This document is responsive to applicant’s claims filed 3/25/2025.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1, 6, and 8 (and dependent claims 2-5 and 7) are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. The limitation “secured to the rod blank adjacent the butt end of the rod tip” does not make sense because the butt end and rod tip are at opposite ends of the rod blank.
In view of the rejections above under 35 USC § 112, the claims referred to in any and all rejections below are rejected as best understood. Any claims that depend upon claims rejected above are also considered rejected via dependency.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Oyama (US 5,291,684).
Regarding claim 1, Oyama discloses:
A reel seat for a fishing rod having a rod blank with a butt end and a rod tip, comprising: a body having a proximal end and a distal end and a middle portion therebetween, wherein only the proximal end of the body is directly secured to the rod blank adjacent the butt end of the rod tip (see fig 1), wherein the middle portion and the distal end of the body are spaced from an exterior surface of a portion of the rod blank passing through the middle portion and the distal end of the body (see fig 1); and wherein the body further comprises at least a first opening (see fig 1, the instance of 12P furthest from the butt) in a bottom side of the distal end of the body, the first opening configured to allow at least one of a user's fingers to directly contact the rod blank (see fig 5).
Regarding claim 2, Oyama discloses:
The reel seat for a fishing rod of claim 1, wherein the first opening is configured to allow at least the user's index finger to directly contact the rod blank (see fig 5), and the body further comprising: a second opening (see fig 1, the instance of 12P closest to the butt) in the bottom side of the middle portion of the body, the second opening configured to allow at least one of the user's ring and pinky fingers to directly contact the rod blank (see fig 5); and an integral connection section separating the first and second openings from one another (see fig 1).
Regarding claim 3, Oyama discloses:
The reel seat of claim 1, further comprising a front reel foot cavity on a top side adjacent the distal end of the body (see fig 2, ref 24).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Oyama (US 5,291,684) in view of Oyama et al. (US 5,337,507), hereinafter 507.
Regarding claim 4, Oyama discloses the reel seat of claim 1 and a rear reel foot component having a rear reel foot cavity (see fig 2, ref 26), but does not disclose the rear reel foot component configured to slide onto and along the proximal end of the body. 507 teaches a similar device having a rear reel foot component configured to slide onto and along the proximal end of the body (see figs 7 and 8 and col 5, lines 14-32). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to move the sliding reel foot component from the front to the rear since it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art. In re Japikse, 86 USPQ 70.
Regarding claim 5, Omaya as modified discloses:
The reel seat of claim 4, wherein the proximal end of the body further comprises external threads and further comprising a locking nut having internal threads and configured to engage the external threads of the body and be advanced or retracted along the proximal end of the body to position the rear reel foot component (see figs 7 and 8 and col 5, lines 14-32).
Regarding claim 6, see the rejection of claims 1, 4, and 5.
Regarding claim 7, see the rejection of claim 2.
Regarding claim 8, see the rejection of claims 1, 2, 4, and 5.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure is found in the Notice of Reference Cited (PTO-892).
/RICHARD G DAVIS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3644