DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4, 6, and 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(a)(2) as being anticipated by Arakawa US 5,613,467.
Regarding claims 1 and 6, Arakawa discloses a canine leash buckle apparatus comprising: a leash buckle (2) with at least one leash hole (2a) and at least one harness hole (2d); a leash (7) having a first end and a second end, wherein said at least one leash hole is sized to permit said leash to slide through it and said at least one harness hole is sized to provide greater resistance to passage of said leash than said at least one leash hole (in that the harness hole of Arakawa is smaller than the leash hole); a clip (7a) with a first end and a second end, wherein said clip first end is removably connected to said leash (Arakawa is capable of performing this function) and said second end operable to removably connect to said leash (via the clip) to create a loop in the leash. Arakawa is capable of the functional language of claim 6.
Regarding claim 2, Arakawa further discloses said leash being synthetic robe (Arakawa, column 2: lines 58-59).
Regarding claim 3, Arakawa further discloses the leash buckle being metal (Arakawa, column 2: lines 32-33).
Regarding claim 4, Arakawa further discloses the clip being a dog clip (Arakawa, Figure 1).
Regarding claim 7, Arakawa further discloses the at least one leash hole having a larger cross sectional area than the harness hole (Arakawa, Figure 2).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 5 would be allowable if rewritten or amended to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance: Although the apparatus of the invention is found in the prior art, the specifically claimed method of using the apparatus is novel.
Response to Arguments
In response to applicant's argument that Arakawa is nonanalogous art in that it is directed to a vehicle pet anchor, it has been held that a prior art reference must either be in the field of the inventor’s endeavor or, if not, then be reasonably pertinent to the particular problem with which the inventor was concerned, in order to be relied upon as a basis for rejection of the claimed invention. See In re Oetiker, 977 F.2d 1443, 24 USPQ2d 1443 (Fed. Cir. 1992). Further, the applicant’s argument that the rejection of the claims under Arakawa is nonanalogous is inapplicable to an anticipation analysis. MPEP 2135.05.
Arakawa discloses the amended claim limitations as discussed above.
In response to applicant's argument that Arakawa fails to disclose the claimed functional relationship between the leash hole and the harness hole, a recitation of the intended use of the claimed invention must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim.
In response to applicant's argument that the references fail to show certain features of the invention, it is noted that the features upon which applicant relies (i.e., the larger hole being one and a half to two times the diameter of the rope leash, the smaller holes being similar to the leash diameter or cross section, ) are not recited in the rejected claim(s). Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/KRISTEN C HAYES/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3642