DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on March 26, 2025 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Interpretation - 35 USC § 112
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
first power transmission module in claim 1;
connection unit in claim 1;
second power transmission module in claim 2; and
guide member in claim 7.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 5 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 5 recites the limitation “the one and remaining ends” in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for these limitations in the claim.
Claim 7 recites the limitation “the tension” in line 4. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Rousso et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 20070173886; hereinafter “Rousso”).
Regarding claim 1, Rousso discloses a device (900; Figs. 9A-9B) for compressing a body part, the device comprising:
a compression unit (closed loop formed by straps (909a, 909b); para. [0081]) including an elastic member (“elastic element;” para [0081]) configured to come into contact along a circumference of a body part;
a power transmission unit including a first power transmission module (909b) coupled with an actuator (914) and configured to perform rotational movement (strap (909b) performs rotational movement as it wraps around roller (910); para. [0082]); and
a connection unit (fasteners connecting ends of straps (909a, 909b); para. [0081]) provided at one end of the power transmission unit and configured to enable attachment and detachment of the elastic member (para [0081]));
wherein the compression unit applies a constant pressure along the circumference of the body part (the closed loop is capable of applying constant pressure when circumference of a body part changes by adjusting tension in the straps (909); paras. [0081]-[0086]) by the first power transmission module designed in a spiral shape even when the circumference of the body part changes during a process of compressing the body part (strap (909b) is helical as it wraps around actuator (910); para. [0081]).
Regarding claim 2, Rousso discloses wherein the power transmission unit further comprises a second power transmission module (909a) connected to one end of the first power transmission module (Fig. 9B; para. [0081]) and configured to convert the rotational movement into linear movement (rotational movement of strap (909a) is converted to linear movement (at least along the longitudinal direction of the strap) into and out of the box (901); Fig. 9A; para. [0081]).
Regarding claim 3, Rousso disclose wherein:
one end of the second power transmission module is connected to one end of the first power transmission module that is most adjacent to the actuator (e.g., connection via components within box (901); Fig. 9B; para. [0082]); and
a remaining end of the second power transmission module is coupled to the connection unit (para. [0081]).
Regarding claim 4, Rousso discloses wherein a radius of the first power transmission module is designed based on a mathematical relationship between a pressure applied to the body part and a tension of the elastic member (the radius of strap (909b; i.e., radius of the wrapped amount of strap) is based on a mathematical relationship between pressure applied to the body part and tension in the closed strap loop (e.g., as tension in the loop changes, so does pressure applied by the loop) so that the tension of the elastic member generated by rotation of the first power transmission module corresponds to a difference between an initial length of the elastic member and a moving distance of the second power transmission module (as both rollers (910, 912) rotate simultaneously, the tension in the closed strap loop corresponds to an initial length of the loop (e.g., in a relaxed state) and the amount of strap (909a) wrapped around roller (910); paras. [0083]-[0085]).
Regarding claim 5, Rousso discloses wherein the elastic member forms a loop in which the body part is accommodated in such a manner that the one and remaining ends thereof are attached to the connection unit (para. [0081]).
Regarding claim 6, Rousso discloses wherein the compression unit further comprises one or more rollers (910, 912) configured to guide a direction of tension of the elastic member to one side by gathering the elastic member that surrounds the body part (paras. [0081]-[0085]).
Regarding claim 7, Rousso discloses wherein the compression unit further comprises a guide member (outer surfaces of rollers (910, 912)) configured to prevent the elastic member from moving away from an original position during a process in which the elastic member is moved by the tension (the ends of straps (909a, 909b) do not move away from their respective connections to rollers (910, 912) during tensioning of the closed loop strap).
Regarding claim 8, Rousso discloses wherein a radius of the first power transmission module (the radius of strap (909b; i.e., radius of the wrapped amount of strap) is determined based on a stall torque of the actuator, an initial length of the elastic member, and a polar coordinate representation for a shape of the first power transmission module (as the radius of strap (909b) changes with the amount of strap wrapped around roller (910), the radius is determined based on a stall torque (i.e., radius cannot increase when motor (914) cannot rotate), the length of strap wrapped around the roller when the device is applied to a body, and the rotational and/or angular coordinate representing the amount of rotation undergone by the roller).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 9 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Regarding claim 9, the prior art does not show by itself or in combination, the limitation of the radius of the first power transmission module being designed based on the mathematical relationship recited in the claim.
Conclusion
/JONATHAN A HOLLM/Examiner, Art Unit 3771