DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Drawings
Figure 3 should be designated by a legend such as --Prior Art-- because only that which is old is illustrated. See MPEP § 608.02(g). Corrected drawings in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. The replacement sheet(s) should be labeled “Replacement Sheet” in the page header (as per 37 CFR 1.84(c)) so as not to obstruct any portion of the drawing figures. If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
“a plasticizing unit configured to …” in claims 1 and 5 with corresponding structure disclosed at least in [0035-0040] and Fig. 2 of Applicant’s published application.
“a mixing and kneading unit configured to …” in claim 1 with corresponding structure disclosed at least in [0041-0045] and Fig. 2 of Applicant’s published application.
“a kneading and injection unit configured to …” in claims 1 and 5 with corresponding structure disclosed at least in [0046-0050] and Fig. 2 of Applicant’s published application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim(s) 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
In line 4, Claim 5 recites the limitation “the reinforcing fiber” which is indefinite. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 5 recites the limitation “mixing and kneading the thermoplastic resin and the reinforcing fiber while heating with a mixing and kneading screw having received the thermoplastic resin in the completely molten state by the plasticizing unit and the reinforcing fiber” which is indefinite. According to [0041-0045] and Fig. 2 of Applicant’s published application, a mixing and kneading screw is insufficient structure to perform all the claimed steps/functions. Thus, the limitation is indefinite because it is inconsistent with Applicant’s disclosure (see MPEP § 2173.03).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 3, and 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Shi (CN 106042322B with English machine translation - attached).
Regarding claim 1, Shi discloses an injection device comprising:
a plasticizing unit (first extruder 24) configured to cause a supplied thermoplastic resin to be in a completely molten state (Abstract, pg. 5, claim 2, Fig. 2; wherein the raw material fed to 24 is a thermoplastic resin: pg. 6; and wherein 24 reads on the claimed/disclosed plasticizing unit structurally and functionally);
a mixing and kneading unit (second extruder 25) configured to receive the thermoplastic resin in the completely molten state by the plasticizing unit and also configured to receive reinforcing fiber for mixing and kneading the thermoplastic resin and the reinforcing fiber while heating (Abstract, pg. 5, claim 2, and Fig. 2; and wherein 25 reads on the claimed/disclosed plasticizing unit structurally and functionally); and
a kneading and injection unit (annotated injection unit) configured to inject the thermoplastic resin and the reinforcing fiber, both mixed and kneaded together, into a cavity (annotated C) in a clamping device (annotated CD: pages 4-5 and annotated Fig. 2; wherein the taught/annotated injection unit performs the claimed injection function, and therefore, it reads on the claimed unit). Thus, Shi discloses the device substantially as claimed by applicant. See MPEP §§ 2112.01 I, 2114 I-II, and 2115. Shi further discloses Applicant’s inventive concept of separating resin melting from fiber mixing for the benefits of keeping the fibers length longer and improving molded part strength (pg. 3).
Regarding claim 3, Shi discloses an injection molding machine comprising the injection device according to claim 1 (Abstract, Annotated Fig. 2 above, and rejection of claim 1 above).
Regarding claim 5, Shi discloses an injection molding method (Abstract, Annotated Fig. 2 above), comprising:
causing a supplied thermoplastic resin to be in a completely molten state by a plasticizing unit (melting a supplied raw material by a first extruder 24; Abstract, pg. 5, claim 2, Fig. 2; wherein the raw material supplied to 24 is a thermoplastic resin: pg. 6; and wherein 24 reads on the claimed/disclosed plasticizing unit structurally and functionally);
mixing and kneading the molten thermoplastic resin and a reinforcing fiber while heating with a mixing and kneading screw having received the thermoplastic resin in the completely molten state by the plasticizing unit and the reinforcing fiber (receiving a reinforcing fiber and mixing and compounding/kneading the molten raw material and the reinforcing fiber while heating with a second extruder 25 comprising a mixing and kneading screw having received the molten raw material in the completely molten state by 24 and the reinforcing fiber: Abstract, pg. 5, claim 2, and Fig. 2; and wherein 25 reads on the claimed/disclosed mixing and kneading screw structurally and functionally); and
injecting the thermoplastic resin and the reinforcing fiber, both mixed and kneaded together, into a cavity in a clamping device using a kneading and injection unit (receiving, the molten raw material and the reinforcing fiber, both mixed and kneaded together by 25, by the annotated injection unit and injecting thermoplastic resin and the reinforcing fiber into cavity C in a clamping device CD using the annotated injection unit: pages 4-5 and annotated Fig. 2 above; wherein the taught/annotated injection unit performs the claimed injection function, and therefore, it reads on the claimed unit). Thus, Shi discloses the method substantially as claimed by applicant. See MPEP §§ 2112.01 I and 2112.02 I. Shi further discloses Applicant’s inventive concept of separating resin melting from fiber mixing for the benefits of keeping the fibers length longer and improving molded part strength (pg. 3).
Claim(s) 1 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Hawley (US 5185117).
Regarding claim 1, Hawley ‘117 discloses an injection device (1) comprising:
a plasticizing unit (resin extruder 4) configured to cause a supplied thermoplastic resin to be in a completely molten state (C5, L33 to C6, L55 and Figs. 1-3; furthermore, the resin extruder 4 is structurally and functionally equivalent to the claimed/disclosed plasticizing unit);
a mixing and kneading unit (compounding extruder 8) configured to receive the thermoplastic resin in the completely molten state by the plasticizing unit and also configured to receive reinforcing fiber for mixing and kneading the thermoplastic resin and the reinforcing fiber while heating (C6, L56 to C7, L68 and Figs. 1-3; furthermore, the compounding extruder 8 is structurally and functionally equivalent to the claimed/disclosed mixing and kneading unit); and
a kneading and injection unit (extruder 88) configured to inject the thermoplastic resin and the reinforcing fiber, both mixed and kneaded together, into a cavity in a clamping device (extruder 88 is capable of injecting/discharging the mixture obtained by 8 into a cavity of any molding device including a clamping device: C8, L42 to C9, L25; furthermore, the extruder 88 is structurally and functionally equivalent to the claimed/disclosed kneading and injection unit). Thus, Hawley ‘117 discloses the injection device substantially as claimed by applicant. See MPEP §§ 2112.01 I, 2114 I-II, and 2115. Hawley ‘117 further discloses Applicant’s inventive concept of separating resin melting from fiber mixing for the benefits of keeping the fibers length longer and improving molded part strength (C7, L56 to C9, L15).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2 and 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shi as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Hawley (US 6431847).
Regarding claim 2, Shi fails to disclose wherein the kneading and injection unit has a kneading and injection screw and a kneading and injection screw-operation mechanism configured to rotate and move forward and backward the kneading and injection screw.
In the same field of endeavor, injection molding machines for compounding and injecting thermoplastic resin and fiber, Hawley ‘847 discloses the technique of using a feed extruder (16) as a suitable kneading and injection unit, the feed extruder comprising a kneading and injection screw (66) and a kneading and injection screw-operation mechanism (70) configured to rotate and move forward and backward the kneading and injection screw (C6, L52 to C7, L4, Fig. 1), the kneading and injection screw-operation mechanism is operated to perform kneading, dispersion, measurement, and injection of the thermoplastic resin and the reinforcing fiber in the kneading and injection unit (since the feed extruder 16 of Hawley is structurally identical to the claimed kneading and injection unit, the feed extruder 16 of Hawley is expected to be capable of performing the claimed functions: See MPEP §§ 2112.01 I and 2114 I; Furthermore, the rotation of 66 in barrel 62 is expected to inherently achieve kneading and dispersion of the fibers within the molten resin, the backward movement of 66 is expected to inherently achieve the measuring of the mixture, and the forward movement of 66 is expected to inherently achieve the injection of the mixture: See MPEP §§ 2112.01 I and 2114) for benefit(s) of applying a final dispersement, impregnating and wetting of the fiber strands by the resin (C7, L29-43). A person having ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that kneading and injection unit of Hawley is superior than the injection unit of Shi because it maintains/enhances kneading and dispersion of the fibers within the molten resin by movements of the kneading and injection screw.
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have modified the device of Shi in view of Hawley ‘847 by replacing the injection unit of Shi with the kneading and injection unit of Hawley ‘847 for the benefit(s) of applying a final dispersement, impregnating and wetting of the fiber strands by the resin and/or maintaining/enhancing kneading and dispersion of the fibers within the molten resin by movements of the kneading and injection screw as suggested by Hawley ‘847.
Regarding claim 4, Shi, as modified above in claim 2 above, further discloses an injection molding machine comprising the injection device according to claim 2 (Abstract, Annotated Fig. 2 above, and rejection of claim 2 above). See MPEP §§ 2143 I B, 2143 I C, 2143 I G, and/or 2144 II.
Conclusion
JERZI H. MORENO HERNANDEZ
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1743
/JERZI H MORENO HERNANDEZ/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1743