DETAILED ACTION
1. Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
2. The information disclosure statements submitted are being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
4. Claims 1, 2 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang et al, U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2021/0377660 (hereinafter Zhang) in view of Holman, U.S. Patent No. 10,728,649 (hereinafter Holman).
Regarding claim 1, Zhang discloses an acoustic output device (from abstract, see The present application discloses a sound-output device), comprising:
a housing (from paragraph 0014, see housing);
a bone conduction vibrator configured to generate bone conduction sound waves and transmit the bone conduction sound waves to a cochlea through the housing to produce sound (from paragraph 0089, see the vibration speaker 31 may refer to a speaker that outputs solid-medium-conducted sound wave (e.g., a bone-conducted soundwave));
an air conduction vibrator configured to generate air conduction sound waves, the air conduction sound waves being transmitted to an ear through sound guiding holes in the housing (from paragraph 0089, see an air-conducted speaker 32. The air-conducted speaker 32 may refer to a speaker that outputs air-conducted sound wave); and
a processing module configured to provide the bone conduction vibrator and the air conduction vibrator with a first audio signal and a second audio signal (from paragraph 0091, see The signal processing module 2 may further include a bone-conducted signal processing circuit 21 and an air-conducted signal processing circuit 22. Here, the air-conducted signal may refer to signals related to and/or resulting the output of the air-conducted sound wave; and the bone-conducted signal may refer to electrical signals related to and/or resulting the output of the bone-conducted sound wave. The bone-conducted signal processing circuit 21 may be configured to receive an initial sound signal from the signal source, process the initial sound signal, and output a corresponding bone-conducted control signal. The air-conducted signal processing circuit 22 may be configured to receive an initial sound signal from the signal source, process the initial sound signal, and output a corresponding air-conducted control signal. Here, the air-conducted control signal may refer to an electrical signal that controls generation and output of the air-conducted sound wave; and the bone-conducted control signal may refer to an electrical signal that controls generation and output of the bone-conducted sound wave), respectively, the first audio signal and the second audio signal having a frequency division point, the first audio signal and the second audio signal including components with frequencies above and below the frequency division point, respectively (from abstract, see the bone-conducted sound wave includes a high frequency portion of the target frequency range, and the air-conducted sound wave includes a low frequency portion of the target frequency range).
Further regarding claim 1, Zhang does not explicitly teach the frequency division point is not less than 600 Hz. However, when the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable range by routine experimentation per MPEP 2144.05 II A. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Zhang wherein the frequency division point is not less than 600 Hz. This modification would have improved the listening experience by eliminating tactile tickling sensations as suggested by Holman (see column 1).
Further regarding claim 2, Zhang does not explicitly teach the frequency division point is not less than 1500 Hz. However, when the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable range by routine experimentation per MPEP 2144.05 II A. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Zhang wherein the frequency division point is not less than 1500 Hz. This modification would have improved the listening experience by eliminating tactile tickling sensations as suggested by Holman (see column 1).
Regarding claim 8, Zhang discloses the acoustic output device of claim 1, wherein the processing module obtains the first audio signal and the second audio signal by performing a high-pass filtering process and a low-pass filtering process on an electrical signal containing sound information, respectively (from abstract, see the bone-conducted sound wave includes a high frequency portion of the target frequency range, and the air-conducted sound wave includes a low frequency portion of the target frequency range).
Allowable Subject Matter
5. Claims 3-7 and 9-20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
Any inquiry of a general nature or relating to the status of this application or proceeding should be directed to the receptionist whose telephone number is 571-272-2600.
Olisa Anwah
Patent Examiner
October 28, 2026
/OLISA ANWAH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2692