DETAILED ACTION
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2-7, 15, and 18-20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 8-9, 13, and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Suh et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2018/0103431, hereinafter “Suh”) in view of Stanciu et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2017/0338942, hereinafter “Stanciu”).
Claims 1 and 16:
Suh discloses a wireless communication device communicating in a wireless network, comprising:
a Radio Frequency (RF) receiver (Fig. 1, Element 108);
a processor, communicatively coupled to the RF receiver (Fig. 1, Element 104 is a station (also referred to as an electronic device) that comprises at least a processor to function as disclosed); and
one or more memory banks, communicatively coupled to the processor and storing processor readable codes that, when executed by the processor (Fig. 1, Element 104 is a station (also referred to as an electronic device) that comprises at least a memory storing computer code to function as disclosed), are configured for:
configuring the wireless communication device to receive a wireless signal according to a current operating bandwidth and a primary channel index (§ 0049, Lines 1-2; The wake-up signal 152 is communicated using a single carrier (SC)) (§ 0053, Lines 4-9; A single-carrier channel 300 in frequency and time domain is illustrated in Fig. 3. Channel bandwidth (BW) is equal to B. For a single carrier, the pulse or symbol period T must be at least 1/(2*B) in order to avoid inter symbol interference (ISI));
generating at least a centred kernel from at least a stored correlator according to the current operating bandwidth (§ 0068, Lines 2-4 and 10-15; A suitable sequence for the WUR-Reference Signal 252 includes the Golay sequences specified in Std 802.11ad-2012. In example embodiments, four repetitions of the 32-bit (or 64-bit) Golay sequence specified in the Std 802.11ad-2012 are used as WUR-Reference Signal 252);
correlating at least a portion of the received wireless signal with one or a combination of the generated centred and non-centred kernels to determine a packet detection result (§ 0089, Lines 5-9 and 14-19; The in-phase and quadrature-phase sequences are subjected to respective correlator operations 1014r, 1014i, where they are each compared against a reference signal (e.g., a copy of the original Golay sequence). The detected peaks correspond to a match between the received signal and the reference signal and when the number of detected peaks reaches a predetermined quantity threshold, the decision operation 1015 determines that a new packet has been detected); and
processing the received wireless signal according to the packet detection result (§ 0089, Lines 22-25; Following a Decision operation 1015 indicating a packet detection, WUR circuit 108 begins to process the trailing spread spectrum sequence portion 268-SS using the operations shown in Fig. 9).
Suh does not appear to disclose generating non-centred kernels from the centred kernel by frequency shifting according to the current operating bandwidth and the primary channel index.
Stanciu discloses generating non-centred kernels from the centred kernel by frequency shifting (§ 0042, Lines 7-10; The reference sequence generator 135 may also generate several frequency shifted sequences similar to the reference signal to use during preamble detection. These signals may be sent to the correlator 120) according to the current operating bandwidth and the primary channel index (§ 0036, Lines 1-3; The receiver apparatus 100 includes a first antenna input 102 and second antenna input 104 to receiver an incoming signal).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Suh’s reference signal by frequency shifting it, as taught by Stanciu, in order to increase a probability of preamble detection (Stanciu, § 0032, Lines 1-3).
The method of claim 1 is implemented by the device of claim 16 and is therefore rejected with the same rationale.
Claim 8:
Suh in view of Stanciu further discloses sampling the received wireless signal at the current operating bandwidth to generate samples of in-phase (I) and quadrature phase (Q) for packet detection (Suh, § 0089, Lines 1-5; The carrier frequency modulated received signal is down converted and separated into base band in-phase and quadrature-phase sequences).
Claim 9:
Suh in view of Stanciu further discloses wherein correlating at least a portion of the received wireless signal comprises cross correlating the samples of in-phase and quadrature phase with one or more of the generated centered and non-centred kernels according to the current operating bandwidth (Suh, § 0089, Lines 5-9; The in-phase and quadrature-phase sequences are subjected to respective correlator operations 1014r, 1014i, where they are each compared against a reference signal (e.g., a copy of the original Golay sequence)).
Claim 13:
Suh in view of Stanciu further discloses wherein the stored correlator is a quantized centred kernel (Suh, § 0083, Lines 4-9; A series of operations 912 that include analog-to-digital conversion (ADC), automatic gain control (AGC), and digital down conversion (DDC) are then applied to the IF signal to output baseband in-phase (real) and quadrature-phase (imaginary) sequences, which infers that the reference signal to which the baseband in-phase (real) and quadrature-phase (imaginary) sequences are compared is in the digital domain or quantized).
Claim(s) 10-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Suh et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2018/0103431, hereinafter “Suh”) in view of Stanciu et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2017/0338942, hereinafter “Stanciu”); further in view of Kenney et al. (U.S. Patent No. 11683751, hereinafter “Kenney”).
Claim 10:
Suh in view of Stanciu discloses the method as recited in claim 1.
Suh in view of Stanciu does not appear to disclose wherein the portion of the wireless signal comprises a Short Training Field (STF) of a Physical layer (PHY) preamble.
Kenney discloses wherein the portion of the wireless signal comprises a Short Training Field (STF) of a Physical layer (PHY) preamble (Figs. 1A-B illustrates physical layer protocol data units 1060 and 1080 that includes STF 1064).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Suh and Stanciu’s wireless signal with Kenney’s preamble to train antenna for one stream operation (Kenney, Column 2, Lines 48-50).
Claim 11:
Suh in view of Stanciu and further in view of Kenney further discloses wherein processing the received wireless signal comprises performing a Long Training Field (LTF) search when the packet detection result indicates the STF is successfully detected (Kenney, Column 2, Lines 51-54; The signal field may be followed by additional LTFs to accommodate additional multiple input, multiple output streams).
Claim(s) 12 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Suh et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2018/0103431, hereinafter “Suh”) in view of Stanciu et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2017/0338942, hereinafter “Stanciu”); further in view of Pu (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2015/0282055, hereinafter “Pu”).
Claim 12:
Suh in view of Stanciu discloses the method as recited in claim 1.
Suh in view of Stanciu does not appear to disclose wherein generating at least a centred kernel comprises downsampling or decimating the stored correlator.
Pu discloses wherein generating at least a centred kernel comprises downsampling or decimating the stored correlator (§ 0017, Lines 4-6; Decimating the signal (correlator) to generate a down-sampled signal have a second data rate).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Suh and Stanciu’s generating of the centred kernel by decimating the correlator, as taught by Pu, in order to achieve a pre-defined accuracy of the method, e.g., 1x oversampling (Pu, § 0017, Lines 11-12).
Claim 17:
Suh in view of Stanciu discloses the device as recited in claim 16.
Suh in view of Stanciu does not appear to disclose wherein the processor is configured for generating one or more centred kernels by downsampling one or more stored correlators.
Pu discloses wherein generating at least a centred kernel comprises downsampling or decimating the stored correlator (§ 0017, Lines 4-6; Decimating the signal (correlator) to generate a down-sampled signal have a second data rate).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Suh and Stanciu’s generating of the centred kernel by decimating the correlator, as taught by Pu, in order to achieve a pre-defined accuracy of the method, e.g., 1x oversampling (Pu, § 0017, Lines 11-12).
Claim(s) 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Suh et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2018/0103431, hereinafter “Suh”) in view of Stanciu et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2017/0338942, hereinafter “Stanciu”); further in view of Giallorenzi et al. (U.S. Patent No. 8175134, hereinafter “Giallorenzi”).
Claim 14:
Suh in view of Stanciu discloses the method as recited in claim 1.
Suh in view of Stanciu does not appear to disclose wherein generating non-centred kernels from the centred kernel by frequency shifting is implemented by a Look Up Table (LUT) and a counter.
Giallorenzi discloses generating non-centred kernels from the centred kernel by frequency shifting is implemented by a Look Up Table (LUT) and a counter (Column 6, Lines 51-54 and 57-60; A pseudo noise generator can be used to generate a sequence of pseudo random numbers which are used either directly or indirectly (e.g., as indices into a lookup table). The pseudo random sequence can be used indirectly, for example, to access a lookup table defining particular frequency hop or frequency chirp to generate in the reference signal generator 120).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Suh and Stanciu’s generating of the non-centred kernels by integrating the use of Giallorenzi’s frequency hopping and lookup table in order to increase the probability of packet detection (i.e., to cast a wider net in packet detection).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2018/0014216 (Banerjea et al.) – Perform packet detection based on a training field and an identifier associated with a wireless device.
U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2018/0152334 (Thiagarajan et al.) – Standard sequences such as Golay sequences have good autocorrelation properties in bit form, but the autocorrelation properties are lost when the bit sequences are baseband modulated. The disclosed invention reduces the time needed for synchronization and the baseband demodulator operates only when a relevant packet is identified.
U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2018/0376370 (Shellhammer et al.) – Preamble detector performs a cross-correlation of a received sequence of samples from a signal received via one or more antennas to a reference signal for preamble detection.
U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2022/0329376 (Kim et al.) – Channel estimation by cross-correlating one-dimensional vector of a received signal with a reference signal.
U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2024/0214958 (Mohammed) – Process wireless signals with adaptive frequency shift correction.
/NAM T TRAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2455