DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ballantine (US 20220131165 A1) in view of Gottwick (DE 102010063016 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Ballantine discloses a system for a vehicle (1), the system comprising: a hydrogen fuel storage system (hydrogen storage unit 120, hydrogen storage area 121, hydrogen storage tank 122, fig.2) for storing hydrogen fuel; and a recirculation hydrogen fuel system (hydrogen purifier 123/132/134, fig.2) for transporting hydrogen fuel, the recirculation hydrogen fuel system having a fuel inlet configured to be in fluid communication with the hydrogen fuel storage system and further a fuel return line to the hydrogen fuel storage system (hydrogen purifier 123/132/134 have inlets and outlets connected to the hydrogen storage tank 122, fig.2), the recirculation hydrogen fuel system further being configured to be in fluid communication with a hydrogen fuel-consuming power source (fuel cell power plant 160, fuel cell APU 140, fig.2). Ballantine fails to disclose wherein the system further comprises an electrically powered compressor disposed in the recirculation hydrogen fuel system, the electrically powered compressor being controllable to pressurize hydrogen fuel in the recirculation hydrogen fuel system in response to a determined need for dissipating energy.
However, Gottwick discloses an electrically powered compressor disposed in the recirculation hydrogen fuel system, the electrically powered compressor being controllable to pressurize hydrogen fuel in the recirculation hydrogen fuel system in response to a determined need for dissipating energy (hydrogen compress or recirculation fan 6 in the hydrogen path, fig.3).
Ballantine and Gottwick are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of hydrogen systems. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Ballantine with the hydrogen compressor of Gottwick with a reasonable expectation of success because it would have combined prior art elements yielding predictable results of a hydrogen compressor is essential for enabling safe, efficient, and practical hydrogen storage, transport, and dispensing at the high pressures required by modern fuel‑cell systems.
Regarding claim 2, Ballantine in combination with Gottwick discloses further comprising an electric powertrain system configured to provide power to the vehicle (fuel cell power plant 160, fuel cell APU 140, fig.2) and further controllable as an electrical energy dissipating system for powering the electrically powered compressor in response to the determined need for dissipating energy (Gottwick, vehicle braking rate into electric energy by the electric drive, abstract, page 3 paragraph 5 and last couple lines on page 5 of translated copy).
Regarding claim 3, Ballantine in combination with Gottwick discloses wherein the electric powertrain system comprises an electric machine operable in a generator mode (Gottwick, vehicle braking rate into electric energy by the electric drive, abstract, page 3 paragraph 5 and last couple lines on page 5 of translated copy).
Regarding claim 4, Ballantine in combination with Gottwick discloses wherein the hydrogen fuel storage system is controllable to supply hydrogen fuel at a low-pressure level to the recirculation hydrogen fuel system (Gottwick, hydrogen goes to the hydrogen compressor 6 at a lower pressure than when it leaves, fig.3), and the electrically powered compressor is controllable to pressurize hydrogen fuel in the recirculation hydrogen fuel system, so as to return hydrogen fuel of high pressure to the hydrogen fuel storage system (Gottwick, hydrogen compressor 6 compresses the hydrogen to a higher pressure in the hydrogen path, fig.3).
Regarding claim 5, Ballantine in combination with Gottwick discloses further comprising a cooler (treatment unit 128, cooling units, remediation unit 166, heating/cooling unit 167c, paragraphs [0028, 0062, 0079, 0083]) configured to be in fluid communication with the recirculation hydrogen fuel system, and further configured to regulate a temperature of the hydrogen fuel in the recirculation hydrogen fuel system.
Regarding claim 6, Ballantine in combination with Gottwick discloses further comprising a controller (Ballantine, controller 126, fig.2) configured to determine the need for dissipating energy responsive to a braking demand of the vehicle (Gottwick, vehicle braking rate into electric energy by the electric drive, abstract, page 3 paragraph 5 and last couple lines on page 5 of translated copy).
Regarding claim 7, Ballantine in combination with Gottwick discloses wherein the controller is configured to determine the braking demand by determining an amount of possible energy from a regenerative braking event of the vehicle (Gottwick, vehicle braking rate into electric energy by the electric drive, abstract, page 3 paragraph 5 and last couple lines on page 5 of translated copy).
Regarding claim 8, Ballantine in combination with Gottwick discloses wherein the controller is configured to determine the need for dissipating energy using route topography data (Ballantine, controller 126; Gottwick, vehicle braking rate into electric energy by the electric drive, abstract, page 3 paragraph 5 and last couple lines on page 5 of translated copy).
Regarding claim 9, Ballantine in combination with Gottwick discloses wherein the controller is configured to determine the need for dissipating energy using route topography data (Ballantine, controller 126; Gottwick, vehicle braking rate into electric energy by the electric drive, abstract, page 3 paragraph 5 and last couple lines on page 5 of translated copy).
Regarding claim 10, Ballantine in combination with Gottwick discloses wherein the controller is configured to control the compressor in response to data indicative of a load on the hydrogen fuel-consuming power source (Ballantine, controller 126; Gottwick, hydrogen compressor 6).
Regarding claim 11, Ballantine in combination with Gottwick discloses wherein the hydrogen fuel-consuming power source is any one of a fuel cell system (Ballantine, fuel cell power plant 160, fuel cell APU 140, fig.2) and an internal combustion engine system.
Regarding claim 12, Ballantine in combination with Gottwick discloses a vehicle comprising the system of claim 1 (Ballantine, vehicle 1; Gottwick, vehicle, abstract).
Regarding claim 13, Ballantine discloses a computer-implemented method for controlling a system for a vehicle (vehicle 1, figs.1-7), the system comprising: a hydrogen fuel storage system (hydrogen storage unit 120, hydrogen storage area 121, hydrogen storage tank 122, fig.2) for storing hydrogen fuel; and a recirculation hydrogen fuel system (hydrogen purifier 123/132/134, fig.2) for transporting hydrogen fuel, the recirculation hydrogen fuel system having a fuel inlet configured to be in fluid communication with the hydrogen fuel storage system and further a fuel return line to the hydrogen fuel storage system (hydrogen purifier 123/132/134 have inlets and outlets connected to the hydrogen storage tank 122, fig.2), the recirculation hydrogen fuel system further being configured to be in fluid communication with a hydrogen fuel-consuming power source (fuel cell power plant 160, fuel cell APU 140, fig.2). Ballantine fails to disclose wherein the system further comprises an electrically powered compressor disposed in the recirculation hydrogen fuel system, the electrically powered compressor being controllable to pressurize hydrogen fuel in the recirculation hydrogen fuel system in response to a determined need for dissipating energy.
However, Gottwick discloses an electrically powered compressor disposed in the recirculation hydrogen fuel system, the electrically powered compressor being controllable to pressurize hydrogen fuel in the recirculation hydrogen fuel system in response to a determined need for dissipating energy (hydrogen compress or recirculation fan 6 in the hydrogen path, fig.3); the method comprising: determining, by processing circuitry of a computer system (Ballantine, controller 126 and circuitry as seen in figures 1-7), a need for dissipating energy (Gottwick, vehicle braking rate into electric energy by the electric drive, abstract, page 3 paragraph 5 and last couple lines on page 5 of translated copy); and in response to the determined need for dissipating energy, controlling, by the processing circuitry, the electrically powered compressor to pressurize hydrogen fuel in the recirculation hydrogen fuel system (Gottwick, vehicle braking rate into electric energy by the electric drive, abstract, page 3 paragraph 5 and last couple lines on page 5 of translated copy, hydrogen compressor 6)
Ballantine and Gottwick are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of hydrogen systems. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Ballantine with the hydrogen compressor of Gottwick with a reasonable expectation of success because it would have combined prior art elements yielding predictable results of a hydrogen compressor is essential for enabling safe, efficient, and practical hydrogen storage, transport, and dispensing at the high pressures required by modern fuel‑cell systems.
Regarding claim 14, Ballantine in combination with Gottwick discloses further comprising a controller (Ballantine, controller 126, fig.2) configured to determine the need for dissipating energy responsive to a braking demand of the vehicle (Gottwick, vehicle braking rate into electric energy by the electric drive, abstract, page 3 paragraph 5 and last couple lines on page 5 of translated copy).
Regarding claim 15, Ballantine in combination with Gottwick discloses a computer program product comprising program code for performing (Ballantine, a plurality of control units 126/135/138/148/158, control units are known in the art to have program code for performing functions), when executed by the processing circuitry, the method of claim 13.
Regarding claim 16, Ballantine in combination with Gottwick discloses a computer program product comprising program code for performing (Ballantine, a plurality of control units 126/135/138/148/158, control units are known in the art to have program code for performing functions), when executed by the processing circuitry, the method of claim 14.
Regarding claim 17, , Ballantine in combination with Gottwick discloses a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium comprising instructions (Ballantine, a plurality of control units 126/135/138/148/158, control units are known in the art to have program code and computer readable storage medium for performing functions), which when executed by the processing circuitry, cause the processing circuitry to perform the method of claim 13.
Regarding claim 18, , Ballantine in combination with Gottwick discloses a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium comprising instructions (Ballantine, a plurality of control units 126/135/138/148/158, control units are known in the art to have program code and computer readable storage medium for performing functions), which when executed by the processing circuitry, cause the processing circuitry to perform the method of claim 14.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
The prior art not relied upon but considered pertinent to the applicant’s disclosure is included in the 892 form. The art included has features related to claim limitations, the general structural of the invention, teachings, and other analogous art to the invention.
/IAN BRYCE SHELTON/Examiner, Art Unit 3613