DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that use the word “means” or “step” but are nonetheless not being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph because the claim limitation(s) recite(s) sufficient structure, materials, or acts to entirely perform the recited function. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “voltage application means,” “a measurement means,” and “a determination means” recited in claims 5 & 6.
If applicant intends to have this/these limitation(s) interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, applicant may: (1) amend the claim limitation(s) to remove the structure, materials, or acts that performs the claimed function; or (2) present a sufficient showing that the claim limitation(s) does/do not recite sufficient structure, materials, or acts to perform the claimed function.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3, & 5-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) & (a)(2) as being anticipated by Obata et al (U.S. PGPub # 2020/0209302.).
Regarding Independent claim 1, Obata teaches:
A crack detection method for a piezoelectric element, comprising the steps of:
applying a voltage having a single or multiple resonant frequencies to a piezoelectric element (Fig. 1 Elements 14a & 14b. See paragraphs 0037 & 0061-0063.);
measuring a resistive component of an impedance between a pair of electrodes of the piezoelectric element alone due to the application of the voltage (Paragraphs 0061-0064.); and
taking a peak value of the resistive component of the impedance having been measured into consideration and determining whether a crack has occurred in the piezoelectric element based on a preset threshold value (Paragraph 0063.).
Regarding claim 3, Obata teaches all elements of claim 1, upon which this claim depends.
Obata teaches wherein when determining whether a crack has occurred in the piezoelectric element based on the preset threshold value, the method further comprises using a plurality of the peak values of the resistive component of the impedance having been measured, and all of these determination results are taken into consideration to determine whether a crack has occurred in the piezoelectric element (Paragraph 0063.).
Regarding Independent claim 5, Obata teaches:
A crack detection device for a piezoelectric element, comprising:
a voltage application means operable to apply a voltage having a single or multiple resonant frequencies to a piezoelectric element (Fig. 1 Elements 14a & 14b. See paragraphs 0037 & 0061-0063.);
a measurement means operable to measure a resistive component of an impedance between a pair of electrodes of the piezoelectric element alone due to the application of the voltage (Paragraphs 0061-0064.); and
a determination means operable to take a peak value of the resistive component of the impedance having been measured into consideration and operable to determine whether a crack has occurred in the piezoelectric element based on a preset threshold value (Paragraph 0063.).
Regarding claim 6, Obata teaches:
A crack detection device for a piezoelectric element, comprising:
a voltage application means operable to apply a voltage having a single or multiple resonant frequencies and also applies an arbitrary DC voltage to a piezoelectric element (Fig. 1 Elements 14a & 14b. See paragraphs 0037 & 0061-0063.);
a measurement means operable to measure a resistive component of an impedance between a pair of electrodes of the piezoelectric element alone due to the application of the voltage (Paragraphs 0061-0064.); and
a determination means operable to take a peak value of the resistive component of the impedance having been measured into consideration and operable to determine whether a crack has occurred in the piezoelectric element based on a preset threshold value (Paragraph 0063.).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2 & 4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Obata et al (U.S. PGPub # 2020/0209302.) in view of Kaku et al (Translation of JP 5926063).
Regarding claim 2, Obata teaches:
A crack detection method for a piezoelectric element, comprising the steps of:
applying a voltage having a single or multiple resonant frequencies (Fig. 1 Elements 14a & 14b. See paragraphs 0037 & 0061-0063.);
measuring a resistive component of an impedance between a pair of electrodes of the piezoelectric element alone due to the application of the voltage (Paragraphs 0061-0064.); and
taking a peak value of the resistive component of the impedance having been measured into consideration and determining whether a crack has occurred in the piezoelectric element based on a preset threshold value (Paragraph 0063.).
Obata does not explicitly teach:
and also applying an arbitrary DC voltage to a piezoelectric element.
Kaku teaches:
and also applying an arbitrary DC voltage to a piezoelectric element (Paragraph 0024 of translation.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective time of filing to apply the teachings of Kaku to the teachings of Obata such that one would also apply an arbitrary DC voltage to a piezoelectric element so that one “applies a DC electric field to the piezoelectric substrate … of each semi-finished product” so that “when an electric field is applied, the inverse piezoelectric effect of the piezoelectric substrate … causes a strain in the piezoelectric substrate that is proportional to the electric field.”
Regarding claim 4, Obata & Kaku teach all elements of claim 2, upon which this claim depends.
Obata teaches when determining whether a crack has occurred in the piezoelectric element based on the preset threshold value, the method further comprises using a plurality of the peak values of the resistive component of the impedance having been measured, and all of these determination results are taken into consideration to determine whether a crack has occurred in the piezoelectric element (Paragraph 0063.).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. The prior art listed but not cited represents the previous state of the art and analogous art that teaches some of the limitations claimed by applicant.
/CHRISTOPHER P MCANDREW/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2858