DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “heat exchanger of the fluid conditioning system” must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 17-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Regarding claim 17; the limitation, “a heat exchanger of the fluid conditioning system” appears to lack support in the application as originally filed. The present disclosure does not provide details of what constitutes the “heat exchanger” or how it defers from the first heat exchanger, or the second heat exchanger, or the cascade heat exchanger.
Claims 18-20 are rejected based upon their dependency from claim 17.
Claims 8-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Claim 8, line 3, recites the limitation of “the compressor” which is confusing as it is unclear which of the compressors previously recited in claims 7 is being reference. As such the claim limitation is indefinite.
Claim 9, lines 1-2, recites the limitation “the compressor” which is confusing as it is unclear which of the compressors previously recited in claims 7 and 8 is being reference. As such the claim limitation is indefinite.
Claim 10 is rejected based upon their dependency from claim 8
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-8 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Yamada et al (U.S. PG Pub No.: 2022/0316767 A1), hereinafter referred to as Yamada et al ‘767.
Regarding claim 1, Yamada et al ‘767 disclose an assembly comprising: a heat pump (100) {see Fig. 1: ¶ [0026]}; a cascade module (30), the cascade module being fluidly couplable to the heat pump{as shown in Fig. 1: ¶¶ [0026-0027]}; and wherein the cascade module is fluidly connected to the heat pump during a first mode of operation to increase a capacity of the heat pump {see ¶¶ [0051-0053]} and the cascade module is not fluidly connected to the heat pump during a second mode of operation {see Fig. 1: ¶¶ [0030-0034] and [0052-0053], wherein valves 18 and 19 are shutoff}.
Regarding claim 2, Yamada et al ‘767 disclose the assembly of claim 1, wherein the heat pump includes an indoor unit (50) and an outdoor unit (10){as shown in Fig. 1: ¶¶ [0026], [0028],[0031-0032], [0043-0044], [0048], [0058], [0101], [0103] and [0113]}.
Regarding claim 3, Yamada et al ‘767 disclose the assembly of claim 2, wherein the cascade module is a separate module (30), removably (21, 22) mounted at the outdoor unit {as shown in Fig. 1: ¶¶ [0034], [0042], [0046] and [0106 - 0108]}.
Regarding claim 4, Yamada et al ‘767 disclose the assembly of claim 2, wherein the cascade module is a separate module (30), removably mounted at the indoor unit {as shown in Fig. 1: ¶¶ [0048], [0060], [0081] and [0111-0112]}.
Regarding claim 5, Yamada et al ‘767 disclose the assembly of claim 2, wherein the cascade module (30) is a separate module, positioned remotely from both the indoor unit (50) and the outdoor unit (10) {as shown in Fig. 1: ¶ [0101]}.
Regarding claim 6, Yamada et al ‘767 disclose the assembly of claim 1, wherein the cascade module (30) is integral with the heat pump (100){as shown in Fig. 1: ¶ [0052]}.
Regarding claim 7, Yamada et al ‘767 disclose the assembly of claim 1, wherein the heat pump further comprises a compressor (11), a first heat exchanger (13), at least one expansion device (31), and a second heat exchanger (51) and the cascade module further comprises a second compressor (33) and a cascade heat exchanger (35) {as shown in Fig. 1: ¶¶ [0031], [0037] and [0044]}.
Regarding claim 8, Yamada et al ‘767 disclose the assembly of claim 7, wherein when the cascade module is fluidly connected to the heat pump during the first mode of operation, the assembly includes a first vapor compression loop (VC1) associated with the compressor and a second vapor compression loop (VC2) associated with the second compressor and the first vapor compression loop and the second vapor compression loop are thermally coupled at the cascade heat exchanger {as shown in annotated Fig. 1}.
Regarding claim 11, Yamada et al ‘767 disclose the assembly of claim 7, wherein during the second mode of operation, the assembly includes a single vapor compression loop (VC1) defined by the heat pump {as shown in Fig. 1: ¶¶ [0052-0053], wherein loop (11-12-13-14-15-16-12) constitutes a single vapor compression loop}.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 12 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yamada et al ‘767, in view of Katikala et al (U.S. PG Pub No.: 2022/0333835 A1), hereinafter referred to as Katikala et al ‘835.
Regarding claim 12, Yamada et al ‘767 disclose the assembly of claim 6, EXCEPT for the limitations for further comprising a controller operably coupled to the compressor and the second compressor, and at least one valve, the controller being configured to: identify a mode of operation associated with a demand on the fluid conditioning system; and operate the at least one valve to initiate operation in the identified mode.
Katikala et al ‘835 teach: the concept of a controller (120)operably coupled to the compressor (114) and the second compressor (115), and at least one valve (102), the controller being configured to: identify a mode of operation associated with a demand on the fluid conditioning system; and operate the at least one valve to initiate operation in the identified mode {as shown in Fig. 1: ¶¶ [0004], [0007], [0041], [0046-0047], [0053-0056], [0060-0062], and [0093]}.
Since all claimed elements were known in the art at the time of the invention, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify Yamada et al ‘767 in view of Katikala et al ‘835 to include the use of a controller operably coupled to the compressor and the second compressor, and at least one valve, the controller being configured to: identify a mode of operation associated with a demand on the fluid conditioning system; and operate the at least one valve to initiate operation in the identified mode, in order to facilitate operation of multiple modes {Katikala et al ‘835 – ¶ [0089]}.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify the Yamada et al ‘767 in view of Katikala et al ‘835 to obtain the invention as specified in claim 12.
Regarding claim 13, the combination of Yamada et al ‘767 and Katikala et al ‘835 disclose and teach the assembly of claim 12, Yamada et al ‘767 as modified by Katikala et al ‘835 further teach the limitations comprising at least one sensor operably coupled to the controller, the at least one sensor being configured to monitor at least one parameter or operating condition associated with the heat pump {see ¶ [0084]}.
Claims 14 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by BELLEMO et al (English Translated WO Pub No.: 2024094865 A1), hereinafter referred to as BELLEMO et al ‘865.
Regarding claim 14, BELLEMO et al ‘865 disclose a method (100) of operating a heat pump (1), the method comprising: receive a demand on the heat pump {see Page 3, Summary}; determine a mode of operation in response to the demand by comparing the demand with a heating capacity of the heat pump{see Page 6, ¶5 and Page 13, ¶3}; and wherein if the demand is greater than the heating capacity of the heat pump, fluidly connecting a cascade module to the heat pump {see Page 6, ¶5, Page 13, ¶3, and Page 15, ¶¶ 2-3}.
Regarding claim 15, BELLEMO et al ‘865 the disclose method of claim 14, wherein fluidly connecting the cascade module to the heat pump further comprises operating at least one valve (4) to control a flow of refrigerant to the cascade module {see Page 22, ¶4}.
Allowable Subject Matter
5. Claim 16 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
6. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US-20240125519-A1 to Taras; Michael F.
US-20210140693-A1 to Hung; Der-Kai.
US-20160320105-A1 to OKAZAKI; Takashi.
US-20160146522-A1 to Hung; Der-Kai.
JP-2020201007-A to KUMAKURA EIJI
/EMMANUEL E DUKE/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3763
09/22/2026