DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS), submitted on 8/25/2025, is being considered by the examiner.
Double Patenting
Claims 21 and 29 of the instant application are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over related claims of the U.S. Patent 12,261,998 B2. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the instant claims are broader than the claims in the US Patent 12,261,998 B2.
Table 1: Comparison of claims in the instant Application 19/090312 vs. the U.S. Patent 12,261,998 B2.
Instant Application 19/090312
U.S. Patent 12,261,998 B2
21. A semiconductor device comprising:circuitry configured to:perform a decoding of at least a portion of video data, the decoding comprising:calculating a reference block bounding box size for a prediction unit of the video data based on control point motion vectors received for the prediction unit, the prediction unit being divided into subblocks;setting a bounding box size threshold to a first value in response to the prediction unit being coded using a unidirectional prediction mode and setting the bounding box size threshold to a second value in response to the prediction unit being coded using a bidirectional prediction mode;determining if the reference block bounding box size exceeds the bounding box size threshold;in response to a determination that the reference block bounding box size does not exceed the bounding box size threshold, generating a respective motion vector for each subblock of the prediction unit;in response to a determination that the reference block bounding box size exceeds the bounding box size threshold, generating a common motion vector for all subblocks of the prediction unit; and providing the respective motion vectors or the common motion vector for performing motion compensation on the prediction unit.
1. A semiconductor device comprising:
circuitry configured to:
perform an encoding or a decoding of at least a portion of video data, the encoding or the decoding comprising:
calculating at least one reference bounding box size for a prediction unit of the video data based on control point motion vectors received for the prediction unit, the prediction unit being divided into subblocks;
setting a bounding box size threshold to a first value in response to the prediction unit using unidirectional prediction and setting the bounding box size threshold to a second value in response to the prediction unit
using bidirectional prediction, wherein the first value is different than the second value;
determining if the at least one reference bounding box size exceeds the bounding box size threshold;
in response to a determination that the at least one reference bounding box size does not exceed the bounding box size threshold, computing first subblock vectors for performing motion compensation on the prediction unit for subblocks having a first subblock size; and
in response to a determination that the reference bounding box size exceeds the bounding box size threshold, computing second subblock vectors for performing the motion compensation on the prediction unit for subblocks having a second subblock size different from the first subblock size; and
computing third sub block vectors for deriving a merge list and an advanced motion vector prediction list, wherein the third sub block vectors are based on a fixed sub block size and are computed differently than the first and second subblock vectors.
Zhou (U.S. Patent 12,261,998 B2) further discloses claim limitation as follow:
providing the respective motion vectors or the common motion vector for performing motion compensation on the prediction unit. “The generated sub-block vectors are passed to the motion compensation and the rest of the decoder processing” (Zhou: col. 8, line 65-67)
29. A non-transitory, computer-readable storage medium storing instructions that, when executed by one or more processors, control the one or more processors to perform a method of video decoding comprising:
calculating a reference block bounding box size for a prediction unit of the video data based on control point motion vectors received for the prediction unit, the prediction unit being divided into subblocks;setting a bounding box size threshold to a first value;determining if the reference block bounding box size exceeds the bounding box size threshold;in response to a determination that the reference block bounding box size does not exceed the bounding box size threshold, generating a respective motion vector for each subblock of the prediction unit;in response to a determination that the reference block bounding box size exceeds the bounding box size threshold,
generating a common motion vector for all subblocks of the prediction unit; andproviding the respective motion vectors or the common motion vector for performing motion compensation on the prediction unit.
13. A non-transitory machine-readable medium comprising instructions that, when executed by one or more processors, cause the one or more processors to perform operations comprising:
performing an encoding or a decoding of at least a portion of video data, the encoding or the decoding comprising:
calculating at least one reference bounding box size for a prediction unit of the video data based on control point motion vectors received for the prediction unit, the prediction unit being divided into subblocks;
setting a bounding box size threshold to a first value in response to the prediction unit using unidirectional prediction and setting the bounding box size threshold to a second value in response to the prediction unit using bidirectional prediction, wherein the first value is different than the second value;
determining if the at least one reference bounding box size exceeds the bounding box size threshold;
in response to a determination that the at least one reference bounding box size does not exceed the bounding box size threshold, computing first subblock vectors for performing motion compensation on the prediction unit; and
in response to a determination that the reference bounding box size exceeds the bounding box size threshold,
computing second subblock vectors for performing the motion compensation on the prediction unit; and
computing third sub block vectors for deriving a merge list and an advanced motion vector prediction list, wherein
the third subblock vectors are based on a fixed sub block size and are computed differently than the first and second subblock vectors.
Zhou (U.S. Patent 12,261,998 B2) further discloses claim limitation as follow:
providing the respective motion vectors or the common motion vector for performing motion compensation on the prediction unit. “The generated sub-block vectors are passed to the motion compensation and the rest of the decoder processing” (Zhou: col. 8, line 65-67)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 21-25, and 28-40 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zou (US Patent 10,560,712 B2), (“Zou”), in view of Swayn et al. (US Patent 9,355,293 B2), (“Swayn”).
Regarding claim 21, Zou meets the claim limitations as follow.
A semiconductor device (i.e. The video devices may transmit, receive, encode, decode, and/or store digital video information more efficiently by implementing such video coding techniques) [Zou: col. 1, line 24-27; Fig. 1] comprising: circuitry configured to (i.e. one or more processors) [Zou: col. 2, line 24-25]: perform (i.e. perform) [Zou: col. 4, line 2] a decoding of at least a portion of video data (i.e. decoding a block of video data) [Zou: col. 2, line 54-55], the decoding comprising (i.e. a device for decoding a block of video data) [Zou: col. 2, line 54-55; Fig. 1]: calculating (i.e. video encoder 20 may calculate values) [Zou: col. 16, line 67] a reference bounding box size for a prediction unit of the video data ((i.e. The size of the block could be specified by the width and height of the current block separately or jointly. For example, the size can be represented by the value of width*height) [Zou: col. 24, line 13-16]) based on control point motion vectors received for the prediction unit (i.e. the value for each CPMV of a current block is derived individually, based on the value of a MV of a block that neighbors the corresponding control point and a MVD. The value of the MV that a CPMV is determined based on may be referred to as a control point motion vector predictor (CPMVP). As one example, the value of the top-left CPMV of a current block may be derived based on a MV of one of a left block, an above-left block, or an above
neighboring block adjacent to the top-left point of the current block and a MVD. As another example, the value of the top-right CPMV of a current block may be derived based on a MV of one of an above-right block or an above neighboring block adjacent to the top-right point of the current block and a MVD) [Zou: col. 6, line 4-18], the prediction unit being divided into subblocks (i.e. Moreover, partition unit 48 may partition blocks of video data into sub-blocks ) [Zou: col. 16, line 35-36]; setting a bounding box size threshold to a first value ((i.e. In some examples, one or more of the above-described syntax elements (i.e. the current block size and a block size threshold may be used to differentiate different contexts) [Zou: col. 24, line 8-10]; (i.e. The threshold may be block size dependent or width/height dependent. The techniques can be applied to both affine merge mode and affine inter mode, or only applied in one of them, e.g., affine merge mode.) [Zou: col. 26, line 47-51]) in response to the prediction unit being coded (i.e. signaled prediction mode (intra- or inter-prediction) to form a predicted block) [Zou: col. 15, line 26-27] using a the prediction unit uses unidirectional prediction (i.e. Inter-modes, such as uni-directional prediction (P mode)) [Zou: col. 15, line 67 – col. 16, line 1] and setting the bounding box size threshold to a second value ((i.e. In some examples, one or more of the above-described syntax elements (i.e. the current block size and a block size threshold may be used to differentiate different contexts) [Zou: col. 24, line 8-10] ; (i.e. The threshold may be block size dependent or width/height dependent. The techniques can be applied to both affine merge mode and affine inter mode, or only applied in one of them, e.g., affine merge mode.) [Zou: col. 26, line 47-51]) in response to the prediction unit being coded (i.e. signaled prediction mode (intra- or inter-prediction) to form a predicted block) [Zou: col. 15, line 26-27] using the prediction unit uses bidirectional prediction (i.e. Here, forward and backward prediction directions are two prediction directions of a bi-directional prediction mode) [Zou: col. 13, line 32-33],
determining if the at least one reference bounding box size (i.e. video coder may determine values) [Zou: col. 6, line 36] exceeds the bounding box size threshold; in response to a determination that (i.e. the system may then determine) [Zou: col. 74, line 13] the reference bounding box size does not exceed the bounding box size threshold (i.e. the affine parameter (four-parameter or six-parameter) flag and/or the enabling syntax element) may be coded using CABAC context model depending on the current block size and a block size threshold may be used to differentiate different contexts. For instance, context 0 is used for block size equal or smaller than 16x16) [Zou: col. 24, line 5-11], generating a respective motion vector for each subblock of the prediction unit ((i.e. deriving, by the one or more processors and from the values of the motion vectors of the affine motion model of the neighboring block of video data, values of predictors for motion vectors of an affine motion model of the current block of video data) [Zou: col. 2, line 20-24] ; (i.e. To reduce the motion compensation complexity, one motion vector can be used for each sub-block KxK, where K is an integer equal to or larger than 1. The representative motion vector can be calculated using the top-left pixel position within the KxK sub-block, or using the center position of the KxK sub-block. The size K can be signaled explicitly, or set as a default value, or calculated on the fly based on whether the group of pixel share the same motion vector) [Zou: col. 28, line 37-44]); and in response to a determination that (i.e. the system may then determine) [Zou: col. 74, line 13] the reference bounding box size exceeds the bounding box size threshold ((i.e. In some examples, one or more of the above-described syntax elements (i.e., the affine parameter (four-parameter or six-parameter) flag and/or the enabling syntax element) may be coded using CABAC context model depending on the current block size and a block size threshold may be used to differentiate different contexts) [Zou: col. 24, line 5-10]; (i.e. context 1 is used for block size larger than 16x16) [Zou: col. 24, line 12]; (i.e. In one example, when the width is larger than or equal to (or just larger than) height or the ration of width and height is greater than a threshold, the pair of MV0 and MV1 may be used, otherwise the pair of MV0 and MV2 may be used. The threshold may be block size dependent or width/height dependent) [Zou: col. 26, line 43-48])), generating a common motion vector for all subblocks of the prediction unit ((i.e. deriving, by the one or more processors and from the values of the motion vectors of the affine motion model of the neighboring block of video data, values of predictors for motion vectors of an affine motion model of the current block of video data) [Zou: col. 2, line 20-24] ; (i.e. To reduce the motion compensation complexity, one motion vector can be used for each sub-block KxK, where K is an integer equal to or larger than 1. The representative motion vector can be calculated using the top-left pixel position within the KxK sub-block, or using the center position of the KxK sub-block. The size K can be signaled explicitly, or set as a default value, or calculated on the fly based on whether the group of pixel share the same motion vector) [Zou: col. 28, line 37-44]); and
providing the respective motion vectors or the common motion vector (i.e. Mode select unit 40 also provides syntax elements, such as motion vectors) [Zou: col, 16, line 49-50] for performing motion compensation on the prediction unit ((i.e. Video encoder 20 and video decoder 30 may be configured to perform motion compensation using affine motion models. For instance, as opposed to only using a translational motion model with a single two-dimensional motion vector (i.e., as in HEVC), video encoder 20 and video decoder 30 may utilize an affine motion model that includes multiple motion vectors.) [Zou: col. 14, line 13-19]; (i.e. performing affine motion compensation by a video encoder (e.g., during a video encoding process), in accordance with one or more techniques of this disclosure) [Zou: col. 4, line 29-31; Figs. 13, 14]; (i.e. To reduce the motion compensation complexity, one motion vector can be used for each sub-block KxK, where K is an integer equal to or larger than 1. The representative motion vector can be calculated using the top-left pixel position within the KxK sub-block, or using the center position of the KxK sub-block. The size K can be signaled explicitly, or set as a default value, or calculated on the fly based on whether the group of pixel share the same motion vector) [Zou: col. 28, line 37-44]).
Zou does not explicitly disclose the following claim limitations (Emphasis added).
bounding box size.
However, in the same field of endeavor Swayn further discloses the claim limitations and the deficient claim limitations, as follows:
bounding box size (i.e. bounding box size) [Swayn: col 44, line 6]
setting a bounding box size threshold to a first value ((i.e. the threshold thrfinal) [Swayn: col 37, line 52] ; (i.e. a threshold is calculated by the processor 3305 from a neighborhood of tiles surrounding the subject pixel. In essence, a sliding window of tiles is formed around each subject pixel to be binarized. As an example, the sliding window has a width, widthwindow = 5, and a height, heightwindow = 2) [Swayn: col. 36, line 19-21; Fig. 38])
if the at least one reference bounding box size exceeds the bounding box size threshold ((i.e. if the threshold exceeds this range, then the closest in-range value is used instead) [Swayn: col 37, line 48 – 49] ; (i.e. If the similarity score is greater than the threshold value, then the candidate feature is output as a detection result) [Swayn: col 51, line 23 – 25].
It would have been obvious to one with an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Zou with Swayn to program the system to implement the bounding box for the reference block in the affine motion compensation.
Therefore, the combination of Zou with Swayn will enable for the system to find an optimal searching path for the candidate block [Swayn: col 5, line 35-38] in order to improve coding efficiency when using the affine motion compensation [Zou: col. 6, line 44-54].
Regarding claims 22 and 30, Zou meets the claim limitations as set forth in claims 21 and 29. Zou further meets the claim limitations as follow.
wherein calculating the reference block bounding box size comprises ((i.e. video encoder 20 may calculate values) [Zou: col. 16, line 67]; (i.e. The size of the block could be specified by the width and height of the current block separately or jointly. For example, the size can be represented by the value of width*height) [Zou: col 24, line 13-16]):determining (i.e. Motion compensation unit 72 determines prediction information for a video block) [Zou: col. 19, line 39-40] a plurality of motion model parameters from the control point motion vectors ((i.e. The reconstructed video block may be used by motion estimation unit 42 and motion compensation unit 44 as a reference block to inter-code a block in a subsequent video frame) [Zou: col. 18, line 61-63]; (i.e. the affine parameters of the x and y components) [Zou: col. 7, line 15-16]); deriving a plurality of subblock motion vectors based on the plurality of motion model parameters (i.e. deriving, by the one or more processors and from the values of the motion vectors of the affine motion model of the neighboring block of video data, values of predictors for motion vectors of an affine motion model of the current block of video data) [Zou: col 2, line 20-24];determining coordinates for opposite corners of a reference block bounding box based on the plurality of subblock motion vectors (i.e. The motion vectors in an affine motion model may be referred to as control point motion vectors (CPMVs) and may be referenced to a location (i.e., a control point) on the current block. For instance, a two-dimensional motion vector that indicates a displacement between a top-left corner of a current block and a top-left corner of the corresponding predictor block may be referred to as the top-left CPMV of the current block) [Zou: col 5, line 51-58; Figs. 4A-12B]; andcalculating the reference block bounding box size using the determined coordinates ((i.e. In some examples, one or more of the above-described syntax elements (i.e. the current block size and a block size threshold may be used to differentiate different contexts) [Zou: col. 24, line 8-10]; (i.e. The threshold may be block size dependent or width/height dependent. The techniques can be applied to both affine merge mode and affine inter mode, or only applied in one of them, e.g., affine merge mode.) [Zou: col. 26, line 47-51]; (i.e. a threshold is calculated by the processor 3305 from a neighborhood of tiles surrounding the subject pixel. In essence, a sliding window of tiles is formed around each subject pixel to be binarized. As an example, the sliding window has a width, widthwindow = 5, and a height, heightwindow = 2) [Swayn: col. 36, line 19-21; Fig. 38]).
Zou does not explicitly disclose the following claim limitations (Emphasis added).
bounding box size.
However, in the same field of endeavor Swayn further discloses the claim limitations and the deficient claim limitations, as follows:
bounding box size (i.e. bounding box size) [Swayn: col 44, line 6]
determining coordinates for opposite corners of a reference block bounding box based on the plurality of subblock motion vectors ((i.e. Each candidate feature in the group is assigned an assumed position in the candidate region. This
means that each group of three candidate features will be selected three times at this step, each time with a different arrangement of assumed positions. These candidate features are hereon referred to as CFtl, CFtr and CFbl. These correspond to candidate features in the top-left, top-right and bottom- left corners respectively) [Swayn: col 46, line 58-65]; (i.e. the top-left 1103 and bottom-right 1104 corners) [Swayn: col 17, line 37-38]).
It would have been obvious to one with an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Zou with Swayn to program the system to implement the bounding box for the reference block in the affine motion compensation.
Therefore, the combination of Zou with Swayn will enable for the system to find an optimal searching path for the candidate block [Swayn: col 5, line 35-38] in order to improve coding efficiency when using the affine motion compensation [Zou: col. 6, line 44-54].
Regarding claims 23 and 40, Zou meets the claim limitations as set forth in claims 22 and 35. Zou further meets the claim limitations as follow.
wherein the plurality of motion model parameters comprises six motion model parameters (i.e. the affine parameter (four-parameter or six-parameter) flag and/or the enabling syntax element) may be coded using CABAC context model depending on the current block size and a block size threshold may be used to differentiate different contexts. For instance, context 0 is used for block size equal or smaller than 16x16) [Zou: col. 24, line 5-11].
Regarding claim 24, Zou meets the claim limitations as set forth in claim 21. Zou further meets the claim limitations as follow.
wherein the plurality of motion model parameters comprises four motion model parameters (i.e. the affine parameter (four-parameter or six-parameter) flag and/or the enabling syntax element) may be coded using CABAC context model depending on the current block size and a block size threshold may be used to differentiate different contexts. For instance, context 0 is used for block size equal or smaller than 16x16) [Zou: col. 24, line 5-11].
Regarding claims 25, 32, and 36, Zou meets the claim limitations as set forth in claims 21, 31 and 35. Zou further meets the claim limitations as follow.
wherein the first value of the bounding box size threshold is different from the second value of the bounding box size threshold (i.e. In one example, when the width is larger than or equal to (or just larger than) height or the ration of width and height is greater than a threshold, the pair of MV0 and MV1 may be used, otherwise the pair of MV0 and MV2 may be used. The threshold may be block size dependent or width/height dependent) [Zou: col. 26, line 43-48] – Note: Zou discloses several options for the bounding box size thresholds. Hence Zou discloses the claim limitation).
Regarding claims 28 and 31, Zou meets the claim limitations as set forth in claims 21 and 30. Zou further meets the claim limitations as follow.
calculating (i.e. calculate) [Zou: col 12, line 18] a reference bounding box size (i.e. The size of the block could be specified by the width and height of the current block separately or jointly. For example, the size can be represented by the value of width*height) [Zou: col 24, line 13-16] comprises calculating (i.e. calculate) [Zou: col 12, line 18] a first reference bounding box size (i.e. The size of the block could be specified by the width and height of the current block separately or jointly. For example, the size can be represented by the value of width*height) [Zou: col 24, line 13-16] based on the plurality of subblock motion vectors being arranged in a first orientation relative to each other (i.e. A set of motion information contains motion information for forward and backward prediction directions. Here, forward and backward prediction directions are two prediction directions of a bi-directional prediction mode and the terms "forward" and "backward" do not necessarily have a geometry meaning; instead they correspond to reference picture list 0 (RefPicList0) and reference picture list 1 (RefPicList1) of a current picture. When only one reference picture list is available for a picture or slice, only RefPicList0 is available and the motion information of each block of a slice is always forward. For each prediction direction, the motion information must contain a reference index and a motion vector. In some cases, for simplicity, a motion vector itself may be referred in a way that it is assumed that it has an associated reference index. A reference index is used to identify a reference picture in the current reference picture list (RefPicList0 or RefPicList1). A motion vector has a horizontal and a vertical component) [Zou: col. 13, line 30-48], and a second reference block bounding box size (i.e. The size of the block could be specified by the width and height of the current block separately or jointly. For example, the size can be represented by the value of width*height) [Zou: col 24, line 13-16] based on the plurality of subblock motion vectors being arranged in a second orientation relative to each other (i.e. A set of motion information contains motion information for forward and backward prediction directions. Here, forward and backward prediction directions are two prediction directions of a bi-directional prediction mode and the terms "forward" and "backward" do not necessarily have a geometry meaning; instead they correspond to reference picture list 0 (RefPicList0) and reference picture list 1 (RefPicList1) of a current picture. When only one reference picture list is available for a picture or slice, only RefPicList0 is available and the motion information of each block of a slice is always forward. For each prediction direction, the motion information must contain a reference index and a motion vector. In some cases, for simplicity, a motion vector itself may be referred in a way that it is assumed that it has an associated reference index. A reference index is used to identify a reference picture in the current reference picture list (RefPicList0 or RefPicList1). A motion vector has a horizontal and a vertical component) [Zou: col. 13, line 30-48]; setting a bounding box size threshold comprises setting a first bounding box size threshold for the first reference block bounding box size and a second bounding box size threshold for the second reference block bounding box size (i.e. In some examples, one or more of the above-described syntax elements (i.e. the current block size and a block size threshold may be used to differentiate different contexts) [Zou: col. 24, line 8-10]; anddetermining if the reference block bounding box size ((i.e. deriving, by the one or more processors and from the values of the motion vectors of the affine motion model of the neighboring block of video data, values of predictors for motion vectors of an affine motion model of the current block of video data) [Zou: col 2, line 20-24]; (i.e. To reduce the motion compensation complexity, one motion vector can be used for each sub-block KxK, where K is an integer equal to or larger than 1. The representative motion vector can be calculated using the top-left pixel position within the KxK sub-block, or using the center position of the KxK sub-block. The size K can be signaled explicitly, or set as a default value, or calculated on the fly based on whether the group of pixel share the same motion vector) [Zou: col. 28, line 37-44] ; (i.e. Prediction blocks based on motion vectors of a neighboring sub-block may be denoted as PN, with N indicating an index for the neighbouring above, below, left and right sub-blocks. Prediction block based on motion vectors of a current block may be denoted as Pc· When PN belongs to the same PU as Pc (thus contains the same motion information)) [Zou: col 2, line 16]) exceeds the bounding box size threshold (i.e. context 1 is used for block size larger than 16x16) [Zou: col. 24, line 12]comprises determining if the first reference block bounding box size exceeds the first bounding box size threshold or if the second reference block bounding box size exceeds the second bounding box size threshold (i.e. context 1 is used for block size larger than 16x16) [Zou: col. 24, line 12].
Zou does not explicitly disclose the following claim limitations (Emphasis added).
bounding box size.
However, in the same field of endeavor Swayn further discloses the claim limitations and the deficient claim limitations, as follows:
bounding box size (i.e. bounding box size) [Swayn: col 44, line 6]
determining coordinates for opposite corners of a reference block bounding box based on the plurality of subblock motion vectors ((i.e. Each candidate feature in the group is assigned an assumed position in the candidate region. This
means that each group of three candidate features will be selected three times at this step, each time with a different arrangement of assumed positions. These candidate features are hereon referred to as CFtl, CFtr and CFbl. These correspond to candidate features in the top-left, top-right and bottom- left corners respectively) [Swayn: col 46, line 58-65]; (i.e. the top-left 1103 and bottom-right 1104 corners) [Swayn: col 17, line 37-38]).
It would have been obvious to one with an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Zou with Swayn to program the system to implement the bounding box for the reference block in the affine motion compensation.
Therefore, the combination of Zou with Swayn will enable for the system to find an optimal searching path for the candidate block [Swayn: col 5, line 35-38] in order to improve coding efficiency when using the affine motion compensation [Zou: col. 6, line 44-54].
Regarding claim 29, Zou meets the claim limitations as follow.
A non-transitory machine-readable medium comprising instructions that, when executed by one or more processors (i.e. a computer-readable storage medium storing instructions that, when executed, cause one or more processors of a video encoder or a video decoder to) [Zou: col 3, line 41-43], cause the one or more processors to perform operations (i.e. a computer-readable storage medium storing instructions that, when executed, cause one or more processors of a video encoder or a video decoder to) [Zou: col 3, line 41-43] comprising:calculating (i.e. video encoder 20 may calculate values) [Zou: col. 16, line 67] a reference bounding box size for a prediction unit of the video data ((i.e. The size of the block could be specified by the width and height of the current block separately or jointly. For example, the size can be represented by the value of width*height) [Zou: col 24, line 13-16]) based on control point motion vectors received for the prediction unit (i.e. the value for each CPMV of a current block is derived individually, based on the value of a MV of a block that neighbors the corresponding control point and a MVD. The value of the MV that a CPMV is determined based on may be referred to as a control point motion vector predictor (CPMVP). As one example, the value of the top-left CPMV of a current block may be derived based on a MV of one of a left block, an above-left block, or an above
neighboring block adjacent to the top-left point of the current block and a MVD. As another example, the value of the top-right CPMV of a current block may be derived based on a MV of one of an above-right block or an above neighboring block adjacent to the top-right point of the current block and a MVD) [Zou: col. 6, line 4-18], the prediction unit being divided into subblocks (i.e. Moreover, partition unit 48 may partition blocks of videodata into sub-blocks ) [Zou: col. 16, line 35-36];setting a bounding box size threshold to a first value ((i.e. In some examples, one or more of the above-described syntax elements (i.e. the current block size and a block size threshold may be used to differentiate different contexts) [Zou: col. 24, line 8-10] ; (i.e. The threshold may be block size dependent or width/height dependent. The techniques can be applied to both affine merge mode and affine inter mode, or only applied in one of them, e.g., affine merge mode.) [Zou: col. 26, line 47-51]);
determining if the reference bounding box size (i.e. video coder may determine values) [Zou: col. 6, line 36] exceeds the bounding box size threshold;
in response to a determination that (i.e. the system may then determine) [Zou: col. 74, line 13] the reference bounding box size does not exceed the bounding box size threshold (i.e. the affine parameter (four-parameter or six-parameter) flag and/or the enabling syntax element) may be coded using CABAC context model depending on the current block size and a block size threshold may be used to differentiate different contexts. For instance, context 0 is used for block size equal or smaller than 16x16) [Zou: col. 24, line 5-11], generating a respective motion vector for each subblock of the prediction unit ((i.e. deriving, by the one or more processors and from the values of the motion vectors of the affine motion model of the neighboring block of video data, values of predictors for motion vectors of an affine motion model of the current block of video data) [Zou: col. 2, line 20-24] ; (i.e. To reduce the motion compensation complexity, one motion vector can be used for each sub-block KxK, where K is an integer equal to or larger than 1. The representative motion vector can be calculated using the top-left pixel position within the KxK sub-block, or using the center position of the KxK sub-block. The size K can be signaled explicitly, or set as a default value, or calculated on the fly based on whether the group of pixel share the same motion vector) [Zou: col. 28, line 37-44]); and in response to a determination that (i.e. the system may then determine) [Zou: col. 74, line 13] the reference bounding box size exceeds the bounding box size threshold ((i.e. In some examples, one or more of the above-described syntax elements (i.e., the affine parameter (four-parameter or six-parameter) flag and/or the enabling syntax element) may be coded using CABAC context model depending on the current block size and a block size threshold may be used to differentiate different contexts) [Zou: col. 24, line 5-10]; (i.e. context 1 is used for block size larger than 16x16) [Zou: col. 24, line 12]; (i.e. In one example, when the width is larger than or equal to (or just larger than) height or the ration of width and height is greater than a threshold, the pair of MV0 and MV1 may be used, otherwise the pair of MV0 and MV2 may be used. The threshold may be block size dependent or width/height dependent) [Zou: col. 26, line 43-48])), generating a common motion vector for all subblocks of the prediction unit ((i.e. deriving, by the one or more processors and from the values of the motion vectors of the affine motion model of the neighboring block of video data, values of predictors for motion vectors of an affine motion model of the current block of video data) [Zou: col. 2, line 20-24] ; (i.e. To reduce the motion compensation complexity, one motion vector can be used for each sub-block KxK, where K is an integer equal to or larger than 1. The representative motion vector can be calculated using the top-left pixel position within the KxK sub-block, or using the center position of the KxK sub-block. The size K can be signaled explicitly, or set as a default value, or calculated on the fly based on whether the group of pixel share the same motion vector) [Zou: col. 28, line 37-44]); and
providing the respective motion vectors or the common motion vector (i.e. Mode select unit 40 also provides syntax elements, such as motion vectors) [Zou: col, 16, line 49-50] for performing motion compensation on the prediction unit ((i.e. Video encoder 20 and video decoder 30 may be configured to perform motion compensation using affine motion models. For instance, as opposed to only using a translational motion model with a single two-dimensional motion vector (i.e., as in HEVC), video encoder 20 and video decoder 30 may utilize an affine motion model that includes multiple motion vectors.) [Zou: col. 14, line 13-19]; (i.e. performing affine motion compensation by a video encoder (e.g., during a video encoding process), in accordance with one or more techniques of this disclosure) [Zou: col. 4, line 29-31; Figs. 13, 14]; (i.e. To reduce the motion compensation complexity, one motion vector can be used for each sub-block KxK, where K is an integer equal to or larger than 1. The representative motion vector can be calculated using the top-left pixel position within the KxK sub-block, or using the center position of the KxK sub-block. The size K can be signaled explicitly, or set as a default value, or calculated on the fly based on whether the group of pixel share the same motion vector) [Zou: col. 28, line 37-44]).
Zou does not explicitly disclose the following claim limitations (Emphasis added).
bounding box size.
However, in the same field of endeavor Swayn further discloses the claim limitations and the deficient claim limitations, as follows:
bounding box size (i.e. bounding box size) [Swayn: col 44, line 6]
setting a bounding box size threshold to a first value ((i.e. the threshold thrfinal) [Swayn: col 37, line 52] ; (i.e. a threshold is calculated by the processor 3305 from a neighborhood of tiles surrounding the subject pixel. In essence, a sliding window of tiles is formed around each subject pixel to be binarized. As an example, the sliding window has a width, widthwindow = 5, and a height, heightwindow = 2) [Swayn: col. 36, line 19-21; Fig. 38])
if the at least one reference bounding box size exceeds the bounding box size threshold ((i.e. if the threshold exceeds this range, then the closest in-range value is used instead) [Swayn: col 37, line 48 – 49] ; (i.e. If the similarity score is greater than the threshold value, then the candidate feature is output as a detection result) [Swayn: col 51, line 23 – 25].
It would have been obvious to one with an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Zou with Swayn to program the system to implement the bounding box for the reference block in the affine motion compensation.
Therefore, the combination of Zou with Swayn will enable for the system to find an optimal searching path for the candidate block [Swayn: col 5, line 35-38] in order to improve coding efficiency when using the affine motion compensation [Zou: col. 6, line 44-54].
Regarding claim 33, Zou meets the claim limitations as set forth in claims 31. Zou further meets the claim limitations as follow.
wherein two subblock motion vectors are derived for the first orientation based on the plurality of motion model parameters (i.e. When using affine motion models for MCP, video coder may utilize multiple motion vectors for a current block that collectively indicate an affine transformation (e.g., translation, scaling, reflection, rotation, etc.) between the current block of video data and a corresponding predictor block of video data. For instance, an affine motion model may include a first two-dimensional motion vector indicating a displacement between a top-left corner of a current block and a top-left corner of the corresponding predictor block, and a second two-dimensional motion vector indicating a displacement between a top-right corner of the current block and a top-right corner of the corresponding predictor block. The motion vectors in an affine motion model may be referred to as control point motion vectors (CPMVs) and may be referenced to a location (i.e., a control point) on the current block. For instance, a two-dimensional motion vector that indicates a displacement between a top-left corner of a current block and a top-left corner of the corresponding predictor block may be referred to as the top-left CPMV of the current block) [Zou: col. 5, line 39-58; Figs. 4A-10], and two subblock motion vectors are derived for the second orientation based on the plurality of motion model parameters (i.e. When using affine motion models for MCP, video coder may utilize multiple motion vectors for a current block that collectively indicate an affine transformation (e.g., translation, scaling, reflection, rotation, etc.) between the current block of video data and a corresponding predictor block of video data. For instance, an affine motion model may include a first two-dimensional motion vector indicating a displacement between a top-left corner of a current block and a top-left corner of the corresponding predictor block, and a second two-dimensional motion vector indicating a displacement between a top-right corner of the current block and a top-right corner of the corresponding predictor block. The motion vectors in an affine motion model may be referred to as control point motion vectors (CPMVs) and may be referenced to a location (i.e., a control point) on the current block. For instance, a two-dimensional motion vector that indicates a displacement between a top-left corner of a current block and a top-left corner of the corresponding predictor block may be referred to as the top-left CPMV of the current block) [Zou: col. 5, line 39-58; Figs. 4A-10].
Regarding claim 34, Zou meets the claim limitations as set forth in claim 30. Zou further meets the claim limitations as follow.
calculating (i.e. video encoder 20 may calculate values) [Zou: col. 16, line 67] a reference block bounding box size comprises (i.e. The size of the block could be specified by the width and height of the current block separately or jointly. For example, the size can be represented by the value of width*height) [Zou: col. 24, line 13-16] calculating (i.e. video encoder 20 may calculate values) [Zou: col. 16, line 67] a first reference block bounding box size (i.e. The size of the block could be specified by the width and height of the current block separately or jointly. For example, the size can be represented by the value of width*height) [Zou: col. 24, line 13-16] for a first direction of the bidirectional prediction mode ((i.e. A set of motion information contains motion information for forward and backward prediction directions. Here, forward and backward prediction directions are two prediction directions of a bi-directional prediction mode and the terms "forward" and "backward" do not necessarily have a geometry meaning; instead they correspond to reference picture list 0 (RefPicList0) and reference picture list 1 (RefPicList1) of a current picture. When only one reference picture list is available for a picture or slice, only RefPicList0 is available and the motion information of each block of a slice is always forward. For each prediction direction, the motion information must contain a reference index and a motion vector. In some cases, for simplicity, a motion vector itself may be referred in a way that it is assumed that it has an associated reference index. A reference index is used to identify a reference picture in the current reference picture list (RefPicList0 or RefPicList1). A motion vector has a horizontal and a vertical component) [Zou: col. 13, line 30-48] and calculating (i.e. video encoder 20 may calculate values) [Zou: col. 16, line 67] a second reference block bounding box size (i.e. The size of the block could be specified by the width and height of the current block separately or jointly. For example, the size can be represented by the value of width*height) [Zou: col. 24, line 13-16] for a second direction of the bidirectional prediction mode (i.e. A set of motion information contains motion information for forward and backward prediction directions. Here, forward and backward prediction directions are two prediction directions of a bi-directional prediction mode and the terms "forward" and "backward" do not necessarily have a geometry meaning; instead they correspond to reference picture list 0 (RefPicList0) and reference picture list 1 (RefPicList1) of a current picture. When only one reference picture list is available for a picture or slice, only RefPicList0 is available and the motion information of each block of a slice is always forward. For each prediction direction, the motion information must contain a reference index and a motion vector. In some cases, for simplicity, a motion vector itself may be referred in a way that it is assumed that it has an associated reference index. A reference index is used to identify a reference picture in the current reference picture list (RefPicList0 or RefPicList1). A motion vector has a horizontal and a vertical component) [Zou: col. 13, line 30-48];setting a bounding box size threshold comprises setting a bounding box size threshold to the first value for the first direction of the bidirectional prediction mode (i.e. In some examples, one or more of the above-described syntax elements (i.e. the current block size and a block size threshold may be used to differentiate different contexts) [Zou: col. 24, line 8-10] and setting a bounding box size threshold to a second value for the second direction of the bidirectional prediction mode (i.e. In some examples, one or more of the above-described syntax elements (i.e. the current block size and a block size threshold may be used to differentiate different contexts) [Zou: col. 24, line 8-10];determining if the first reference block bounding box size ((i.e. deriving, by the one or more processors and from the values of the motion vectors of the affine motion model of the neighboring block of video data, values of predictors for motion vectors of an affine motion model of the current block of video data) [Zou: col 2, line 20-24]; (i.e. To reduce the motion compensation complexity, one motion vector can be used for each sub-block KxK, where K is an integer equal to or larger than 1. The representative motion vector can be calculated using the top-left pixel position within the KxK sub-block, or using the center position of the KxK sub-block. The size K can be signaled explicitly, or set as a default value, or calculated on the fly based on whether the group of pixel share the same motion vector) [Zou: col. 28, line 37-44] ; (i.e. Prediction blocks based on motion vectors of a neighboring sub-block may be denoted as PN, with N indicating an index for the neighbouring above, below, left and right sub-blocks. Prediction block based on motion vectors of a current block may be denoted as Pc· When PN belongs to the same PU as Pc (thus contains the same motion information)) [Zou: col 2, line 16]) exceeds the first value of the bounding box size threshold (i.e. context 1 is used for block size larger than 16x16) [Zou: col. 24, line 12] and determining if the second reference block bounding box size exceeds the second value of the bounding box size threshold (i.e. context 1 is used for block size larger than 16x16) [Zou: col. 24, line 12];in response to a determination (i.e. the system may then determine) [Zou: col. 74, line 13] that the first reference block bounding box size does not exceed the first value of the bounding box size threshold (i.e. the affine parameter (four-parameter or six-parameter) flag and/or the enabling syntax element) may be coded using CABAC context model depending on the current block size and a block size threshold may be used to differentiate different contexts. For instance, context 0 is used for block size equal or smaller than 16x16) [Zou: col. 24, line 5-11], generating a respective first motion vector for each subblock of the prediction unit ((i.e. deriving, by the one or more processors and from the values of the motion vectors of the affine motion model of the neighboring block of video data, values of predictors for motion vectors of an affine motion model of the current block of video data) [Zou: col. 2, line 20-24] ; (i.e. To reduce the motion compensation complexity, one motion vector can be used for each sub-block KxK, where K is an integer equal to or larger than 1. The representative motion vector can be calculated using the top-left pixel position within the KxK sub-block, or using the center position of the KxK sub-block. The size K can be signaled explicitly, or set as a default value, or calculated on the fly based on whether the group of pixel share the same motion vector) [Zou: col. 28, line 37-44]), and in response to a determination that (i.e. the system may then determine) [Zou: col. 74, line 13] the second reference block bounding box size does not exceed the second value of the bounding box size threshold (i.e. the affine parameter (four-parameter or six-parameter) flag and/or the enabling syntax element) may be coded using CABAC context model depending on the current block size and a block size threshold may be used to differentiate different contexts. For instance, context 0 is used for block size equal or smaller than 16x16) [Zou: col. 24, line 5-11], generating a respective second motion vector for each subblock of the prediction unit ((i.e. deriving, by the one or more processors and from the values of the motion vectors of the affine motion model of the neighboring block of video data, values of predictors for motion vectors of an affine motion model of the current block of video data) [Zou: col. 2, line 20-24] ; (i.e. To reduce the motion compensation complexity, one motion vector can be used for each sub-block KxK, where K is an integer equal to or larger than 1. The representative motion vector can be calculated using the top-left pixel position within the KxK sub-block, or using the center position of the KxK sub-block. The size K can be signaled explicitly, or set as a default value, or calculated on the fly based on whether the group of pixel share the same motion vector) [Zou: col. 28, line 37-44]);in response to a determination that (i.e. the system may then determine) [Zou: col. 74, line 13] the first reference block bounding box size exceeds the first value of the bounding box size threshold ((i.e. In some examples, one or more of the above-described syntax elements (i.e., the affine parameter (four-parameter or six-parameter) flag and/or the enabling syntax element) may be coded using CABAC context model depending on the current block size and a block size threshold may be used to differentiate different contexts) [Zou: col. 24, line 5-10]; (i.e. context 1 is used for block size larger than 16x16) [Zou: col. 24, line 12]; (i.e. In one example, when the width is larger than or equal to (or just larger than) height or the ration of width and height is greater than a threshold, the pair of MV0 and MV1 may be used, otherwise the pair of MV0 and MV2 may be used. The threshold may be block size dependent or width/height dependent) [Zou: col. 26, line 43-48]), generating a common first motion vector for all subblocks of the prediction unit ((i.e. deriving, by the one or more processors and from the values of the motion vectors of the affine motion model of the neighboring block of video data, values of predictors for motion vectors of an affine motion model of the current block of video data) [Zou: col. 2, line 20-24] ; (i.e. To reduce the motion compensation complexity, one motion vector can be used for each sub-block KxK, where K is an integer equal to or larger than 1. The representative motion vector can be calculated using the top-left pixel position within the KxK sub-block, or using the center position of the KxK sub-block. The size K can be signaled explicitly, or set as a default value, or calculated on the fly based on whether the group of pixel share the same motion vector) [Zou: col. 28, line 37-44]), and in response to a determination that (i.e. the system may then determine) [Zou: col. 74, line 13] the second reference block bounding box size exceeds the second value of the bounding box size threshold ((i.e. In some examples, one or more of the above-described syntax elements (i.e., the affine parameter (four-parameter or six-parameter) flag and/or the enabling syntax element) may be coded using CABAC context model depending on the current block size and a block size threshold may be used to differentiate different contexts) [Zou: col. 24, line 5-10]; (i.e. context 1 is used for block size larger than 16x16) [Zou: col. 24, line 12]; (i.e. In one example, when the width is larger than or equal to (or just larger than) height or the ration of width and height is greater than a threshold, the pair of MV0 and MV1 may be used, otherwise the pair of MV0 and MV2 may be used. The threshold may be block size dependent or width/height dependent) [Zou: col. 26, line 43-48]), generating a common second motion vector for all subblocks of the prediction unit ((i.e. deriving, by the one or more processors and from the values of the motion vectors of the affine motion model of the neighboring block of video data, values of predictors for motion vectors of an affine motion model of the current block of video data) [Zou: col. 2, line 20-24] ; (i.e. To reduce the motion compensation complexity, one motion vector can be used for each sub-block KxK, where K is an integer equal to or larger than 1. The representative motion vector can be calculated using the top-left pixel position within the KxK sub-block, or using the center position of the KxK sub-block. The size K can be signaled explicitly, or set as a default value, or calculated on the fly based on whether the group of pixel share the same motion vector) [Zou: col. 28, line 37-44]); andproviding the respective first motion vectors or the common first motion vector (i.e. Mode select unit 40 also provides syntax elements, such as motion vectors) [Zou: col, 16, line 49-50] for performing motion compensation on the prediction unit ((i.e. Video encoder 20 and video decoder 30 may be configured to perform motion compensation using affine motion models. For instance, as opposed to only using a translational motion model with a single two-dimensional motion vector (i.e., as in HEVC), video encoder 20 and video decoder 30 may utilize an affine motion model that includes multiple motion vectors.) [Zou: col. 14, line 13-19]; (i.e. performing affine motion compensation by a video encoder (e.g., during a video encoding process), in accordance with one or more techniques of this disclosure) [Zou: col. 4, line 29-31; Figs. 13, 14]; (i.e. To reduce the motion compensation complexity, one motion vector can be used for each sub-block KxK, where K is an integer equal to or larger than 1. The representative motion vector can be calculated using the top-left pixel position within the KxK sub-block, or using the center position of the KxK sub-block. The size K can be signaled explicitly, or set as a default value, or calculated on the fly based on whether the group of pixel share the same motion vector) [Zou: col. 28, line 37-44]) in the first direction of the bidirectional prediction mode (i.e. A set of motion information contains motion information for forward and backward prediction directions. Here, forward and backward prediction directions are two prediction directions of a bi-directional prediction mode and the terms "forward" and "backward" do not necessarily have a geometry meaning; instead they correspond to reference picture list 0 (RefPicList0) and reference picture list 1 (RefPicList1) of a current picture. When only one reference picture list is available for a picture or slice, only RefPicList0 is available and the motion information of each block of a slice is always forward. For each prediction direction, the motion information must contain a reference index and a motion vector. In some cases, for simplicity, a motion vector itself may be referred in a way that it is assumed that it has an associated reference index. A reference index is used to identify a reference picture in the current reference picture list (RefPicList0 or RefPicList1). A motion vector has a horizontal and a vertical component) [Zou: col. 13, line 30-48], and providing the respective second motion vectors or the common second motion vector for performing motion compensation ((i.e. Video encoder 20 and video decoder 30 may be configured to perform motion compensation using affine motion models. For instance, as opposed to only using a translational motion model with a single two-dimensional motion vector (i.e., as in HEVC), video encoder 20 and video decoder 30 may utilize an affine motion model that includes multiple motion vectors.) [Zou: col. 14, line 13-19]; (i.e. performing affine motion compensation by a video encoder (e.g., during a video encoding process), in accordance with one or more techniques of this disclosure) [Zou: col. 4, line 29-31; Figs. 13, 14]; (i.e. To reduce the motion compensation complexity, one motion vector can be used for each sub-block KxK, where K is an integer equal to or larger than 1. The representative motion vector can be calculated using the top-left pixel position within the KxK sub-block, or using the center position of the KxK sub-block. The size K can be signaled explicitly, or set as a default value, or calculated on the fly based on whether the group of pixel share the same motion vector) [Zou: col. 28, line 37-44]) on the prediction unit in the second direction of the bidirectional prediction mode (i.e. A set of motion information contains motion information for forward and backward prediction directions. Here, forward and backward prediction directions are two prediction directions of a bi-directional prediction mode and the terms "forward" and "backward" do not necessarily have a geometry meaning; instead they correspond to reference picture list 0 (RefPicList0) and reference picture list 1 (RefPicList1) of a current picture. When only one reference picture list is available for a picture or slice, only RefPicList0 is available and the motion information of each block of a slice is always forward. For each prediction direction, the motion information must contain a reference index and a motion vector. In some cases, for simplicity, a motion vector itself may be referred in a way that it is assumed that it has an associated reference index. A reference index is used to identify a reference picture in the current reference picture list (RefPicList0 or RefPicList1). A motion vector has a horizontal and a vertical component) [Zou: col. 13, line 30-48].
Zou does not explicitly disclose the following claim limitations (Emphasis added).
bounding box size.
However, in the same field of endeavor Swayn further discloses the claim limitations and the deficient claim limitations, as follows:
bounding box size (i.e. bounding box size) [Swayn: col 44, line 6]
setting a bounding box size threshold to a first value ((i.e. the threshold thrfinal) [Swayn: col 37, line 52] ; (i.e. a threshold is calculated by the processor 3305 from a neighborhood of tiles surrounding the subject pixel. In essence, a sliding window of tiles is formed around each subject pixel to be binarized. As an example, the sliding window has a width, widthwindow = 5, and a height, heightwindow = 2) [Swayn: col. 36, line 19-21; Fig. 38]).
if the at least one reference bounding box size exceeds the bounding box size threshold ((i.e. if the threshold exceeds this range, then the closest in-range value is used instead) [Swayn: col 37, line 48 – 49] ; (i.e. If the similarity score is greater than the threshold value, then the candidate feature is output as a detection result) [Swayn: col 51, line 23 – 25].
It would have been obvious to one with an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Zou with Swayn to program the system to implement the bounding box for the reference block in the affine motion compensation.
Therefore, the combination of Zou with Swayn will enable for the system to find an optimal searching path for the candidate block [Swayn: col 5, line 35-38] in order to improve coding efficiency when using the affine motion compensation [Zou: col. 6, line 44-54].
Regarding claim 35, Zou meets the claim limitations as set forth in claim 35. Zou further meets the claim limitations as follow.
calculating (i.e. video encoder 20 may calculate values) [Zou: col. 16, line 67] the first reference block bounding box size (i.e. The size of the block could be specified by the width and height of the current block separately or jointly. For example, the size can be represented by the value of width*height) [Zou: col. 24, line 13-16] comprises: determining (i.e. video coder may determine values) [Zou: col. 6, line 36] a first plurality of motion model parameters from the control point motion vectors ((i.e. The reconstructed video block may be used by motion estimation unit 42 and motion compensation unit 44 as a reference block to inter-code a block in a subsequent video frame) [Zou: col. 18, line 61-63]; (i.e. the affine parameters of the x and y components) [Zou: col. 7, line 15-16]);deriving a first plurality of subblock motion vectors based on the first plurality of motion model parameters (i.e. deriving, by the one or more processors and from the values of the motion vectors of the affine motion model of the neighboring block of video data, values of predictors for motion vectors of an affine motion model of the current block of video data) [Zou: col 2, line 20-24];determining (i.e. video coder may determine values) [Zou: col. 6, line 36] coordinates for opposite corners of a first reference block bounding box based on the first plurality of subblock motion vectors (i.e. The motion vectors in an affine motion model may be referred to as control point motion vectors (CPMVs) and may be referenced to a location (i.e., a control point) on the current block. For instance, a two-dimensional motion vector that indicates a displacement between a top-left corner of a current block and a top-left corner of the corresponding predictor block may be referred to as the top-left CPMV of the current block) [Zou: col 5, line 51-58; Figs. 4A-12B]; andcalculating (i.e. video encoder 20 may calculate values) [Zou: col. 16, line 67] the first reference block bounding box size using the determined coordinates (i.e. The size of the block could be specified by the width and height of the current block separately or jointly. For example, the size can be represented by the value of width*height) [Zou: col. 24, line 13-16], andwherein calculating (i.e. video encoder 20 may calculate values) [Zou: col. 16, line 67] the second reference block bounding box size comprises (i.e. The size of the block could be specified by the width and height of the current block separately or jointly. For example, the size can be represented by the value of width*height) [Zou: col. 24, line 13-16]:determining (i.e. video coder may determine values) [Zou: col. 6, line 36] a second plurality of motion model parameters from the control point motion vectors ((i.e. The reconstructed video block may be used by motion estimation unit 42 and motion compensation unit 44 as a reference block to inter-code a block in a subsequent video frame) [Zou: col. 18, line 61-63]; (i.e. the affine parameters of the x and y components) [Zou: col. 7, line 15-16]);deriving a second plurality of subblock motion vectors based on the second plurality of motion model parameters (i.e. deriving, by the one or more processors and from the values of the motion vectors of the affine motion model of the neighboring block of video data, values of predictors for motion vectors of an affine motion model of the current block of video data) [Zou: col 2, line 20-24];determining (i.e. video coder may determine values) [Zou: col. 6, line 36] coordinates for opposite corners of a second reference block bounding box based on the second plurality of subblock motion vectors (i.e. The motion vectors in an affine motion model may be referred to as control point motion vectors (CPMVs) and may be referenced to a location (i.e., a control point) on the current block. For instance, a two-dimensional motion vector that indicates a displacement between a top-left corner of a current block and a top-left corner of the corresponding predictor block may be referred to as the top-left CPMV of the current block) [Zou: col 5, line 51-58; Figs. 4A-12B].
Zou does not explicitly disclose the following claim limitations (Emphasis added).
bounding box size.
However, in the same field of endeavor Swayn further discloses the claim limitations and the deficient claim limitations, as follows:
bounding box size (i.e. bounding box size) [Swayn: col 44, line 6]
determining coordinates for opposite corners of a reference block bounding box based on the plurality of subblock motion vectors ((i.e. Each candidate feature in the group is assigned an assumed position in the candidate region. This
means that each group of three candidate features will be selected three times at this step, each time with a different arrangement of assumed positions. These candidate features are hereon referred to as CFtl, CFtr and CFbl. These correspond to candidate features in the top-left, top-right and bottom- left corners respectively) [Swayn: col 46, line 58-65]; (i.e. the top-left 1103 and bottom-right 1104 corners) [Swayn: col 17, line 37-38]).
It would have been obvious to one with an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Zou with Swayn to program the system to implement the bounding box for the reference block in the affine motion compensation.
Therefore, the combination of Zou with Swayn will enable for the system to find an optimal searching path for the candidate block [Swayn: col 5, line 35-38] in order to improve coding efficiency when using the affine motion compensation [Zou: col. 6, line 44-54].
Regarding claim 37, Zou meets the claim limitations as set forth in claim 35. Zou further meets the claim limitations as follow.
wherein the first plurality of motion model parameters is different from the second plurality of motion model parameters (i.e. the affine parameter (four-parameter or six-parameter) flag and/or the enabling syntax element) may be coded using CABAC context model depending on the current block size and a block size threshold may be used to differentiate different contexts. For instance, context 0 is used for block size equal or smaller than 16x16; while context 1 is used for block size larger than 16x16) [Zou: col. 24, line 5-12].
Regarding claim 38, Zou and Swayn meet the claim limitations as set forth in claim 35. Zou further meets the claim limitations as follow.
wherein the first plurality of subblock motion vectors is different from the second plurality of subblock motion vectors (i.e. When using affine motion models for MCP, video coder may utilize multiple motion vectors for a current block that collectively indicate an affine transformation (e.g., translation, scaling, reflection, rotation, etc.) between the current block of video data and a corresponding predictor block of video data. For instance, an affine motion model may include a first two-dimensional motion vector indicating a displacement between a top-left corner of a current block and a top-left corner of the corresponding predictor block, and a second two-dimensional motion vector indicating a displacement between a top-right corner of the current block and a top-right corner of the corresponding predictor block. The motion vectors in an affine motion model may be referred to as control point motion vectors (CPMVs) and may be referenced to a location (i.e., a control point) on the current block. For instance, a two-dimensional motion vector that indicates a displacement between a top-left corner of a current block and a top-left corner of the corresponding predictor block may be referred to as the top-left CPMV of the current block) [Zou: col. 5, line 39-58; Figs. 4A-10]; (Motion vectors in the current block v0 (MV0), v1 (MV1), and v2 (MV2) in the three corners of current block 800 may to be coded as shown in FIG. 8. In order to predict v0, the motion vectors of 802A (above-left), 802B (above) and 802C (left) are possible candidates. Similarly, the motion vectors of 802D (above) and 802E (above-right) are possible candidates for predict) [Zou: col. 5, line 39-58] – Note: Zou discloses that multiple different set of vectors can be used for inter prediction in the affine mode).
Regarding claim 39, Zou meets the claim limitations as set forth in claim 35. Zou further meets the claim limitations as follow.
wherein the first plurality of subblock motion vectors and the second plurality of subblock motion vectors each comprises four subblock motion vectors (i.e. FIG. 10, the motion vectors of block 1004A and block 1004B may be used to generate additional prediction blocks for 8x8 block 1002A of 16x16 macroblock 1000, and the motion vectors of block 1006A and block 1006B may be used to generate additional prediction blocks for 8x8 block 1002B of macroblock 1000. In this way, each pixel in the current 8x8 block may have three prediction blocks and weighted average of these three prediction values may be used as the final prediction block) [Zou: col. 29, line 43-51]; (i.e. OBMC is performed at sub-block level for all MC block boundaries, where subblock size is set equal to 4x4, as illustrated in FIGS. 12A and 12B.) [Zou: col. 30, line 25-28].
Claims 26 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zou (US Patent 10,560,712 B2), (“Zou”), in view of Swayn et al. (US Patent 9,355,293 B2), (“Swayn”), in view of Chujoh et al. (US Patent 10,554,991 B2), (“Chujoh”).
Regarding claim 26, Zou and Swayn meet the claim limitations as set forth in claim 21. Chujoh further meets the claim limitations as follow.
wherein a different number of subblock motion vectors are derived for the unidirectional prediction mode than are derived for the bidirectional prediction mode (i.e. As in an equation (3), the restriction value (nLPSW1, nLPSH1) of the block size for the uni-directional prediction (PredL0 or PredL1) may separately be set. Specifically, the block size restricted in the uni-directional prediction and the block size restricted in the bi-directional prediction may be different from each other) [Chujoh: col. 10, line 15-20; Figs. 11-12].
It would have been obvious to one with an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Zou and Swayn with Chujoh to program the system to implement the method of Chujoh.
Therefore, the combination of Zou and Swayn with Chujoh will enable for the system to reducing memory bandwidth [Chujoh: col. 2, line 47-53; Figs. 13-16].
Regarding claim 27, Zou and Swayn meet the claim limitations as set forth in claim 21. Zou further meets the claim limitations as follow.
wherein the number of subblock motion vectors derived for the unidirectional prediction mode is two and the number of subblock motion vectors derived for the bidirectional prediction mode is four (i.e. When using affine motion models for MCP, video coder
may utilize multiple motion vectors for a current block that collectively indicate an affine transformation (e.g., translation, scaling, reflection, rotation, etc.) between the current block of video data and a corresponding predictor block of video data. For instance, an affine motion model may include a first two-dimensional motion vector indicating a displacement between a top-left corner of a current block and a
top-left corner of the corresponding predictor block, and a second two-dimensional motion vector indicating a displacement between a top-right corner of the current block and a top-right corner of the corresponding predictor block.
The motion vectors in an affine motion model may be referred to as control point motion vectors (CPMVs) and may be referenced to a location (i.e., a control point) on the current block. For instance, a two-dimensional motion vector that indicates a displacement between a top-left corner of a current block and a top-left corner of the corresponding predictor block may be referred to as the top-left CPMV of
the current block) [Zou: col. 5, line 39-58; Figs. 4A-10]; (Motion vectors in the current block v0 (MV0), v1 (MV1), and v2 (MV2) in the three corners of current block 800 may to be coded as shown in FIG. 8. In order to predict v0, the motion vectors of 802A (above-left), 802B (above) and 802C (left) are possible candidates. Similarly, the motion vectors of 802D (above) and 802E (above-right) are possible candidates for predict) [Zou: col. 5, line 39-58] – Note: Zou discloses that multiple vectors can be used for inter prediction in the affine mode).
Zou and Swayn do not explicitly disclose the following claim limitations (Emphasis added).
wherein the number of subblock motion vectors derived for the unidirectional prediction mode is two and the number of subblock motion vectors derived for the bidirectional prediction mode is four.
However, in the same field of endeavor Swayn further discloses the claim limitations and the deficient claim limitations, as follows:
wherein the number of subblock motion vectors derived for the unidirectional prediction mode is two and the number of subblock motion vectors derived for the bidirectional prediction mode is four ((i.e. When the prediction is the bi-directional prediction, the prediction block is small, and two motion vectors are fractional accuracy in the color difference) [Chujoh: col. 8, line 15-17; Figs. 2-13]; (i.e. Initial values of the variable RW and the variable RH are defined as the motion vector accuracy of luminance. A value of a power of two is generally used for RW and RH) [Chujoh: col. 8, line 53-56; Figs. 2-13]; (i.e. In the case of chroma_format_idc = 2 (step S104: Yes), the prediction control unit 112 doubles the value of RW (step S105). This is
because chroma_format_idc = 2 means 4:2:2 format in which the color difference is sampled at half only horizontally with respect to luminance.) [Chujoh: col. 9, line 1-6; Fig. 2]; (i.e. As in an equation (3), the restriction value (nLPSW1, nLPSH1) of the block size for the uni-directional prediction (PredL0 or PredL1) may separately be set. Specifically, the block size restricted in the uni-directional prediction and the block size restricted in the bi-directional prediction may be different from each other) [Chujoh: col. 10, line 15-20; Equations (1) – (4)]; Note: Equations (1)-(4) shows that there are 2 motion vectors in bidirectional prediction mode and one motion vector in unidirectional prediction mode for chroma 4:2:2 block. Hence it is indicates that there are 4 motion vectors in bidirectional prediction mode and 2 motion vectors for a luminance block because the luminance block is twice of the chroma block in this format]).
It would have been obvious to one with an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Zou and Swayn with Chujoh to program the system to implement the method of Chujoh.
Therefore, the combination of Zou and Swayn with Chujoh will enable for the system to reducing memory bandwidth [Chujoh: col. 2, line 47-53; Figs. 13-16].
Reference Notice
Additional prior arts, included in the Notice of Reference Cited, made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Contact Information