DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 11, 14-15, 17-18 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a1 as being anticipated by Frumker (US 20210239464).
Regarding claim 11, Frumker teaches a method for analyzing a material sample comprising a base substrate and one or more nanosized layers on the base substrate, the method comprising:
mounting the sample 18 in a sample holder, wherein the sample holder is mounted on a first motorized table configured to rotate the sample so as to modulate the angle of incidence on a step- by-step basis within a given angular range (para 61 and 63),
positioning the sample in accordance with a first angle of incidence of a light beam produced by a light source, relative to the orientation of the layers (para 60),
positioning a spectrograph unit so that a camera is able to detect first order diffracted light originating from light reflected off the sample and propagating through the angle-sampling pipe in accordance with a predefined propagation direction (para 63), and
recording, via the spectrograph unit, a spectral response determined by the detected first order diffracted light (para 63).
Regarding claim 14, Frumker teaches the predefined propagation direction is the propagation direction of the 0-order diffraction of light impinging on the sample (para 63).
Regarding claim 15, Frumker teaches the light source is configured to produce the light beam in a soft X-ray or extreme ultraviolet range (para 7).
Regarding claim 17, Frumker teaches the spectrograph unit further comprises a photodiode arranged for detecting the 0-order of light diffracted by the diffraction grating (para 63).
Regarding claim 18, Frumker teaches the spectrograph unit further comprises a photodiode at the entrance to the angle sampling pipe (para 47).
Regarding claim 20, Frumker teaches the camera is an in-vacuum CMOS or CCD camera (para 47).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Frumker in view of Wack et al. (US 20190017946).
Regarding claim 16, Frumker fails to teach the light source is a broadband source producing light in a range of 200 - 600 eV or in a range of 60 - 200 eV.
Wack teaches the light source is a broadband source producing light in a range of 200 - 600 eV or in a range of 60 - 200 eV (para 42).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to adapt the range of Frumker with the range as taught by Wack, since it would better resolution.
Regarding claim 19, Frumker fails to teach the sample holder and spectrograph unit are disposed within a vacuum chamber.
Wack teaches the sample holder and spectrograph unit are disposed within a vacuum chamber (para 91).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to adapt the unit of Frumker with the vacuum chamber as taught by Wack, since it would reduce noise.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 1-10 are allowed.
Claims 12-13 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding claims 1-10 and 12-13, the prior art fails to teach the second motorized table is configured to independently rotate the spectrograph unit having the reflective diffraction grating, angle-sampling pie and camera so that the orientation of the diffraction grating relative to the predefined propagation direction of the reflected light can be kept constant for each of incidence as clamed in claims 1 and 12.
Conclusion
/HOON K SONG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2884