CTNF 19/089,711 CTNF 78954 DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 07-06 AIA 15-10-15 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis (i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. 07-07-aia AIA 07-07 The following is a quotation of the appropriate paragraphs of 35 U.S.C. 102 that form the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action: A person shall be entitled to a patent unless – 07-08-aia AIA (a)(1) the claimed invention was patented, described in a printed publication, or in public use, on sale, or otherwise available to the public before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. 07-15 AIA Claim s 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102( a)(1 ) as being anticipated by Nguyen et al. (US 20210212556) Regarding claim 1, Nguyen discloses a medical device (medical device– see for example, figure 8A, 9A) comprising: a shaft (shaft 12 – figures 8A, 9A); a handle (handle 11 – figure 8A, 9A-9B); and a rotation assembly positioned at a distal end of the handle (rotation assembly comprises housing 12b, lock 15i that are connected to the end of the handle– see include, but are not limited to, figures 8A-8G, paragraphs 0098-0099, or rotation assembly comprises rings 81, 82, locking component 30, and grip 40 that are connected to the end of the handle 11 in the embodiment in figures 9A-9C, paragraphs0106-0107), wherein a proximal portion of the shaft is fixedly coupled to the rotation assembly (proximal portion of shaft 12 is coupled/connected housing 12b, lock 15i (see figures 8A-8B, 8G, paragraph 0100) or proximal portion of the shaft 12 is fixedly connected to locking component 30 of rotation assembly – see for example, figures 9A-9B, paragraphs 0106-0107), the rotation assembly comprising: a guide member fixedly coupled to the handle (member including channel 15i2, detent 15i6 of housing 12b coupled to the handle 11 – see figures 8c-8d, 8g, paragraphs 0098, 0102, or guide member is read on springs 81, 82 coupled to the handle as shown in figures 9A-9C, paragraphs 0107, 0109), and a rotational member, wherein the rotational member is rotatable relative to the guide member and the handle (rotation member such as lock 15i includes ring 15i1, post, slot, etc. is rotatable relative to the guide member of housing 12b and the handle – see include, but are not limited to, figures 8A-8G, paragraphs 0099-0102, or rotation member such as locking component 30, grip 40 is rotatable relative to the guide member of springs 81, 82 and the handle – see figures 9A-9C, paragraphs 0107, 0109); wherein the shaft is configured to rotate with the rotational member (shaft 12 is configured to rotate with the lock 15i, ring 15i1 – see include, but are not limited to, paragraphs 0099-0101, figures 8C-8E, 8G, or shaft 12 is configured to rotate with the locking component 30, tabs – see include, but are not limited to, figures 9A-9B, paragraph 0109). Regarding claim 2, Nguyen discloses the medical device of claim 1, wherein a proximal end of the rotational member includes a first protrusion extending radially outward relative to a central longitudinal axis of the rotational member (a proximal end of the rotational ring include a first protrusion such as post 15i3 extending radially outward relative to a central longitudinal axis of the lock 15i with a ring – see include, but are not limited to, figures 8B, 8D-8E, paragraph 0099, or rotation locking component 30 comprises tabs 32, 34 extending radically outward relative to a central longitudinal axis of the locking component 30, see figures 9B, 9C, paragraph 0108, 0110). Regarding claim 3, Nguyen discloses the medical device of claim 2, wherein the guide member includes a chamber, wherein the chamber is configured to receive the first protrusion of the rotational member (the inner end of housing 12b includes channel 12i2 that is configured to receive the post 15i3 of the rotation member/lock 15i – see figures 8D, 8E, paragraph 0102; or springs 81, 82 comprises a gap between posts 510 that is configured to receive the tab 32, 34 of the rotation locking component - see figures 9B-9C, paragraph 0108). Regarding claim 4, Nguyen discloses the medical device of claim 3, wherein the guide member includes a first guide component and a second guide component, and wherein the chamber is formed from a first chamber portion of the first guide component and a second chamber portion of the second guide component (guide member of housing 12b comprising components such as channel 15i2, detent 15i6, break or cutoff, molded stop 15i7, wherein the channel is formed from a first portion of the channel and a second portion of channel, break/cutoff, detent 15i6 – see include, but are not limited to, figures 8D-8G, paragraphs 0099, 0102-0104; or springs 81, 82 includes gap between the posts 510, wherein the gap is formed from gap portion of the gap and the second portion of the posts 510 – see figures 9B-9C, paragraphs 0108, 0112). Regarding claim 5, Nguyen discloses the medical device of claim 4, wherein the second guide component include a second protrusion, wherein the second protrusion extends radially inward within the chamber toward the central longitudinal axis of the rotational member (detent 15i6 in the inner end of housing 12b, molded stop 15i7, or ball 15i5 protruding from the inner portion of the housing extends radially inward within the channel and/or slot toward the central longitudinal axis of the lock – see figures 8B, 8D, 8E-8G, paragraphs 0103-0105; or second guide of spring 81 include post 510, wherein the post 510 extends radially inward within the chamber/gap toward the central longitudinal axis of rotational member comprising grip 40 -see figures 0107-0109, 0111-0112). Regarding claim 6, Nguyen discloses the medical device of claim 5, wherein rotation of the rotational member rotates the first protrusion within the chamber (rotation of the rotation member comprising the lock, ring rotates the post 15i3 within the channel 12i2 – see include, but are not limited to, figures 8D-8G, paragraphs 0101-0103; or rotation of the rotation member of lock 30, grip 40 rotates the tab 32, 34 within the gap between the posts – see figures 9A-9C, paragraphs 0107-0109). Regarding claim 7, Nguyen discloses the medical device of claim 6, wherein the second protrusion is configured to limit rotation of the first protrusion within the chamber (the detent 15i6 or molded stop 15i7 is configured to limit rotation of the post 15i3 within the channel (see figures 8E-8G, paragraphs 0102-0105); or posts 510 is configured to limit rotation of the tab 32, 34 within the gap - see figures 9B-9C, paragraphs 0108-0110). Regarding claim 8, Nguyen discloses the medical device of claim 7, wherein the first guide component and the second guide component are coupled to one another, wherein the guide member is fixedly coupled to a distal portion of the handle (first guide component and second guide component comprising channel, detent, of the inner end of the housing 12b are coupled to one another, wherein the guide member of housing 12b is fixedly coupled to the distal portion of the handle 11– see figures 8C-8D, paragraphs 0102-0104; or the components/posts of the springs 81, 82 are coupled to one another, wherein the springs is fixedly coupled to a distal end of the handle – see figure 9B). Regarding claim 9, Nguyen discloses the medical device of claim 7, wherein the chamber has a cylindrical shape (channel 15i2 has cylindrical shape – see include, but are not limited to, 8B, 8F, paragraph 0102) . Regarding claim 10, Nguyen discloses the medical device of claim 3, wherein a lumen of the rotational member extends from the proximal end of the rotational member through the distal end of the rotational member along a central longitudinal axis of the rotational member (a lumen/channel that for the shaft or lumens of the shaft 12 for connecting to a port on the media device – see include, but are not limited to, figures 8B, 8G-9C, paragraphs 0106, 0109) . Regarding claim 11, Nguyen discloses the medical device of claim 10, wherein the proximal end of the rotational member is positioned within the handle and the distal end of the rotational member extends distally beyond a distalmost end of the handle (proximal end of the rotation member such as a lock is positioned within the handle 11a and the distal end of the rotational member extents distally beyond the distalmost end 11b/12c of the handle - see include, but are not limited to, figures 1b, 8B-8D, 9A-9B, paragraphs 0098-0099, 0106-0107). Regarding claim 12, Nguyen discloses the medical device of claim 11, wherein the rotational member includes an O-ring and a recess, wherein the recess extends along a circumference of the rotational member, wherein the recess is configured to receive the O-ring therein (rotation member of a lock includes O or circle/locking ring and recess/slot/open space or channel extends along the circumference of or around the rotational member, wherein the channel/open space is configured to receive the ring – see include, but are not limited to, figures 8B-8G, 9B-9C, paragraphs 0099, 0102, 0104, 0106 ). Regarding claim 13, Nguyen discloses the medical device of claim 12, wherein the chamber includes a second protrusion, wherein the second protrusion extends radially inward relative to the central longitudinal axis of the rotational member (the chamber with channel includes a detent/molded stop extends radically inward relative to the central longitudinal axis of the lock (see figures 8B-8G, paragraphs 0101-0102 and also see discussion in claim 5). Regarding claim 14, Nguyen discloses the medical device of claim 13, wherein the second protrusion is positioned within the chamber to limit rotation of the first protrusion within the chamber so as to limit the rotation of the rotational member relative to the guide member to less than 360 degrees of rotation (detent 15i6, molded stop 15i7 or post 510 is positioned within the chamber/channel to limit rotation of the first protrusion (post 15i3 or tab 32) within the chamber so as to limit the rotation of the rotation member relative to the guide member to less than 360 degrees or not complete circle of rotation – see include, but are not limited to, figures 8D, 8F, 8G, 9B, 9C, paragraphs 0103-0105, 0108, 0112). Regarding claim 15, Nguyen discloses the medical device of claim 14, wherein the lumen of the rotational member is configured to receive a medical instrument (channel/lumen of rotation member is configured to receive medical instrument/shaft – see include, but are not limited to, figures 8E-9B, paragraphs 0043, 0045, 0049). Regarding claim 16, Nguyen discloses a medical device comprising: a first shaft (tube or shaft portion near the distal end of the handle – see include, but are not limited to, figures 8A-8B, 9A-9B); a handle (e.g., handle 11- see for example, figures 8A-8C, 9A-9B); wherein a proximal end of the first shaft extends from a distal end of the handle (proximal end of the first shaft extends from a distal end of the handle 11 – see include, but are not limited to, 8A-8C, 9A-9B); and a rotation assembly, comprising: a guide member including a chamber (inner member of housing 12b including channel/gap or springs with gap- see figures 8b, 8d-9c, and similar discussion in the rejection of claim 1 and 3), and a rotational member, wherein the rotational member is rotatable relative to the guide member (rotation member such as lock component and/or rotation part is rotatable relative to the guide member of channels, springs – see similar discussion in the rejection of claim 1 and include, but are not limited to, figures 8A-9C, paragraphs 0100-0101, 0109-0110), wherein the rotational member includes a grippable portion (e.g., grip 40 or touchable portion of rotation member or outer surface of the housing 12b)– paragraphs 0099-0100, 0107, 0109, figures 8C-8D, 9A-9B) , a second shaft (second shaft coupled tube 12 – see figures 8A-9C), and a recess (recess or channel/opening or gap– see figures 8B, 8D-9C, paragraphs 0106, 0108-0109 and discussion in the rejection of claim 12), wherein the recess is positioned between the grippable portion and the second shaft (e.g., opening/channel or recess is positioned between grippable outer surface of 12b or 40 and the second shaft coupled to tube 12 - see include, but are not limited to, figures 8C-8D, 8G-9C, paragraphs 0100, 0105-0106), wherein the rotational member includes a lumen extending from a distal end of the rotational member to a proximal end of the rotational member (a lumen/channel/open for the shaft or lumens of the shaft 12 for connecting to a port on the media device – see include, but are not limited to, figures 8B, 8G-9C, paragraphs 0106, 0109); wherein the second shaft includes a first portion protrusion extending (i) radially outward, relative to a central longitudinal axis of the rotational member, and (ii) within the chamber; wherein a portion of the first shaft is received within the lumen of the rotational member (second shaft includes a first portion such as post 15i3, tabs 32, 34, etc. extending radially outward and relative to a central longitudinal axis of the rotation member of the lock component, grip 40, and (ii) within the channel or gap, wherein a portion of the first shaft is received within the lumen/tube of the rotational member such as the lock 15i including a ring, lock component 30, grip 40- see include, but are not limited to, figures 8b-9C, paragraphs 0099, 0102, 0106-0107); and wherein the first shaft is configured to rotate with the rotational member relative to the guide member and the handle (wherein the first shaft/tube 12 is configured to rotated with the rotation member such as lock 15i including ring, or lock component 30, grip 40, relative to the guide member such as channel, detent, stop including in the inner surface of the housing 12b or springs and the handle 11– see similar discussion in the rejection of claim 1 and include, but are not limited to, figures 8f, 9c, paragraphs 0098, 0100-0101). Regarding claim 17, Nguyen discloses the medical device of claim 16, wherein the rotation assembly further comprises an O-ring, wherein the recess extends along a circumference of the rotational member, wherein the recess is sized and shaped to receive the O-ring (see similar discussion in the rejection of claim 12 and include, but are not limited to, figures 8B, 8E-9D, paragraphs 0102, 0104, 0106) . Regarding claim 18, Nguyen discloses the medical device of claim 17, wherein the grippable portion extends distally beyond a distalmost end of the handle, wherein the recess and the second shaft are positioned within the handle proximal to the distalmost end of the handle (wherein the grip 40 or outer surface of housing 12b extends distally beyond a distalmost end of the handle 11, wherein the recess/opening and the second shaft are position within the proximal to the distalmost end of handle 11 – see include, but are not limited to, figures 8c-8g, 9a-9d, paragraphs 0099-0103, 0106). Regarding claim 19, Nguyen discloses the medical device of claim 18, wherein the guide member includes a second protrusion extending radially inward, relative to the central longitudinal axis of the rotational member, within the chamber (guide member such as channel 15i2, detent 15i6, molded stop, of the inner surface of the housing 12b or springs 81, 82 includes a second protrusion of ball in detent/post 510/molded stop extending radially inward, relative to the central longitudinal axis of the rotational member/lock component, within the channel/gap – see similar discussion in the rejection of claim 5 and include, but are not limited to, figures 8D-9C); wherein the second protrusion is configured to limit rotation of the first protrusion within the chamber (see similar discussion in the rejection of claim 7). Regarding claim 20, Nguyen discloses a medical device comprising: a shaft (shaft 12 – figures 8a, 9a); a handle (11 – figures 8a, 9a); and a rotation assembly positioned at a distal portion of the handle (housing 12b, lock components – see similar discussion in the rejection of claim 1 and figures 8b-9c), wherein a proximal portion of the shaft is fixedly coupled to the rotation assembly, the rotation assembly comprising: a guide member fixedly coupled to the handle, and a rotational member, wherein the rotational member is rotatable relative to the guide member and the handle (see similar discussion in the rejection of claim 1 above); wherein the shaft fixedly coupled to the rotational member and is configured to rotate with the rotational member; wherein the guide member includes a chamber and a first protrusion extending radially inward within the chamber (guide member on the inner surface of housing 12b or springs 81, 82, includes a channel/gap and a first protrusion with ball, molded stop/post 510 extending inward within the channel/opening – see figures 8B-9C, paragraphs 0102-0105, 0108-0109); wherein the rotational member includes a second protrusion (post 15i3 or tab 32, 34), wherein the second protrusion is positioned within the chamber (post 15i3 is positioned within the channel 15i2 or tab 32 is positioned within the gap between the posts 510), extends from the rotational member, and is configured to rotate within the chamber (extends from rotation member of the lock, and is configured to rotate within the channel/gap – see include, but are not limited to, figures 8b, 8d-9c, paragraphs 0101-0104, 0106, 0108-0110); wherein the first protrusion is configured to limit the rotation of the second protrusion within the chamber (see similar discussion in the rejection of claim 7, and figures 8f-8g, 9c, paragraphs 0103, 0106, 0108) . Conclusion 07-96 AIA The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Sigmon, Jr. et al. (US 12053156) discloses endoscope rotation mechanism comprising a first protrusion on the rotation member and a second protrusion on the guide member that limit rotation of the rotation member (see figures 2b-2c). Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to AN SON PHI HUYNH whose telephone number is (571)272-7295. The examiner can normally be reached 9:00 am-6:30 pm. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, ANH TUAN T NGUYEN can be reached at 571-272-4963. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /AN SON P HUYNH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2426 May 6, 2026 Application/Control Number: 19/089,711 Page 2 Art Unit: 2426 Application/Control Number: 19/089,711 Page 3 Art Unit: 2426 Application/Control Number: 19/089,711 Page 4 Art Unit: 2426 Application/Control Number: 19/089,711 Page 5 Art Unit: 2426 Application/Control Number: 19/089,711 Page 6 Art Unit: 2426 Application/Control Number: 19/089,711 Page 7 Art Unit: 2426 Application/Control Number: 19/089,711 Page 8 Art Unit: 2426 Application/Control Number: 19/089,711 Page 9 Art Unit: 2426 Application/Control Number: 19/089,711 Page 10 Art Unit: 2426 Application/Control Number: 19/089,711 Page 11 Art Unit: 2426 Application/Control Number: 19/089,711 Page 12 Art Unit: 2426 Application/Control Number: 19/089,711 Page 13 Art Unit: 2426