DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 04/23/2025 and 12/31/2025 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are being considered by the Examiner.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the first group of patches and the second group of patches (claim 4) must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they do not include the following reference sign(s) mentioned in the description: feed point P2 (¶62).
Claim Objections
Claims 7 and 19 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 7 (line 4) recites “the at least one patterned patch”. Claim 7 should depend on claim 3 to avoid antecedent basis issues (claim 1 does not recite at least one patterned patch).
Claim 19 depends on claim 1 and recites (line 2) “further comprising: a plurality of antenna elements…”. As claim 1 already recites at least one antenna element, line 2 should read “wherein the at least one antenna element comprises a plurality of antenna elements, wherein the plurality of antenna elements are arranged in an”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 4 and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 4 recites the limitation “the at least one patterned patch comprises a first group of patches and a second group of patches”. However, it is not clear from either the Specification or the drawings what the first group of patches and the second group of patches are and how they are related to the patterned patch(es). From the drawings, it appears as though the Applicant intended the at least one patterned patch to be a rectangle, and it is therefore not clear how a rectangle comprises a group of patches. Clarification is required.
For examination purposes, claim 4 is interpreted by the Examiner as best understood.
Claim 6 recites the limitation “the first patch body comprises at least one second strip-shaped patch”. However, claim 6 depends on claim 1 which does not recite any strip-shaped patches, so it is unclear if the second strip-shaped patches in the limitation of claim 6 are the same as (or different to) the first strip-shaped patches recited claim 3. Furthermore, claim 6 recites (lines 2-3) “at least one second strip-shaped patch…., different second strip-shaped patches are disposed at an angle to each other”. Claim 6 allows for the possibility of only one second strip-shaped patch, so it is not clear how there can be different second strip-shaped patches if there is only one second strip-shaped patch. Lines 4-5 recite “the patterned patch is located in the window region and is connected to the second strip-shaped patch”. It is not clear which of the at least one second strip-shaped patches the patterned patch is connected to. Clarification is required.
For examination purposes, claim 6 is interpreted by the Examiner as best understood.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 3-4, 6-9, 11-12 and 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by IDS document Sun et al. (NPL “60-GHz Polarized U-Slot Patch Antenna Array on LTCC” – published 2013; “Sun”).
Claim 1: Sun discloses (fig. 1 below) An antenna apparatus, comprising:
at least one antenna array having at least one antenna element (patch antenna array of 4x4 elements, abstract), wherein the at least one antenna element comprises:
a metal ground plane configured to perform directional radiation on an electromagnetic wave signal (ground plane M3);
a first support layer (LTCC layers between M0 and M2 disclose the first support layer) disposed on a side of the metal ground plane (M3) and spaced from the metal ground plane (by at least h2);
a radiating patch (U-shaped slot patch) disposed on a side surface of the first support layer (LTCC layer) away from the metal ground plane (M3);
at least one feed network (stripline M2), disposed on a side surface of the first support layer facing the metal ground plane, and spaced from the metal ground plane (M3); and
at least one feed structure (probe/via) disposed on the first support layer, wherein the at least one feed structure (probe/via) corresponds to at least one feed network (stripline M2), and the at least one feed network (stripline M2) feeds the radiating patch through the corresponding feed structure (probe/via),
wherein the radiating patch (U-shaped slot patch) comprises a first patch body (M0 layer) and at least one first window (U-shaped slot), a vertical projection of the feed network (stripline M2) onto a plane on which the radiating patch (U-shaped slot patch) is located at least partially overlaps the first patch body (M0 layer) or at least partially overlaps each of the first patch body and the at least one first window (U-shaped slot), and at least one end of the at least one feed network (stripline M2) extends out of the radiating patch (shown in fig. 1a).
Claim 3: Sun discloses the antenna apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the first patch body (M0 layer) comprises a first strip-shaped patch (C-shaped portion of M0 in annotated fig. 1a below) and at least one patterned patch (remaining portion of patch body M0), the first strip-shaped patch is bent to form an internal opening (U-shaped slot), the at least one patterned patch is disposed in a first part of a region of the internal opening, and a second part of the region of the internal opening is a window region (slot);
Claim 4: Sun discloses the antenna apparatus according to claim 3.
Sun discloses, as best understood, wherein the at least one feed network (stripline M2) extends in a first direction (y-direction of fig. 1), the at least one patterned patch comprises a first group of patches (annotated fig. 1a, G1 – the patterned patch can be considered to be made of individual portions which comprise groups of patches. For example, the first group of patches can be a portion outlined in green and an upper portion of rectangle part of pattern patch which projects into the slot region of the patch) and a second group of patches (annotated fig. 1a, G2 – see comments on G1) spaced from each other in a second direction (x-direction), the second direction is set at an angle (90 degrees) to the first direction (y-direction), and the first group of patches (G1) and the second group of patches (G2) are located on two sides of the feed network (stripline M2).
Claim 6: Sun discloses the antenna apparatus according to claim 1.
As best understood, Sun discloses (annotated fig. 1a) wherein the first patch body (M0 layer) comprises at least one second strip-shaped patch (vertical portion and horizontal portions of C-shaped of M0 comprising 3 second strip-shaped patches) and at least one patterned patch (remaining portion of patch body M0), different second strip-shaped patches are disposed at an angle to each other (90 degrees), space between adjacent second strip-shaped patches forms a window region, the patterned patch is located in the window region and is connected to the second strip-shaped patch (at ends of horizontal second strip-shaped patches), and a region that is in the window region and in which the patterned patch is not disposed forms the first window (slot).
Claim 7: Sun discloses the antenna apparatus according to claim 1, wherein a shape of the at least one first window (U-shaped slot) comprises a regular shape (M0 layer) comprises a regular shape
Claim 8: Sun discloses the antenna apparatus according to claim 1.
Sun discloses (annotated fig. 1b below) wherein the at least one feed structure (probe/via) comprises a first feed part (where portions of metallized via hole of the vertical feeding probe terminate) disposed on the side surface of the first support layer facing the metal ground plane (M3), the at least one feed network (M2) is capable of feeding one end (E1) of the first feed part, and the other end (E2, surface of circular pad on layer M2) of the first feed part corresponds to the first patch body (M0) and is configured to feed the first patch body (M0) through coupling (direct coupling).
Claim 9: Sun discloses the antenna apparatus according to claim 1.
Sun discloses (annotated fig. 1b) wherein the at least one feed structure (probe/via) comprises a second feed part (metallized signal via) disposed in the first support layer, the at least one feed network (M2) is configured to feed one end (E3) of the second feed part (via), and the other end (E4) of the second feed part (via) is configured to feed the radiating patch (M0), wherein the one end (E3) of the second feed part (via) is directly connected to the at least one feed network (M2);
Claim 11: Sun discloses the antenna apparatus according to claim 8, wherein the one end (E1) of the first feed part is directly connected to the at least one feed network (M2);
Claim 12: Sun discloses the antenna apparatus according to claim 9, wherein the other end (E4) of the second feed part is directly connected to the first patch body (M0).
Claim 18: Sun discloses the antenna apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the material of the first support layer comprises at least one of: ceramic (U-slot patch antenna on low temperature co-fired ceramic (LTCC), abstract),
Claim 19: Sun discloses the antenna apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the at least one antenna element comprises a plurality of antenna elements (see fig. 3 below), wherein the plurality of antenna elements are arranged in an array according to a specified shape (p. 431, final para., “The distance between neighboring elements is 3.07 mm. Each antenna element is rotated in respect to its adjacent element”), and feed networks of the plurality of antenna elements are connected;
wherein metal ground planes of the plurality of antenna elements are integrally formed (single structure shown in fig. 5);
first support layers (any one of the LTCC layers between M0 and M2) are integrally formed (fig. 5)
second support layers (any one of the LTCC layers between M0 and M2 other than the first support layer) of the plurality of antenna elements are integrally formed
Claim 20: A wireless communication device (60-GHz circularly polarized u-slot patch antenna array, title), comprising:
at least one antenna apparatus having at least one antenna array (patch antenna array), wherein the antenna array comprises at least one antenna element (fig. 3), and the at least one antenna element comprises:
a metal ground plane (fig. 1, M3) configured to perform directional radiation on an electromagnetic wave signal;
a first support layer (any one of the LTCC layers between M0 and M2) disposed on a side of the metal ground plane (M3) and spaced from the metal ground plane;
a radiating patch (u-slot patch) disposed on a side surface of the first support layer away from the metal ground plane (M3);
at least one feed network (stripline M2), disposed on a side surface of the first support layer facing the metal ground plane, and spaced from the metal ground plane; and
at least one feed structure (probe/via) disposed on the first support layer, wherein the at least one feed structure corresponds to the at least one feed network (M2),
and the at least one feed network (M2) feeds the radiating patch through the corresponding at least one feed structure (probe/via),
wherein the radiating patch comprises a first patch body (M0) and at least one first window (slot), a vertical projection of the at least one feed network (M2) onto a plane on which the radiating patch is located at least partially overlaps the first patch body (M0) or at least partially overlaps each of the first patch body and the at least one first window, and
at least one end of the at least one feed network (M2) extends out of the radiating patch (M0); and at least one radio frequency circuit (grounded coplanar waveguide), wherein at least a part of feed networks (M2) of a same antenna apparatus is connected to a same radio frequency circuit, or different feed networks of a same antenna apparatus are connected to different radio frequency circuits (p. 432, “A grounded coplanar waveguide GCPW to stripline M2 transition”, shown in fig. 3).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by IDS document Baek et al. (NPL “Modified aperture coupling annular-ring antenna fed by stripline” – published 2007; “Baek”).
Claim 1: Baek discloses (fig. 3 below) An antenna apparatus, comprising:
at least one antenna array having at least one antenna element (modified aperture coupling annular ring antenna fed by stripline, title), wherein the at least one antenna element (one antenna element shown in fig. 3) comprises:
a metal ground plane (ground) configured to perform directional radiation on an electromagnetic wave signal;
a first support layer (substrate between annular ring antenna and feedline) disposed on a side of the metal ground plane (ground) and spaced from the metal ground plane;
a radiating patch (annular-ring antenna) disposed on a side surface of the first support layer away from the metal ground plane;
at least one feed network (feedline), disposed on a side surface of the first support layer facing the metal ground plane, and spaced from the metal ground plane; and
at least one feed structure (aperture layer) disposed on the first support layer, wherein the at least one feed structure corresponds to at least one feed network (feedline), and the at least one feed network feeds the radiating patch through the corresponding feed structure (aperture layer),
wherein the radiating patch (annular-ring) comprises a first patch body and at least one first window,
a vertical projection of the feed network (feedline) onto a plane on which the radiating patch is located at least partially overlaps the first patch body or at least partially overlaps each of the first patch body and the at least one first window,
and at least one end of the at least one feed network extends out of the radiating patch (shown in fig. 3a, 3b).
Claim 2: Baek discloses the antenna apparatus according to claim 1, wherein an area of overlap between the vertical projection of the at least one feed network (feedline) onto the plane on which the radiating patch (annular-ring) is located and the at least one first window is greater than an area of overlap between the vertical projection and the first patch body.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Zhao (US 2022/0013884 - US equivalent of IDS document CN 111916892A).
Claim 1: Zhao discloses (figs. 2, 3, 10) An antenna apparatus (5G MMW dual-polarized antenna unit, abstract), comprising:
at least one antenna array having at least one antenna element (fig. 10), wherein the at least one antenna element comprises:
a metal ground plane (ground layer 3) configured to perform directional radiation on an electromagnetic wave signal;
a first support layer (¶41, substrate is made of low-temperature co-fired ceramic or a multi-layered circuit board, and therefore includes a first support layer) disposed on a side of the metal ground plane (3) and spaced from the metal ground plane;
a radiating patch (radiation patch 2) disposed on a side surface of the first support layer away from the metal ground plane (3);
at least one feed network (microstrip lines 5), disposed on a side surface of the first support layer facing the metal ground plane (3), and spaced from the metal ground plane (see fig. 3);
and at least one feed structure (feeder pillar 9) disposed on the first support layer,
wherein the at least one feed structure (9) corresponds to at least one feed network (microstrip line 5), and the at least one feed network (5) feeds the radiating patch through the corresponding feed structure (9),
wherein the radiating patch (2) comprises a first patch body and at least one first window (slots 10),
a vertical projection of the feed network (5) onto a plane on which the radiating patch (2) is located at least partially overlaps the first patch body or at least partially overlaps each of the first patch body and the at least one first window, and at least one end of the at least one feed network (5) extends out of the radiating patch (shown in fig. 2).
Claim 14: Zhao discloses the antenna apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the antenna element is a dual-polarized antenna (dual-polarization antenna unit, abstract), an outer contour of the radiating patch (2) is a rectangle, the at least one feed structure (9) comprises a first feed structure (9, see fig. 2) and a second feed structure (second feed structure 9 shown in fig. 2), the first feed structure and the second feed structure (9) are located at two adjacent vertex angles (separated by 90 degrees) or two adjacent sides of the radiating patch (2), respectively, the first feed structure is configured to feed an electromagnetic wave in a first polarization direction into the radiating patch, the second feed structure is configured to feed an electromagnetic wave in a second polarization direction into the radiating patch (two feed pillars 9 excite the vertical and horizontal polarization of the antenna or the ±45° polarization), the first polarization direction is orthogonal to the second polarization direction, and the at least one feed network is located between the first feed structure and the second feed structure (shown in fig. 2).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over IDS document Sun et al. (NPL “60-GHz Polarized U-Slot Patch Antenna Array on LTCC” – published 2013; “Sun”) in view of Quan et al. (NPL “An E-type microstrip slot antenna with parasitic patches in Ka-band with LTCC technology”, published 2010; “Quan”).
Claim 15: Sun discloses the antenna apparatus according to claim 1.
Sun does not disclose “wherein the antenna element further comprises one parasitic radiating component or at least two stacked parasitic radiating components, and the one parasitic radiating component, or the at least two stacked parasitic radiating components comprises: a second support layer disposed on a side surface of the radiating patch and away from the first support layer; and one or more parasitic radiating patches disposed on a side surface of the second support layer away from the radiating patch, and at least partially overlapping the radiating patch.
Quan teaches an LTCC slot antenna comprising 9 substrate layers (p. 407, col. 1), a radiating patch comprising slots (fig. 1) and a microstrip feed. Quan teaches (figs. 3a-b below) wherein the antenna element further comprises one parasitic radiating component (parasitic patch)
a second support layer (h3) disposed on a side surface of the radiating patch (E-type patch shown in fig. 1) and away from the first support layer (any of the LTCC layers above the ground); and one or more (4) parasitic radiating patches disposed on a side surface of the second support layer (h3) away from the radiating patch, and at least partially overlapping the radiating patch (fig. 3a).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the antenna apparatus of Sun to include one parasitic radiating component, and the one parasitic radiating component comprises: a second support layer disposed on a side surface of the radiating patch and away from the first support layer; and one or more parasitic radiating patches disposed on a side surface of the second support layer away from the radiating patch, and at least partially overlapping the radiating patch, as taught by Quan. Adding parasitic radiating components (patches) is a known method for increasing the bandwidth of an antenna.
Claim 17: the modified Sun teaches the antenna apparatus according to claim 15, wherein a material of the second support layer (LTCC layer) is the same as (LTCC layer).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5, 10, 13 and 16 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: The pertinent prior art, as a whole, or in combination, cannot be reasonably construed as adequately teaching or suggesting the elements and features of the claimed invention(s) as arranged, disposed, or provided in the manner as claimed by the Applicant.
Regarding claim 5, Sun does not teach, or suggest, wherein the first patch body further comprises at least one second strip-shaped patch, the at least one second strip-shaped patch is disposed in the window region to divide the window region into at least two first windows, different second strip-shaped patches are disposed at an angle to each other, a first end of the second strip-shaped patch is connected to the first strip-shaped patch or the patterned patch, and a second end of the second strip-shaped patch is connected to the first strip-shaped patch or the patterned patch.
Regarding claim 10, Sun discloses (annotated fig. 1b) wherein the at least one feed structure (probe/via) comprises: a first feed part (where portions of metallized via of the vertical feeding probe end) disposed on the side surface of the first support layer facing the metal ground plane (M3), wherein the at least one feed network (stripline M2) is configured to feed one end (E1) of the first feed part; and a second feed part (metallized via) disposed in the first support layer, wherein the other end (E4) of the second feed part is configured to feed the radiating patch (M0).
Sun does not teach, or suggest, wherein the other end of the first feed part (E2) is configured to feed one end (E3) of the second feed part,
wherein the one end (E3) of the second feed part is directly connected to the other end (E2) of the first feed part;
or the one end (E3) of the second feed part and the (E1) first feed part are spaced from each other in a thickness direction of the first support layer or spaced from each other on a plane on which the first feed part is located, and the other end (E2) of the first feed part is configured to feed the one end (E3) of the second feed part through coupling.
Regarding claim 13, Sun does not teach, or suggest, wherein the second feed part (metallized via) of the at least one feed structure comprises a main feed portion, wherein when the one end (E3) of the second feed part receives feed from the at least one feed network (M2) through coupling, the second feed part further comprises a first coupling portion, the first coupling portion is connected to one end of the main feed portion, the first coupling portion and the at least one feed network are spaced from each other in the thickness direction of the first support layer or spaced from each other on the plane on which the at least one feed network is located, and an area of a vertical projection of the first coupling portion onto the plane on which the at least one feed network is located is greater than an area of a vertical projection of the one end of the main feed portion onto the plane on which the at least one feed network is located; and/or when the other end of the second feed part feeds the radiating patch through coupling, the second feed part further comprises a second coupling portion, the second coupling portion is connected to the other end of the main feed portion, the second coupling portion and the radiating patch are spaced from each other in the thickness direction of the first support layer or spaced from each other on the plane on which the radiating patch is located, and an area of a vertical projection of the second coupling portion onto the plane on which the radiating patch is located is greater than an area of a vertical projection of the other end of the main feed portion onto the plane on which the radiating patch is located.
Regarding claim 16, Sun does not teach, or suggest, one or more parasitic radiating patches. Quan does not teach, or suggest, wherein the one or more parasitic radiating patches comprises at least one second window and a second patch body, and a vertical projection of the at least one feed network onto a plane on which the parasitic radiating patch is located partially or completely overlaps at least one of the second window and the second patch body; and a shape of the second window is the same as or different from a shape of the first window, and a structure of the second patch body is the same as or different from a structure of the first patch body.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Tiezzi (US 2008/0266178) – (fig. 7) discloses ring-shaped antenna element with feed structure.
Izawa (US 2020/0106179) – (fig. 2) discloses a parasitic patch with a window.
Lee (KR 20040025064A) – (fig. 2) discloses a slot-loaded patch antenna with microstrip feed.
/ANNA N HAMADYK/Examiner, Art Unit 2845
/DIMARY S LOPEZ CRUZ/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2845