DETAILED ACTION
Status
2. The continuation application filed on March 25, 2025, has been received and made of record. There are 1-20 claims in the application of which claims 1, 11, and 15 are independent claims. Therefore, claims 1-20 are pending for consideration.
Information Disclosure Statement
3. The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted was filed along with the mailing date of the application on March 25, 2025. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Double Patenting
5. Claims 1-16, and 18-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1-20 of US Patent No. US 12,271,250 B2. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because except for minor wording and insignificant change in terminology, each and every limitation of claims 1-20 of US published Patent No. US 12,271,250 B2 reads the corresponding limitations of claims 1-16, and 18-20 of the current application No. 19/089,965. Both the current application No. 19/089,965 and the published patent No. US 12,271,250 B2 claimed an electrocin device having display panel operating in two power modes using two power rails.
Comparison of claims 1-16 and 18-20 of the current application and claims 1-20 of the US published Patent No. 12,271,250 B2 is given below: -
Patent Application
No. 19/089,965
US Patent
No. US 12,271,250 B2
Claim 1: Display circuitry, comprising:
a display panel; and
a switch configured to:
couple the display panel to a first power rail while the switch is in a first state; and couple the display panel to a second power rail while the switch is in a second state.
Claim 2: The display circuitry of claim 1, comprising a register coupled to the switch, wherein the register is configured to store data configured to cause the switch to operate in the first state or the second state(it is obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have memory to save the first state and the second state).
Claim 3: The display circuitry of claim 2, wherein the data is generated by a system controller based on an image source being configured to consume a first amount of power.
Claim 4: The display circuitry of claim 2, wherein the data is associated with whether an image source is configured to consume a first amount of power or a second amount of power.
Claim 5: The display circuitry of claim 4, wherein the second amount of power consumed is greater than the first amount of power, wherein the second power rail is configured to couple to a power management integrated circuit, and wherein the first power rail is configured to couple to a display power supply that bypasses the power management integrated circuit.
Claim 6: The display circuitry of claim 1, wherein the first state causes the switch to couple the display panel to the first power rail and to decouple the display panel from the second power rail.
Claim 7: The display circuitry of claim 1, wherein the second state causes the switch to couple the display panel to the second power rail and to decouple the display panel from the first power rail.
Claim 20: The circuitry of claim 15, wherein the switch comprises a multiplexer.
Claim 1: An electronic device, comprising:
a power management integrated circuit;
a display power supply that bypasses the power management integrated circuit;
a first power rail coupled to the power management integrated circuit and a switch operable based on an indication from an image source, from a controller of a display pipeline, or both, to proceed with operating in a medium power operational mode; a second power rail coupled to the display power supply and the switch; and
a display driver integrated circuit of a display panel coupled to the switch, wherein the display driver integrated circuit is configured to:
at a first time, receive power from the power management integrated circuit via the first power rail; and
at a second time, receive power from the display power supply via the second power rail in the medium power operational mode, wherein the image source is powered down based on the indication.
Claim 2: The electronic device of claim 1, comprising a system controller configured to: transmit, based on content of a first image frame satisfying a first condition, a first control signal to the switch at the first time to operate the switch to couple the display panel to the first power rail; and transmit, based on content of a second image frame satisfying a second condition, a second control signal to the switch at the second time to operate the switch to couple the display panel to the second power rail.
Claim 6: The electronic device of claim 1, wherein the display power supply is configured to consume an amount of power less than the power management integrated circuit.
It is obvious to have a multiplexer whenever first power rail and second power rail are connected to display at two different conditions.
Claim 8 corresponds to part of claim 1 and claim 6 of US patent No. US 12,271,250 B2;
Claim 9 corresponds to part of claim 1 and claim 2 of US patent No. US 12,271,250 B2;
Claim 10 corresponds to part of claims 1 and 2 of US patent No. US 12,271,250 B2;
Claim 11 corresponds to part of claims 2 and 6 of US patent No. US 12,271,250 B2;
Claim 12 corresponds to part of claims 2 and 9 of US patent No. US 12,271,250 B2;
Claim 13 corresponds to part of claim 1 of US patent No. US 12,271,250 B2;
Claim 14 corresponds to part of claim 10 of US patent No. US 12,271,250 B2;
Claim 15 corresponds to part of claim 1 of US patent No. US 12,271,250 B2;
Claim 16 corresponds to part of claim 5 of US patent No. US 12,271,250 B2;
Claim 18 corresponds to part of claim 10 of US patent No. US 12,271,250 B2; and
Claim 19 corresponds to part of claim 10 of US patent No. US 12,271,250 B2.
6. Claim 17 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. US 12,271,250 B2 in view of KANG et al.(US 2022/0051599 A1) (herein after KANG).
Regarding claim 17, claims of US published patent No. US 12,271,250 B2 is not found to recite the claim limitations, “the circuitry of claim 15, wherein the register is configured to control the switch based on a refresh rate of a display panel being less than 60 hertz”.
However, KANG teaches a device for driving display panel, wherein the register(timing controller 33, fig.3, Para-54) is configured to control the switch based on a refresh rate of a display panel being less than 60 hertz(Para-3, 38-39).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, to have modified claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. US 12,271,250 B2 with the teaching of KANG to include the feature in order to provide a display device that enables switching an image refresh rate of the display panel from 60 Hz to 40 Hz, to achieve purpose of effectively reducing power consumption of display, and adjusting the display panel by display panel adjustment according to pixel driving voltage to change operating current of each pixel.
7. Claims 1-13, 15-16, and 20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1-20 of US Patent No. US 11,614,791 B2. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because except for minor wording and insignificant change in terminology, each and every limitation of claims 1-20 of US published Patent No. US 11,614,791 B2 reads the corresponding limitations of claims 1-13, 15-16, and 20 of the current application No. 19/089,965. Both the current application No. 19/089,965 and the published patent No. US 11,614,791 B2 claimed display device operating in two power modes using two power rails.
Comparison of claims 1-13, 15-16 and 20 of the current application and claims 1-20 of the US published Patent No. 11,614,791 B2 is given below: -
Claims 1 and 15 correspond to part of claim 5 of US patent No. US 11,614,791 B2;
Claim 2 corresponds to part of claim 2 of US patent No. US 11,614,791 B2;
Claim 3 corresponds to part of claim 9 of US patent No. US 11,614,791 B2;
Claim 4 corresponds to part of claims 1 and 8 of US patent No. US 11,614,791 B2;
Claim 5 corresponds to part of claim 2 of US patent No. US 11,614,791 B2;
Claims 6 and 7 correspond to part of claim 5 of US patent No. US 11,614,791 B2;
Claim 8 corresponds to part of claim 8 of US patent No. US 11,614,791 B2;
Claim 9 corresponds to part of claims 5 and 8 of US patent No. US 11,614,791 B2.
Claim 10 corresponds to part of claim 5 of US patent No. US 11,614,791 B2;
Claim 11 corresponds to part of claims 2 and 11 of US patent No. US 11,614,791 B2.
Claim 12 corresponds to part of claim 10 of US patent No. US 11,614,791 B2;
Claim 13 corresponds to part of claim 10 of US patent No. US 11,614,791 B2.
Claim 16 corresponds to part of claims 6-7 of US patent No. US 11,614,791 B2;
Claim 20 corresponds to obvious of US patent No. US 11,614,791 B2(It is obvious to have a multiplexer whenever first power rail and second power rail are connected to display at two different conditions).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
9. Claims 1-2, 6-7, 15, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Jee et al.(US 2008/0024480 A1) (herein after Jee).
Regarding claim 1, Jee teaches a display circuitry(panel driving unit 400, figs.1-2, Para-34, 40-45), comprising:
a display panel(display panel 300, figs.1&2, Para-34, 39); and
a switch(mode selector 416, fig.2, Para-42) configured to:
couple the display panel(300) to a first power rail(first power supply 412, first power voltage V1, fig.2, Para-41, 42) while the switch is in a first state(figs.2&3 and related text); and
couple the display panel(300) to a second power rail(second power supply 414, second power voltage V2, figs.2&3) while the switch is in a second state(figs.2&3 and related text).
Regarding claim 2, Jee teaches the display circuitry of claim 1, comprising a register(external device 450, input interface 440, fig.2) coupled to the switch(mode selector 416, figs.2&3), wherein the register(450, 440) is configured to store data configured to cause the switch to operate in the first state or the second state(normal driving mode or partial driving mode, fig.3)(as the mode selection signal MOD_CNT is forwarded from external device, external device inherently possesses a register or memory).
Regarding claim 6, Jee teaches the display circuitry of claim 1, wherein the first state causes the switch to couple the display panel to the first power rail and to decouple the display panel from the second power rail(figs.2&3).
Regarding claim 7, Jee teaches the display circuitry of claim 1, wherein the second state causes the switch to couple the display panel to the second power rail and to decouple the display panel from the first power rail(figs.2&3).
Claim 15 is rejected for the same reason as mentioned in the rejection of claims 1 and 2, since claim 15 recites the same limitations partially in claims 1 and 2.
Regarding claim 20, Jee teaches circuitry of claim 15, wherein the switch comprises a multiplexer(multiplexer circuit 416, fig.3, Para-51).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
13. Claims 3, 4, and 8 are rejected under 35 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jee et al.(US 2008/0024480 A1)in view of Hsiao et al.(US 2011/0175878 A1)(herein after Hsiao).
Regarding claim 3, Jee is not found to teach expressly the display circuitry of claim 2, wherein the data is generated by a system controller based on an image source being configured to consume a first amount of power.
However, Hsiao teaches a display apparatus, wherein the data is generated by a system controller based on an image source (static image or dynamic image, S301 and S307, fig.3) being configured to consume a first amount of power(Para-48, 50).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, to have modified Jee with the teaching of Hsiao to include the feature in order to provide a display apparatus capable of overcoming problem of frame flickering due to brightness variation.
Regarding claim 4, Jee as modified by Hsiao teaches the display circuitry of claim 2, wherein the data is associated with whether an image source is configured to consume a first amount of power or a second amount of power(Para-48, 50, Hsiao) (for motivation, see the rejection of claim 3 above).
Regarding claim 8, Jee as modified by Hsiao teaches the display circuitry of claim 1, wherein the switch is operated between the first state(static image or dynamic image, S301 and S307, fig.3) and the second state(static image or dynamic image, S301 and S307, fig.3, Hsiao) based on an amount of power delivered to an image source(Para-48, 50, Hsiao)(for motivation, see the rejection of claim 3 above).
14. Claim 5 is rejected under 35 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jee et al.(US 2008/0024480 A1) in view of Hsiao et al.(US 2011/0175878 A1) and further in view of HUANG et al.(WO 2020/168949 A1) (herein after HUANG).
Regarding claim 5, Jee as modified by Hsiao teaches the display circuitry of claim 4, wherein the second amount of power consumed is greater than the first amount of power(Para-20, Jee) (whenever one of ordinary skill in the art considers first power voltage as second power rail and second power voltage as first power rail) (Para-31, Hsiao),
Nevertheless, Jee as modified by Hsiao is not found to teach the display circuitry, wherein the second power rail is configured to couple to a power management integrated circuit, and wherein the first power rail is configured to couple to a display power supply that bypasses the power management integrated circuit.
However, HUANG teaches a display driving circuitry, wherein
the second power rail is configured to couple to a power management integrated circuit(PMIC, fig.2), and
wherein the first power rail(DDIC) is configured to couple to a display power supply(DDIC) that bypasses the power management integrated circuit(PMIC, fig.2).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, to have modified Jee further with the teaching of HUANG to include the feature in order to improve driving ability of the DDIC circuit during normal display mode.
15. Claims 9-10, and 16 are rejected under 35 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jee et al.(US 2008/0024480 A1) in view of HUANG et al.(WO 2020/168949 A1)(herein after HUANG).
Regarding claim 9, Jee is not found to teach expressly the display circuitry of claim 1, wherein the switch comprises a multiplexer coupled to a display power supply via the first power rail and coupled to a power management integrated circuit via the second power rail.
However, HUANG teaches a display driving circuitry, wherein the switch(203, fig.2) comprises a multiplexer coupled to a display power supply(DDIC, fig.2) via the first power rail (fgi.2) and coupled to a power management integrated circuit (PMIC, fig.2) via the second power rail.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, to have modified Jee with the teaching of HUANG to include the feature in order to improve driving ability of the DDIC circuit during normal display mode.
Regarding claim 10, Jee as modified by HUANG teaches the display circuitry of claim 9, wherein the multiplexer(MUX 416, fig.3, Jee; 203, fig.2, HUANG) decouples the first power rail (412 or 414, fig.2, Jee) from the display panel(300) while the second power rail(414, or 412, fig.2, Jee) is coupled to the display panel(300)(also fig.2, Para-44, HUANG).
Regarding claim 16, Jee as modified by HUANG teaches the circuitry of claim 15, comprising a system-on-chip(chip-based load switch) configured to write data to the register (memory)(Para-61: data storage area can store data created according to the use of the terminal device) to control the switch to switch between coupling the second input coupled to a power management integrated circuit(PMIC, fig.2) to the output and between coupling the first input coupled to a display power supply(DDIC, fig.2, Para-45, HUANG) to the output(for motivation see the rejection of claim 9 above).
16. Claims 11-13 are rejected under 35 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang et al.(US 2016/0358526 A1)(herein after Wang) in view of Zheng et al.(US 2018/0061355 A1) (herein after Zheng).
Regarding claim 11, Wang teaches a non-transitory, tangible, computer-readable medium(storage device 1018, fig.10, Para-48), comprising computer-readable instructions that, when executed by one or more processors(processor 1002, fig.10, Para-46), cause an electronic device to:
receive a first signal(802, fig.8, Para-44)from an image source (graphics processing unit GPU, Para-27), a system controller, or both;
operate a switch(switch capacitor regulator fig.2B, Para-35) based on the first signal to switch a power supply rail from a first power rail to a second power rail(Para-41); and
send image data to a first pixel based on receiving power from the second power rail(Para-41, 45),
Nevertheless, Wang is not found to teach expressly the non-transitory, tangible, computer-readable medium, wherein a power consumed in sending the image data when coupled to the second power rail is greater than a power consumed in sending the image data when coupled to the first power rail.
However, Zheng teaches content dependent common voltage driver systems, wherein a power consumed in sending the image data when coupled to the second power rail is greater than a power consumed in sending the image data when coupled to the first power rail(positive high voltage rail, negative high voltage rail, positive high voltage rail, negative low voltage rail, fig.7, Para-69).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, to have modified Wang with the teaching of Zheng to include the feature in order to improve displayed image quality of an electronic display with reduced power consumption.
Regarding claim 12, Wang as modified by Zheng teaches the non-transitory, tangible, computer-readable medium of claim 11, comprising computer-readable instructions that, when executed by the one or more processors, cause the electronic device to operate the switch to decouple from at least a portion of the first power rail and couple to at least a portion of the second power rail(fig.7, Para-69, 70, Zheng; Para-26, Wang).
Regarding claim 13, Wang as modified by Zheng teaches the non-transitory, tangible, computer-readable medium of claim 11, wherein operating the switch to switch changes a power supply of a display panel coupled to the power supply rail (fig.7, Zheng).
17. Claim 14 is rejected under 35 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang et al.(US 2016/0358526 A1) in view of Zheng et al.(US 2018/0061355 A1) and further in view of KANG et al.(US 2022/0051599 A1) (herein after KANG).
Regarding claim 14, Wang as modified by Zheng is not found to teach expressly the non-transitory, tangible, computer-readable medium of claim 13, comprising computer-readable instructions that, when executed by the one or more processors, cause the electronic device to operate the switch based on the first signal being associated with a change in a refresh rate of image content.
However, KANG teaches a method and a device for driving display panel, wherein, when executed by the one or more processors, cause the electronic device to operate the switch based on the first signal being associated with a change in a refresh rate of image content(Para-23, 41).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, to have modified Wang further with the teaching of KANG to include the feature in order to eliminate flicker noise thus improving image quality.
18. Claim 17 is rejected under 35 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jee et al.(US 2008/0024480 A1) in view of KANG et al.(US 2022/0051599 A1) (herein after KANG).
Regarding claim 17, Jee is not found to teach expressly the circuitry of claim 15, wherein the register is configured to control the switch based on a refresh rate of a display panel being less than 60 hertz.
However, KANG teaches a method and a device for driving display panel, wherein the register(database unit) is configured to control the switch based on a refresh rate of a display panel being less than 60 hertz(Para-46).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, to have modified Jee with the teaching of KANG to include the feature in order to eliminate flicker noise thus improving image quality.
19. Claim 18 is rejected under 35 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jee et al.(US 2008/0024480 A1) in view of HUSSAIN et al.(US 2021/0407456 A1) (herein after HUSSAIN).
Regarding claim 18, Jee is not found to teach expressly the circuitry of claim 15, wherein the register is configured to control the switch based on incoming image data corresponding to a prerendered entire image frame update.
However, HUSSAIN teaches a system for accelerated frame transmission, wherein the register(memory 150, fig.1) is configured to control the switch based on incoming image data corresponding to a prerendered entire image frame update(Para-19, 42-43).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, to have modified Jee with the teaching of HUSSAIN to include the feature in order to update the image at a display panel based on the received data in an efficient manner.
20. Claim 19 is rejected under 35 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jee et al.(US 2008/0024480 A1) in view of LEE(US 2019/0311678 A1).
Regarding claim 19, Jee is not found to teach expressly the circuitry of claim 15, wherein the register is configured to control the switch based on incoming image data having a brightness value that meets a condition of a first display brightness value being less than or equal to half of a second display brightness value.
However, LEE teaches a display device and driving method, wherein the register is configured to control the switch based on incoming image data having a brightness value that meets a condition of a first display brightness value being less than or equal to half of a second display brightness value (Para-62, 69-72).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, to have modified Jee with the teaching of LEE to include the feature in order to enhance visibility corresponding to change in external light and luminance of display mode by driving DC-DC converter such that the visibility of a display image in a high-illuminance environment is increased.
Examiner Note
21. The Examiner cites particular figures, paragraphs, columns and line numbers in the references, as applied to the claims above. Although the particular citations are representative teachings and are applied to specific limitations within the claims, other passages, internally cited references, and figures may also apply. In preparing a response, it is respectfully requested that the Applicants fully consider the references, in their entirety, as potentially disclosing or teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as fully consider the context of the passage as taught by the references or as disclosed by the Examiner.
Contact
/MD SAIFUL A SIDDIQUI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2621