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2 and 7 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim 8 is allowed.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure is found in the Notice of Reference Cited (PTO-892).
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/RICHARD G DAVIS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3644