DETAILED ACTION
1. This is a first non-final Office Action on the merits for application 19/090120. Claim 20 is canceled. Claims 1-19 are pending examination.
Information Disclosure Statement
2. The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 06/02/2025 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to a judicial exception (i.e., a law of nature, a natural phenomenon, or an abstract idea) without significantly more.
Claim(s) 1, and 19 is/are drawn to method (i.e., a process), claim(s) 18 is/are drawn to a system (i.e., a machine/manufacture). As such, claims 1, 18, and 19 is/are drawn to one of the statutory categories of invention.
Claims 1-19 are directed to payment management system for an electric vehicle charging station. Specifically, claim(s) 1, 18, and 19 recite(s) determining, the EV charging being configured to control an operation of the EV charging; initiating, by the EV charging, an EV charging transaction upon receiving an indication of approval of payment for delivery of electrical charge using a credit card or a debit card, and wherein the approval of the payment is provided at least in part by a financial services provider associated with the credit card or the debit card used for payment; in response to receiving the indication of the approval of payment, authorizing, the delivery of electrical charge, causing to activate delivery electrical charge to the EV; and causing, to deactivate the delivery of electrical charge to the EV when the EV charging transaction is complete, which is grouped within the Methods Of Organizing Human Activity and is similar to the concept of (commercial or legal interactions including agreements in the form of contracts, legal obligations, advertising, marketing or sales activities or behaviors business relations) grouping of abstract ideas in prong one of step 2A of the Alice/Mayo test (See 2019 Revised Patent Subject Matter Eligibility Guidance, 84 Fed. Reg. 50, 52, 54 (January 7, 2019)). Accordingly, the claims recite an abstract idea (See pages 7, 10, Alice Corporation Pty. Ltd. v. CLS Bank International, et al., US Supreme Court, No. 13-298, June 19, 2014; 2019 Revised Patent Subject Matter Eligibility Guidance, 84 Fed. Reg. 50, 53-54 (January 7, 2019)).
The Claim limitations are listed under Methods Of Organizing Human Activity, and grouped as following:
determining, the EV charging being configured to control an operation of the EV charging; initiating, by the EV charging, an EV charging transaction upon receiving an indication of approval of payment for delivery of electrical charge using a credit card or a debit card, and wherein the approval of the payment is provided at least in part by a financial services provider associated with the credit card or the debit card used for payment; which is similar to the concept of (advertising, marketing or sales activities or behaviors business relations),
in response to receiving the indication of the approval of payment, authorizing, the delivery of electrical charge, causing to activate delivery electrical charge to the EV; and which is similar to the concept of (advertising, marketing or sales activities or behaviors business relations),
causing, to deactivate the delivery of electrical charge to the EV when the EV charging transaction is complete; which is similar to the concept of (advertising, marketing or sales activities or behaviors business relations).
This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application because, when analyzed under prong two of step 2A of the Alice/Mayo test (See 2019 Revised Patent Subject Matter Eligibility Guidance, 84 Fed. Reg. 50, 54-55 (January 7, 2019)), the additional element(s) of the claim(s) such as electric vehicle (EV) charging station controller, EV charging station, point-of-sale (POS) terminal, database, display module, charging cables, connectors merely use(s) a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea and/or generally link(s) the use of a judicial exception to a particular technological environment. Specifically, the electric vehicle (EV) charging station controller, EV charging station, point-of-sale (POS) terminal, database, display module, charging cables, connectors perform(s) the steps or functions of determining, the EV charging being configured to control an operation of the EV charging; initiating, by the EV charging, an EV charging transaction upon receiving an indication of approval of payment for delivery of electrical charge using a credit card or a debit card, and wherein the approval of the payment is provided at least in part by a financial services provider associated with the credit card or the debit card used for payment; in response to receiving the indication of the approval of payment, authorizing, the delivery of electrical charge, causing to activate delivery electrical charge to the EV; and causing, to deactivate the delivery of electrical charge to the EV when the EV charging transaction is complete. The use of a processor/computer as a tool to implement the abstract idea and/or generally linking the use of the abstract idea to a particular technological environment does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because it requires no more than a computer performing functions that correspond to acts required to carry out the abstract idea. The additional elements do not involve improvements to the functioning of a computer, or to any other technology or technical field (MPEP 2106.05(a)), the claims do not apply or use the abstract idea to effect a particular treatment or prophylaxis for a disease or medical condition (Vanda Memo), the claims do not apply the abstract idea with, or by use of, a particular machine (MPEP 2106.05(b)), the claims do not effect a transformation or reduction of a particular article to a different state or thing (MPEP 2106.05(c)), and the claims do not apply or use the abstract idea in some other meaningful way beyond generally linking the use of the abstract idea to a particular technological environment, such that the claim as a whole is more than a drafting effort designed to monopolize the exception (MPEP 2106.05(e) and Vanda Memo). Therefore, the claims do not, for example, purport to improve the functioning of a computer. Nor do they effect an improvement in any other technology or technical field. Accordingly, the additional elements do not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea, and the claims are directed to an abstract idea.
The claim(s) does/do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because, when analyzed under step 2B of the Alice/Mayo test (See 2019 Revised Patent Subject Matter Eligibility Guidance, 84 Fed. Reg. 50, 52, 56 (January 7, 2019)), the additional element(s) of using a electric vehicle (EV) charging station controller, EV charging station, point-of-sale (POS) terminal, database, display module, charging cables, connectors to perform the steps amounts to no more than using a computer or processor to automate and/or implement the abstract idea of payment management system for an electric vehicle charging station. As discussed above, taking the claim elements separately, the electric vehicle (EV) charging station controller, EV charging station, point-of-sale (POS) terminal, database, display module, charging cables, connectors perform(s) the steps or functions of determining, the EV charging being configured to control an operation of the EV charging; initiating, by the EV charging, an EV charging transaction upon receiving an indication of approval of payment for delivery of electrical charge using a credit card or a debit card, and wherein the approval of the payment is provided at least in part by a financial services provider associated with the credit card or the debit card used for payment; in response to receiving the indication of the approval of payment, authorizing, the delivery of electrical charge, causing to activate delivery electrical charge to the EV; and causing, to deactivate the delivery of electrical charge to the EV when the EV charging transaction is complete. These functions correspond to the actions required to perform the abstract idea. Viewed as a whole, the combination of elements recited in the claims merely recite the concept of payment management system for an electric vehicle charging station. Therefore, the use of these additional elements does no more than employ the computer as a tool to automate and/or implement the abstract idea. The use of a computer or processor to merely automate and/or implement the abstract idea cannot provide significantly more than the abstract idea itself (MPEP 2106.05(I)(A)(f) & (h)). Therefore, the claim is not patent eligible.
As for dependent claims 2-17 further describe the abstract idea of payment management system for an electric vehicle charging station. Claim(s) 2-17 does/do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because, when analyzed under step 2B of the Alice/Mayo test (See 2019 Revised Patent Subject Matter Eligibility Guidance, 84 Fed. Reg. 50, 52, 56 (January 7, 2019)), the additional element(s) of using a electric vehicle (EV) charging station controller, EV charging station, point-of-sale (POS) terminal, database, display module, charging cables, connectors to perform the steps amounts to no more than using a computer or processor to automate and/or implement the abstract idea of payment management system for an electric vehicle charging station. As discussed above, taking the claim elements separately, the electric vehicle (EV) charging station controller, EV charging station, point-of-sale (POS) terminal, database, display module, charging cables, connectors perform(s) the steps or functions of wherein the EV charging is further configured to control the operation of the EV charging via an EV charging application programming interface (API) platform; sending, by the API platform, one or more control commands for controlling the operation of the EV charging EV API, wherein the EV charging API platform provides control commands corresponding to the one or more control commands to the EV charging, such that the EV charging controller controls the operation of the EV charging, wherein the initiating of the EV charging transaction comprises: receiving, at the EV charging station, the indication of approval of payment for delivery of electrical charge; wherein the EV charging controller is configured to communicate with the POS via a POS terminal plugin that is programmed to communicate using a protocol; upon authorizing the delivery of electrical charge, sending, by the EV charging controller and to the POS plugin, a notification indicating that electrical charge is being delivered to the EV by the EV charging; upon causing the EV charging to deactivate the delivery of electrical charge, sending, by the EV charging controller and to the POS plugin, a notification indicating that the delivery of electrical charge to the EV by the EV charging is finished; upon causing the EV charging to deactivate the delivery of electrical charge, sending, by the EV charging and to the POS plugin, data relating to the EV charging transaction indicative of the electrical charge delivered and payment information; wherein the POS plugin is configured to finalize the EV charging transaction with the financial services provider using the payment information; receiving, at the EV charging controller, a notification that the EV charging transaction has been finalized from the POS terminal plugin; wherein the EV charging is configured to communicate with the EV charging via an EV charging API that is programmed to communicate using a protocol utilized by the EV charging; wherein the authorizing of the delivery of electrical charge comprises: transmitting, by the EV charging station controller and to the EV charging, an authorization command via the EV charging API platform, wherein the authorization command comprises information indicative of vehicle identification, state-of-charge data, and payment credentials; receiving, a notification that the EV charging is delivering electrical charge to the EV via the EV charging API platform; monitoring, the EV charging transaction based on real-time updates regarding the delivery of electrical charge to the EV by the EV charging station received from the EV charging API platform; causing, by the EV charging controller, information regarding the EV charging transaction to be displayed operatively coupled to the EV charging based on the real-time updates received from the EV charging API platform; wherein the EV charging controller is configured to communicate with the EV charging and the EV via a standardized communication protocol; establishing, a charging and discharging schedule for the EV and the EV charging station, causing energy flow parameters to be securely exchanged between the EV and the EV charging, wherein the EV charging delivers electrical charge to the EV during one or more charging periods of the charging and discharging schedule, and the EV returns electrical charge to the grid during one or more discharging periods of the charging and discharging schedule. These functions correspond to the actions required to perform the abstract idea. Viewed as a whole, the combination of elements recited in the claims merely recite the concept of payment management system for an electric vehicle charging station. Therefore, the use of these additional elements does no more than employ the computer as a tool to automate and/or implement the abstract idea. The use of a computer or processor to merely automate and/or implement the abstract idea cannot provide significantly more than the abstract idea itself (MPEP 2106.05(I)(A)(f) & (h)). Therefore, the claim is not patent eligible.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
A. Claim(s) 1, 4, 18, and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Vimberg, (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 20220366408) in view of Silorio et al., (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 20230264591) in view of Han, (Foreign Application No. KR20200112599A).
As to Claim 1, Vimberg teaches a method comprising:initiating, by the EV charging station controller, an EV charging transaction upon receiving an indication of approval of payment for delivery of electrical charge by the EV charging station using a credit card or a debit card via a point-of-sale (POS) terminal, wherein the POS terminal is operably coupled to the EV charging station (0044: a user 500 initiates communication 508 with a module charging station 502. The communication, along with all subsequent communications detailed hereinbelow, may be established along lines set out above, may be wireless, via a keypad, card reader and the like, and may further be encrypted. Via such communication, user 500 sends a command instructing charging station 502 to release power to charge (524) electric vehicle 504. Concurrent with the command is user payment information for enabling delivery of power to the vehicle, the user payment information optionally provided with an additional consent requirement to the user, automatically with the communication of the commands and/or the like. The user payment information along with any required triggers for execution of same may be included within the digital key. The payment information may refer to an account, debit card, credit card and the like of the transaction pre-paid or post paid variety. The network 308, here acting as the payment gateway, sends (510) the secured user data to the credit card processing company 512 for approval. the credit card processing company 512 makes use (518) of the credit card network 514 to communicate further (518) to the card issuing bank 516 which approves the transaction (e.g., releasing a select amount of funds to compensate for the release of charge to the vehicle) based upon the user's funds with the card issuing bank. Upon receipt of the approval, module 502 automatically unlocks electricity and makes it available for charging 524 the electric vehicle 504.), and wherein the approval of the payment is provided at least in part by a financial services provider associated with the credit card or the debit card used for payment via the POS terminal; (0044: The payment information may refer to an account, debit card, credit card and the like of the transaction pre-paid or post paid variety. The network 308, here acting as the payment gateway, sends (510) the secured user data to the credit card processing company 512 for approval. the credit card processing company 512 makes use (518) of the credit card network 514 to communicate further (518) to the card issuing bank 516 which approves the transaction (e.g., releasing a select amount of funds to compensate for the release of charge to the vehicle) based upon the user's funds with the card issuing bank.),in response to receiving the indication of the approval of payment, authorizing, by the EV charging station controller (Fig. 5A 524, release power to charge (524) 0044: based on approval of the transaction), the delivery of electrical charge by the EV charging station (0044: The network 308, here acting as the payment gateway, sends (510) the secured user data to the credit card processing company 512 for approval. the credit card processing company 512 makes use (518) of the credit card network 514 to communicate further (518) to the card issuing bank 516 which approves the transaction (e.g., releasing a select amount of funds to compensate for the release of charge to the vehicle) based upon the user's funds with the card issuing bank. Upon receipt of the approval, module 502 automatically unlocks electricity and makes it available for charging 524 the electric vehicle 504.),), causing the EV charging station to activate delivery electrical charge to the EV; and (0044: sends a command instructing charging station 502 to release power to charge (524) electric vehicle 504).
Vimberg does not explicitly teaches electrical charge by the EV charging station using a credit card or a debit card via a point-of-sale (POS) terminal, wherein the POS terminal via a point-of-sale (POS) terminal, wherein the POS terminal.
However Han teaches electrical charge by the EV charging station using a credit card or a debit card via a point-of-sale (POS) terminal, wherein the POS terminal via a point-of-sale (POS) terminal, wherein the POS terminal (Description paragraph: The fueling gun (charging gun) 100 is for refueling or charging the charging port of the vehicle at a charging station, and undergoes a vehicle number recognition process to identify the vehicle number through the vehicle number identifier. Then, it is connected (communicated) with the POS system server 310 of a charging station through the machine body 200 so that payment according to the vehicle number can be made through the financial company server 400… the gas station POS system and the VAN/card request payment approval according to the method (debit card, credit card, zero pay, Kakao Pay, etc.) set in the optical code between the server (S210)… claim 1: payment information including vehicle fuel information, debit payment, card payment information, bank account number, account holder information, credit card number information… description paragraph: The lubricator (charger) main body 200 includes a communication module 210, a touch screen 220, a control panel 230 and a speaker 240, a card reader, a cash recognizer, and a receipt output device. It is connected to 100, and basically provides fuel for refueling or charging through payments by Fintech companies such as Zero Pay, Kakao Pay, and Samsung Pay, as well as cash, debit card, and credit card. With 220, it guides by text through the touch screen 220 to select injection or charging fuel selection, fueling amount or charging amount, and payment method, and guide by voice through speaker 240, and card reader or cash recognition. After refueling or charging is completed, a receipt is printed.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Vimberg to include electrical charge by the EV charging station using a credit card or a debit card via a point-of-sale (POS) terminal, wherein the POS terminal via a point-of-sale (POS) terminal, wherein the POS terminal of Han. Motivation to do so comes from the knowledge well known in the art that electrical charge by the EV charging station using a credit card or a debit card via a point-of-sale (POS) terminal, wherein the POS terminal via a point-of-sale (POS) terminal, wherein the POS terminal would provide a faster way for payment for charging a vehicle and therefore make the method/system efficient.
Vimberg does not teach determining, by an electric vehicle (EV) charging station controller, that a charging cable of an EV charging station is plugged into an EV, the EV charging station controller being configured to control an operation of the EV charging station; causing, by the EV charging station controller, the EV charging station to deactivate the delivery of electrical charge to the EV when the EV charging transaction is complete.
However Silorio teaches determining, by an electric vehicle (EV) charging station controller, that a charging cable of an EV charging station is plugged into an EV, the EV charging station controller being configured to control an operation of the EV charging station; (0028: the EV charging equipment may include one or more EVSE stations, with each station coupled to a plurality of charging heads plugged into the EVs, and the controller may direct charging current from each EVSE station to one of the charging heads of each EVSE station. In a further aspect, the EV charging equipment may include relays or multiplexers connected to a plurality of charging heads plugged into the EVs, and the controller may direct charging current from a power line through the relays or multiplexers to a subset of the EVs ), and (claim 14: The electric vehicle charging master controller of claim 1, wherein: the electric vehicle charging equipment includes EVSE stations coupled to a power source, wherein each EVSE station has a plurality of charging heads, wherein a first EVSE station of the EVSE stations is connected to the first electric vehicle through a first charging head; the charging interface module is configured to receive the first set of information from the instruction processing unit and transmit information to the first EVSE station designed to cause charging current to flow from the power source through the first EVSE station, through the first charging head, to the first electric vehicle.),causing, by the EV charging station controller, the EV charging station to deactivate the delivery of electrical charge to the EV when the EV charging transaction is complete; (0006: transmit information to the charging interface module, which is designed to cause the EV charging equipment to direct charging current to the plurality of EVs, one at a time. The instruction processing unit is also configured to transmit information to the charging interface module designed to cause the EV charging equipment to stop the charging current to each EV when a charging cessation criterion has been met. The charging cessation criterion may be one of a plurality of charging cessation criteria.), and (claim 14: the charging interface module is configured to receive the set of information from the instruction processing unit and transmit information to the EVSE station designed to stop the charging current to the first electric vehicle.), and (0046: A charging cessation criterion may be met according to any of the criteria disclosed in reference to FIG. 5. Furthermore, in this example, a charging cessation criterion for an EV having standard status may be met when the electric power rate is above the base rate, or above the threshold rate, for standard status EVs), and (0055: a charging cessation criterion is met, and the instruction processing unit 102 transmits a set of information to the charging interface module 108 to stop the charging current to EV 3.), (Examiners note: criteria can be when the vehicle is fully charged, the charging station stops charging).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Vimberg to include causing, by the EV charging station controller, the EV charging station to deactivate the delivery of electrical charge to the EV when the EV charging transaction is complete of Silorio. Motivation to do so comes from the knowledge well known in the art that causing, by the EV charging station controller, the EV charging station to deactivate the delivery of electrical charge to the EV when the EV charging transaction is complete would provide an automated system that would shuts off when the EV charging is complete and not overcharge the user and therefore make the method/system more accurate and user friendly.
As to Claim 4, Vimberg, Silorio, and Han teach the method of claim 1.
Vimberg further teaches wherein the initiating of the EV charging transaction comprises:receiving, at the EV charging station controller, the indication of approval of payment for delivery of electrical charge from the POS terminal; (0044: the credit card processing company 512 makes use (518) of the credit card network 514 to communicate further (518) to the card issuing bank 516 which approves the transaction (e.g., releasing a select amount of funds to compensate for the release of charge to the vehicle) based upon the user's funds with the card issuing bank. Upon receipt of the approval, module 502 automatically unlocks electricity and makes it available for charging 524 the electric vehicle 504.).
As to Claim 18, Vimberg teaches an electric vehicle (EV) charging station comprising:an EV charging station controller configured to control operation of the EV charging station;a database configured to store EV charging transaction information; (information stored in a database),a display module operably coupled to the EV charging station controller and configured to display multimedia content; (0064: user interface may facilitate display, execution, interaction, manipulation, or operation of program components through textual or graphical facilities, including but not limited to touch screens. For example, user interfaces may provide computer interaction interface elements on a display system operatively connected to the computer system, such as cursors, icons, check boxes, menus, scrollers, windows, widgets, etc. Graphical user interfaces (GUIs) may be employed, including, without limitation, Apple Macintosh operating systems' Aqua, IBM OS/2, Microsoft Windows (e.g., Aero, Metro, etc.), Unix X-Windows, web interface libraries (e.g., ActiveX, Java, Javascript, AJAX, HTML, Adobe Flash, etc.), or the like),),initiate an EV charging transaction upon receiving an indication of approval of payment for delivery of electrical charge by the EV charging station using the credit card or the debit card (0044: a user 500 initiates communication 508 with a module charging station 502. The communication, along with all subsequent communications detailed hereinbelow, may be established along lines set out above, may be wireless, via a keypad, card reader and the like, and may further be encrypted. Via such communication, user 500 sends a command instructing charging station 502 to release power to charge (524) electric vehicle 504. Concurrent with the command is user payment information for enabling delivery of power to the vehicle, the user payment information optionally provided with an additional consent requirement to the user, automatically with the communication of the commands and/or the like. The user payment information along with any required triggers for execution of same may be included within the digital key. The payment information may refer to an account, debit card, credit card and the like of the transaction pre-paid or post paid variety. The network 308, here acting as the payment gateway, sends (510) the secured user data to the credit card processing company 512 for approval. the credit card processing company 512 makes use (518) of the credit card network 514 to communicate further (518) to the card issuing bank 516 which approves the transaction (e.g., releasing a select amount of funds to compensate for the release of charge to the vehicle) based upon the user's funds with the card issuing bank. Upon receipt of the approval, module 502 automatically unlocks electricity and makes it available for charging 524 the electric vehicle 504.) via the POS terminal wherein the approval of the payment is provided at least in part by a financial services provider associated with the credit card or the debit card used for payment via the POS terminal; (0044: The payment information may refer to an account, debit card, credit card and the like of the transaction pre-paid or post paid variety. The network 308, here acting as the payment gateway, sends (510) the secured user data to the credit card processing company 512 for approval. the credit card processing company 512 makes use (518) of the credit card network 514 to communicate further (518) to the card issuing bank 516 which approves the transaction (e.g., releasing a select amount of funds to compensate for the release of charge to the vehicle) based upon the user's funds with the card issuing bank.),in response to receiving the indication of the approval of payment, authorize the delivery of electrical charge by the EV charging station (Fig. 5A 524, release power to charge (524) 0044: based on approval of the transaction), causing the EV charging station to activate delivery electrical charge to the EV; and 0044: The network 308, here acting as the payment gateway, sends (510) the secured user data to the credit card processing company 512 for approval. the credit card processing company 512 makes use (518) of the credit card network 514 to communicate further (518) to the card issuing bank 516 which approves the transaction (e.g., releasing a select amount of funds to compensate for the release of charge to the vehicle) based upon the user's funds with the card issuing bank. Upon receipt of the approval, module 502 automatically unlocks electricity and makes it available for charging 524 the electric vehicle 504.), and (0044: sends a command instructing charging station 502 to release power to charge (524) electric vehicle 504).
Vimberg does not explicitly teaches a point-of-sale (POS) terminal operably coupled to the EV charging station controller and configured to accept payment of a credit card or a debit card, wherein the EV charging station controller is further configured to: via the POS terminal.
However Han teaches a point-of-sale (POS) terminal operably coupled to the EV charging station controller and configured to accept payment of a credit card or a debit card, wherein the EV charging station controller is further configured to: (Description paragraph: The fueling gun (charging gun) 100 is for refueling or charging the charging port of the vehicle at a charging station, and undergoes a vehicle number recognition process to identify the vehicle number through the vehicle number identifier. Then, it is connected (communicated) with the POS system server 310 of a charging station through the machine body 200 so that payment according to the vehicle number can be made through the financial company server 400… the gas station POS system and the VAN/card request payment approval according to the method (debit card, credit card, zero pay, Kakao Pay, etc.) set in the optical code between the server (S210)… claim 1: payment information including vehicle fuel information, debit payment, card payment information, bank account number, account holder information, credit card number information… description paragraph: The lubricator (charger) main body 200 includes a communication module 210, a touch screen 220, a control panel 230 and a speaker 240, a card reader, a cash recognizer, and a receipt output device. It is connected to 100, and basically provides fuel for refueling or charging through payments by Fintech companies such as Zero Pay, Kakao Pay, and Samsung Pay, as well as cash, debit card, and credit card. With 220, it guides by text through the touch screen 220 to select injection or charging fuel selection, fueling amount or charging amount, and payment method, and guide by voice through speaker 240, and card reader or cash recognition. After refueling or charging is completed, a receipt is printed.),via the POS terminal (Description paragraph: The fueling gun (charging gun) 100 is for refueling or charging the charging port of the vehicle at a charging station, and undergoes a vehicle number recognition process to identify the vehicle number through the vehicle number identifier. Then, it is connected (communicated) with the POS system server 310 of a charging station through the machine body 200 so that payment according to the vehicle number can be made through the financial company server 400… the gas station POS system and the VAN/card request payment approval according to the method (debit card, credit card, zero pay, Kakao Pay, etc.) set in the optical code between the server (S210)… claim 1: payment information including vehicle fuel information, debit payment, card payment information, bank account number, account holder information, credit card number information… description paragraph: The lubricator (charger) main body 200 includes a communication module 210, a touch screen 220, a control panel 230 and a speaker 240, a card reader, a cash recognizer, and a receipt output device. It is connected to 100, and basically provides fuel for refueling or charging through payments by Fintech companies such as Zero Pay, Kakao Pay, and Samsung Pay, as well as cash, debit card, and credit card. With 220, it guides by text through the touch screen 220 to select injection or charging fuel selection, fueling amount or charging amount, and payment method, and guide by voice through speaker 240, and card reader or cash recognition. After refueling or charging is completed, a receipt is printed.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Vimberg to include electrical charge by the EV charging station using a credit card or a debit card via a point-of-sale (POS) terminal, wherein the POS terminal via a point-of-sale (POS) terminal, wherein the POS terminal of Han. Motivation to do so comes from the knowledge well known in the art that electrical charge by the EV charging station using a credit card or a debit card via a point-of-sale (POS) terminal, wherein the POS terminal via a point-of-sale (POS) terminal, wherein the POS terminal would provide a faster way for payment for charging a vehicle and therefore make the method/system efficient.
Vimberg does not teach one or more charging cables and one or more connectors corresponding to the one or more charging cables configured to deliver electrical charge; and
determine that a charging cable of the one or more charging cables is plugged into an EV;
cause the EV charging station to deactivate the delivery of electrical charge to the EV when the EV charging transaction is complete.
However Silorio teaches one or more charging cables and one or more connectors corresponding to the one or more charging cables configured to deliver electrical charge; and (0028: the EV charging equipment may include one or more EVSE stations, with each station coupled to a plurality of charging heads plugged into the EVs, and the controller may direct charging current from each EVSE station to one of the charging heads of each EVSE station. In a further aspect, the EV charging equipment may include relays or multiplexers connected to a plurality of charging heads plugged into the EVs, and the controller may direct charging current from a power line through the relays or multiplexers to a subset of the EVs ), and (claim 14: The electric vehicle charging master controller of claim 1, wherein: the electric vehicle charging equipment includes EVSE stations coupled to a power source, wherein each EVSE station has a plurality of charging heads, wherein a first EVSE station of the EVSE stations is connected to the first electric vehicle through a first charging head; the charging interface module is configured to receive the first set of information from the instruction processing unit and transmit information to the first EVSE station designed to cause charging current to flow from the power source through the first EVSE station, through the first charging head, to the first electric vehicle.),determine that a charging cable of the one or more charging cables is plugged into an EV; (0028: the EV charging equipment may include one or more EVSE stations, with each station coupled to a plurality of charging heads plugged into the EVs, and the controller may direct charging current from each EVSE station to one of the charging heads of each EVSE station. In a further aspect, the EV charging equipment may include relays or multiplexers connected to a plurality of charging heads plugged into the EVs, and the controller may direct charging current from a power line through the relays or multiplexers to a subset of the EVs ), and (claim 14: The electric vehicle charging master controller of claim 1, wherein: the electric vehicle charging equipment includes EVSE stations coupled to a power source, wherein each EVSE station has a plurality of charging heads, wherein a first EVSE station of the EVSE stations is connected to the first electric vehicle through a first charging head; the charging interface module is configured to receive the first set of information from the instruction processing unit and transmit information to the first EVSE station designed to cause charging current to flow from the power source through the first EVSE station, through the first charging head, to the first electric vehicle.),cause the EV charging station to deactivate the delivery of electrical charge to the EV when the EV charging transaction is complete; (0006: transmit information to the charging interface module, which is designed to cause the EV charging equipment to direct charging current to the plurality of EVs, one at a time. The instruction processing unit is also configured to transmit information to the charging interface module designed to cause the EV charging equipment to stop the charging current to each EV when a charging cessation criterion has been met. The charging cessation criterion may be one of a plurality of charging cessation criteria.), and (claim 14: the charging interface module is configured to receive the set of information from the instruction processing unit and transmit information to the EVSE station designed to stop the charging current to the first electric vehicle.), and (0046: A charging cessation criterion may be met according to any of the criteria disclosed in reference to FIG. 5. Furthermore, in this example, a charging cessation criterion for an EV having standard status may be met when the electric power rate is above the base rate, or above the threshold rate, for standard status EVs), and (0055: a charging cessation criterion is met, and the instruction processing unit 102 transmits a set of information to the charging interface module 108 to stop the charging current to EV 3.), (Examiners note: criteria can be when the vehicle is fully charged, the charging station stops charging).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Vimberg to include causing, by the EV charging station controller, the EV charging station to deactivate the delivery of electrical charge to the EV when the EV charging transaction is complete of Silorio. Motivation to do so comes from the knowledge well known in the art that causing, by the EV charging station controller, the EV charging station to deactivate the delivery of electrical charge to the EV when the EV charging transaction is complete would provide an automated system that would shuts off when the EV charging is complete and not overcharge the user and therefore make the method/system more accurate and user friendly.
As to Claim 19, Vimberg teaches a method comprising:initiating, by the EV charging station controller, an EV charging transaction upon receiving an indication of approval of payment for delivery of electrical charge by the EV charging station using a loyalty card, wherein the POS terminal is operably coupled to the EV charging station (0044: a user 500 initiates communication 508 with a module charging station 502. The communication, along with all subsequent communications detailed hereinbelow, may be established along lines set out above, may be wireless, via a keypad, card reader and the like, and may further be encrypted. Via such communication, user 500 sends a command instructing charging station 502 to release power to charge (524) electric vehicle 504. Concurrent with the command is user payment information for enabling delivery of power to the vehicle, the user payment information optionally provided with an additional consent requirement to the user, automatically with the communication of the commands and/or the like. The user payment information along with any required triggers for execution of same may be included within the digital key. The payment information may refer to an account, debit card, credit card and the like of the transaction pre-paid or post paid variety. The network 308, here acting as the payment gateway, sends (510) the secured user data to the credit card processing company 512 for approval. the credit card processing company 512 makes use (518) of the credit card network 514 to communicate further (518) to the card issuing bank 516 which approves the transaction (e.g., releasing a select amount of funds to compensate for the release of charge to the vehicle) based upon the user's funds with the card issuing bank. Upon receipt of the approval, module 502 automatically unlocks electricity and makes it available for charging 524 the electric vehicle 504.), wherein the loyalty card is associated with customer payment information locally stored in a database of the EV charging station, and wherein the approval of the payment is performed by the EV charging station based on the locally stored customer payment information; (0044: The payment information may refer to an account, debit card, credit card and the like of the transaction pre-paid or post paid variety. The network 308, here acting as the payment gateway, sends (510) the secured user data to the credit card processing company 512 for approval. the credit card processing company 512 makes use (518) of the credit card network 514 to communicate further (518) to the card issuing bank 516 which approves the transaction (e.g., releasing a select amount of funds to compensate for the release of charge to the vehicle) based upon the user's funds with the card issuing bank.), in response to receiving the indication of the approval of payment, authorizing, by the EV charging station controller (Fig. 5A 524, release power to charge (524) 0044: based on approval of the transaction), the delivery of electrical charge by the EV charging station (0044: The network 308, here acting as the payment gateway, sends (510) the secured user data to the credit card processing company 512 for approval. the credit card processing company 512 makes use (518) of the credit card network 514 to communicate further (518) to the card issuing bank 516 which approves the transaction (e.g., releasing a select amount of funds to compensate for the release of charge to the vehicle) based upon the user's funds with the card issuing bank. Upon receipt of the approval, module 502 automatically unlocks electricity and makes it available for charging 524 the electric vehicle 504.), causing the EV charging station to activate delivery electrical charge to the EV; and (0044: sends a command instructing charging station 502 to release power to charge (524) electric vehicle 504).
Vimberg does not explicitly teaches electrical charge by the EV charging station using a credit card or a debit card via a point-of-sale (POS) terminal, wherein the POS terminal via a point-of-sale (POS) terminal, wherein the POS terminal.
However Han teaches electrical charge by the EV charging station using a credit card or a debit card via a point-of-sale (POS) terminal, wherein the POS terminal via a point-of-sale (POS) terminal, wherein the POS terminal (Description paragraph: The fueling gun (charging gun) 100 is for refueling or charging the charging port of the vehicle at a charging station, and undergoes a vehicle number recognition process to identify the vehicle number through the vehicle number identifier. Then, it is connected (communicated) with the POS system server 310 of a charging station through the machine body 200 so that payment according to the vehicle number can be made through the financial company server 400… the gas station POS system and the VAN/card request payment approval according to the method (debit card, credit card, zero pay, Kakao Pay, etc.) set in the optical code between the server (S210)… claim 1: payment information including vehicle fuel information, debit payment, card payment information, bank account number, account holder information, credit card number information… description paragraph: The lubricator (charger) main body 200 includes a communication module 210, a touch screen 220, a control panel 230 and a speaker 240, a card reader, a cash recognizer, and a receipt output device. It is connected to 100, and basically provides fuel for refueling or charging through payments by Fintech companies such as Zero Pay, Kakao Pay, and Samsung Pay, as well as cash, debit card, and credit card. With 220, it guides by text through the touch screen 220 to select injection or charging fuel selection, fueling amount or charging amount, and payment method, and guide by voice through speaker 240, and card reader or cash recognition. After refueling or charging is completed, a receipt is printed.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Vimberg to include electrical charge by the EV charging station using a credit card or a debit card via a point-of-sale (POS) terminal, wherein the POS terminal via a point-of-sale (POS) terminal, wherein the POS terminal of Han. Motivation to do so comes from the knowledge well known in the art that electrical charge by the EV charging station using a credit card or a debit card via a point-of-sale (POS) terminal, wherein the POS terminal via a point-of-sale (POS) terminal, wherein the POS terminal would provide a faster way for payment for charging a vehicle and therefore make the method/system efficient.
Vimberg does not teach determining, by an electric vehicle (EV) charging station controller, that a charging cable of an EV charging station is plugged into an EV, the EV charging station controller being configured to control an operation of the EV charging station;
causing, by the EV charging station controller, the EV charging station to deactivate the delivery of electrical charge to the EV when the EV charging transaction is complete.
However Silorio teaches determining, by an electric vehicle (EV) charging station controller, that a charging cable of an EV charging station is plugged into an EV, the EV charging station controller being configured to control an operation of the EV charging station; (0028: the EV charging equipment may include one or more EVSE stations, with each station coupled to a plurality of charging heads plugged into the EVs, and the controller may direct charging current from each EVSE station to one of the charging heads of each EVSE station. In a further aspect, the EV charging equipment may include relays or multiplexers connected to a plurality of charging heads plugged into the EVs, and the controller may direct charging current from a power line through the relays or multiplexers to a subset of the EVs ), and (claim 14: The electric vehicle charging master controller of claim 1, wherein: the electric vehicle charging equipment includes EVSE stations coupled to a power source, wherein each EVSE station has a plurality of charging heads, wherein a first EVSE station of the EVSE stations is connected to the first electric vehicle through a first charging head; the charging interface module is configured to receive the first set of information from the instruction processing unit and transmit information to the first EVSE station designed to cause charging current to flow from the power source through the first EVSE station, through the first charging head, to the first electric vehicle.),causing, by the EV charging station controller, the EV charging station to deactivate the delivery of electrical charge to the EV when the EV charging transaction is complete; (0006: transmit information to the charging interface module, which is designed to cause the EV charging equipment to direct charging current to the plurality of EVs, one at a time. The instruction processing unit is also configured to transmit information to the charging interface module designed to cause the EV charging equipment to stop the charging current to each EV when a charging cessation criterion has been met. The charging cessation criterion may be one of a plurality of charging cessation criteria.), and (claim 14: the charging interface module is configured to receive the set of information from the instruction processing unit and transmit information to the EVSE station designed to stop the charging current to the first electric vehicle.), and (0046: A charging cessation criterion may be met according to any of the criteria disclosed in reference to FIG. 5. Furthermore, in this example, a charging cessation criterion for an EV having standard status may be met when the electric power rate is above the base rate, or above the threshold rate, for standard status EVs), and (0055: a charging cessation criterion is met, and the instruction processing unit 102 transmits a set of information to the charging interface module 108 to stop the charging current to EV 3.), (Examiners note: criteria can be when the vehicle is fully charged, the charging station stops charging).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Vimberg to include causing, by the EV charging station controller, the EV charging station to deactivate the delivery of electrical charge to the EV when the EV charging transaction is complete of Silorio. Motivation to do so comes from the knowledge well known in the art that causing, by the EV charging station controller, the EV charging station to deactivate the delivery of electrical charge to the EV when the EV charging transaction is complete would provide an automated system that would shuts off when the EV charging is complete and not overcharge the user and therefore make the method/system more accurate and user friendly.
B. Claim(s) 2, and 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Vimberg, (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 20220366408) in view of Silorio et al., (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 20230264591) in view of Han, (Foreign Application No. KR20200112599A) in view of Hou et al., (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 20230382257).
As to Claim 2, Vimberg, Silorio, and Han teach the method of claim 1.
Vimberg, Silorio, and Han do not teach wherein the EV charging station controller is further configured to control the operation of the EV charging station via an EV charging station application programming interface (API) platform.
However Hou teaches wherein the EV charging station controller is further configured to control the operation of the EV charging station via an EV charging station application programming interface (API) platform; (0027: the identity authentication and/or payment mechanism may be performed by the E-mobility service provider. In some embodiments, the user of the electric vehicle can use his/her mobile device to download and install an application to generate a charging request through the user interface of the application. In some embodiments, the user can scan a Quick Response Code (QR code) on the electric vehicle charging station through the scanning function of the application to generate the above-mentioned charging request, thereby starting a charging operation. In some embodiments, the user can select a specific charging station through the application and execute an activation function to generate the above-mentioned charging request, thereby starting a charging operation. It is understood that, in some embodiments, the owner of the electric vehicle can use an RFID card to approach an induction area (not shown in FIG. 1) on the electric vehicle charging station to generate a corresponding charging request, and send it to the manager server via the network. It is reminded that, in some embodiments, each user (the owner of the electric vehicle) can have an RFID card. It is noted that, in some embodiments, the owner of the electric vehicle may be a member of the E-mobility service provider and wish to query the charging station operators and their electric vehicle charging stations for roaming charging through the interface provided by the E-mobility service provider).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Vimberg, Silorio, and Han to include wherein the EV charging station controller is further configured to control the operation of the EV charging station via an EV charging station application programming interface (API) platform of Hou. Motivation to do so comes from the knowledge well known in the art that wherein the EV charging station controller is further configured to control the operation of the EV charging station via an EV charging station application programming interface (API) platform would provide the user with a simple way to control the charging process therefore make the method/system more accurate and user friendly.
As to Claim 3, Vimberg, Silorio, Han, and Hou teach the method of claim 2.
Vimberg further teaches sending, by the EV charging station controller and to the EV charging station API platform, one or more control commands for controlling the operation of the EV charging station via an EV charger API, wherein the EV charging station API platform provides control commands corresponding to the one or more control commands to the EV charging station, such that the EV charging station controller controls the operation of the EV charging station; (0044: The communication, along with all subsequent communications detailed hereinbelow, may be established along lines set out above, may be wireless, via a keypad, card reader and the like, and may further be encrypted. Via such communication, sends a command instructing charging station 502 to release power to charge (524) electric vehicle 504.).
C. Claim(s) 5, and 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Vimberg, (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 20220366408) in view of Silorio et al., (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 20230264591) in view of Han, (Foreign Application No. KR20200112599A) in view of Chen et al., (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 20130214738).
As to Claim 5, Vimberg, Silorio, and Han teach the method of claim 1.
Vimberg, Silorio, and Han do not teach wherein the EV charging station controller is configured to communicate with the POS terminal via a POS terminal plugin that is programmed to communicate using a protocol utilized by the POS terminal.
However Chen teaches wherein the EV charging station controller is configured to communicate with the POS terminal via a POS terminal plugin that is programmed to communicate using a protocol utilized by the POS terminal; (0092: using the internal protocol to communicate by the EV charger 30 (FIG. 4) is shown in FIG. 8. This communication process illustrates how an electric vehicle 40 (FIG. 4) which follows CHAdeMo protocol exchanges data with the power converter 32' (FIG. 4) in the charging stage. At S301, the BMS 41 sends a charging level requirement and battery status to the data transmission device 31, the charging level requirement is in 102H (DB2, 3, 4) (not shown), and the battery status is in 109H (DB7, 8). At S302, the data transmission device 31 (specifically the protocol transformation module 312 (FIG. 4)) converts this message into the CCR and CCS message of the internal protocol, according to the protocol-relation table (Table 5). At S303, the data transmission device 31 sends the CCR and CCS (which carry the charging level requirement and the battery status) to the system controller 321. At S304, after receiving the charging level requirement and the battery status information, the system controller 321 outputs power (the system controller 321 controls the power module 322 (FIG. 4) to carry out this function) according to the charging level requirement. At S305, the system controller 321 sends the output status of the power converter 32' (FIG. 4) to the data transmission device 31 (through the POS message). At S306, the data transmission device 31 (specifically the protocol transformation module 312 (FIG. 4)) converts the POS message into 109H (DB2, 3, 4), according to the protocol-relation table. At S307, the data transmission device 31 sends this message to the BMS 41.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Vimberg, Silorio, and Han to include wherein the EV charging station controller is configured to communicate with the POS terminal via a POS terminal plugin that is programmed to communicate using a protocol utilized by the POS terminal of Chen. Motivation to do so comes from the knowledge well known in the art that wherein the EV charging station controller is configured to communicate with the POS terminal via a POS terminal plugin that is programmed to communicate using a protocol utilized by the POS terminal would provide a protocol that the system would use for communication that would make the system faster and therefore make the method/system more efficient.
As to Claim 6, Vimberg, Silorio, Han, and Chen teach the method of claim 5.
Vimberg further teaches upon authorizing the delivery of electrical charge, sending, by the EV charging station controller and to the POS terminal plugin, a notification indicating that electrical charge is being delivered to the EV by the EV charging station; (0044: a user 500 initiates communication 508 with a module charging station 502. The communication, along with all subsequent communications detailed hereinbelow, may be established along lines set out above, may be wireless, via a keypad, card reader and the like, and may further be encrypted. Via such communication, user 500 sends a command instructing charging station 502 to release power to charge (524) electric vehicle 504. Concurrent with the command is user payment information for enabling delivery of power to the vehicle, the user payment information optionally provided with an additional consent requirement to the user, automatically with the communication of the commands and/or the like. The user payment information along with any required triggers for execution of same may be included within the digital key. The payment information may refer to an account, debit card, credit card and the like of the transaction pre-paid or post paid variety. The network 308, here acting as the payment gateway, sends (510) the secured user data to the credit card processing company 512 for approval. the credit card processing company 512 makes use (518) of the credit card network 514 to communicate further (518) to the card issuing bank 516 which approves the transaction (e.g., releasing a select amount of funds to compensate for the release of charge to the vehicle) based upon the user's funds with the card issuing bank. Upon receipt of the approval, module 502 automatically unlocks electricity and makes it available for charging 524 the electric vehicle 504.).
D. Claim(s) 7, 8, and 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Vimberg, (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 20220366408) in view of Silorio et al., (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 20230264591) in view of Han, (Foreign Application No. KR20200112599A) in view of Chen et al., (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 20130214738) in view of Ruan et al., (Foreign Application No. CN217821731U).
As to Claim 7, Vimberg, Silorio, Han, and Chen teach the method of claim 5.
Vimberg, Silorio, Han, and Chen do not teach upon causing the EV charging station to deactivate the delivery of electrical charge, sending, by the EV charging station controller and to the POS terminal plugin, a notification indicating that the delivery of electrical charge to the EV by the EV charging station is finished.
However Ruan teaches upon causing the EV charging station to deactivate the delivery of electrical charge, sending, by the EV charging station controller and to the POS terminal plugin, a notification indicating that the delivery of electrical charge to the EV by the EV charging station is finished; (description paragraph: determine whether the vehicle is finished charging, when the vehicle finishes charging, cloud 410 sends the message to the payment terminal 300).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Vimberg, Silorio, Han, and Chen to include upon causing the EV charging station to deactivate the delivery of electrical charge, sending, by the EV charging station controller and to the POS terminal plugin, a notification indicating that the delivery of electrical charge to the EV by the EV charging station is finished of Ruan. Motivation to do so comes from the knowledge well known in the art that upon causing the EV charging station to deactivate the delivery of electrical charge, sending, by the EV charging station controller and to the POS terminal plugin, a notification indicating that the delivery of electrical charge to the EV by the EV charging station is finished would notify the user that the charge is complete and ready to go and would help make the process faster and therefore make the method/system more efficient.
As to Claim 8, Vimberg, Silorio, Han, and Chen teach the method of claim 5.
Vimberg, Silorio, Han, and Chen do not teach upon causing the EV charging station to deactivate the delivery of electrical charge, sending, by the EV charging station controller and to the POS terminal plugin, data relating to the EV charging transaction indicative of the electrical charge delivered and payment information.
However Ruan teaches upon causing the EV charging station to deactivate the delivery of electrical charge, sending, by the EV charging station controller and to the POS terminal plugin, data relating to the EV charging transaction indicative of the electrical charge delivered and payment information; (description paragraph: determines that the current electric quantity of the battery is equal to the preset electric quantity threshold value, the management terminal 400 sends the stop charging instruction to the charging device 200 to stop charging the vehicle.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Vimberg, Silorio, Han, and Chen to include upon causing the EV charging station to deactivate the delivery of electrical charge, sending, by the EV charging station controller and to the POS terminal plugin, data relating to the EV charging transaction indicative of the electrical charge delivered and payment information of Ruan. Motivation to do so comes from the knowledge well known in the art that upon causing the EV charging station to deactivate the delivery of electrical charge, sending, by the EV charging station controller and to the POS terminal plugin, data relating to the EV charging transaction indicative of the electrical charge delivered and payment information would notify the user that the charge is complete and ready to go and would help make the process faster and therefore make the method/system more efficient.
As to Claim 9, Vimberg, Silorio, Han, and Chen teach the method of claim 8.
Vimberg further teaches wherein the POS terminal plugin is configured to finalize the EV charging transaction with the financial services provider using the payment information; (0044: a user 500 initiates communication 508 with a module charging station 502. The communication, along with all subsequent communications detailed hereinbelow, may be established along lines set out above, may be wireless, via a keypad, card reader and the like, and may further be encrypted. Via such communication, user 500 sends a command instructing charging station 502 to release power to charge (524) electric vehicle 504. Concurrent with the command is user payment information for enabling delivery of power to the vehicle, the user payment information optionally provided with an additional consent requirement to the user, automatically with the communication of the commands and/or the like. The user payment information along with any required triggers for execution of same may be included within the digital key. The payment information may refer to an account, debit card, credit card and the like of the transaction pre-paid or post paid variety. The network 308, here acting as the payment gateway, sends (510) the secured user data to the credit card processing company 512 for approval. the credit card processing company 512 makes use (518) of the credit card network 514 to communicate further (518) to the card issuing bank 516 which approves the transaction (e.g., releasing a select amount of funds to compensate for the release of charge to the vehicle) based upon the user's funds with the card issuing bank. Upon receipt of the approval, module 502 automatically unlocks electricity and makes it available for charging 524 the electric vehicle 504.).
E. Claim(s) 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Vimberg, (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 20220366408) in view of Silorio et al., (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 20230264591) in view of Han, (Foreign Application No. KR20200112599A) in view of Chen et al., (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 20130214738) in view of Ruan et al., (Foreign Application No. CN217821731U).
As to Claim 10, Vimberg, Silorio, Han, Chen, and Ruan teach the method of claim 9.
Han further teaches receiving, at the EV charging station controller, a notification that the EV charging transaction has been finalized from the POS terminal plugin; (Description paragraph: it is connected (communicated) with the POS system server 310 of a charging station through the machine body 200 so that payment according to the vehicle number can be made through the financial company server 400… the gas station POS system and the VAN/card request payment approval according to the method (debit card, credit card, zero pay, Kakao Pay, etc.) set in the optical code between the server (S210)… claim 1: payment information including vehicle fuel information, debit payment, card payment information, bank account number, account holder information, credit card number information… description paragraph: The lubricator (charger) main body 200 includes a communication module 210, a touch screen 220, a control panel 230 and a speaker 240, a card reader, a cash recognizer, and a receipt output device. It is connected to 100, and basically provides fuel for refueling or charging through payments by Fintech companies such as Zero Pay, Kakao Pay, and Samsung Pay, as well as cash, debit card, and credit card. With 220, it guides by text through the touch screen 220 to select injection or charging fuel selection, fueling amount or charging amount, and payment method, and guide by voice through speaker 240, and card reader or cash recognition. After refueling or charging is completed, a receipt is printed.).
F. Claim(s) 11-14, and 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Vimberg, (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 20220366408) in view of Silorio et al., (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 20230264591) in view of Han, (Foreign Application No. KR20200112599A) in view of Chen et al., (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 20130214738).
As to Claim 11, Vimberg, Silorio, and Han teach the method of claim 1.
Vimberg, Silorio, and Han do not teach wherein the EV charging station controller is configured to communicate with the EV charging station via an EV charging station API platform that is programmed to communicate using a protocol utilized by the EV charging station.
However Chen teaches wherein the EV charging station controller is configured to communicate with the EV charging station via an EV charging station API platform that is programmed to communicate using a protocol utilized by the EV charging station; (0092: using the internal protocol to communicate by the EV charger 30 (FIG. 4) is shown in FIG. 8. This communication process illustrates how an electric vehicle 40 (FIG. 4) which follows CHAdeMo protocol exchanges data with the power converter 32' (FIG. 4) in the charging stage. At S301, the BMS 41 sends a charging level requirement and battery status to the data transmission device 31, the charging level requirement is in 102H (DB2, 3, 4) (not shown), and the battery status is in 109H (DB7, 8). At S302, the data transmission device 31 (specifically the protocol transformation module 312 (FIG. 4)) converts this message into the CCR and CCS message of the internal protocol, according to the protocol-relation table (Table 5). At S303, the data transmission device 31 sends the CCR and CCS (which carry the charging level requirement and the battery status) to the system controller 321. At S304, after receiving the charging level requirement and the battery status information, the system controller 321 outputs power (the system controller 321 controls the power module 322 (FIG. 4) to carry out this function) according to the charging level requirement. At S305, the system controller 321 sends the output status of the power converter 32' (FIG. 4) to the data transmission device 31 (through the POS message). At S306, the data transmission device 31 (specifically the protocol transformation module 312 (FIG. 4)) converts the POS message into 109H (DB2, 3, 4), according to the protocol-relation table. At S307, the data transmission device 31 sends this message to the BMS 41.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Vimberg, Silorio, and Han to include wherein the EV charging station controller is configured to communicate with the EV charging station via an EV charging station API platform that is programmed to communicate using a protocol utilized by the EV charging station of Chen. Motivation to do so comes from the knowledge well known in the art that wherein the EV charging station controller is configured to communicate with the EV charging station via an EV charging station API platform that is programmed to communicate using a protocol utilized by the EV charging station would provide a protocol that the system would use for communication that would make the system faster and therefore make the method/system more efficient.
As to Claim 12, Vimberg, Silorio, Han, and Chen teach the method of claim 11.
Chen further teaches wherein the authorizing of the delivery of electrical charge comprises: transmitting, by the EV charging station controller and to the EV charging station, an authorization command via the EV charging station API platform, wherein the authorization command comprises information indicative of vehicle identification, state-of-charge data, and payment credentials; (Description paragraph: The fueling gun (charging gun) 100 is for refueling or charging the charging port of the vehicle at a charging station, and undergoes a vehicle number recognition process to identify the vehicle number through the vehicle number identifier. Then, it is connected (communicated) with the POS system server 310 of a charging station through the machine body 200 so that payment according to the vehicle number can be made through the financial company server 400… the gas station POS system and the VAN/card request payment approval according to the method (debit card, credit card, zero pay, Kakao Pay, etc.) set in the optical code between the server (S210)… claim 1: payment information including vehicle fuel information, debit payment, card payment information, bank account number, account holder information, credit card number information… description paragraph: The lubricator (charger) main body 200 includes a communication module 210, a touch screen 220, a control panel 230 and a speaker 240, a card reader, a cash recognizer, and a receipt output device. It is connected to 100, and basically provides fuel for refueling or charging through payments by Fintech companies such as Zero Pay, Kakao Pay, and Samsung Pay, as well as cash, debit card, and credit card. With 220, it guides by text through the touch screen 220 to select injection or charging fuel selection, fueling amount or charging amount, and payment method, and guide by voice through speaker 240, and card reader or cash recognition. After refueling or charging is completed, a receipt is printed.).
As to Claim 13, Vimberg, Silorio, Han, and Chen teach the method of claim 11.
Vimberg further teaches receiving, at the EV charging station controller and from the EV charging station, a notification that the EV charging station is delivering electrical charge to the EV via the EV charging station API platform; (0044: a user 500 initiates communication 508 with a module charging station 502. The communication, along with all subsequent communications detailed hereinbelow, may be established along lines set out above, may be wireless, via a keypad, card reader and the like, and may further be encrypted. Via such communication, user 500 sends a command instructing charging station 502 to release power to charge (524) electric vehicle 504. Concurrent with the command is user payment information for enabling delivery of power to the vehicle, the user payment information optionally provided with an additional consent requirement to the user, automatically with the communication of the commands and/or the like. The user payment information along with any required triggers for execution of same may be included within the digital key. The payment information may refer to an account, debit card, credit card and the like of the transaction pre-paid or post paid variety. The network 308, here acting as the payment gateway, sends (510) the secured user data to the credit card processing company 512 for approval. the credit card processing company 512 makes use (518) of the credit card network 514 to communicate further (518) to the card issuing bank 516 which approves the transaction (e.g., releasing a select amount of funds to compensate for the release of charge to the vehicle) based upon the user's funds with the card issuing bank. Upon receipt of the approval, module 502 automatically unlocks electricity and makes it available for charging 524 the electric vehicle 504.).
As to Claim 14, Vimberg, Silorio, Han, and Chen teach the method of claim 11.
Vimberg further teaches monitoring, by the EV charging station controller, the EV charging transaction based on real-time updates regarding the delivery of electrical charge to the EV by the EV charging station received from the EV charging station API platform; (0044: a user 500 initiates communication 508 with a module charging station 502. The communication, along with all subsequent communications detailed hereinbelow, may be established along lines set out above, may be wireless, via a keypad, card reader and the like, and may further be encrypted. Via such communication, user 500 sends a command instructing charging station 502 to release power to charge (524) electric vehicle 504. Concurrent with the command is user payment information for enabling delivery of power to the vehicle, the user payment information optionally provided with an additional consent requirement to the user, automatically with the communication of the commands and/or the like. The user payment information along with any required triggers for execution of same may be included within the digital key. The payment information may refer to an account, debit card, credit card and the like of the transaction pre-paid or post paid variety. The network 308, here acting as the payment gateway, sends (510) the secured user data to the credit card processing company 512 for approval. the credit card processing company 512 makes use (518) of the credit card network 514 to communicate further (518) to the card issuing bank 516 which approves the transaction (e.g., releasing a select amount of funds to compensate for the release of charge to the vehicle) based upon the user's funds with the card issuing bank. Upon receipt of the approval, module 502 automatically unlocks electricity and makes it available for charging 524 the electric vehicle 504.).
As to Claim 16, Vimberg, Silorio, and Han teach the method of claim 1.
Vimberg, Silorio, and Han do not teach wherein the EV charging station controller is configured to communicate with the EV charging station and the EV via a standardized communication protocol.
However Chen teaches wherein the EV charging station controller is configured to communicate with the EV charging station and the EV via a standardized communication protocol; (0092: using the internal protocol to communicate by the EV charger 30 (FIG. 4) is shown in FIG. 8. This communication process illustrates how an electric vehicle 40 (FIG. 4) which follows CHAdeMo protocol exchanges data with the power converter 32' (FIG. 4) in the charging stage. At S301, the BMS 41 sends a charging level requirement and battery status to the data transmission device 31, the charging level requirement is in 102H (DB2, 3, 4) (not shown), and the battery status is in 109H (DB7, 8). At S302, the data transmission device 31 (specifically the protocol transformation module 312 (FIG. 4)) converts this message into the CCR and CCS message of the internal protocol, according to the protocol-relation table (Table 5). At S303, the data transmission device 31 sends the CCR and CCS (which carry the charging level requirement and the battery status) to the system controller 321. At S304, after receiving the charging level requirement and the battery status information, the system controller 321 outputs power (the system controller 321 controls the power module 322 (FIG. 4) to carry out this function) according to the charging level requirement. At S305, the system controller 321 sends the output status of the power converter 32' (FIG. 4) to the data transmission device 31 (through the POS message). At S306, the data transmission device 31 (specifically the protocol transformation module 312 (FIG. 4)) converts the POS message into 109H (DB2, 3, 4), according to the protocol-relation table. At S307, the data transmission device 31 sends this message to the BMS 41.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Vimberg, Silorio, and Han to include wherein the EV charging station controller is configured to communicate with the EV charging station and the EV via a standardized communication protocol of Chen. Motivation to do so comes from the knowledge well known in the art that wherein the EV charging station controller is configured to communicate with the EV charging station and the EV via a standardized communication protocol would provide a protocol that the system would use for communication that would make the system faster and therefore make the method/system more efficient.
G. Claim(s) 15 and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Vimberg, (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 20220366408) in view of Silorio et al., (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 20230264591) in view of Han, (Foreign Application No. KR20200112599A) in view of Chen et al., (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 20130214738) in view of Lotfy, (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 20190217737).
As to Claim 15, Vimberg, Silorio, Han, and Chen teach the method of claim 14.
Vimberg, Silorio, Han, and Chen do not teach causing, by the EV charging station controller, information regarding the EV charging transaction to be displayed via a display module operatively coupled to the EV charging station based on the real-time updates received from the EV charging station API platform.
However Lotfy teaches causing, by the EV charging station controller, information regarding the EV charging transaction to be displayed via a display module operatively coupled to the EV charging station based on the real-time updates received from the EV charging station API platform; (0082: For example, if all the robotic chargers are in-use (e.g., charging other EVs), the control station can select and schedule a charger to perform the charging function based on a first-come first-serve basis. The control station can inform the EV driver of the schedule and update the EV driver of the charge status of the vehicle, for example, through a display on a kiosk, or remotely, through an SMS message or a phone… (Examiner notes: updating the charching status in realtime is well known in the art that the charging station provides status in real time.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Vimberg, Silorio, Han, and Chen to include causing, by the EV charging station controller, information regarding the EV charging transaction to be displayed via a display module operatively coupled to the EV charging station based on the real-time updates received from the EV charging station API platform of Lotfy. Motivation to do so comes from the knowledge well known in the art that causing, by the EV charging station controller, information regarding the EV charging transaction to be displayed via a display module operatively coupled to the EV charging station based on the real-time updates received from the EV charging station API platform would provide the user with a display with information being displayed based on the charging status and charging charges and that therefore make the method/system user friendly.
As to Claim 17, Vimberg, Silorio, Han, and Chen teach the method of claim 16.
Vimberg, Silorio, Han, and Chen do not teach establishing, by the EV charging station controller and via the standardized communication protocol, a charging and discharging schedule for the EV and the EV charging station, causing energy flow parameters to be securely exchanged between the EV and the EV charging station, wherein the EV charging station delivers electrical charge to the EV during one or more charging periods of the charging and discharging schedule, and the EV returns electrical charge to the grid during one or more discharging periods of the charging and discharging schedule.
However Lotfy teaches establishing, by the EV charging station controller and via the standardized communication protocol, a charging and discharging schedule for the EV and the EV charging station, causing energy flow parameters to be securely exchanged between the EV and the EV charging station, wherein the EV charging station delivers electrical charge to the EV during one or more charging periods of the charging and discharging schedule, and the EV returns electrical charge to the grid during one or more discharging periods of the charging and discharging schedule; (0082-0085).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Vimberg, Silorio, Han, and Chen to include establishing, by the EV charging station controller and via the standardized communication protocol, a charging and discharging schedule for the EV and the EV charging station, causing energy flow parameters to be securely exchanged between the EV and the EV charging station, wherein the EV charging station delivers electrical charge to the EV during one or more charging periods of the charging and discharging schedule, and the EV returns electrical charge to the grid during one or more discharging periods of the charging and discharging schedule of Lotfy. Motivation to do so comes from the knowledge well known in the art that establishing, by the EV charging station controller and via the standardized communication protocol, a charging and discharging schedule for the EV and the EV charging station, causing energy flow parameters to be securely exchanged between the EV and the EV charging station, wherein the EV charging station delivers electrical charge to the EV during one or more charging periods of the charging and discharging schedule, and the EV returns electrical charge to the grid during one or more discharging periods of the charging and discharging schedule would give the user accesses to control the charging time of the EV and therefore make the method/system user friendly.
NPL Reference
5. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. The NPL “What is plug-and-charge?” describes “Any electric vehicle owner can tell you all the ways in which EVs are preferable to gas-powered cars, but there’s no denying that navigating the various requirements of different charging stations can be a headache. Gas stations have the advantage of a uniform experience: swipe your card, select your grade, pump your gas, and go. EV owners deal with a much more complicated system of fobs, app logins, and individual accounts tied to specific charging stations. In fact, it’s so inconvenient that most EV owners still charge their vehicles at home. Enter plug-and-charge, a new technology that promises to simplify payment processing, charging station compatibility, and the user experience overall. It’s an innovation we’re honestly excited about, and ChargeLab is working hard to deliver it for all our drivers.”.
Pertinent Art
6. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Reference#WO2014066429A1 teaches similar invention which describes In yet other embodiments, a first kiosk is configured to receive the sensor data from a charge station sensor node associated with an electric charge station used by electric vehicles. The first kiosk can be configured to use to the sensor data associated with the charge station sensor node to generate an electric charge service which allows a user to purchase charge time at the electric charge station. In addition, a first kiosk can be configured to receive the sensor data from a bike sharing sensor node associated with a bike sharing station. The first kiosk can be configured to use the sensor data associated with the bike sharing sensor node to generate a bike sharing service which allows a user to obtain access to a bike from the bike sharing station. The types and number of sensors in each local sensor network can vary. For example, kiosk 150a can be configured to receive sensor data from parking and traffic sensors while kiosk 150c can be configured to receive sensor data from a car charge station, a bike share station, street lights and waste receptacles. The number of sensors and the types of sensors from which a kiosk receives data can change over time. For example, at a first time, kiosk 150a may only receive data from parking sensors. Later a car share/car charge station can be installed near the kiosk 150a and then the kiosk 150a can be configured to receive sensor data from the car share/car charge station.
Conclusion
/TAREK ELCHANTI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3621B