DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-20 have been considered but are moot as discussed in new ground of rejection below.
Applicant argues Nguyen’s shaft housing 12b is rotatable relative to Nguyen’s handle 11, and therefore, Shaft housing 12b, the member that includes channel 15i2, is not fixedly coupled to Nguyen’s handle 11. Alternatively, in other embodiment, Nguyen does not teach or suggest springs 81, 82 are fixedly couple to handle 11 (pages 9-10).
In response, according to thefreedictionary.com, the definition of “fixedly” encompasses: 1. to make firm or steady, 2. to attach; to join…
Nguyen discloses the housing 12b comprises channel 15i2, detent 15i6 or springs 81, 82 is coupled/attached/joined the handle 11 as discussed in the non-final rejection, page 3. Therefore, Nguyen’s disclosure is broadly read on limitation “a guide member fixedly coupled to the handle”.
Applicant further argues Nguyen’s lock 15i is not fixedly coupled to a proximal portion of shaft 12a because Nguyen lock 15i is part of handle 15 that rotates relative to shaft 12a and shaft housing 12b (see page 10).
Beissel is relied on for newly added limitation as discussed below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nguyen et al. (US 20210212556) in view of Beissel et al. (US 20130150793).
Note: all subject matters of documents that are directly or indirectly incorporated by references in Beissel (see paragraphs 0003, 0006,0009, 0057, 0069, 0071, 0072, 0075, 0100-0102, 0104-0106, 0111, 0161) are treated as part of the specification of Beissel (see for example, MPEP 2163.07b).
Regarding claim 1, Nguyen discloses a medical device (medical device– see for example, figure 8A, 9A) comprising:
a shaft (shaft 12 – figures 8A, 9A);
a handle (handle 11 – figure 8A, 9A-9B); and
a rotation assembly positioned at a distal end of the handle (rotation assembly comprises housing 12b, lock 15i that are connected to the end of the handle– see include, but are not limited to, figures 8A-8G, paragraphs 0098-0099, or rotation assembly comprises rings 81, 82, locking component 30, and grip 40 that are connected to the end of the handle 11 in the embodiment in figures 9A-9C, paragraphs 0106-0107), the rotation assembly comprises:
a guide member fixedly coupled to the handle (member including channel 15i2, detent 15i6 of housing 12b coupled/attached/joined to the handle 11 – see figures 8c-8d, 8g, paragraphs 0098, 0102, or guide member is read on springs 81, 82 coupled/attached/joined to the handle as shown in figures 9A-9C, paragraphs 0107, 0109 and discussed in “response to arguments” above), and
a rotational member, wherein the rotational member and the shaft are rotatable together relative to the guide member and the handle (rotation member such as lock 15i includes ring 15i1, post, slot, etc. and the shaft are rotatable relative to the guide member of housing 12b and the handle – see include, but are not limited to, figures 8A-8G, paragraphs 0044, 0099-0102, or rotation member such as locking component 30, grip 40 and shaft are rotatable together relative to the guide member of springs 81, 82 and the handle – see figures 9A-9C, paragraphs 0107, 0109).
Nguyen does not explicitly disclose rotatable member fixedly coupled to a proximal portion of the shaft, wherein a proximal portion of the rotational member is inserted into a distal portion of the guide member.
Additionally and/or alternatively, Beissel discloses a medical device (see for example, figures 1a, 3, 7a, 11) comprising:
a rotation assembly (with dilator hub and sheath hub – see include, but are not limited to, figures 3, 11, paragraphs 0012, 0022) comprises:
a guide member fixedly coupled to a handle (guide member with at least one channel or groove (301) fixedly coupled to a handle or grip – see include, but are not limited to, figures 3, 7A, 11, paragraphs 0012, 0071, 0080, 0091, 0105, 0111, 0115, 0123, 0117, 0148),
a rotation member fixedly coupled to a proximal portion of a shaft (e.g., rotation member with at least one protrusion fixedly coupled to a proximal of a shaft or tabular member – see include, but are not limited to, figures 1A, 3, 11, paragraphs 0012-0013, 0015, 0022, 0069, 0070, 0073 0077, 0091, 0093, 0115, 0123, 0148),
wherein a proximal portion of the rotation member is insertable into a distal portion of the guide member (wherein a proximal of rotation member with a protrusion (e.g., 302) is insertable into a distal portion of the guide member with channel/groove (e.g., 301)– see include, but are not limited to, figures 3, 1D, 11, paragraphs 0012, 0022, 0091, 0118), and
wherein the rotation member and the shaft are rotatable together relative to the guide member and the handle (rotation member of the hub with protrusion and the shaft/tabular member are rotatable together relative to the guide member with channel/groove and the handle/grip – see include, but are not limited to, figures 1d, 3, 11, paragraphs 0012, 0018, 0023-0024, 0032, 0093).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Nguyen with the teachings including rotatable member fixedly coupled to a proximal portion of the shaft, wherein a proximal portion of the rotational member is inserted into a distal portion of the guide member as taught by Beissel in order to yield predictable result of improving safety, convenience for guiding the tool during surgery and minimizing invasive (see paragraphs 0002, 0091, 0133).
Regarding claim 2, Nguyen in view of Beissel discloses the medical device of claim 1, wherein the proximal portion the rotational member includes a first protrusion extending radially outward relative to a central longitudinal axis of the rotational member (a proximal end of the rotational ring include a first protrusion such as post 15i3 extending radially outward relative to a central longitudinal axis of the lock 15i with a ring – see include, but are not limited to, figures 8B, 8D-8E, paragraph 0099, or rotation locking component 30 comprises tabs 32, 34 extending radically outward relative to a central longitudinal axis of the locking component 30, see include, but are not limited to, Nguyen: figures 9B, 9C, paragraph 0108, 0110. See also Beissel: figure 3, paragraphs 0012-0013, 0022, for teaching of proximal portion of rotation member include protrusion extending radially outward relative to the central longitudinal axis of the rotation member).
Regarding claim 3, Nguyen in view of Beissel discloses the medical device of claim 2, wherein the guide member includes a chamber, wherein the chamber is configured to receive the first protrusion of the rotational member (the inner end of housing 12b includes channel 12i2 that is configured to receive the post 15i3 of the rotation member/lock 15i – see figures 8D, 8E, paragraph 0102; or springs 81, 82 comprises a gap between posts 510 that is configured to receive the tab 32, 34 of the rotation locking component - see Nguyen: figures 9B-9C, paragraph 0108. See also the disclosure of Beissel in figures 1A-1D, 3, paragraphs 0012-0013, 0091, 0115, 0123, wherein the “chamber” is read on channel or groove ).
Regarding claim 4, Nguyen in view of Beissel discloses the medical device of claim 3, wherein the guide member includes a first guide component and a second guide component, and wherein the chamber is formed from a first chamber portion of the first guide component and a second chamber portion of the second guide component (guide member of housing 12b comprising components such as channel 15i2, detent 15i6, break or cutoff, molded stop 15i7, wherein the channel is formed from a first portion of the channel and a second portion of channel, break/cutoff, detent 15i6 – see include, but are not limited to, figures 8D-8G, paragraphs 0099, 0102-0104; or springs 81, 82 includes gap between the posts 510, wherein the gap is formed from gap portion of the gap and the second portion of the posts 510 – see include, but are not limited to, Nguyen: figures 9B-9C, paragraphs 0108, 0112. See also the disclosure of Beissel in figures 1A-1D, 3, paragraphs 0012-0013, 0091, 0115, 0123).
Regarding claim 5, Nguyen in view of Beissel discloses the medical device of claim 4, wherein the second guide component include a second protrusion, wherein the second protrusion extends radially inward within the chamber toward the central longitudinal axis of the rotational member (detent 15i6 in the inner end of housing 12b, molded stop 15i7, or ball 15i5 protruding from the inner portion of the housing extends radially inward within the channel and/or slot toward the central longitudinal axis of the lock – see include, but, are not limited to, Nguyen: figures 8B, 8D, 8E-8G, paragraphs 0103-0105; or second guide of spring 81 include post 510, wherein the post 510 extends radially inward within the chamber/gap toward the central longitudinal axis of rotational member comprising grip 40 -see figures 0107-0109, 0111-0112. See also the disclosure of Beissel in figures 1A-1D, 3-4, 7a, 11, paragraphs 0012-0013, 0022, 0077, 0091, 0115, 0123).
Regarding claim 6, Nguyen in view of Beissel discloses the medical device of claim 5, wherein rotation of the rotational member rotates the first protrusion within the chamber (rotation of the rotation member comprising the lock, ring rotates the post 15i3 within the channel 12i2 – see include, but are not limited to, Nguyen: figures 8D-8G, paragraphs 0101-0103; or rotation of the rotation member of lock 30, grip 40 rotates the tab 32, 34 within the gap between the posts – see Nguyen: figures 9A-9C, paragraphs 0107-0109. See also the disclosure of Beissel in figures 1A-1D, 3, 7A, 11, paragraphs 0012-0013, 0022, 0077, 0091, 0099, 0115, 0123).
Regarding claim 7, Nguyen in view of Beissel discloses the medical device of claim 6, wherein the second protrusion is configured to limit rotation of the first protrusion within the chamber (the detent 15i6 or molded stop 15i7 is configured to limit rotation of the post 15i3 within the channel (see Nguyen: figures 8E-8G, paragraphs 0102-0105); or posts 510 is configured to limit rotation of the tab 32, 34 within the gap - see Nguyen: figures 9B-9C, paragraphs 0108-0110; See also the disclosure of Beissel in figures 1A-1D, 3, 7A, 11, paragraphs 0022, 0077-0078, 0099).
Regarding claim 8, Nguyen in view of Beissel discloses the medical device of claim 7, wherein the first guide component and the second guide component are coupled to one another, wherein the guide member is fixedly coupled to a distal portion of the handle (first guide component and second guide component comprising channel, detent, of the inner end of the housing 12b are coupled to one another, wherein the guide member of housing 12b is fixedly coupled to the distal portion of the handle 11– see figures 8C-8D, paragraphs 0102-0104; or the components/posts of the springs 81, 82 are coupled to one another, wherein the springs is fixedly coupled to a distal end of the handle – see figure 9B. See also the disclosure of Beissel in figures 1A-1D, 3, 7A, 11, paragraphs 0012-0013, 0022, 0077, 0091, 0115, 0123).
Regarding claim 9, Nguyen in view of Beissel discloses the medical device of claim 7, wherein the chamber has a cylindrical shape (channel 15i2 has cylindrical shape – see include, but are not limited to, Nguyen: figures 8B, 8F, paragraph 0102; See also the disclosure of Beissel in figures 1D, 1E, 3, 7A, 11) .
Regarding claim 10, Nguyen in view of Beissel discloses the medical device of claim 3, wherein a lumen of the rotational member extends from the proximal end of a rotational member through a distal end of the rotational member along a central longitudinal axis of the rotational member (a lumen/channel that for the shaft or lumens of the shaft 12 for connecting to a port on the media device – see include, but are not limited to, Nguyen: figures 8B, 8G-9C, paragraphs 0106, 0109. See also the disclosure of Beissel in figures 1A-1D, 3, 7A, 11, paragraphs 0012-0013, 0022, 0077-0078, 0091, 0115, 0123) .
Regarding claim 11, Nguyen in view of Beissel discloses the medical device of claim 10, wherein the proximal end of the rotational member is positioned within the guide member and the handle, and wherein the distal end of the rotational member is distal to a distalmost end of the handle (proximal end of the rotation member such as a lock is positioned within the handle 11a and the distal end of the rotational member extents distally beyond the distalmost end 11b/12c of the handle - see include, but are not limited to, figures 1b, 8B-8D, 9A-9B, paragraphs 0098-0099, 0106-0107. See also the disclosure of Beissel in figures 3, 7A, 11, paragraphs 0012-0013, 0022, 0077, 0091, 0115, 0123, 0148).
Regarding claim 12, Nguyen in view of Beissel discloses the medical device of claim 11, wherein the rotational member includes an O-ring and a recess, wherein the recess extends along a circumference of the rotational member, wherein the recess is configured to receive the O-ring therein (rotation member of a lock includes O or circle/locking ring and recess/slot/open space or channel extends along the circumference of or around the rotational member, wherein the channel/open space is configured to receive the ring – see include, but are not limited to, Nguyen: figures 8B-8G, 9B-9C, paragraphs 0099, 0102, 0104, 0106; See also the disclosure of Beissel in figures 1E-3, 7A, 10-11, 16, paragraphs 0012-0013, 0075, 0168 ).
Regarding claim 13, Nguyen in view of Beissel discloses the medical device of claim 12, wherein the chamber includes a second protrusion, wherein the second protrusion extends radially inward relative to the central longitudinal axis of the rotational member (the chamber with channel includes a detent/molded stop extends radically inward relative to the central longitudinal axis of the lock (see Nguyen: figures 8B-8G, paragraphs 0101-0102; Beissel: figures 1a-1d, 3-4, 11, and also see discussion in claim 5).
Regarding claim 14, Nguyen in view of Beissel discloses the medical device of claim 13, wherein the second protrusion is positioned within the chamber to limit rotation of the first protrusion within the chamber so as to limit the rotation of the rotational member relative to the guide member to less than 360 degrees of rotation (detent 15i6, molded stop 15i7 or post 510 is positioned within the chamber/channel to limit rotation of the first protrusion (post 15i3 or tab 32) within the chamber so as to limit the rotation of the rotation member relative to the guide member to less than 360 degrees or not complete circle of rotation – see include, but are not limited to, Nguyen: figures 8D, 8F, 8G, 9B, 9C, paragraphs 0103-0105, 0108, 0112. See also the disclosure of Beissel in figures 1A-1D, 3, 7A, 11, paragraphs 0022, 0066, 0077-0078, 0086-0088).
Regarding claim 15, Nguyen in view of Beissel discloses the medical device of claim 14, wherein the lumen of the rotational member is configured to receive a medical instrument (channel/lumen of rotation member is configured to receive medical instrument/shaft – see include, but are not limited to, Nguyen: figures 8E-9B, paragraphs 0043, 0045, 0049; See also Beissel: figures 1a-1d, 3, 11, paragraphs 0072, 0100).
Regarding claim 16, limitations that correspond to the limitations of claim 1 are analyzed as discussed in the rejection of claim 1. In particular, Nguyen in view of Beissel discloses a medical device comprising:
a first shaft (tube or shaft portion near the distal end of the handle – see include, but are not limited to, Nguyen: figures 8A-8B, 9A-9B; Beissel: figures 2-3);
a handle (e.g., handle 11- see for example, Nguyen: figures 8A-8C, 9A-9B; or see Beissel: figures 1a, 2, 3, 11 and discussion in the rejection of claim 1 above);
wherein the first shaft extends from a distal end of the handle (proximal end of the first shaft extends from a distal end of the handle 11 – see include, but are not limited to, Nguyen: 8A-8C, 9A-9B; or see also See also Beissel in figures 1a-1d,2-3, 7A, 11 and discussion in the rejection of claim 1); and
a rotation assembly, comprising:
a guide member including a chamber (inner member of housing 12b including channel/gap or springs with gap- see Nguyen: figures 8b, 8d-9c; Beissel in figures 1A-1D, 2-3, 7A, 11, paragraphs 0012-0013, 0022, 0077, 0091, 0115, 0123, wherein “chamber” is read on channel, or groove, and similar discussion in the rejection of claim 1 and 3), and
a rotational member, wherein the rotational member is rotatable relative to the guide member (rotation member such as lock component and/or rotation part is rotatable relative to the guide member of channels, springs – see similar discussion in the rejection of claim 1 and include, but are not limited to, Nguyen: figures 8A-9C, paragraphs 0100-0101, 0109-0110; or see Beissel: figures 1a-1d, 3, 7A, 11, paragraphs 0012-0013, 0077, 0091, 0148), wherein the rotational member includes a grippable portion (e.g., grip 40 or touchable portion of rotation member or outer surface of the housing 12b– Nguyen: paragraphs 0099-0100, 0107, 0109, figures 8C-8D, 9A-9B; or see Beissel: figures 1a-1d, 2-3, 10-11, 12, paragraphs 0077, 0091, 0123, 0148) , a second shaft (second shaft coupled tube 12 – see Nguyen: figures 8A-9C; or see Beissel: figures 1a-1d, 3, 11-12), and a recess (recess or channel/opening or gap– see Nguyen: figures 8B, 8D-9C, paragraphs 0106, 0108-0109; Beissel: figures 3, 10-12, and discussion in the rejection of claim 12), wherein the recess is positioned between the grippable portion and the second shaft (e.g., opening/channel or recess is positioned between grippable outer surface of 12b or 40 and the second shaft coupled to tube 12 - see include, but are not limited to, Nguyen: figures 8C-8D, 8G-9C, paragraphs 0100, 0105-0106; Beissel: figures 1a-1d, 3, 7a, 10-12, paragraphs 0071, 0077, 0091, 0115, 0118, 0126), wherein the second shaft is within the chamber of the guide member (see include, but are not limited to, Nguyen: figures 8A-9D; or Beissel: figures 1a-1d, 3, 11, paragraphs 0012-0014, 0070, 0091, 0100, 0115, 0118, 0148, wherein “second shaft” is read on protrusion, ridge, shaft, is within the channel, groove, or open), and wherein the rotational member includes a lumen extending from a distal end of the rotational member to a proximal end of the rotational member (a lumen/channel/open for the shaft or lumens of the shaft 12 for connecting to a port on the media device – see include, but are not limited to, Nguyen: figures 8B, 8G-9C, paragraphs 0106, 0109; see also Beissel: figures 1a-1d, 3, 11-12);
wherein the second shaft of the rotational member includes a first portion protrusion extending radially outward, relative to a central longitudinal axis of the rotational member, within the chamber of the guide member; wherein a portion of the first shaft is received within the lumen of the rotational member (second shaft includes a first portion such as post 15i3, tabs 32, 34, etc. extending radially outward and relative to a central longitudinal axis of the rotation member of the lock component, grip 40, and (ii) within the channel or gap, wherein a portion of the first shaft is received within the lumen/tube of the rotational member such as the lock 15i including a ring, lock component 30, grip 40- see include, but are not limited to, figures 8b-9C, paragraphs 0099, 0102, 0106-0107; See also the disclosure of Beissel in figures 1a-1d, 2-3, 7A, 11, paragraphs 0012-0013, 0022, 0077, 0091, 0115, 0123, 0148); and
wherein the first shaft is configured to rotate with the rotational member relative to the guide member and the handle (wherein the first shaft/tube 12 is configured to rotated with the rotation member such as lock 15i including ring, or lock component 30, grip 40, relative to the guide member such as channel, detent, stop including in the inner surface of the housing 12b or springs and the handle 11– see similar discussion in the rejection of claim 1 and include, but are not limited to, Nguyen: figures 8f, 9c, paragraphs 0098, 0100-0101; See also the disclosure of Beissel in figures 1a-1d, 3, 7A, 11, paragraphs 0012-0013, 0022, 0077, 0091, 0099, 0115, 0123, 0148).
Regarding claim 17, Nguyen in view of Beissel discloses the medical device of claim 16, wherein the rotation assembly further comprises an O-ring, wherein the recess extends along a circumference of the rotational member, wherein the recess is sized and shaped to receive the O-ring (see similar discussion in the rejection of claim 12 and include, but are not limited to, Nguyen: figures 8B, 8E-9D, paragraphs 0102, 0104, 0106).
Regarding claim 18, Nguyen in view of Beissel discloses the medical device of claim 17, wherein the grippable portion extends distally beyond a distalmost end of the handle, wherein the recess and the second shaft are positioned within the handle proximal to the distalmost end of the handle (wherein the grip 40 or outer surface of housing 12b extends distally beyond a distalmost end of the handle 11, wherein the recess/opening and the second shaft are position within the proximal to the distalmost end of handle 11 – see include, but are not limited to, Nguyen: figures 8c-8g, 9a-9d, paragraphs 0099-0103, 0106; See also the disclosure of Beissel in figures 1a-1d, 3, 7A, 11, paragraphs 0012-0013, 0022, 0077, 0091, 0115, 0123).
Regarding claim 19, Nguyen in view of Beissel discloses the medical device of claim 18, wherein the guide member includes a second protrusion extending radially inward, relative to the central longitudinal axis of the rotational member, within the chamber (guide member such as channel 15i2, detent 15i6, molded stop, of the inner surface of the housing 12b or springs 81, 82 includes a second protrusion of ball in detent/post 510/molded stop extending radially inward, relative to the central longitudinal axis of the rotational member/lock component, within the channel/gap – see similar discussion in the rejection of claim 5 and include, but are not limited to, Nguyen: figures 8D-9C; See also the disclosure of Beissel in figures 1a-1d, 3-4, 7A, 11, paragraphs 0012-0015, 0022, 0077, 0091, 0115, 0123);
wherein the second protrusion is configured to limit rotation of the first protrusion within the chamber (see similar discussion in the rejection of claim 7; Beissel: paragraphs 0077-0078, 0083, 0099).
Regarding claim 20, limitations of a medical device that correspond to the limitations of claim 1 are analyzed as discussed in the rejection of claim 1. Particularly, Nguyen in view of Beissel discloses a medical device comprising:
a shaft (shaft 12 – Nguyen: figures 8a, 9a; See also the disclosure of Beissel in figures 1a-1d, 3, 7A, 11);
a handle (11 – Nguyen: figures 8a, 9a; Beissel: figures 1a-1d, 3, 11); and
a rotation assembly positioned at a distal portion of the handle (housing 12b, lock components – see similar discussion in the rejection of claim 1 and figures 8b-9c), wherein the rotation assembly comprises:
a guide member fixedly coupled to the handle, and
a rotational member fixedly coupled to a proximal portion of the shaft, wherein the rotational member and the shaft are rotatable relative to the guide member and the handle (see similar discussion in the rejection of claim 1 above);
wherein the guide member includes a chamber and a first protrusion extending radially inward within the chamber (guide member on the inner surface of housing 12b or springs 81, 82, includes a channel/gap and a first protrusion with ball, molded stop/post 510 extending inward within the channel/opening – see figures 8B-9C, paragraphs 0102-0105, 0108-0109; see also the disclosure in Beissel: figures 1d, 3, 11, paragraphs 0012-0013, 0091);
wherein a proximal portion of the rotational member is within the chamber of the guide member, an outer surface of the proximal portion including a second protrusion (post 15i3 or tab 32, 34, or protrusion, tab, pin, ridge is positioned within the channel/groove of the guide member) is configured to rotate within the chamber (extends from rotation member of the lock, and is configured to rotate within the channel/gap – see include, but are not limited to, Nguyen: figures 8b, 8d-9c, paragraphs 0101-0104, 0106, 0108-0110; Beissel: figures 1a-1d, 3, 11, paragraphs 0012-0013, 0022, 0077, 0091);
wherein the first protrusion is configured to limit the rotation of the second protrusion within the chamber (see similar discussion in the rejection of claim 7, and Nguyen: figures 8f-8g, 9c, paragraphs 0103, 0106, 0108; Beissel: figures 1a-1d, 3, paragraphs 0077-0078, 0099).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Nardeo et al. (US 20090143739) discloses tearaway sheath assembly with split hemostasis valve (this reference is incorporated by reference in Beissel).
Pacheco et al. (US 20150090057) discloses components and methos for a catheter positioning system with removable catheter actuator collars with protrusion inserted into a chamber/channel (see also figure 7C).
Golden et al. (US 20230042893) discloses braking mechanisms for steerable medical devices and related methods.
Mariller (US 12420061) discloses medical instrument with injection needles (see figures 11-12).
Harada (US20200345210) discloses endoscope with protrusion inserted into a chamber/channel (see figures 12, 18, 25-28).
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/AN SON P HUYNH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3795
September 17, 2026