DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
Claims 1-20 are currently pending in application 19/090,106.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 7/29/2025(a), 7/29/2025(b), and 7/29/2025(c) are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Double Patenting
The USPTO internet Web site contains terminal disclaimer forms which may be used. Please visit http://www.uspto.gov/forms/. The filing date of the application will determine what form should be used. A web-based eTerminal Disclaimer may be filled out completely online using web-screens. An eTerminal Disclaimer that meets all requirements is auto-processed and approved immediately upon submission. For more information about eTerminal Disclaimers, refer to http://www.uspto.gov/patents/process/file/efs/guidance/eTD-info-I.jsp.
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 12,288,233 B2; and over claims 1-23 of U.S. Patent No. 11,244,367 B2. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims in the instant application are found within or reworded within the claims of US Patents 12,288,233 and 11,244,367.
19/090,106
US 12,288,233 B2
Independent Claims 1, 8, and 16
A method comprising:
identifying, by computing hardware, a plurality of pieces of data across a plurality of data sources associated with a data subject in a data map;
determining, by the computing hardware, that one or more pieces of data matches privacy campaign data stored in a privacy campaign data record for a data processing activity; and
reconciling, by the computing hardware based on determining that the one or more pieces of data matches the privacy campaign data, the plurality of pieces of data with a data flow for the data processing activity by:
determining whether each of the plurality of pieces of data is represented in the data flow;
in response to determining that at least one of the plurality of pieces of data is not represented in the data flow, updating the data flow by associating the at least one of the plurality of pieces of data with the data flow; and
defining, in the data flow, a privacy related attribute for the one or more pieces of data.
Independent Claims 1, 8, and 16
A method comprising:
identifying, by computing hardware, a plurality of pieces of data across a plurality of data sources associated with a data subject in a data map;
determining, by the computing hardware, that the plurality of pieces of data comprise sensitive data;
determining, by the computing hardware, that a first portion of the sensitive data exactly matches privacy campaign data stored in a privacy campaign data record for a data processing activity; and
reconciling, by the computing hardware based on determining that the first portion of the sensitive data exactly matches the privacy campaign data, the plurality of pieces of data with a data flow for the data processing activity by:
determining whether each of the plurality of pieces of data is represented in the data flow;
in response to determining that at least one of the plurality of pieces of data is not represented in the data flow, updating the data flow by associating the at least one of the plurality of pieces of data with the data flow; and
defining, in the data flow, a privacy related attribute for the at least one of the plurality of pieces of data, the privacy related attribute including an indication of the data subject.
19/090,106
US 11,244,367 B2
Independent Claims 1, 8, and 16
A method comprising:
identifying, by computing hardware, a plurality of pieces of data across a plurality of data sources associated with a data subject in a data map;
determining, by the computing hardware, that one or more pieces of data matches privacy campaign data stored in a privacy campaign data record for a data processing activity; and
reconciling, by the computing hardware based on determining that the one or more pieces of data matches the privacy campaign data, the plurality of pieces of data with a data flow for the data processing activity by:
determining whether each of the plurality of pieces of data is represented in the data flow;
in response to determining that at least one of the plurality of pieces of data is not represented in the data flow, updating the data flow by associating the at least one of the plurality of pieces of data with the data flow; and
defining, in the data flow, a privacy related attribute for the one or more pieces of data.
Independent Claims 1, 9, and 17
A method comprising:
identifying, by computer hardware, a plurality of pieces of data associated with a data subject in a data map;
determining, by the computer hardware, that one or more of the plurality of pieces of data comprise sensitive data;
determining, by the computer hardware, that at least one portion of the sensitive data exactly matches at least one portion of privacy campaign privacy campaign data stored in one or more privacy campaign data records for a privacy campaign; and
reconciling, by the computer hardware based on determining that the at least one portion of the sensitive data exactly matches the at least one portion of the privacy campaign data, the plurality of pieces of data with a data flow for the privacy campaign by:
determining that each of the plurality of pieces of data is not represented in the data flow,
in response to determining at least one of the plurality of pieces of data is not represented in the data flow, updating the data flow by associating the at least one of the plurality of pieces of data with the data flow, and
generating an indication that processing of the plurality of pieces of data is complete.
Claim Rejections – 35 USC §101
35 U.S.C. § 101 reads as follows:
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 101 because the claimed invention is directed to non-statutory subject matter, specifically an abstract idea.
Claims 1-20 are directed to a judicial exception (i.e., abstract idea), without providing a practical application, and without providing significantly more.
Under the 35 U.S.C. §101 subject matter eligibility two-part analysis, Step 1 addresses whether the claim is directed to one of the four statutory categories of invention, i.e., process, machine, manufacture, or composition of matter. See MPEP §2106.03. If the claim does fall within one of the statutory categories, it must then be determined in Step 2A [prong 1] whether the claim is directed to a judicial exception (i.e., law of nature, natural phenomenon, and abstract idea). See MPEP §2106.04. If the claim is directed toward a judicial exception, it must then be determined in Step 2A [prong 2] whether the judicial exception is integrated into a practical application. See MPEP §2106.04(d). Finally, if the judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application, it must additionally be determined in Step 2B whether the claim recites "significantly more" than the abstract idea. See MPEP §2106.05.
Examiner note: The Office’s 2019 Revised Patent Subject Matter Eligibility Guidance (2019 PEG) is currently found in the Ninth Edition, Revision 10.2019 (revised June 2020) of the Manual of Patent Examination Procedure (MPEP), specifically incorporated in MPEP §2106.03 through MPEP §2106.07(c).
Regarding Step 1,
Claims 1-7 are directed toward a process (method). Claims 8-15 are directed toward an apparatus (system). Claims 16-20 are directed toward a computer program product having computer-readable tangible storage media (article of manufacture). Thus, all claims fall within one of the four statutory categories as required by Step 1.
Regarding Step 2A [prong 1],
Claims 1-20 are directed toward the judicial exception of an abstract idea. Independent claims 1, 8 and 16 are directed specifically to the abstract idea of assessing data privacy risk.
Regarding independent claims 1, 8 and 16, the underlined limitations emphasized below correspond to the abstract ideas of the claimed invention:
A method comprising:
identifying, by computing hardware, a plurality of pieces of data associated with a data subject in a data map; [Mental processes / Certain methods of organizing human activity - Directed to observation, gathering, and reviewing information items that can otherwise be done mentally or by basic record review]
determining, by the computing hardware, that one or more pieces of data matches privacy campaign data stored in a privacy campaign data record for a data processing activity; and [Mental processes - Directed to comparison, judgment, cognitive evaluation]
reconciling, by the computing hardware based on determining that that one or more pieces of data matches the privacy campaign data, the plurality of pieces of data with a data flow for the data processing activity by:
determining whether each of the plurality of pieces of data is represented in the data flow;
in response to determining that at least one of the plurality of pieces of data is not represented in the data flow, updating the data flow by associating the at least one of the plurality of pieces of data with the data flow (Optional step/ element under BRI); and [Certain methods of organizing human activity (managing rules, legal/compliance obligations) - Directed to administrative tracking, bookkeeping, and updating organizational compliance pathways]
defining, in the data flow, a privacy related attribute for the one or more pieces of data. [Certain methods of organizing human activity (commercial interactions and legal compliance reporting) - Directed to categorizing or labeling data attributes based on regulatory rules (abstract organizational concept)]
As the underlined claim limitations above demonstrate, independent claims 1, 8 and 16 are directed to the abstract idea of Certain methods of organizing human activity (fundamental economic principles or practices (including hedging, insurance, mitigating risk); commercial or legal interactions (including agreements in the form of contracts; legal obligations; advertising, marketing or sales activities or behaviors; business relations)); and Mental processes (concepts performed in the human mind (including an observation, evaluation, judgment, or opinion)).
Dependent claims 2-7, 9-15, and 17-20 provide further details to the abstract idea of claims 1, 8 and 16 regarding the received data; therefore, these claims include certain methods of organizing human activity and mental processes for similar reasons provided above for claims 1, 8 and 16.
After considering all claim elements, both individually and in combination and in ordered combination, it has been determined that the claims do not amount to significantly more than the abstract idea itself.
Regarding Step 2A [prong 2],
Claims 1-20 fail to integrate the recited judicial exception into any practical application. The claims recite additional limitations which are hardware or software elements or particular technological environment, such as “computing hardware”, a “system”, a “non-transitory computer-readable medium”, a “processing device”, a “network”, “program code”, “user interface” or “graphical user interface”, and a “computer device”. However, these limitations are not enough to qualify as “practical application” being recited in the claims along with the abstract idea since these limitations are merely invoked as a tool to perform instruction of an abstract idea in a particular technological environment and/or are generally linking the use of the abstract idea to a particular technological environment or field of use, and merely applying and abstract idea in a particular technological environment and merely limiting use of an abstract idea to a particular field or a technological environment do not provide practical application for an abstract idea (MPEP 2106.05 (f) & (h)). The claims do not amount to "practical application" for the abstract idea because they neither (1) recite any improvements to another technology or technical field; (2) recite any improvements to the functioning of the computer itself; (3) apply the judicial exception with, or by use of, a particular machine; (4) effect a transformation or reduction of a particular article to a different state or thing; (5) provide other meaningful limitations beyond generally linking the use of the judicial exception to a particular technological environment.
The relevant question under Step 2A [prong 2] is not whether the claimed invention itself is a practical application, instead, the question is whether the claimed invention includes additional elements beyond the judicial exception that integrate the judicial exception into a practical application by imposing a meaningful limit on the judicial exception. This is not the case with Applicant’s claimed invention. Automating the recited claimed features as a combination of computer instructions implemented by computer hardware and/or software elements as recited above does not qualify an otherwise unpatentable abstract idea as patent eligible. Examples where the Courts have found selecting a particular data source or type of data to be manipulated to be insignificant extra-solution activity include selecting information, based on types of information and availability of information in a power-grid environment, for collection, analysis and display, Electric Power Group, LLC v. Alstom S.A., 830 F.3d 1350, 1354-55, 119 USPQ2d 1739, 1742 (Fed. Cir. 2016); Applicant’s limitations as recited above do nothing more than supplement the abstract idea using additional hardware/software computer components as a tool to perform the abstract idea and generally link the use of the abstract idea to a technological environment, which is not sufficient to integrate the judicial exception into a practical application since they do not impose any meaningful limits. Dependent claims 2-7, 9-15, and 17-20 merely incorporate the additional elements recited above, along with further embellishments of the abstract idea of independent claims respectively, but these features only serve to further limit the abstract idea of independent claims. Therefore, the additional elements recited in the claimed invention individually, and in combination fail to integrate the recited judicial exception into any practical application.
Regarding Step 2B,
Claims 1-20 fail to amount to “significantly more” than an abstract idea. The claims recite additional limitations which are hardware or software elements or particular technological environment, such as “computing hardware”, a “system”, a “non-transitory computer-readable medium”, a “processing device”, a “network”, “program code”, “user interface” or “graphical user interface”, and a “computer device”. However, these limitations are not enough to qualify as “significantly more” being recited in the claims along with the abstract idea since these limitations are merely invoked as a tool to perform instruction of Abstract idea in a particular technological environment and/or are generally linking the use of the abstract idea to a particular technological environment or field of use, and merely applying and abstract idea in a particular technological environment and merely limiting use of an abstract idea to a particular field or a technological environment do not provide significantly more to an abstract idea (MPEP 2106.05(f) & (h)). The claims do not amount to "significantly more" than the abstract idea because they neither (1) recite any improvements to another technology or technical field; (2) recite any improvements to the functioning of the computer itself; (3) apply the judicial exception with, or by use of, a particular machine; (4) effect a transformation or reduction of a particular article to a different state or thing; (5) add a specific limitation other than what is well-understood, routine and conventional in the field; (6) add unconventional steps that confine the claim to a particular useful application; nor (7) provide other meaningful limitations beyond generally linking the use of the judicial exception to a particular technological environment.
Dependent claims 2-7, 9-15, and 17-20 merely recite further additional embellishments of the abstract idea of independent claims 1, 8 and 16 respectively, but these features only serve to further limit the abstract idea of independent claims 1, 8 and 16; however, none of the dependent claims recite an improvement to a technology or technical field or provide any meaningful limits. The addition of another abstract concept to the limitations of the claims does not render the claim other than abstract. Under the Interim Guidance on Patent Subject Matter Eligibility (PEG 2019), it specifically states that narrowing an abstract idea of claims do not resolve the claims of being "significantly more" than the abstract idea. Thus, the additional elements in the dependent claims only serve to further limit the abstract idea utilizing the computer components as a tool and/or generally link the use of the abstract idea to a particular technological environment.
Therefore, since there are no limitations in the claims 1-20 that transform the exception into a patent eligible application such that the claims amount to significantly more than the exception itself, and looking at the limitations as a combination and as an ordered combination adds nothing that is not already present when looking at the elements taken individually, claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 USC § 101 as being directed to non-statutory subject matter under 35 U.S.C. § 101.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Barday (US 2017/0287036 A1).
As per independent Claims 1, 8, and 16, Barday discloses a method (system, programmed apparatus) (See at least Para 0009-0015) comprising:
identifying, by computing hardware, a plurality of pieces of data across a plurality of data sources associated with a data subject in a data map (See at least Para 0304);
determining, by the computing hardware, that one or more pieces of data matches privacy campaign data stored in a privacy campaign data record for a data processing activity (See at least Para 0304-0305); and
reconciling, by the computing hardware based on determining that the one or more pieces of data matches the privacy campaign data, the plurality of pieces of data with a data flow for the data processing activity by:
determining whether each of the plurality of pieces of data is represented in the data flow (See at least Para 0305);
in response to determining that at least one of the plurality of pieces of data is not represented in the data flow, updating the data flow by associating the at least one of the plurality of pieces of data with the data flow (See at least Para 0306); and
defining, in the data flow, a privacy related attribute for the one or more pieces of data. (See at least Para 0304-0306).
As per Claims 2, 9, Barday discloses facilitating, by the computing hardware using the data flow, performance of network operations for retrieving data responsive to a query related to one or more data repositories identified in the data flow, the query including a request to identify personal data associated with the data subject (See at least Fig.10, Para 0009, Para 0144-0145; See also Para 0303-0304).
As per Claims 3, 10, and 17, Barday discloses wherein: reconciling the plurality of pieces of data with the data flow for the data processing activity further comprises: generating a user interface comprising a respective interactive element for each of the plurality of pieces of data; providing the user interface for display on a computing device; and receiving, via each respective interactive element, an indication of an inclusion status of each of the plurality of pieces of data in the data flow; and determining whether each of the plurality of pieces of data is represented in the data flow comprises determining whether each of the plurality of pieces of data is represented in the data flow based on the indication of the inclusion status (See at least Para 0301-0306).
As per Claims 4 (2), 11, and 18, Barday discloses in response to determining that at least one of the plurality of pieces of data is not represented in the data flow, initiating a risk assessment for the data processing activity (See at least Para 0306; See also Para 0193).
As per Claims 12 (11) and 19 (18), Barday discloses wherein the operations further comprise defining at least a second privacy related attribute for the at least one of the plurality of pieces of data based on data responsive to the risk assessment for the data processing activity (See at least Para 0301-0306; See also Para 0193).
As per Claims 5, 13, and 20, Barday discloses generating, by the computing hardware, a graphical user interface that comprises a visual representation of the data flow by: configuring a first visual indication of a first data asset in the data flow, configuring a second visual indication of a second data asset in the data flow, configuring a third visual indication of an exchange of the at least one of the plurality of pieces of data between the first data asset and the second data asset based on the data flow; and providing, by the computing hardware, the graphical user interface for display on a computing device (See at least Figs. 15-16, Para 0043, Para 0120-0129, Para 0171-0175).
As per Claims 6 and 14, Barday discloses wherein: the method further comprises determining, by the computing hardware, an encryption status of the at least one of the plurality of pieces of data; and the third visual indication reflects the encryption status (See at least Figs. 12-16, Para 0043, Para 0085, Para 0123, and Para 0129).
As per Claims 7 and 15, Barday discloses modifying, by the computing hardware, the encryption status of the at least one of the plurality of pieces of data in response to determining that the at least one of the plurality of pieces of data is not represented in the data flow (See at least Para 0306; See also Para 0193).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure can be found in the PTO-892 Notice of References Cited. The Examiner suggests the applicant review all of these documents before submitting any amendments.
August 7, 2026
/JONATHAN P OUELLETTE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3629