DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I, claims 25-38, in the reply filed on 08/19/2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 39-45 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to nonelected inventions, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 08/19/2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim(s) 25-38 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 25 recites the limitation “the method” in the last two clauses (“the method further comprising: performing the method a first time…and performing the method a second time…). The recitations directed to performing “the method” multiple times as part of “the method” itself are unclear as to what particular steps are referenced.
Claim 26 also recites the limitation “the method” in lines 1, 2, and 4, where each limitation is unclear as to which “method” is referenced and what particular steps are encompassed.
Claim 26 recites the limitation “a first time” in line 2, which renders the claim unclear as to whether it is intended to reference the “first time” of claim 25 or is intended to encompass performing all of the steps recited in claim 25 a separate “first time.” For further examination either interpretation would apply.
Claim 26 recites the limitation “a second time” in line 4, which renders the claim unclear as to whether it is intended to reference the “second time” of claim 25 or is intended to encompass performing all of the steps recited in claim 25 a separate “second time.” For further examination either interpretation would apply.
Claim 27 also recites the limitation “the method” in lines 1, 2, and 4, where each limitation is unclear as to which “method” is referenced and what particular steps are encompassed.
Claim 29 recites the limitation "said at least one retractable wall segment" in lines 1-2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 37 also recites the limitation “the method” in lines 2 and 4, where each limitation is unclear as to which “method” is referenced and what particular steps are encompassed.
The indicated dependent claims are rejected for the reasons provided above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 25, 33, and 34 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(a)(2) as being anticipated by Pratt, US 4239715 A.
Regarding claim 25, Pratt discloses a method for controlling at least one head of a deposition arrangement (Abstract, using hopper 10, Fig. 2),
The head comprising: a casing (outer structure of hopper 10, Figs. 1-3) comprising at least three wall segments (including three static wall segments making up 10, top, right, and lower segments in Fig. 1) defining a deposition area (at lower end of hopper 10 in Figs. 1-3) and extending from a first end to a second end of said casing (extending from bottom to top, Fig. 2), said first end of said casing comprising an end opening (bottom opening of hopper 10, Figs. 2-3) arranged to be positioned on a surface (positioned on surface of strip 16, Figs. 2-3); and
At least one material receiving arrangement (open upper end of hopper 10, Fig. 2) arranged to receive a granular material into said casing and onto said surface (Figs. 2-3); and
A piston (vertically reciprocating wall 11, Figs. 2-3) arranged to be movable inside of said casing (see arrow, Fig. 3), towards said first end and towards said second end (down and up, Fig. 3), such that said piston presses said granular material against said surface when said piston is moved towards said first end (presses when moved down, Fig. 3), said granular material thereby forming a deposition volume (Fig. 3),
The method comprising (col. 1, line 48 – col. 2, line 12): moving said head to a predetermined position on said surface (Figs. 2-3); positioning said end opening of said casing on said surface (positioning on surface of strip 16, Figs. 2-3); providing a predetermined amount of said granular material into said casing (powder 19, Fig. 2); pressing said piston towards said surface (moving wall 11 vertically down, Fig. 3), such that said granular material is pressed against said surface and forms a compressed deposition volume (such that the wall 11 presses down on the powder and compacts it, Fig. 3); retracting said casing from said surface (the casing being retracted from the surface as the strip is moved away, Fig. 3); and retracting said piston from said surface (the wall 11 being moved vertically upward to leave an area for powder to pass under, Fig. 3),
The method further comprising: performing the method a first time at a first predetermined position to form a first deposition volume (Figs. 2-3), and performing the method a second time at a second predetermined position adjacent said first predetermined position to form a second deposition volume in contact with the first deposition volume (performing the steps again as the moving strip 16 is moved away from the hopper 10, Figs. 2-3), such that said first and second deposition volumes form a continuous layer (forming compacted powder layer 20, Fig. 3).
Regarding claim 33, Pratt discloses the method of claim 25, wherein said pressing is performed with a piston pressure sufficient for the deposition volume to maintain its shape when the piston is moved away from the formed deposition volume (Fig. 3).
Regarding claim 34, Pratt discloses the method of claim 25, wherein the first and second predetermined positions are in a same plane perpendicular to a direction of movement of the piston (deposition volumes in horizontal plane on top of strip 16, perpendicular to vertical movement of piston 11, Fig. 3), such that the first and second deposition volumes are coplanar in said plane (Fig. 3).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 25 and 33-37 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zafar et al., US 20180311733 A1, in view of JP H06592 U (Espacenet translation provided and referenced below).
Regarding claim 25, Zafar discloses a method for controlling at least one head (depositor 813, Fig. 8) of a deposition arrangement (Fig. 8),
The head (depositor 813, Fig. 8) comprising: a casing comprising wall segments (wall segments making up depositor 813, Fig. 8) defining a deposition area (deposition area through which powder flows to build surface, Fig. 8) and extending from a first end to a second end of said casing (from a bottom to a top of the casing structure, Fig. 8), said first end of said casing comprising an end opening (opening through which powder exits to build surface, Fig. 8) arranged to be positioned on a surface (arranged to be positioned on build surface, Fig. 8); and
At least one material receiving arrangement (upper opening of hopper of depositor 813, Fig. 8) arranged to receive a granular material into said casing and onto said surface (for being filled with powder that is to be dispensed, Fig. 8);
The deposition arrangement further comprising a piston (see mechanical press 815, Fig. 8) arranged to be movable vertically ([0091]), such that said piston presses said granular material against said surface when said piston is moved towards said first end (is lowered in area of the deposited powder to apply pressure to the area for compaction, [0091]), said granular material thereby forming a deposition volume (forming compacted/bound powder, Fig. 8, [0091]),
The method comprising: moving said head to a predetermined position on said surface (depositor 813 is moved across the work area to deposit powder, [0091], Fig. 8); positioning said end opening of said casing on said surface (leveler of the depositor 813 being positioned along the build surface, [0091], Fig. 8); providing a predetermined amount of said granular material into said casing (the depositor having been filled with powder, Fig. 8); pressing said piston towards said surface (applying pressure to the powder on the build surface via the mechanical press, [0091], Fig. 8), such that said granular material is pressed against said surface and forms a compressed deposition volume (forming compacted/bound powder from the deposited powder, [0091], Fig. 8); retracting said casing from said surface (the depositor being moved across the work area, [0091], Fig. 8); and retracting said piston from said surface (the mechanical press then being moved across the work area following the depositor, [0091], Fig. 8),
The method further comprising: performing the method [the previously recited steps] a first time at a first predetermined position to form a first deposition volume (performing the deposition and compaction at a first position prior to moving the depositor and mechanical press further along the work area, [0091], Fig. 8), and performing the method [the previously recited steps] a second time at a second predetermined position adjacent said first predetermined position to form a second deposition volume in contact with the first deposition volume (performing the deposition and compaction at a subsequent position after moving the depositor and mechanical press further along the work area, [0091], Fig. 8), such that said first and second deposition volumes form a continuous layer (forming a continuous layer, Fig. 8).
Zafar discloses the head (depositor, Fig. 8) and the piston (mechanical press, Fig. 8) of the deposition arrangement being separate. Zafar does not disclose the head itself comprises the piston arranged to be movable inside of said casing, towards said first end and towards said second end. Zafar is silent as to the head comprising at least three wall segments.
In the analogous art of powder molding ([0001]), JPH06592U discloses a combined feeding and pressing arrangement (Figs. 1-2) including a deposition head (feeder 8, Fig. 2) comprising a casing made up of at least three wall segments defining a deposition area (Fig. 2), at least one material receiving arrangement (supply pipe 9, Fig. 2), and a piston (pressure plate 11, Fig. 2, [0010]) arranged to be movable reciprocally inside of the casing so as to press granular material against a forming surface when the piston is moved for forming deposition volumes (Fig. 2, [0010]). JPH06592U teaches the arrangement ensures uniform filling density of powder deposited from the feeder ([0007]-[0008], [0010], [0018]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the deposition arrangement of Zafar based on the deposition and compaction head of JPH06592U, such that the head comprised a piston arranged to be movable inside of the casing towards said first end and said second end, in place of separate head and piston units, in order to provide a compact arrangement for both applying and compressing powder that achieves uniform filling density, as taught by JPH06592U. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to specify the head casing comprised at least three wall segments as a typical casing configuration suitable for containing and dispensing a volume of powder materials as shown by JPH06592U.
Regarding claim 33, modified Zafar discloses the method of claim 25. The combination as set forth above did not address said pressing being performed with a piston pressure sufficient for the deposition volume to maintain its shape when the piston is moved away from the formed deposition volume; however, Zafar discloses that the pressing is performed by the piston such that a bound pounder formed of the compacted powder is produced (e.g., [0076], [0086]). A bound, compacted powder as described is intended to maintain its shape as opposed to a loose, deformable powder. As such, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further specify said pressing is performed with a piston pressure sufficient for the deposition volume to maintain its shape when the piston is moved away from the formed deposition volume in order to form the compacted, bound powder capable of supporting other build structures as intended.
Regarding claim 34, modified Zafar discloses the method of claim 25, and Zafar discloses the first and second predetermined positions are in a same plane (same horizontal plane when forming a layer comprised of multiple compacted volumes, Fig. 8) perpendicular to a direction of movement of the piston (horizontal plane, relative to vertical movement of piston, Fig. 8), such that the first and second deposition volumes are coplanar in said plane (within a given layer, Fig. 8).
Regarding claim 35, modified Zafar discloses the method of claim 25, and Zafar discloses converting said first and second deposition volumes into a continuous solid material (sintering compacted powder, [0077]).
Regarding claim 36, modified Zafar discloses the method of claim 35, wherein said converting comprises sintering or melting the compressed granular material of the deposition volumes (sintering compacted powder, [0077]).
Regarding claim 37, modified Zafar discloses the method of claim 25, and Zafar discloses the method is repeated a first plurality of times to form a first layer of said deposition volumes on the surface (forming a given layer, [0087], [0091], Fig. 8), and wherein the method is repeated a second plurality of times to form a second layer of said deposition volumes on top of the first layer of deposition volumes (forming a subsequent layer to build up slices, [0087], [0091], Fig. 8).
Claim(s) 26-27 and 38 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zafar et al., US 20180311733 A1, in view of JP H06592 U, as applied to claims 25 and 35 above, and further in view of Rock et al., US 5555481 A.
Regarding claim 26, modified Zafar discloses the method of claim 25. The combination does not disclose performing the method a first time wherein a first granular material is provided into said casing during said providing; and performing the method a second time wherein a second granular material different from the first granular material is provided into said casing during said providing.
In the analogous art of forming three-dimensional parts (Abstract), Rock discloses producing parts by powder material deposition, compaction, and unification (col. 2, line 56 – col. 3, line 10), wherein different first and second materials (col. 2, lines 56-67) are provided to a depositor and pressed against a build surface for forming deposition volumes from the two materials (col. 3, lines 10-51, Fig. 3). Rock teaches that using two different classes of materials with different behavioral characteristics enables the production of solid parts by exploiting the differences in the material properties between the two materials so that the materials can ultimately be separated (col. 1, lines 10-25).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Zafar as set forth for claim 25 to further include performing the method a first time wherein a first granular material is provided into said casing during said providing; and performing the method a second time wherein a second granular material different from the first granular material is provided into said casing during said providing, so as to perform the production using two different materials to exploit different behavioral characteristics between the two materials in order to facilitate the production of a solid three-dimensional part as taught by Rock.
Regarding claim 27, modified Zafar discloses the method of claim 25. The combination does not disclose performing the method using a first head, wherein said providing includes providing a predetermined amount of a first granular material into a casing of said first head; and performing the method using a second head, wherein said providing includes providing a predetermined amount of a second granular material different from the first granular material into a casing of said second head.
In the analogous art (Abstract), Rock, introduced above, additionally discloses performing deposition of two different materials for subsequent compaction and unification using two different heads (a deposition array utilizing a plurality of individual deposition effectors depositing first and/or second class materials, col. 9, lines 14-23, 40-51). Rock teaches that deposition of multiple materials by multiple deposition effectors enables simultaneous deposition of the different materials which can create more sharply defined boundaries (col. 9, lines 43-51).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Zafar as set forth for claim 25 to further include performing the method using a first head, wherein said providing includes providing a predetermined amount of a first granular material into a casing of said first head; and performing the method using a second head, wherein said providing includes providing a predetermined amount of a second granular material different from the first granular material into a casing of said second head in order to enable simultaneous deposition of different materials for faster building and/or to create sharply defined boundaries as taught by Rock.
Regarding claim 38, modified Zafar discloses the method of claim 35, including converting by sintering (sintering compacted powder, [0077]). Zafar is silent as to said converting comprising conversion of the granular material into a solid material simultaneously for two or more layers of deposition volumes.
In the analogous art, (Abstract), Rock discloses deposition, compaction, and further unification of powdered material by sintering (deposition, compaction, and unification, col. 2, line 55 – col. 3, line 10, col. 5, lines 47-57; unification by sintering, col. 4, lines 64-67). Rock teaches unification by sintering can be performed either periodically or after all material layers comprising the part have been deposited (col. 8, lines 19-22).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to specify in the method of Zafar that said converting comprises conversion of the granular material into a solid material simultaneously for two or more layers of deposition volumes as a known technique for successfully achieving unification of multiple deposited and compacted powder layers as taught by Rock.
Claim(s) 28-31 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zafar et al., US 20180311733 A1, in view of JP H06592 U, as applied to claim 25 above, and further in view of Kakiuchi, JP 2006205456 A (of record, Espacenet translation provided 07/06/2023 in parent application 17257904 referenced below).
Regarding claim 28, modified Zafar discloses the method of claim 25. The combination does not disclose at least one of said at least three wall segments is individually retractable from said surface and positionable on a surface of one or more previously deposited volumes.
In the analogous art of depositing high density powder layers for additive manufacturing ([0005]), Kakiuchi discloses a deposition arrangement including a head wherein at least one of at least three wall segments of the casing is individually retractable from a build surface and capable of being positioned on a surface of one or more previously deposited volumes (retractable segments 36 and 37, Figs. 1-4, [0006], [0009], [0013]). Kakiuchi teaches that the individual retractability allows for the walls to be positioned differently depending on a desired height of the deposition product and a relative moving direction between the head and the deposition surface ([0014]-[0018]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify at least one of said at least three wall segments of the combination to be individually retractable from said surface and positionable on a surface of one or more previously deposited volumes in order to facilitate the formation of a powder layer having a desired thickness as taught by Kakiuchi.
Regarding claim 29, modified Zafar discloses the method of claim 25. The combination does not disclose at least one retractable wall segment that is retractable, by mechanically controlled or temperature controlled retraction, from said surface by a distance essentially corresponding to a height of at least one adjacent deposition volume formed on said surface.
In the analogous art ([0005]), Kakiuchi, introduced above, discloses a deposition arrangement including a head wherein at least one of at least three wall segments of the casing is individually retractable, by mechanically controlled retraction (via driving means/solenoids 34, 35, Figs. 1, [0013]), from a build surface by a distance essentially corresponding to a height of at least one adjacent deposition volume formed on said surface (see retractable segment 37, Fig. 1, [0014]). Kakiuchi teaches that the individual retractability allows for the walls to be positioned differently depending on a desired height of the deposition product and a relative moving direction between the head and the deposition surface ([0014]-[0018]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify at least one of said at least three wall segments of the combination to be individually retractable, by mechanically controlled retraction, from said surface by a distance essentially corresponding to a height of at least one adjacent deposition volume formed on said surface in order to facilitate the formation of a powder layer having a desired thickness as taught by Kakiuchi.
Regarding claim 30, modified Zafar discloses the method of claim 28. The combination further discloses said material receiving arrangement includes at least one wall opening in at least one of said wall segments (JPH06592U: supply pipe 9, Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 31, modified Zafar discloses the method of claim 25. The combination does not explicitly disclose one of the claimed shapes.
In the analogous art ([0005]), Kakiuchi, introduced above, discloses a deposition arrangement including a head comprising a casing having four wall segments forming a rectangular deposition area (Fig. 4).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to specify the casing of the combination has four wall segments forming a rectangular deposition area in order to define a conventional geometrical arrangement for a powder deposition and compaction head as shown by Kakiuchi. Note that it has been held that a change in shape of an element otherwise performing the same function is a matter of choice which a person of ordinary skill in the art would have found obvious absent persuasive evidence that the particular claimed configuration was significant. MPEP 2144.04(IV)(B).
Claim(s) 32 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zafar et al., US 20180311733 A1, in view of JP H06592 U, as applied to claim 25 above, and further in view of Koszo et al., US 20140141961 A1 (of record in parent application 17257904).
Regarding claim 32, modified Zafar discloses the method of claim 25. The combination does not disclose said providing a predetermined amount of said granular material comprises vibrating the granular material to spread the granular material over the deposition area.
In the analogous art of forming pressed articles from powder (Abstract), Koszo discloses a powder discharge assembly 12 (Fig. 3) comprising a vibrating feeder/hopper ([0154]). Koszo teaches that vibration feeding breaks up clumps that could otherwise be deposited to the deposition surface ([0061]-[0062]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the providing step of Zafar such that it comprised vibrating the granular material to spread the granular material over the deposition area in order to facilitate even feeding and avoid the deposition of clumps to the build surface as taught by Koszo.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US 20150306819 A1, Ljungblad discloses powder deposition, compacting, and conversion by sintering (Fig. 1d), and a head casing with wall segments surrounding a deposition area (Fig. 7b).
JP 2000336403 A, Takenami discloses various configurations for powder deposition, compaction, vibration, and melting (Figs. 1-17).
EP 1366874 A2, Spadoni discloses a relevant arrangement for powder deposition and compaction (Figs. 1-3).
US 20110031642 A1, Gilg et al. disclose relevant techniques for powder pressing.
/J.L.G./Examiner, Art Unit 1754
/LARRY W THROWER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1754