DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 21 and 30 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
In view of amendment, a new reference of Kummer et al. (US Pub. 2019/0377384 A1) is applied to a new ground of rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 21, 24-25, 27, 30, 33-34, and 36 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. (US Pub. 2022/0329687 A1) in view of Kummer et al. (US Pub. 2019/0377384 A1).
Regarding claim 21; Kim teaches an electronic device (Figs. 1-3, a mobile terminal 100) comprising:
a housing (a housing 101, Fig.3);
a display (a display unit 151, Fig.3) comprising:
a main display area (e.g., Fig.11, a first fixed display 311a); and
a expandable display area (a first expansion display 311b, Fig.11) configured to expand from the main display area (Fig.11, para. [0146]), wherein the expandable display area is configured to be hidden in the housing and/or viewable from outside based on a movement and/or position of at least part of the housing (Para. [0107-0110, Figs. 2 and 3, the first expansion display (e.g., 1513) is configured to be hidden in the housing (Fig.3(b)) or viewable from outside (Fig.3(b)) based on a movement of a roller 1028);
a communication module (a wireless communication unit 110, Fig.1) comprising communication circuitry (para. [0052, 0055, 0058]);
at least one processor (a controller 180, Fig.1), comprising processing circuitry, operatively connected to the display and the communication module (Fig.1, para. [0072-0074]);
memory (a memory 170, Fig.1);
wherein the memory stores instructions executable by at least one processor individually and/or collectively (para. [0072]), to cause the electronic device to:
cause the display to display a first video content on the main display area while the expandable display area is hidden in the housing in a slide-in state (Fig.11(a), para. [0151-0152], the first fixed display 311a is displaying a video while the first expansion display 311b is hidden in the housing in a slide-in state);
based on detecting a touch input on the main display area of the display while the first video content is display (Fig.11, para. [0153], an option menu 374 is displayed to enable a user to expand the display. The user may select the option menu 374 while the video is displaying on the first fixed display 311a), determine an area (the option menu 374, Fig.11) on which the touch input is detected among a plurality of areas of the main display area (Fig.11, para. [0153], it is detected whether the option menu 374 is selected);
select one expandable display area to display a second video content corresponding to the determined area of the main display area (Fig.11(b), para. [0153], when the user clicks on the option menu 374, the first display 311 is expanded so as to be divided into the first fixed display 311a and the first expansion display 311b. Para. [0164-0168], Fig.15, Kim further discloses that the user may receive a video call notification 363 when the first display 311 is not extended. The user may extend the first display 311 to expose the first expansion display 311b to display the video call screen);
receive information related to the second video content from an external device (para. [0003, 0016, ], the video data is received from an external device (e.g., social network service)), via at least the communication circuitry (Fig.1, the wireless communication unit 110); and
when the expandable display area is exposed to outside in a slide-out state (e.g., Figs. 3 and 15, the first expansion display 311b is exposed to outside in a slide-out state), cause the display to display the first video content on the main display area (Fig.11, the first fixed display 311a displays a first video) and display the second video content on the expandable display area (Fig.15, when the video call is receiving, the first expansion display 311b is configured to display the video call screen).
Kim does not teach that the main display area positionally divided into a plurality of areas; and a plurality of expandable display areas configured to expand from the main display area; the plurality of expandable display areas are configured to be hidden in the housing; and the plurality of expandable display areas comprises a first expandable display area configured to be expanded in a first direction from the main display area and a second expandable display area configured to be expanded in a second direction from the main display area, the first and second directions being different from each other; based on detecting a touch input on the main display area; determine an area on which the touch input is detected among the plurality of areas of the main display area; select one expandable display area among the plurality of expandable display areas to display a second video content, the selected one expandable display area positionally corresponding to the determine area of the main display area.
(Fig. 3 of Kummer reproduced)
Kummer teaches that the main display area positionally divided into a plurality of areas (Figs. 1A-1D, para. [0019], Kummer discloses a portable communication device 100 comprising a first (fixed) screen portion 104 and a second screen portion 106 hidden within a housing 102. When a user selects an actuator 108, the second screen portion 106 slides out from the housing 102 as shown in Fig. 1B). Para. [0028], the actuator 108 may be implemented as a virtual button or an electronic interface element. For example, the user may interact with an electronic interface element, displayed on the first display screen portion 104, which causes the second display screen portion 106 to be released and/or partially or fully extended from the housing 102. Kummer further discloses that the portable communication device 100 may comprise two expandable displays. In particular, in Fig. 3, para. [0032], an optional second actuator may be provided to expand a third screen portion 307. Therefore, Kummer further discloses that the first screen portion 104 may display two graphical elements. One graphical element is used to expand the second screen portion 306; and another graphical element is used to expand the third screen portion 307); and a plurality of expandable display areas configured to expand from the main display area (Figs. 1-3); the plurality of expandable display areas are configured to be hidden in the housing (Fig. 1A); and the plurality of expandable display areas comprises a first expandable display area configured to be expanded in a first direction from the main display area and a second expandable display area configured to be expanded in a second direction from the main display area, the first and second directions being different from each other (Fig. 3, para. [0032]); based on detecting a touch input on the main display area (Fig. 3, para. [0028 and 0032], each actuator is corresponding to a screen portion. The actuators may be virtual buttons (or electronic interface elements) displayed on the first screen portion 104/304); determine an area on which the touch input is detected among the plurality of areas of the main display area; select one expandable display area among the plurality of expandable display areas to display a second video content, the selected one expandable display area positionally corresponding to the determine area of the main display area (Fig. 3, para. [0028 and 0032], a first actuator and a second actuator would be displayed on the first screen portion to control an extension of the second screen portion 306 and the third screen portion 307).
At the time of invention was effectively filed, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the display device of Kim to include the teaching of Kummer of providing a portable communication device comprising a first (fixed) screen portion, a second (expandable) screen portion, and a third (expandable) screen portion; and displaying two virtual actuators on the first screen portion for controlling an extension of the second screen portion and the third screen portion. The motivation would have been in order to increase the size and resolution (Kummer, para. [0013 and 0020]).
Regarding claim 24; Kim in view of Kummer teaches the electronic device of claim 21 as discussed above. Kim does not teach receive information related to a third video content from another external device, via at least the communication circuitry; and display the third video content on another expandable display area among the plurality of expandable display areas while the second video content is displayed on the selected one expandable display area.
Kummer teaches receive information related to a third video content from another external device, via at least the communication circuitry (Fig. 8, para. [0052 and 0054], the electronic device comprises an antenna 804 for receiving wireless communication signals from an external source via a communications interface 806. In Fig. 3, a video is displayed on the first, second, and third display screen portions. Therefore, the video may be received from an external source); and display the third video content on another expandable display area among the plurality of expandable display areas while the second video content is displayed on the selected one expandable display area (Fig. 3, a third video content is displayed on the third display screen portion 307 while a second video content is displayed on the second display screen portion 306).
The motivation is the same as the rejection of claim 21.
Regarding claim 25; Kim in view of Kummer teaches the electronic device of claim 21 as discussed above. Kim does not teach that cause the display to display at least one visual object in each of the plurality of areas the main display area, wherein each visual object indicates a corresponding expandable display area of the plurality of expandable display areas.
Kummer teaches that cause the display to display at least one visual object in each of the plurality of areas the main display area, wherein each visual object indicates a corresponding expandable display area of the plurality of expandable display areas (referred to the analysis of claim 21 above, para. [0028 and 0032], Kummer discloses that two virtual actuators may be displayed on the first display screen portion. One virtual actuator may be used to control the extension of the second display screen portion. Another virtual actuator may be used to control the extension of the third display screen portion).
The motivation is the same as the rejection of claim 21.
Regarding claim 27; Kim in view of Kummer teaches the electronic device of claim 21 as discussed above. Kim further teaches that cause at least part of the housing to move so that the selected one expandable display area is viewable (Fig.3, the frame 102 moves so as to expose the expansion portion 1513 which is corresponding to the first expansion portion 311b), and/or cause the display to display information to guide a user to expand the selected one expandable display (Fig.13, the first option menu 376 is displayed to guide the user to expand the display 311 to expose the first expansion display 311b).
Regarding claim 30; Kim in view of Kummer teaches a method of an electronic device, the electronic device comprising a housing, a display including a main display area positionally divided into a plurality of areas and viewable from outside the housing and a plurality of expandable display areas configured to expand from the main display area, wherein the plurality of expandable display areas are configured to be hidden in the housing and/or viewable from outside based on a movement and/or position of at least part of the housing, and the plurality of expandable display areas comprises a first expandable display area configured to be expanded in a first direction from the main display area and a second expandable display area configured to be expanded in a second direction from the main display area, the first and second directions being different from each other; the method comprising: displaying a first video content on the main display area while the plurality of expandable display areas are hidden in the housing in a slide-in state; based on detecting a touch input on the main display area of the display while the first video content is displayed, determining an area on which the touch input is detected among the plurality of areas of the main display area; selecting one expandable display area among the plurality of expandable display areas to display a second video content, the selected one expandable display area positionally corresponding to the determined area of the main display area; receiving information related to the second video content from an external device; and when the selected one expandable display area is exposed to outside in a slide-out state, displaying the first video content on the main display area and displaying the second video content on the selected one expandable display area (similar to the analysis of claim 21 above).
Regarding claim 33; Kim in view of Kummer teaches the method of claim 30 as discussed above. The limitation of claim 33 is substantially similar to claim 24. Therefore, claim 33 is rejected under the same analysis as claim 24.
Regarding claim 34; Kim in view of Kummer teaches the method of claim 30 as discussed above. The limitation of claim 34 is substantially similar to claim 25. Therefore, claim 34 is rejected under the same analysis as claim 25.
Regarding claim 36; Kim in view of Kummer teaches the method of claim 30 as discussed above. The limitation of claim 36 is substantially similar to claim 27. Therefore, claim 36 is rejected under the same analysis as claim 27.
Claims 22-23 and 31-32 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. (US Pub. 2022/0329687 A1) in view of Kummer et al. (US Pub. 2019/0377384 A1) as applied to claims 21 and 30 above; further in view of Ahn et al. (US Pub. 2022/0365562 A1).
Regarding claim 22; Kim in view of Kummer teaches the electronic device of claim 21 as discussed above. Kim does not teach the plurality of areas of the main display area include a first area of the main display area adjacent to the first expandable display area and a second area of the main display area adjacent to the second expandable display area.
Ahn teaches an area of the main display area adjacent to the expandable display area (Fig. 4, para. [0081], an electronic device comprises a main display area configured to display a second icon 403 on a right edge. When a user selects the second icon 403, the electronic device expands the display to the right direction. In other words, the second icon 403 is adjacent to the expandable display area 405).
At the time of invention was effectively filed, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the display device of Kim in view of Kummer of providing two expandable display portions; and providing two virtual actuators on the main display portion for controlling the expansion of the expandable display portions to include the teaching of Ahn of displaying a second icon adjacent to an expandable display area. Accordingly, in the display device of Kim in view of Kummer and Ahn, there would be two virtual actuators display on two sides of the main display portion; and each virtual actuator would be used to expand the display to each side of the main display portion. Therefore; Kim in view of Kummer and Ahn further teaches “the plurality of areas of the main display area include a first area of the main display area adjacent to the first expandable display area and a second area of the main display area adjacent to the second expandable display area”. The motivation would have been in order to intuitively control the expansion.
Regarding claim 23; Kim in view of Kummer and Ahn teaches the electronic device of claim 22 as discussed above. Kim further teaches the memory (the memory 170, Fig.1) stores instructions that, when executed by the at least one processor (para. [0072]), cause the electronic device to: when the touch input is detected on a first area of the main display area (e.g., Fig.11, the touch input is detected on the option menu 374 which is adjacent to the first expansion display 311b. Similarly, Fig.13, a first option menu 376 is adjacent to the first expansion display 311b), select the first expandable display area as the one expandable display area to display the second video content (see the analysis of claim 21).
Kim does not teach when the touch input is detected on the first area of the main display area, select the first expandable display area as the one expandable display area to display the second video content; and when the touch input is detected on the second area of the main display area, select the second expandable display area as the one expandable display area to display the second video content.
Kummer teaches when the touch input is detected on the first area of the main display area, select the first expandable display area as the one expandable display area to display the second video content; and when the touch input is detected on the second area of the main display area, select the second expandable display area as the one expandable display area to display the second video content (see the analysis of claim 21 above; Figs. 1A-1D, 2A-2C, and 3; para. [0028 and 0032], Kummer discloses that two virtual actuators may be displayed on the main display portion so that the user may select one virtual actuator for expand the display to the left side or right side).
The motivation is the same as the rejection of claim 21.
Ahn teaches the first/second area of the main display area adjacent to the first/second expandable display area (see the analysis of claim 22 above).
The motivation is the same as the rejection of claim 22.
Regarding claim 31; Kim in view of Kummer teaches the method of claim 30 as discussed above. The limitation of claim 31 is substantially similar to claim 22. Therefore, claim 31 is rejected under the same analysis as claim 22.
Regarding claim 32; Kim in view of Kummer and Ahn teaches the method of claim 31 as discussed above. The limitation of claim 32 is substantially similar to claim 23. Therefore, claim 32 is rejected under the same analysis as claim 23.
Claims 26 and 35 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. (US Pub. 2022/0329687 A1) in view of Kummer et al. (US Pub. 2019/0377384 A1) as applied to claims 25 and 34 above; further in view of Mao et al. (US Pub. 2025/0165209 A1).
Regarding claim 26; Kim in view of Kummer teaches the electronic device of claim 25 as discussed above. Kim further teaches cause the display to display the at least one visual object, based on a communication with the external device being started (Fig.13, the first option menu 376 is displayed based on a video call operation).
Kim does not teach screen sharing.
Mao teaches screen sharing (In the abstract, para. [0003-0006, 0012, 0016, 0020, and 0026], Mao discloses a method of performing a video call with adding a screen sharing feature).
At the time of invention was effectively filed, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the expandable display system of Kim to include the teaching of Mao of adding a screen sharing feature in a video call. Accordingly, in the expandable display system of Kim as modified by Mao, the display 311 would be configured to display a first option menu to expand the display 311 to expose the expansion display 311b during a video call with a screen sharing function. The motivation would have been in order to improve the user experience (Mao, para. [0006]).
Regarding claim 35; Kim in view of Kummer teaches the method of claim 34 as discussed above. The limitation of claim 35 is substantially similar to claim 26. Therefore, claim 35 is rejected under the same analysis as claim 26.
Claims 28 and 37 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. (US Pub. 2022/0329687 A1) in view of Kummer et al. (US Pub. 2019/0377384 A1) as applied to claims 21 and 30 above; further in view of Park et al. (US Pub. 2014/0232648 A1).
Regarding claim 28; Kim in view of Kummer teaches the electronic device of claim 21 as discussed above. Kim does not teach receive information on display orientation of the second video content from the external device, and determine orientation of the second video content based on the received information.
Park teaches receive information on display orientation of the content from the external device, and determine orientation of the content based on the received information (Figs. 4a and 4b; para. [0068-0073 and 0088], Park discloses a method of transmitting content from a mobile device 100 to a display apparatus 200; and displaying the content on the display apparatus 200. The mobile device 100 is configured to track an orientation of the mobile device 100 using a sensor; and send the content along with the orientation to the display apparatus 200. The display apparatus 200 is configured to display the content according to the orientation in which the mobile device 100 is placed (see Fig.4b)).
At the time of invention was effectively filed, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the expandable display system of Kim to include the teaching of Park of displaying content on a display apparatus according to an orientation which a mobile device is placed. The motivation would have been in order to intuitively share video content.
Regarding claim 37; Kim in view of Kummer teaches the method of claim 30 as discussed above. The limitation of claim 37 is substantially similar to claim 28. Therefore, claim 37 is rejected under the same analysis as claim 28.
Claims 29 and 38 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. (US Pub. 2022/0329687 A1) in view of Kummer et al. (US Pub. 2019/0377384 A1) as applied to claims 21 and 30 above; further in view of Oh et al. (US Patent No. 10,963,016).
Regarding claim 29; Kim in view of Kummer teaches the electronic device of claim 21 as discussed above. Kim does not teach determine a screen size for displaying the first video content and the second video content based on at least one of sizes or aspect ratios of the first video content and the second video content, and cause at least part of the housing to move so that the selected one expandable display area is viewable, based on the determined screen size.
Oh teaches that determine a screen size for displaying the first video content and the second video content based on at least one of sizes or aspect ratios of the first video content and the second video content, and cause at least part of the housing to move so that the selected one expandable display area is viewable, based on the determined screen size (Fig.4, col.10||36-67, col.11||1-67, col.12||1-3; Oh discloses a method of displaying a first content on a first area 441; and displaying a second content on a second area 442 which is an extended area. The first content has a predetermined size corresponding to the first area 441. The size of the extended second area 442 is determined according to a size of the second content which is determined in advance. In other words, a third size (e.g., in case of numeral 4e) would be determined according to the sizes of the first content and the second content).
At the time of invention was effectively filed, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the expandable display system of Kim to include the teaching of Oh of determining a screen size of an expanded display area based on a size of a second content. The motivation would have been in order to fully display content in the expansion display portion.
Regarding claim 38; Kim in view of Kummer teaches the method of claim 30 as discussed above. The limitation of claim 38 is substantially similar to claim 29. Therefore, claim 38 is rejected under the same analysis as claim 29.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Inquiries
/NGUYEN H TRUONG/Examiner, Art Unit 2623
/CHANH D NGUYEN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2623