DETAILED ACTION
Application Status
This office action is responsive to the Application No.:19/089,820 filed on March 25, 2025.
Claims 1-15 are pending and presented for examination.
This action has been made NON-FINAL.
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant's claim for foreign priority based on an application filed in KOREA, REPUBLIC OF 10-2022-0124627 FILED ON 09/29/2022 AND KOREA, REPUBLIC OF 10-2022-0161872 FILED ON 11/28/2022. It is noted, however, that applicant has not filed a certified copy, as required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 4-11, 14 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu, 20100265266 in view of Lin, US 20210356815.
Claim 1:
Liu discloses a display device (See Liu Figure 2, Item 270; Paragraph 0040), but failed to disclose a standard spectrum. Lin discloses this feature in paragraphs 0036; 00461. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have further modified Liu by the teachings of Lin to incorporate a target spectrum, thereby improving a color gamut, more effectively (See Lin Abstract & Paragraph 0036). In addition, both of the references teach features that are directed to analogous art and they are directed to the same field of endeavor, such as improving colors. This close relation between both references highly suggests an expectation of success.
As modified:
The combination of Liu and Lin discloses the following:
a communication interface (See Liu Figure 2, Item 270; Paragraph 0040);
a display (See Liu Figure 2, Item 270; Paragraph 0040); and
at least one processor (See Liu Figure 2, Item 284; Paragraph 0040) connected to the communication interface (See Liu Figure 2, Item 270; Paragraph 0040) and the display (See Liu Figure 2, Item 270; Paragraph 0040), and configured to control the display device (See Liu Figure 2, Items 270-284; Paragraphs 0040; 0068-0069),
wherein the at least one processor (See Liu Figure 2, Item 284; Paragraph 0040) is configured to:
based on a first color matching function (CMF) (See Liu Paragraphs 0005-0007; 0061) corresponding to the display device (See Liu Figure 2, Items 270-284; Paragraphs 0040; 0068-0069), a second CMF (See Liu Paragraphs 0005-0007; 0061), and a target spectrum (See Lin Paragraphs 0036; 00462) corresponding to the display device (See Liu Figure 2, Items 270-284; Paragraphs 0040; 0068-0069), obtain a second measurement value (See Liu Paragraphs 0039-00453) from a RGB combination ratio (See Liu Paragraphs 0061-0062) of a standard spectrum (See Lin Paragraphs 0036; 0046) based on a first measurement value (See Liu Paragraphs 0039-00454);
control the display (See Liu Figure 2, Item 270; Paragraph 0040) to display a preset color (See Liu Paragraph 00445);
receive a third measurement value (See Liu Paragraph 00476) from a measuring instrument of the second CMF (See Liu Paragraphs 0005-0007; 0061) for the preset color (See Liu Paragraph 00447) through the communication interface (See Liu Figure 2, Item 270; Paragraph 0040);
and calibrate the display (See Liu Paragraphs 0040; 0041; 0051-0052) based on the second measurement value (See Liu Paragraphs 0039-00458) and the third measurement value (See Liu Paragraph 00479),
and wherein the first measurement value (See Liu Paragraphs 0039-004510) is a value for the preset color (See Liu Paragraph 004411) displayed on a second display device (See Liu Figure 2, Item 270; Paragraph 0040).
Claim 4:
The combination of Liu and Lin discloses wherein the RGB combination ratio (See Liu Paragraphs 0061-0062) of the standard spectrum (See Lin Paragraphs 0036; 004612) is based on the first measurement value (See Liu Paragraphs 0039-004513), a third CMF (See Liu Paragraphs 0005-0007; 0061) corresponding to the second display device (See Liu Figure 2, Item 270; Paragraph 0040), and the standard spectrum (See Lin Paragraphs 0036; 004614).
Claim 5:
The combination of Liu and Lin discloses wherein the at least one processor (See Liu Figure 2, Item 284; Paragraph 0040) is further configured to: receive a fourth measurement value (See Liu Paragraphs 0039-0045) based on the first measurement value (See Liu Paragraphs 0039-004515) from the second display device (See Liu Figure 2, Item 270; Paragraph 0040) or a server through the communication interface (See Liu Figure 2, Item 270; Paragraph 0040); and obtain a RGB combination ratio (See Liu Paragraphs 0061-0062) of the standard spectrum (See Lin Paragraphs 0036; 004616) based on the fourth measurement value (See Liu Paragraphs 0039-0045) and the second CMF (See Liu Paragraphs 0005-0007; 0061).
Claim 6:
The combination of Liu and Lin discloses wherein the fourth measurement value (See Liu Paragraphs 0039-0045) is based on the RGB combination ratio (See Liu Paragraphs 0061-0062) of the standard spectrum (See Lin Paragraphs 0036; 004617) and the second CMF (See Liu Paragraphs 0005-0007; 0061).
Claim 7:
The combination of Liu and Lin discloses wherein the at least one processor (See Liu Figure 2, Item 284; Paragraph 0040) is further configured to: receive a RGB combination ratio (See Liu Paragraphs 0061-0062) of the standard spectrum (See Lin Paragraphs 0036; 004618) from the second display device (See Liu Figure 2, Item 270; Paragraph 0040) or a server through the communication interface (See Liu Figure 2, Item 270; Paragraph 0040).
Claim 8:
The combination of Liu and Lin discloses wherein the at least one processor (See Liu Figure 2, Item 284; Paragraph 0040) is further configured to: obtain a fifth measurement value (See Liu Paragraphs 0039-0045) based on the RGB combination ratio (See Liu Paragraphs 0061-0062) of the standard spectrum (See Lin Paragraphs 0036; 004619) and the first CMF (See Liu Paragraphs 0005-0007; 0061); obtain a RGB combination ratio (See Liu Paragraphs 0061-0062) of the target spectrum (See Lin Paragraphs 0036; 0046) based on the fifth measurement value (See Liu Paragraphs 0039-0045) and the target spectrum (See Lin Paragraphs 0036; 0046); and obtain the second measurement value (See Liu Paragraphs 0039-004520) based on the RGB combination ratio (See Liu Paragraphs 0061-0062) of the target spectrum (See Lin Paragraphs 0036; 0046) and the second CMF (See Liu Paragraphs 0005-0007; 0061).
Claim 9:
The combination of Liu and Lin discloses wherein the measuring instrument of the second CMF (See Liu Paragraphs 0005-0007; 0061) is based on a Commission Internationale de I'Eclairage (CIE) 1931 measurement method (See Liu Paragraphs 0020; 0041; 0047).
Claim 10:
The combination of Liu and Lin discloses wherein the standard spectrum has a color gamut wider than a color gamut of the target spectrum (See Lin Paragraphs 0036; 0046).
Claims 11, 14 and 15:
Claims 11, 14 and 15 are rejected on the same basis as claims 1, 4 and 5.
Claim(s) 2, 3, 12 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu, 20100265266 in view of Lin, US 20210356815 and in further view of Chien, US 20220408066.
Claim 2:
Liu and Lin failed to explicitly disclose terminate the calibration. However, Chien discloses this feature in paragraph 0026. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have further modified Liu and Lin by the teachings of Chien the termination of calibrations, thereby improving a color calibrations, more effectively (See Lin Abstract & Paragraph 0036). In addition, both of the references teach features that are directed to analogous art and they are directed to the same field of endeavor, such as improving color calibrations. This close relation between both references highly suggests an expectation of success.
As modified:
The combination of Liu, Lin and Chien discloses the following:
wherein the at least one processor (See Liu Figure 2, Item 284; Paragraph 0040) is further configured to: based on a difference between the second measurement value (See Liu Paragraphs 0039-004521) and the third measurement value being equal to or greater than a preset value (See Liu Paragraph 004722), perform the calibration (See Liu Paragraphs 0040; 0041; 0051-0052) based on the second measurement value (See Liu Paragraphs 0039-004523) and the third measurement value (See Liu Paragraph 004724);
and based on the difference between the second measurement value (See Liu Paragraphs 0039-004525) and the third measurement value being less than the preset value (See Liu Paragraph 004726), terminate the calibration (See Chien Paragraph 0026).
Claim 3:
The combination of Liu, Lin and Chien discloses wherein the at least one processor is further configured to: repeat the calibration (See Chien Paragraph 0041) based on a plurality of preset colors (See Liu Paragraph 004427).
Claims 12 and 13:
Claims 12 and 13 are rejected on the same basis as claims 2 and 3.
Pertinent Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Schuck, US Patent No.:12/019,239 discloses a method for characterizing a digital color camera includes, for each of three primary colors used in a field sequential color virtual image, determining a conversion model for each color using RGB values and the color-measurement values.
Contact Information
/SHEREE N BROWN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2612 August 6, 2026
1 Lin teachings of an “original spectrum,” in paragraphs 0036; 0046 is the same as the Applicant’s “standard spectrum.”
2 Lin teachings of an “original spectrum,” in paragraphs 0036; 0046 is the same as the Applicant’s “standard spectrum.”
3 Liu paragraph 0045 discloses “second measured data sets 354.”
4 Liu paragraph 0045 discloses “three first measured data sets 351-353.”
5 Liu teachings in paragraph 0044 of “Referring to FIGS. 4 and 2, before establishing the transform model 288, the signal generator 286 transmits three primary-color-image data sets 331-333 to the display 270, such that the display 270 displays three primary-color patterns 341-343 according to the received primary-color-image data sets 331-333” is the same as “preset color.”
6 Paragraph 0047 of Liu discloses “a third measured data set.”
7 Liu teachings in paragraph 0044 of “Referring to FIGS. 4 and 2, before establishing the transform model 288, the signal generator 286 transmits three primary-color-image data sets 331-333 to the display 270, such that the display 270 displays three primary-color patterns 341-343 according to the received primary-color-image data sets 331-333” is the same as “preset color.”
8 Liu paragraph 0045 discloses “second measured data sets 354.”
9 Paragraph 0047 of Liu discloses “a third measured data set.”
10 Liu paragraph 0045 discloses “three first measured data sets 351-353.”
11 Liu teachings in paragraph 0044 of “Referring to FIGS. 4 and 2, before establishing the transform model 288, the signal generator 286 transmits three primary-color-image data sets 331-333 to the display 270, such that the display 270 displays three primary-color patterns 341-343 according to the received primary-color-image data sets 331-333” is the same as “preset color.”
12 Lin teachings of an “original spectrum,” in paragraphs 0036; 0046 is the same as the Applicant’s “standard spectrum.”
13 Liu paragraph 0045 discloses “three first measured data sets 351-353.”
14 Lin teachings of an “original spectrum,” in paragraphs 0036; 0046 is the same as the Applicant’s “standard spectrum.”
15 Liu paragraph 0045 discloses “three first measured data sets 351-353.”
16 Lin teachings of an “original spectrum,” in paragraphs 0036; 0046 is the same as the Applicant’s “standard spectrum.”
17 Lin teachings of an “original spectrum,” in paragraphs 0036; 0046 is the same as the Applicant’s “standard spectrum.”
18 Lin teachings of an “original spectrum,” in paragraphs 0036; 0046 is the same as the Applicant’s “standard spectrum.”
19 Lin teachings of an “original spectrum,” in paragraphs 0036; 0046 is the same as the Applicant’s “standard spectrum.”
20 Liu paragraph 0045 discloses “second measured data sets 354.”
21 Liu paragraph 0045 discloses “second measured data sets 354.”
22 Paragraph 0047 of Liu discloses “a third measured data set.”
23 Liu paragraph 0045 discloses “second measured data sets 354.”
24 Paragraph 0047 of Liu discloses “a third measured data set.”
25 Liu paragraph 0045 discloses “second measured data sets 354.”
26 Paragraph 0047 of Liu discloses “a third measured data set.”
27 Liu teachings in paragraph 0044 of “Referring to FIGS. 4 and 2, before establishing the transform model 288, the signal generator 286 transmits three primary-color-image data sets 331-333 to the display 270, such that the display 270 displays three primary-color patterns 341-343 according to the received primary-color-image data sets 331-333” is the same as “preset color.”