DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant's claim for foreign priority based on an application filed in Korea on 05/20/2024. It is noted, however, that applicant has not filed a certified copy of the KR10-2024-0065250 application as required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 5, 8 and 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wu et al. (2020/0175248) in view of Park et al. (2018/0267666).
Regarding claim 1, Wu teaches an electronic device comprising: a display (para [0014] a display panel); a fingerprint sensor under the display (para [0014] That is, the sensor device 10 is disposed under a display panel within an electronic device (e.g., a phone or a tablet computer). The sensor device 10 comprises a fingerprint sensing module 12); and one or more processors (para [0014] The exposure time adjusting module 14 may be realized by an Application-Specific Integrated Circuit (ASIC) or digital signal processor (DSP).) comprising electronic circuitry, wherein the one or more processors are individually or collectively operable to: obtain a first image using the fingerprint sensor before the display emits light at a predetermined intensity for sensing the fingerprint (para [0017] To elaborate more, light emitting elements of the display panel, which may be organic light emitting diodes (OLEDs)), emit light at a certain rate, a.k.a. a frame rate. However, the exposure time of the fingerprint sensing module may not be synchronous or match with the frame rate of the light emitting elements of the display panel. Para [0026] At the beginning, in step 202, the fingerprint sensing module 12 may sense a raw image IMGR_1 using an initial exposure time TP_1. The initial exposure time TP_1 may be set according to the frame rate of light emitting elements of the display panel.), analyze at least one pattern corresponding to a flicker noise included in the first image to obtain an analysis result (Fig 2; para [0028] In step 206, the exposure time adjusting module 14 performs flicker noise detection on the image IMG_1.), based on the analysis result, adjust at least one exposure time of the fingerprint sensor for sensing the light reflected by the fingerprint of the user (208; Fig 2; para [0029] When the exposure time adjusting module 14 determines that the image IMG_1 does have flicker noise, the process proceeds to Step 208, in which the exposure time adjusting module 14 generates an adjusted exposure time TP_2.), and based on the adjusted at least one exposure time, obtain a second image using the fingerprint sensor by sensing the light reflected by the fingerprint of the user (para [0030] Then, the fingerprint sensing module 12 would sense a raw image IMGR_2 using an adjusted exposure time TP_2 (Step 202), the exposure time adjusting module 14 would remove the FPN from the raw image IMGR_2 (Step 204) to obtain an FPN-free image IMG_2).
Wu fails to teach, one or more memories configured to store processor-executable instructions; execute the instructions stored on the one or more memories to cause the electronic device to: detect an occurrence of an event for sensing a fingerprint of a user, based on detecting the occurrence, obtain a first image using the fingerprint sensor; as claimed.
Park teaches an electronic device comprising: a display (310; Fig 3); a fingerprint sensor under the display (para [0055] Referring to FIG. 3, an ultrasonic fingerprint sensor 320 according to an embodiment may be disposed on a rear surface of a display 310.); one or more memories configured to store processor-executable instructions (560; Fig 5; para [0083]); and one or more processors comprising electronic circuitry (570; Fig 5; para [0090]), wherein the one or more processors are individually or collectively operable to execute the instructions stored on the one or more memories to cause the electronic device to: detect an occurrence of an event for sensing a fingerprint of a user (para [0042] Accordingly, a fingerprint authentication process may start, for example, when the user touches his/her finger to the guide 115.), based on detecting the occurrence, obtain a first image using the fingerprint sensor (Abstract: The at least one processor controls an operation of the touch sensor or lowers a frequency of an operating signal of the touch sensor in response to a specified event, activates the fingerprint sensor, and captures a fingerprint image from the fingerprint sensor. Para [0088] According to another embodiment, the specified event may include detection of the user’s touch by the touch sensor 520. When the user touches the display and the touch sensor 520 included in the display detects the touch, the processor 570 may recognize the touch as the specified event. For example, a touch on a region that corresponds to the fingerprint detection area (e.g., 115 of FIG. 1) of the fingerprint sensor 530, which is a part of the entire touch detection area of the touch sensor 520 (that is, the entire display area) may be recognized as the specified event by the processor 570.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of present application to have modified the device of Wu with the teachings of Park, because this will provide device to capture fingerprint while also providing power saving by lowering the frequency of operating signal.
Regarding claim 5, Wu teaches the electronic device wherein the one or more processors are individually or collectively operable to execute the instructions to further cause the electronic device to: based on the adjusted at least one exposure time, obtain one or more fingerprint images using the fingerprint sensor by sensing the light, reflected by the fingerprint of the user (Fig 2; para [0031] Steps 202, 204, and 206 may be iteratively executed by the sensor device 10, until the n.sup.th iteration, at which the time adjusting module 14 detects no flicker noise in an image IMG_n, where the image IMG_n is an FPN reduction result of a raw image IMGR_n, the raw image IMGR_n is sensed by the fingerprint sensing module 12 using an adjusted exposure time TP_n, and the adjusted exposure time TP_n may be TP_n=TP_1+(n−1)*d. In other words, after executing n iterations of Steps 202, 204, and 206, flicker noise within the FPN-free image IMG_n become unnoticeable, i.e., the exposure time adjusting module 14 determines that the image IMG_n contains no flicker noise. The adjusted exposure time TP_n would (substantially) match with the actual frame rate. The fingerprint sensing module 12 may keep sensing images, especially the images containing fingerprint image, using the resulting exposure time TP_n.).
Wu fails to teach, wherein the occurrence of the event is detected while displaying a screen for registering the fingerprint using the display; as claimed.
Park teaches the electronic device, wherein the occurrence of the event is detected while displaying a screen for registering the fingerprint using the display (para [0087] According to an embodiment, the specified event may include displaying of a specified UI on the display panel 510. The specified UI may be an interface for requesting biometric authentication (e.g., fingerprint authentication) from the user and may be, for example, a “lock screen” or a “fingerprint input interface).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of present application to have modified the device of Wu with the teachings of Park, because this will provide device to capture fingerprint while also providing power saving by lowering the frequency of operating signal.
Regarding claim 8, Wu teaches a method of controlling a fingerprint sensor in an electronic device, the method comprising: obtaining a first image using the fingerprint sensor before a display of the electronic device emits light at a predetermined intensity for sensing a fingerprint (para [0017] To elaborate more, light emitting elements of the display panel, which may be organic light emitting diodes (OLEDs)), emit light at a certain rate, a.k.a. a frame rate. However, the exposure time of the fingerprint sensing module may not be synchronous or match with the frame rate of the light emitting elements of the display panel. Para [0026] At the beginning, in step 202, the fingerprint sensing module 12 may sense a raw image IMGR_1 using an initial exposure time TP_1. The initial exposure time TP_1 may be set according to the frame rate of light emitting elements of the display panel.); analyzing at least one pattern corresponding to a flicker noise included in the first image to obtain an analysis result (Fig 2; para [0028] In step 206, the exposure time adjusting module 14 performs flicker noise detection on the image IMG_1.); based on the analysis result, adjusting at least one exposure time of the fingerprint sensor for sensing the light reflected by the fingerprint of the user (208; Fig 2; para [0029] When the exposure time adjusting module 14 determines that the image IMG_1 does have flicker noise, the process proceeds to Step 208, in which the exposure time adjusting module 14 generates an adjusted exposure time TP_2.); and based on the adjusted at least one exposure time, obtaining a second image using the fingerprint sensor by sensing the light reflected by the fingerprint of the user (para [0030] Then, the fingerprint sensing module 12 would sense a raw image IMGR_2 using an adjusted exposure time TP_2 (Step 202), the exposure time adjusting module 14 would remove the FPN from the raw image IMGR_2 (Step 204) to obtain an FPN-free image IMG_2).
Wu fails to teach, detecting an occurrence of an event for sensing a fingerprint of a user; based on the detecting of the occurrence of the event, obtaining a first image using the fingerprint sensor; as claimed.
Park teaches a method of controlling a fingerprint sensor in an electronic device, the method comprising: detecting an occurrence of an event for sensing a fingerprint of a user (para [0042] Accordingly, a fingerprint authentication process may start, for example, when the user touches his/her finger to the guide 115.); based on the detecting of the occurrence of the event, obtaining a first image using the fingerprint sensor (Abstract: The at least one processor controls an operation of the touch sensor or lowers a frequency of an operating signal of the touch sensor in response to a specified event, activates the fingerprint sensor, and captures a fingerprint image from the fingerprint sensor. Para [0088] According to another embodiment, the specified event may include detection of the user’s touch by the touch sensor 520. When the user touches the display and the touch sensor 520 included in the display detects the touch, the processor 570 may recognize the touch as the specified event. For example, a touch on a region that corresponds to the fingerprint detection area (e.g., 115 of FIG. 1) of the fingerprint sensor 530, which is a part of the entire touch detection area of the touch sensor 520 (that is, the entire display area) may be recognized as the specified event by the processor 570.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of present application to have modified the method of Wu with the teachings of Park, because this will provide method to capture fingerprint while also providing power saving by lowering the frequency of operating signal.
Regarding claim 12, Wu teaches the method, wherein the method further comprises: based on the adjusted at least one exposure time, obtain one or more fingerprint images using the fingerprint sensor by sensing the light, reflected by the fingerprint of the user (Fig 2; para [0031] Steps 202, 204, and 206 may be iteratively executed by the sensor device 10, until the n.sup.th iteration, at which the time adjusting module 14 detects no flicker noise in an image IMG_n, where the image IMG_n is an FPN reduction result of a raw image IMGR_n, the raw image IMGR_n is sensed by the fingerprint sensing module 12 using an adjusted exposure time TP_n, and the adjusted exposure time TP_n may be TP_n=TP_1+(n−1)*d. In other words, after executing n iterations of Steps 202, 204, and 206, flicker noise within the FPN-free image IMG_n become unnoticeable, i.e., the exposure time adjusting module 14 determines that the image IMG_n contains no flicker noise. The adjusted exposure time TP_n would (substantially) match with the actual frame rate. The fingerprint sensing module 12 may keep sensing images, especially the images containing fingerprint image, using the resulting exposure time TP_n.).
Wu fails to teach, wherein the occurrence of the event is detected while displaying a screen for registering the fingerprint using the display; as claimed.
Park teaches the method, wherein the occurrence of the event is detected while displaying a screen for registering the fingerprint using the display (para [0087] According to an embodiment, the specified event may include displaying of a specified UI on the display panel 510. The specified UI may be an interface for requesting biometric authentication (e.g., fingerprint authentication) from the user and may be, for example, a “lock screen” or a “fingerprint input interface).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of present application to have modified the method of Wu with the teachings of Park, because this will provide method to capture fingerprint while also providing power saving by lowering the frequency of operating signal.
Claim(s) 2 and 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wu et al. (2020/0175248) in view of Park et al. (2018/0267666) as applied to claim 1 and 8 above, and further in view of Cheng et al. (2021/0056333).
Regarding claim 2, Wu teaches the electronic device of claim 1, wherein the one or more processors are individually or collectively operable to execute the instructions to further cause the electronic device to: obtain the first image based on a plurality of pixel values that are obtained sequentially in units of rows of pixels included in the fingerprint sensor (para [0039] Furthermore, in determining whether the image IMG comprises a light strip or not, the time adjusting module 14 may make the determination according to a total number of a plurality of “light pixel rows” sequentially/consecutively arranged along the column direction.).
Wu and Park fails to teach, based on detecting the occurrence of the event, and before the display emits the light: provide, to the display, a first signal for emitting the light, and provide, to the fingerprint sensor, a second signal for obtaining the first image; as claimed.
Cheng teaches electronic an electronic device comprising: a display (304; Fig 3); a fingerprint sensor (para [0031] in-cell touch and fingerprint sensors); wherein based on detecting the occurrence of the event, and before the display emits the light: provide, to the display, a first signal for emitting the light (402; Fig 4; para [0035] The touch sensing circuit 314 sends information of finger position to the display driver circuit 312 and the fingerprint sensing circuit 316.), and provide, to the fingerprint sensor, a second signal for obtaining the first image (408; Fig 4; para [0037] The fingerprint sensing circuit 316 is woken up and selects zone(s) to perform fingerprint sensing.), and obtain the first image based from the fingerprint sensor (para [0037]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of present application to have modified the device of Wu and Park with the teachings of Cheng, because this will provide device wherein under the off-screen mode, low power wakeup gesture detection may be performed, in order to save power consumption (Cheng: para [0043]).
Regarding claim 9, Wu teaches the method of claim 8, wherein the obtaining of the first image using the fingerprint sensor comprises: obtaining the first image based on a plurality of pixel values that are obtained sequentially in units of rows of pixels included in the fingerprint sensor (para [0039] Furthermore, in determining whether the image IMG comprises a light strip or not, the time adjusting module 14 may make the determination according to a total number of a plurality of “light pixel rows” sequentially/consecutively arranged along the column direction.).
Wu and Park fails to teach, based on detecting the occurrence of the event, and before the display emits the light at the predetermined intensity: providing, to the display, a first signal for emitting the light, and providing, to the fingerprint sensor, a second signal for obtaining the first image; as claimed.
Cheng teaches a method; wherein based on detecting the occurrence of the event, and before the display emits the light at the predetermined intensity, providing, to the display, a first signal for emitting the light (402; Fig 4; para [0035] The touch sensing circuit 314 sends information of finger position to the display driver circuit 312 and the fingerprint sensing circuit 316.), and providing, to the fingerprint sensor, a second signal for obtaining the first image (408; Fig 4; para [0037] The fingerprint sensing circuit 316 is woken up and selects zone(s) to perform fingerprint sensing.), and obtain the first image based from the fingerprint sensor (para [0037]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of present application to have modified the method of Wu and Park with the teachings of Cheng, because this will provide method wherein under the off-screen mode, low power wakeup gesture detection may be performed, in order to save power consumption (Cheng: para [0043]).
Claim(s) 3 and 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wu et al. (2020/0175248) in view of Park et al. (2018/0267666) as applied to claim 1 and 8, and further in view of Cheng et al. (2021/0056333) as applied to claim 2 and 9, and further in view of Nie et al. (2024/0078834).
Regarding claim 3, Wu and Park teaches the electronic device as explained for claim 2 above. Wu further teaches the electronic device, wherein signal comprises a command for obtaining, by the fingerprint sensor, first pixel values corresponding to the first image (202; fig 2; para [0026]), a command for obtaining, by the fingerprint sensor, second pixel values corresponding to the second image after emitting the light (para [0030] Then, the fingerprint sensing module 12 would sense a raw image IMGR_2 using an adjusted exposure time TP_2 (Step 202), the exposure time adjusting module 14 would remove the FPN from the raw image IMGR_2 (Step 204) to obtain an FPN-free image IMG_).
Wu and Park, fails to teach, wherein the first signal comprises: a command for activating the fingerprint sensor, and the at least one exposure time stored in the one or more memories; as claimed.
Cheng teaches the electronic device wherein the first signal comprises: a command for activating the fingerprint sensor (para [0044] the touch event may be determined to be a valid finger touch, and thus the display driver circuit 312 and the fingerprint sensing circuit 316 may be woken up from the sleep mode to perform the follow-up steps.), a command for obtaining, by the fingerprint sensor, first pixel values corresponding to the first image (para [0047] hence, the fingerprint sensing circuit 316 may perform fingerprint sensing on the zone (s) and receive the fingerprint image signals from the zone (s) correspondingly.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of present application to have modified the device of Wu and Park with the teachings of Cheng, because this will provide device wherein under the off-screen mode, low power wakeup gesture detection may be performed, in order to save power consumption (Cheng: para [0043]).
Wu, Parka and Cheng fails to teach, and the at least one exposure time stored in the one or more memories; as claimed.
Nie teaches an electronic device wherein signal comprises: a command for obtaining, by the fingerprint sensor, first pixel values corresponding to the first image (para [0029] control a fingerprint sensor to capture at least one frame of image based on each candidate exposure time among N candidate exposure times respectively, the N candidate exposure times comprising a first exposure time greater than a preset exposure time, a second exposure time shorter than the preset exposure time, and the preset exposure time, where a difference between the first exposure time; para [0077] S410: controlling the fingerprint sensor to capture at least one frame of image based on each candidate exposure time among N candidate exposure times respectively, the N candidate exposure times including a first exposure time greater than a preset exposure time,), a command for obtaining, by the fingerprint sensor, second pixel values corresponding to the second image after emitting the light (para [0077] a second exposure time shorter than the preset exposure time, and the preset exposure time, where a difference between the first exposure time and the preset exposure time and a difference between the preset exposure time and the second exposure time are each a positive integer multiple of a preset step size, and N is a positive integer greater than or equal to 3.), and the at least one exposure time stored in the one or more memories (para [0116] writing the target exposure time A-B into a memory of an electronic device.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of present application to have modified the device of Wu, Park and Cheng with the teachings of Nie, because this will provide device which can reduce influence of screen drive and screen refresh on fingerprint detection, thereby improving fingerprint detection performance (Nie: para [0075]).
Regarding claim 10, which is a method claim and is similar in scope to claim 3, therefore claim 10 is rejected same as claim 3, as explained above.
Claim(s) 6 and 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wu et al. (2020/0175248) in view of Park et al. (2018/0267666) as applied to claim 1 and 8 above, and further in view of Choi et al. (2019/0354226).
Regarding claim 6, Wu and Park teaches the electronic device as explained for claim 1 above.
Wu and Park fails to teach, wherein the first image is obtained based on displaying a fingerprint icon using the display; as claimed.
Choi teaches an electronic device, wherein the first image is obtained based on displaying a fingerprint icon using the display (Fig 4; para [0048] The display 430 may display a guide 431 such that at least a portion of the guide 431 (or graphical indicator) overlaps a fingerprint sensing area 432. When the display 430 displays the guide 431, a user may touch the guide 431 with a finger and the electronic device 400 may obtain fingerprint information through the fingerprint sensing area 432 using, for example, a fingerprint sensor.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of present application to have modified the device of Wu and Park with the teachings of Choi, because this will provide device which will allow the user can accurately place the finger on the sensor, thus improving capturing of fingerprint and improve user experience.
Regarding claim 13, which is a method claim and is similar in scope to claim 6, therefore claim 13 is rejected same as claim 6, as explained above.
Claim(s) 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim (2022/0147730) in view of Chen (2020/0193129).
Regarding claim 14, Kim teaches an electronic device comprising: a display (para [0031] a display panel 100; Fig 1A); a fingerprint sensor under the display and configured to obtain an image by sensing light (para [0034] In an embodiment, as illustrated in FIG. 1A, at least part of the display area AA may be set as the fingerprint sensing area FSA. Para [0037] In an embodiment, the display device 1000 may further include a plurality of sensor pixels SPXL in the fingerprint sensing area FSA. Each of the sensor pixels SPXL may include, for example, a photo sensor PS for detecting light. In an embodiment, when light emitted from the light source (or pixel PXL) in the display device 1000 is reflected by a target object (e.g., a finger), one or more of the sensor pixels SPXL may detect the reflected light and output a corresponding electric signal (e.g., a voltage signal).); one or more memories storing processor-executable instructions (226; Fig 6; para [0172]); and one or more processors comprising electronic circuitry (223; Fig 6), wherein the one or more processors are individually or collectively operable to execute the instructions to cause the electronic device to: display a first screen using the display (S210; Fig 13); during at least some of a time in which the first screen is displayed, obtain a first image using the fingerprint sensor according to a first exposure time (S220; Fig 13; para [0150] FIGS. 13 and 14 are flowcharts illustrating embodiments of a process of setting the first exposure time. In FIG. 14, the first curve CURVE1 described with reference to FIG. 9 is included to describe the process of setting the first exposure time using one test pattern (or test object). Para [0152]); based on the first image, determine a second exposure time for the fingerprint sensor (S240; Fig 13; para [0154] At S240, when the first sensing sensitivity of the sensor pixel SPXL is less than the first reference value VALUE_REF1 or greater than the second reference value VALUE_REF2 (e.g., when the first sensing sensitivity of the sensor pixel(s) SPXL is out of the first reference range), the method may include changing the exposure time of the sensor pixel SPXL.); detect a contact by a finger of a user (para [0034] When fingerprint detection is performed, a fingerprint detection operation may be performed only in a portion at which a user touch is actually received. Para [0155]); based on the contact being detected, display a second screen using the display (para [0155] Then, operations S220 and S230 may be repeated ; S310; Fig 16; para [0163 ]); during at least some of a time in which the second screen is displayed, obtain a second image corresponding to the finger through the fingerprint sensor according to the second exposure time (S320; Fig 16); based on the second image, obtain fingerprint information corresponding to the finger (para [0046] The fingerprint detector 220 may transmit the driving signal (e.g., the driving voltage) for driving the sensor pixels SPXL to the sensor pixels SPXL, and may detect a user fingerprint based on electric signals from the sensor pixels SPXL. For example, the fingerprint detector 220 may perform fingerprint authentication based on the sensing signal SS supplied from one or more of the sensor pixels SPXL (for example, the optical sensor PS).); and based on the fingerprint information, perform at least one of fingerprint authentication (para [0046] For example, the fingerprint detector 220 may perform fingerprint authentication based on the sensing signal SS supplied from one or more of the sensor pixels SPXL (for example, the optical sensor PS).)
Kim fails to teach, perform at least one of fingerprint registration corresponding to the user; as claimed.
Chen teaches an electronic device comprising: a fingerprint sensor (14; Fig 1; para [0017]); and based on fingerprint information, perform at least one of fingerprint authentication (22; Fig 3; para [0024] Once the processing circuit 12 enters into the matching stage, the image sensor 14 uses the second/short exposure time TE2 to capture a second fingerprint image FPM_2, where an effective area EA_2 of the second fingerprint image FPM_2 should be smaller than an effective area EA_1 of the first fingerprint image FPM_1 since the second exposure time TE2 is shorter than the first exposure time TE1. The processing circuit 12 reads out the template fingerprint image FPM_0 from the memory circuit 16, compares the second fingerprint image FPM_2 with the template fingerprint image FPM_0, and determines whether the second fingerprint image FPM_2 matches the template fingerprint image FPM_0. If yes/positive, the processing circuit 12 would perform an authentication operation, so as to, e.g., unlock a screen of the electronic device or to authenticate an electronic payment.) and fingerprint registration (20; Fig 3; para [0023] during the enrollment stage, the image sensor 14 uses the first/long exposure time TE1 to capture a first fingerprint image FPM_1. The processing circuit 12 establishes a template fingerprint image FPM_0 according to the first fingerprint image FPM_1, and stores the template fingerprint image FPM_0 into the memory circuit 16. The exposure times TE1 and TE2 can be set manually or automatically according to design requirements.) corresponding to the user (para [0015]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of present application to have modified the device of Kim with the teachings of Chen, because this will provide device which is capable of achieving a good balance between an enrollment operation and a matching operation; thus improving user experience (Chen: para [0002], [0016] ).
Claim(s) 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim (2022/0147730) in view of Chen (2020/0193129) as applied to claim 14 above, and further in view of Hall (2021/0117721).
Regarding claim 16, Kim and Chen teaches the electronic device as explained for claim 14 above.
Kim and Chen fails to teach, further comprising sensor configured to detect external environment information corresponding to the electronic device, wherein the one or more processors are individually or collectively operable to execute the instructions to cause the electronic device to: detect the external environment information using the sensor; and based on determining that the external environment information satisfies a predetermined condition, perform an operation for obtaining the first image; as claimed.
Hall teaches an electronic device, comprising: sensor configured to detect external environment information corresponding to the electronic device (180; Fig 1; para [0039] A sensor 180 may comprise, without limitation: a temperature sensor, a humidity sensor, an atmospheric pressure sensor, an infrared sensor,), wherein the one or more processors are individually or collectively operable to execute the instructions to cause the electronic device to: detect the external environment information using the sensor (para [0042] A transfer function is for simulating fingerprint image acquisition during a predefined environmental condition, also referred to herein as a “particular” environmental condition. More generally, a transfer function is for converting a fingerprint image captured under a first environmental condition to simulate a fingerprint image captured under a second environmental condition. In some embodiments, the first environmental condition may be standard room temperature conditions, referred to herein as “ambient” conditions, and the fingerprint sensor may be optimized or configured for capturing a fingerprint image under these conditions.); and based on determining that the external environment information satisfies a predetermined condition, perform an operation for obtaining the first image (para [0042] A transfer function is for simulating fingerprint image acquisition during a predefined environmental condition, also referred to herein as a “particular” environmental condition. More generally, a transfer function is for converting a fingerprint image captured under a first environmental condition to simulate a fingerprint image captured under a second environmental condition. In some embodiments, the first environmental condition may be standard room temperature conditions, referred to herein as “ambient” conditions, and the fingerprint sensor may be optimized or configured for capturing a fingerprint image under these conditions.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of present application to have modified the device of Kim and Chen with the teachings of Hall, because this will provide device that improves the performance of fingerprint authentication using initial enrollment images by generating synthetic enrollment images that appear comparable to enrollment images acquired under particular conditions, also referred to herein as “predefined” conditions (Hall: para [0025]).
Claim(s) 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim (2022/0147730) in view of Chen (2020/0193129) as applied to claim 14 above, and further in view of Cheng et al. (2021/0056333).
Regarding claim 19, Kim and Chen teaches the electronic device as explained for claim 14 above.
Kim and Chen fails to teach, wherein the second screen comprises a fingerprint sensing area on the fingerprint sensor, and wherein the one or more processors are individually or collectively operable to execute the instructions to further cause the electronic device to display the second screen such that a brightness of the fingerprint sensing area is higher than a brightness of a corresponding area of the first screen; as claimed.
Cheng teaches an electronic device wherein the second screen comprises a fingerprint sensing area on the fingerprint sensor (para [0029] the fingerprint sensing circuit 316 to perform fingerprint sensing on the position or zone.), and wherein the one or more processors are individually or collectively operable to execute the instructions to further cause the electronic device to display the second screen such that a brightness of the fingerprint sensing area is higher than a brightness of a corresponding area of the first screen (para [0029] In an embodiment, the touch sensing circuit 314 may determine that a finger touch appears on a specific position or zone of the display panel 304, and thereby notify the display driver circuit 312 to show the exposure icon at the position or zone and notify the fingerprint sensing circuit 316 to perform fingerprint sensing on the position or zone. Upon receiving the notifications from the touch sensing circuit 314, the display driver circuit 312 may control the display panel 304 to show the exposure icon, to indicate the position of the touch finger.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of present application to have modified the device of Kim and Chen with the teachings of Cheng, because this will provide device wherein under the off-screen mode, low power wakeup gesture detection may be performed, in order to save power consumption (Cheng: para [0043]).
Claim(s) 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim (2022/0147730) in view of Chen (2020/0193129) as applied to claim 14 above, and further in view of Choi et al. (2019/0354226).
Regarding claim 20, Kim and Chen teaches the electronic device as explained for claim 14 above.
Kim and Chen fails to teach, wherein the one or more processors are individually or collectively operable to execute the instructions to further cause the electronic device to display a first guide image in the corresponding area and a second guide image in the fingerprint sensing area, and wherein the first guide image differs from the second guide image by at least one attribute; as claimed.
Chio teaches an electronic device, wherein the one or more processors are individually or collectively operable to execute the instructions to further cause the electronic device to display a first guide image (1012; Fig 10) in the corresponding area and a second guide image (1013; Fig 10) in the fingerprint sensing area, and wherein the first guide image differs from the second guide image by at least one attribute (para [0103] The electronic device 1000 may display, for example, a fingerprint-like guide 1012 on the display 1010 to induce a user to input a fingerprint. As another example, the electronic device 1000 may display a box-shaped guide 1013. While the electronic device 1000 is in the sleep state or while the display 1010 is driven in the low power mode, a processor included in the electronic device 1000 may be in the sleep state, or a touch IC included in the electronic device 1000 may be in the awake state).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of present application to have modified the device of Kim and Chen with the teachings of Choi, because this will provide device which will allow the user can accurately place the finger on the sensor, thus improving capturing of fingerprint and improve user experience.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4, 7, 11, 15, 17 and 18 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: Regarding claim 4, prior art of record fails to teach the following claim limitations of “…and wherein the one or more processors are individually or collectively operable to execute the instructions to further cause the electronic device to: obtain an average pixel value corresponding to each row from among the rows, determine an interval at which the plurality of first portions and the plurality of second portions appear in the first image, determine a number of the rows corresponding to the interval, and wherein the at least one exposure time is adjusted based on the determined number to obtain the adjusted at least one exposure time.”; in combination with all other claim limitations. Regarding claim 7, prior art of record fails to teach the following claim limitations of “…wherein the one or more processors are individually or collectively operable to execute the instructions to further cause the electronic device to: determine a number of a plurality of activated pixels, which are in on state, from among a plurality of first pixels in a region corresponding to a location of the fingerprint sensor; and obtain the first image based on determining that a ratio of the number of the plurality of activated pixels to the number of the plurality of first pixels is equal to or greater than a predetermined ratio.”; in combination with all other claim limitations. Regarding claim 11, prior art of record fails to teach the following claim limitations of “…wherein the analyzing of the at least one pattern comprises: obtaining an average pixel value corresponding to each row from among the rows; determining an interval at which the plurality of first portions and the plurality of second portions appear in the first image; and determining a number of rows corresponding to the interval, and wherein the at least one exposure time is adjusted based on the determined number to obtain the adjusted at least one exposure time.”; in combination with all other claim limitations. Regarding claim 15, prior art of record fails to teach the following claim limitations of “wherein the first exposure time is set based on refresh rate information associated with the display, and wherein the one or more processors are individually or collectively operable to execute the instructions to further cause the electronic device to: determine adjusted refresh rate information associated with the display based on the first image; and determine the second exposure time based on the adjusted refresh rate information.”; in combination with all other claim limitations. Regarding claim 17, prior art of record fails to teach the following claim limitations of “wherein the one or more processors are individually or collectively operable to execute the instructions to further cause the electronic device to: based on the determining that the external environment information satisfies the predetermined condition, display, using the display, an indicator indicating that the operation for obtaining the first image is to be performed.”; in combination with all other claim limitations. Regarding claim 18, prior art of record fails to teach the following claim limitations of “wherein the one or more processors are individually or collectively operable to execute the instructions to further cause the electronic device to: based on the determining that the external environment information satisfies the predetermined condition, display, using the display, a user interface for receiving a user input for executing the operation for obtaining the first image.”; in combination with all other claim limitations.
Conclusion
/PREMAL R PATEL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2624