DETAILED ACTION
This is a first office action in response to Application No. 19/090,139 originally filed on 03/25/2025, in which claims 1 - 20 are presented for examination.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
5. Claims 1 - 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Liu “US 2016/0078846”.
Re-claim 1, Liu teaches an electronic device (fig. 1; 10 and par. [0013]) comprising:
at least one processor (fig. 1; 100) comprising processing circuitry;
a display panel; (figs. 1 & 2; 300)
display driver circuitry (figs. 1 & 2; 100 and 200) including memory; (fig. 1; 220)
a first path (figs. 1 & 2; 150) connecting the at least one processor (fig. 1; 100) to the touch circuitry; (figs. 1 & 2; 300 and par. [0019] the display panel 300 may further have touch driving and sensing electrodes) and
a second path (fig. 1 and par. [0037] the display controller 140 adjusts a clock rate of a clock used for transmitting image data over the interface 150) connecting the display driver circuitry (fig. 1; 100 and 200) to the touch circuitry, (figs. 1 & 2; 300)
wherein the display driver circuitry (fig. 1; 100 and 200) is configured to:
based on a refresh rate lower than a reference refresh rate, display, via the display panel, an image; (par. [0041])
receive, through the second path, (fig. 1 and par. [0037] the display controller 140 adjusts a clock rate of a clock used for transmitting image data over the interface 150) from the touch circuitry, (figs. 1 & 2; 300) a signal transmitted through the first path (figs. 1 & 2; 150) to the at least one processor, (fig. 1; 100) the signal indicating a contact on the image displayed on the display panel; (par. [0045] a touch sensing circuit 130 that is inside the processor 100 or externally coupled to the processor 100 could lead to a touch event. When an object or a user's finger is brought in proximity of the display panel 300 is detected, the touch event occurs.) and
in response to the signal, refrain from, within a reference time interval from a reception timing of the signal, a re-displaying of the image executed by scanning the image stored in the memory based on the refresh rate. (par. [0022])
Re-claim 2, Liu teaches wherein the display driver circuitry (fig. 1; 100 and 200) is configured to refrain from executing the re-displaying by deferring the re-displaying of the image from being within the reference time interval. (par. [0022])
Re-claim 3, Liu teaches wherein the display driver circuitry is configured to:
in response to the signal, identify whether another image obtained in accordance with the contact is received within the reference time interval from the at least one processor; (par. [0019-0021 see also par 0045])
in response to the other image being received within the reference time interval, display, on the display panel, the other image, and cancel executing of the re-displaying; (par. [0020-0021]) and
in response to the other image not being received within the reference time interval, execute the re-displaying from another start timing which is out of the reference time interval. (par. [0021-0025] see also par 0045)
Re-claim 4, Liu teaches further comprising:
memory comprising one or more storage media storing instructions, (par. [0056])
wherein the instructions, when executed by the at least one processor (fig. 1; 100) individually or collectively, cause the electronic device (fig. 1; 10) to:
receive, through the first path, (figs. 1 & 2; 150) from the touch circuitry, (figs. 1 & 2; 300 and par. [0019] the display panel 300 may further have touch driving and sensing electrodes) the signal;
receive data, transmitted through the first path (figs. 1 & 2; 150) from the touch circuitry (figs. 1 & 2; 300 and par. [0019] the display panel 300 may further have touch driving and sensing electrodes) after the signal is transmitted, indicating an area on which the contact is located; (figs. 1-3 and pars. [0023] and [0027])
based on the signal and the data, obtain the other image; and
transmit, to the display driver circuitry, (fig. 1; 100 and 200) the other image within the reference time interval. (par. [0019 see also par 0045])
Re-claim 5, Liu teaches wherein the display driver circuitry (fig. 1; 100 and 200) is configured to receive the signal from among the data and the signal. (figs. 1 - 3 and pars. [0028] and [0031])
Re-claim 6, Liu teaches wherein the display driver circuitry (fig. 1; 100 and 200) is further configured to:
receive, through the second path, (fig. 1 and par. [0037] the display controller 140 adjusts a clock rate of a clock used for transmitting image data over the interface 150) from the touch circuitry, (figs. 1 & 2; 300 and par. [0019] the display panel 300 may further have touch driving and sensing electrodes) within the reference time interval, another signal, transmitted through the first path (figs. 1 & 2; 150) to the at least one processor, (fig. 1; 100) indicating a release of the contact; (par. [0025]) and
in response to the other signal, refrain from executing the re-displaying by cancelling to execute the re-displaying. (par. [0022 see also par 0045])
Re-claim 7, Liu teaches wherein the display driver circuitry (fig. 1; 100 and 200) is further configured to:
receive, through the second path, (fig. 1 and par. [0037] the display controller 140 adjusts a clock rate of a clock used for transmitting image data over the interface 150) from the touch circuitry, (figs. 1 & 2; 300 and par. [0019] the display panel 300 may further have touch driving and sensing electrodes) within the reference time interval, another signal, transmitted through the first path (figs. 1 & 2; 150) to the at least one processor, (fig. 1; 100) indicating a movement of the contact maintained on the image; (par. [0043]) and
in response to the other signal, refrain from executing the re-displaying by cancelling to execute the re-displaying. (par. [0022 see also par 0045])
Re-claim 8, Liu teaches wherein the display driver circuitry (fig. 1; 100 and 200) is further configured to:
based on a control command, obtained from the at least one processor (fig. 1; 100 and 200) based on the refresh rate before the image is received from the at least one processor, store the image in the memory. (fig. 1 and pars. [0020], [0023] and [0025])
Re-claim 9, Liu teaches wherein the display driver circuitry (fig. 1; 100 and 200) is further configured to:
in response to the signal, change a state of an indication signal, provided from the display driver circuitry (fig. 1; 100 and 200) to the at least one processor, (fig. 1; 100) indicating whether an image transmission from the at least one processor to the display driver circuitry is enabled from a second state to a first state, wherein the first state indicates enabling the image transmission, and wherein the second state indicates disabling the image transmission. (par. [0042])
Re-claim 10, Liu teaches wherein: based at least in part on another refresh rate higher than or equal to the reference refresh rate, the memory is disabled; and based on the refresh rate lower than the reference refresh rate, the memory is enabled. (fig. 2 and pars. [0027] and [0042])
Re-claim 11, Liu teaches an electronic device (fig. 1; 10 and par. [0013]) comprising:
at least one processor (fig. 1; 100) comprising processing circuitry;
touch circuitry; (figs. 1 & 2; 300 and par. [0019] the display panel 300 may further have touch driving and sensing electrodes)
a display panel; (figs. 1 & 2; 300)
display driver circuitry (fig. 1; 100 and 200) including memory; (fig. 1; 220)
a first path (figs. 1 & 2; 150) connecting the at least one processor (fig. 1; 100) to the touch circuitry; (figs. 1 & 2; 300) and
a second path (fig. 1 and par. [0037] the display controller 140 adjusts a clock rate of a clock used for transmitting image data over the interface 150) connecting the display driver circuitry (fig. 1; 100 and 200) to the touch circuitry, (figs. 1 & 2; 300)
wherein the display driver circuitry (fig. 1; 100 and 200) is configured to:
based on a refresh rate lower than a reference refresh rate, display, on the display panel, an image; (par. [0041])
receive, through the second path, from the touch circuitry, a signal transmitted through the first path to the at least one processor, the signal indicating a contact on the image displayed on the display panel; (par. [0045] a touch sensing circuit 130 that is inside the processor 100 or externally coupled to the processor 100 could lead to a touch event. When an object or a user's finger is brought in proximity of the display panel 300 is detected, the touch event occurs.)
in response to the signal, identify a start timing of a re-displaying of the image to be executed by scanning the image stored in the memory based on the refresh rate; (par. [0022])
based on the start timing being within a reference time interval from a reception timing of the signal, execute the re-displaying from the start timing; (par. [0031]) and
based on the start timing being out of the reference time interval, refrain from executing the re-displaying. (par. [0034])
Re-claim 12, Liu teaches wherein the display driver circuitry (fig. 1; 100 and 200) is configured to:
based on the start timing being out of the reference time interval, refrain from executing the re-displaying by adjusting a start timing of the re-displaying. (pars. [0020] – [0022] and [0024])
Re-claim 13 - 20, are rejected as applied to claims 3 - 10 above because the scope and contents of the recited limitations are substantially the same.
Contact Information
6. Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to Sosina Abebe whose telephone number is (571) 270-7929. The examiner can normally be reached on Mon-Friday from 9:00-5:30 If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner's Supervisor, Temesghen Ghebretinsae can be reached on (571) 272-3017. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 703-872-9306. Information regarding the status of an application may be obtained from the Patent Application Information Retrieval (PAIR) system. Status information for published applications may be obtained from either Private PAIR or Public PAIR. Status information for unpublished applications is available through Private PAIR only. For more information about the PAIR system, see http://pair-direct.uspto.gov. Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free).
/S.A/Examiner, Art Unit 2626
/TEMESGHEN GHEBRETINSAE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2626 1/13/26B