In response to applicant’s filing dated March 25, 2025. The following action is taken:Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 19 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Tatah et al al (10,540,998)
Claims 1 and 19 are device/method with merely the same limitations and drawn to an alternative limitation “or” wherein only one of the limitation is need to be met in the prior art reference. Therefore claim 1 read on a single head/disk/device and not a plurality of lasers, processing elements, disks…etc. the reference discloses a data storage device configured for heat assisted magnetic recording (HAMR) (see column 2 lines 37-50) comprising: one or more disks (see column 2 line 55); one or more read/write heads configured to read data from and write data to the one or more disks (see column 2 line 60-65);one or more laser modules (see column 11 line 60 and 61 fig 13 element 1202), each laser module comprising: a laser diode (LD) configured to heat an area of one of the one or more disks near one of the one or more read/write heads (see column 11 line 60 and 61 and fig 13 element 1202); and a heater configured to heat the LD (see column 11 line 60 and fig 13 element 1216); an LD driver (see column 11 lines 60-68 having laser diode 1202); a heater driver (see column 11 lines 60-68 having heater arrangement 1216 controlled by a controller element 1318 and analyzer element 1217); and one or more processing devices (see column 12 lines 5-25 citing a controller element 1418 based on processing analyzer element 1217) configured, individually or in combination, to: independently control the LD driver and the heater driver for a plurality of compensation phases (compensation phases is merely compensation states such as voltage/current/temperature…etc (see column 13 lines 5 and 6 wherein each of the circuits are “independent”), wherein independently controlling the LD driver and the heater driver comprises: determining a target laser voltage (LV) value for a first LD of a first laser module; driving, using the LD driver, a first LD of a first laser module, based on the target LV value (the limitations read on (such limitation read on controlling the laser element based on a voltage see column 4 lines 9-26 wherein the laser is controlled by a measured voltage) ; determining a temperature adjustment value for the first LD; and driving, using the heater driver, a first heater to adjust one or more of a LV value and a temperature of the first LD, based on the temperature adjustment value see column 9 lines 35-68 (showing a voltage controlling the heater element 1004 based on a voltage controlling the temperature, and column 14 lines 35-51. Regarding the means plus function limitations in claim 20, the reference in fig 13 discloses One or more processing devices (means elements 1318 and 1217) configured, individually or in combination, with: means for determining a target laser voltage (LV) value for a first laser diode (LD) of a first laser module of a data storage device (see fig 13 element 1217 having an analyzer for determining a voltage see column 6 lines 17-47) , wherein the data storage device comprises: one or more read/write heads configured to read data from and write data to the data storage device (see fig 13 element 1200 cited as a head) ; and one or more laser modules, each laser module comprising: an LD configured to heat an area of the data storage device near one of the one or more read/write heads see fig 13 element 1218 and 1202 and 1210 discloses in column 4 as an NFT); and a heater configured to heat the LD see fig 13 elements 1221 and 1202 cited as a heater element for laser element 1210; means for driving the first LD of the first laser module, based on the target LV value see fig 13 element 1221 showing a laser driver based on a voltage; means for determining a temperature adjustment value for the first LD see fig 11 step 1101 showing temperature determination by element 1217 in fig 12; and means for driving a first heater to adjust one or more of a LV value and a temperature of the first LD, based on the temperature adjustment value see step 1103 in fig 11 and column 13 lines 20-31.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tatah et al US Pat 10,540,998) in view of Wessel (US Pat 10,580,446).
The primary reference Tatah et al al (10,540,998) although it discloses an HAMR device which is known to be used in a plurality of disks devices. The primary reference Tatah et al does not disclose a plurality of heads or laser modules. The secondary reference Wessel (US Pat 10580446) in column 2 lines 53-68 discloses the use of a plurality of read/write heads or HAMR for the purpose of increasing the data reading and writing operation. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have use the plurality of elements such as disks/heads having plurality of NFT cited in the secondary reference Wessel and modify the system of Tatah et al. such modification of using a plurality of read/write device within the magnetic recording and reading system is merely a multiplicity of elements for the purse of increasing the data recorded or reproduced on different media. Thus one of skilled in the art would have been motivated to use the teachings of Wessel for the purpose of time efficiency by duplicating data reading and writing operation.
Claim Objections
Claims 3-18 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The cited prior art does not show or teach independently controlling the LD driver and the Heater driver based on the look ahead phase compensation, the pre-write feedback phase compensation and the write mode phase compensation as in claim 3.
/NABIL Z HINDI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2688