DETAILED ACTION
Double Patenting
Claim(s) 1-20 is/are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim(s) 1-7 of U.S. Patent No. (11,742,815). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the instant application is merely a broader variation of the patented claims and would have been anticipated by the prior patent.
The claim(s) 8-10 & 15-17 which in substance disclose of the same feature to that of claim(s) 1-3 have been analyzed and rejected accordingly.
The claim(s) 11, 18 which in substance disclose of the same feature to that of claim(s) 4 have been analyzed and rejected accordingly.
The claim(s) 12, 19 which in substance disclose of the same feature to that of claim(s) 5 have been analyzed and rejected accordingly.
The claim(s) 13-14 which in substance disclose of the same feature to that of claim(s) 6-7 have been analyzed and rejected accordingly.
The claim(s) 20 which in substance disclose of the same feature to that of claim(s) 7 have been analyzed and rejected accordingly.
Claim(s) 1-20 is/are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim(s) 1-7 of U.S. Patent No. (12,289,085). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the instant application is merely a broader variation of the patented claims and would have been anticipated by the prior patent.
The claim(s) 8-10 & 15-17 which in substance disclose of the same feature to that of claim(s) 1-3 have been analyzed and rejected accordingly.
The claim(s) 11, 18 which in substance disclose of the same feature to that of claim(s) 4 have been analyzed and rejected accordingly.
The claim(s) 12, 19 which in substance disclose of the same feature to that of claim(s) 5 have been analyzed and rejected accordingly.
The claim(s) 13-14 which in substance disclose of the same feature to that of claim(s) 6-7 have been analyzed and rejected accordingly.
The claim(s) 20 which in substance disclose of the same feature to that of claim(s) 7 have been analyzed and rejected accordingly.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 8-10, 15-17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 a (1) as being anticipated by Yuzuriha et al. (US 10,708,702 B2).
Claim 1, Yuzuriha et al. disclose of a method, comprising: determining a gain based on a difference of sound pressure levels (SPLs) at locations of microphones and a SPL at a distance from a speaker (fig.2 (60); col.7 line 50-67 & col.14 line 25-50); and applying the gain to a speaker output (col.7 line 45-55 & col.8 line 5-11).
The method of claim 1, wherein the determining is performed at the microphones simultaneously (col.7 line 5-10).
The method of claim 1, comprising determining a first SPL at a first distance and a second SPL at a second distance, wherein the first SPL and the second SPL are the SPLs at the locations of the microphones (fig.1 (20); col.5 line 45-67; col.6 line 15-30).
The claim(s) 8-10 & 15-17 which in substance disclose of the same feature to that of claim(s) 1-3 have been analyzed and rejected accordingly.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4, 11, 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yuzuriha et al. (US 10,708,702 B2) and Tu et al. (US 10,904,691 B1).
The method of claim 3, but the prior art never specify as comprising determining an attenuation of the speaker based on a difference of the first SPL and the second SPL.
But, the prior art as in Tu et al. disclose of the similar issue concerning such a method as determining an attenuation of the speaker based on a difference of the first SPL and the second SPL (col.2 line 35-52). Thus, one of the ordinary skills in the art could have modified the art by adding such method as determining an attenuation of the speaker based on a difference of the first SPL and the second SPL to adjust the speaker to achieve good sound field toward a target according to various position of speakers.
The claim(s) 11, 18 which in substance disclose of the same feature to that of claim(s) 4 have been analyzed and rejected accordingly.
Claim(s) 5, 12, 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yuzuriha et al. (US 10,708,702 B2) and Coombs (US 6,775,385 B1).
The method of claim 1, but the prior art never specifies as comprising determining a sensitivity of the speaker based on the SPL measured at the distance from the speaker when the speaker is driven by a reference voltage.
But Coombs disclose of the method comprising determining a sensitivity of the speaker based on the SPL measured at the distance from the speaker when the speaker is driven by a reference voltage (col.2 line 40-55). Thus, one of the ordinary skills in the art could have modified the art by adding such method comprising determining a sensitivity of the speaker based on the SPL measured at the distance from the speaker when the speaker is driven by a reference voltage so as to determine the driving efficiency of the noted speaker.
The claim(s) 12, 19 which in substance disclose of the same feature to that of claim(s) 5 have been analyzed and rejected accordingly.
Claim(s) 6-7, 13-14, 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yuzuriha et al. (US 10,708,702 B2) and Davis et al. (US 9,118,999 B2).
The method of claim 1, but the prior art never specifies such method comprising measuring a frequency response signal of a played stimulus signal via the speaker.
Davis discloses of a similar method comprising measuring a frequency response signal of a played stimulus signal via the speaker (col.1 line 40-50). Thus, one of the ordinary skills in the art could have modified the prior art by adding such concept related to measuring a frequency response signal of a played stimulus signal via the speaker so as to adjust the speaker according to the particular characteristic of the room.
The method of claim 6, wherein the played stimulus signal comprises a multitone signal that is detected at the microphones at a target SPL threshold (Davis- col.1 line 40-50).
The claim(s) 13-14 which in substance disclose of the same feature to that of claim(s) 6-7 have been analyzed and rejected accordingly.
The claim(s) 20 which in substance disclose of the same feature to that of claim(s) 7 have been analyzed and rejected accordingly.
Conclusion
/DISLER PAUL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2695