DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of invention I, claims 1 and 8-18 in the reply filed on 2/17/2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 2-7 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 2/17/2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 8-11, and 14-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a1 and a2 as being anticipated by Huang (US Pub No. 2017/0194102)
Regarding Claim 1, Huang et al. teaches a solar cell module [Fig. 1, 0023], comprising:
a substrate [11, Fig. 1, 0023];
a first electrode layer [121, Fig. 1, 0025] provided on the substrate [11, Fig. 1, 0023];
a photoelectric conversion layer [122, 123, and 124, Fig. 1, 0025] provided on the first substrate [11, Fig. 1, 0023]
a second electrode layer provided on the substrate; and
an extraction electrode layer provided on the substrate in a region that does not overlap
with the photoelectric conversion layer when the substrate is observed in plan view,
wherein at least a layer including a same material as that of the second electrode layer is
provided between the substrate and the extraction electrode [see annotated figure, 0028, 14 can be made of aluminum, silver, gold, or calcium]
14 in the circles are the second electrode layer. 14 in the dotted square is the extraction electrode and does not overlap the photoelectric conversion layer in the plan view. The rectangle is the layer, which includes 14 and the additional layers in the rectangle portion, where a portion of the layers in the rectangle is located between the extraction electrode and the substrate from a side view (left to right), meeting the limitation of between the substrate and the extraction electrode.
[AltContent: rect][AltContent: rect][AltContent: oval][AltContent: oval]
Regarding Claim 8, Huang et al. is relied upon for the reasons given above, Huang et al. teaches wherein the photoelectric conversion layer comprises a light-absorbing layer, an electron transport layer, and a hole transport layer, and the light-absorbing layer contains a perovskite compound [0025 teaches a perovskite for light absorber, 0026 teaches the etl and htl]
Regarding Claim 9, Huang et al. is relied upon for the reasons given above, Huang et al. teaches further comprising: a plurality of unit cells which are connected in series, wherein
each unit cell comprises the photoelectric conversion layer, the first electrode layer, and the
second electrode layer [0028, See annotated figure].
Regarding Claim 10, Huang et al. is relied upon for the reasons given above, Huang et al. teaches wherein the first electrode layer has optical transparency [0031].
Regarding Claim 11, Huang et al. is relied upon for the reasons given above, Huang et al. teaches wherein the extraction electrode layer is a metal layer [0025].
Regarding Claim 14, Huang et al. is relied upon for the reasons given above, Huang et al. teaches further comprising: a first scribe groove which divides the first electrode layer of the unit cell [see annotated figure]
Examiner used circle to show first scribe, the dashed circle to show the second scribe, and the square shows the third scribe
[AltContent: rect][AltContent: oval][AltContent: oval]
Regarding Claim 15, Huang et al. is relied upon for the reasons given above, Huang et al. teaches further comprising: a second scribe groove which divides the photoelectric conversion layer of the unit cell [see annotated figure].
Regarding Claim 16, Huang et al. is relied upon for the reasons given above, Huang et al. teaches further comprising: a third scribe groove which divides the photoelectric conversion layer and the second electrode layer of the unit cell, wherein the third scribe groove is filled with a conductive martial [see annotated figure, 0028].
Regarding Claim 17, Huang et al. is relied upon for the reasons given above, Huang et al. teaches further comprising: a sealing layer [13, Fig. 1, 0027], wherein the sealing layer covers side surfaces of the extraction electrode layer along a thickness direction [Fig. 1, 0027].
Regarding Claim 18, Huang et al. is relied upon for the reasons given above, Huang et al. teaches wherein the sealing layer covers a surface of the extraction electrode layer [Fig. 1, 0027].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Huang (US Pub No. 2017/0194102)
Regarding Claim 13, Huang et al. is relied upon for the reasons given above, the limitation of “wherein on the substrate, the first electrode layer, the second electrode layer, and the extraction electrode layer are laminated in this order.” is considered a product by process claim. The cited prior art teaches all of the positively recited structure of the claimed apparatus or product. The determination of patentability is based upon the apparatus structure itself. The patentability of a product or apparatus does not depend on its method of production or formation. If the product in the product-by-process claim is the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior product was made by a different process. See In re Thorpe, 777 F.2d 695, 698, 227 USPQ 964, 966 (Fed. Cir. 1985) (see MPEP § 2113).
Claim(s) 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Huang (US Pub No. 2017/0194102) in view of Oguz (US Pub No. 2021/0408224)
Regarding Claim 12, Huang et al. is relied upon for the reasons given above, Huang et al. is silent on wherein the extraction electrode layer comprises a first extraction electrode layer and a second extraction electrode layer, the first extraction electrode layer is electrically connected to the first electrode layer, and the second extraction electrode layer is electrically connected to the second electrode layer.
Oguz et al. teaches the use of an electrode which is a bilayer [0060].
Since Huang et al. teaches the use of an extraction electrode, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing of the invention to modify the extraction electrode of Huang et al. with electrode bilayer of Oguz et al. as it is merely the selection of a conventional electrode engineering design and one of ordinary skill would have a reasonable expectation of success in doing so.
The combination of familiar elements is likely to be obvious when it does no more than yield predictable results. See KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 415-421, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1395 – 97 (2007) (see MPEP § 2143, A.).
Conclusion
/MICHAEL Y SUN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1728