DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 1 – 3, 5, 6, 8 – 13, and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Bian; Xiao et al. (US 20200175669 A1; hereinafter simply referred to as Bian).
Regarding independent claim 1, Bian teaches of:
A system, comprising: a processor; and a memory, accessible by the processor, the memory storing instructions that, when executed by the processor, cause the processor to perform visual inspection of workpieces (See ¶ 20, 21, 25, figure 1, wherein a system, inspection system ‘100’ in figure 1, comprises a processor, processor ‘104’ in figure 1, and a memory, ‘106’ in figure 1, that stores programmed instructions that when executed by the processor cause the processor to perform visual inspection of workpieces).
receiving a plurality of images of a surface of a part; (See ¶ 40, 43, 90, wherein an imaging device, ‘108’ in figure 1, generates a plurality of images of a surface of a part (set of images of the surface, ‘134’ in figure 1, of the work piece, ‘120’ in figure 1)).
for each image of the plurality of images, applying one or more machine learning models to: identify one or more regions of interest on the surface of the part; (See ¶ 59 – 63 wherein the plurality of images (set of images) are input into a neural network, ‘402’ in figure 4, (machine learning model) to identify one or more regions of interest on the surface of the part (candidate regions, ‘412’ in figure 4))
identify one or more instances of damage on the surface of the part; and determine that the one or more instances of damage intersect with the one or more regions of interest; (See ¶ 77 wherein one or more instances of damage/defect on the surface of the part/workpiece is identified (predicted defect detection); and wherein it is determined that the one or more instances of damage/defect intersect with the one or more regions of interest/candidate regions; as it is determined that the candidate region contains said damage/defect, and therefore the sections must intersect)
determine whether the one or more instances of damage that intersect with the one or more regions of interest from the plurality of images exceeds a threshold value; (See ¶ 82, 77, 79 wherein it is determined if the one or more instances of damage/defect that interest with the one or more regions of interest/candidate region comprising defects, from the plurality of images exceeding a threshold value (probability threshold amount))
in response to the one or more instances of damage that intersect with the one or more regions of interest from the plurality of images exceeding the threshold value, generating an indication that the surface of the part has failed inspection; (See ¶ 82, 83, wherein a control signal indicating the failure of inspection is generated that is configured to segregate the work piece that has failed inspection upon the exceeding of the threshold value)
and in response to the one or more instances of damage that intersect with the one or more regions of interest from the plurality of images not exceeding the threshold value, generating an indication that the surface of the part has passed inspection. (See ¶ 82, 83, wherein a control signal indicating passing of the inspection is generated that is configured to group the workpiece with other work pieces that passed the inspection upon the workpiece not exceeding the threshold value).
Regarding dependent claim 2, Bian teaches of:
The one or more machine learning models comprise an encoder-decoder-based deep neural network, an image classification model, or both. (See ¶ 62, 51, 81 wherein the one or more machine learning models comprises an encoder-decoder based deep neural network (encoder-decoder neural network performing deep learning algorithms); wherein the use of the word “or” makes it so that the other machine learning types are not required to be taught by the prior art).
Regarding dependent claim 3, Bian teaches of:
Identifying the one or more regions of interest on the surface of the part comprises identifying a first boundary of the one or more regions of interest; (See ¶ 63, 73 wherein the one or more regions of interest (candidate regions) of the surface of the workpiece are delineated using rectangular bounding boxes (identified boundaries))
and identifying the one or more instances of damage on the surface of the part comprises identifying one or more second respective boundaries of the one or more instances of damage. (See ¶ 77, 76 wherein the one or more instance of damage/defect on the surface of the part/workpiece comprise a respective second boundary (overlap area, ‘710’ in figure 7, representing the overlapped portion between two predication images)).
Regarding dependent claim 5, Bian teaches of:
Determining whether the one or more instances of damage on the surface of the part are of a particular type of damage, and identifying a location of the one or more instances of damage of the particular type of damage within the image. (See ¶ 53, 54, 57, 60, 30, 39, 41, 76, 71 wherein a particular type of damage/defect is determined on the surface of the part/workpiece such as cracks and spalling, and wherein the location of the particular type of damage is identified being the location of the overlapping candidate regions).
Regarding dependent claim 6, Bian teaches of:
Tracking the one or more instances of damage on the surface of the part through the plurality of images. (See ¶ 37, 39, 71, wherein the defect image data is analyzed/tracked across a plurality of different image data from a plurality of different imaging positions).
Regarding dependent claim 8, Bian teaches of:
receiving one or more annotated or classified images, wherein the one or more annotated images comprise annotations identifying an additional region of interest on an additional surface of the part, one or more additional instances of damage on the additional region of interest on the additional surface of the part, or both and wherein the one or more classified images comprise identification of one or more particular types of damage, identification of one or more features, a location of the one or more particular types of damage, a location of the one or more features in the image, or any combination thereof (See ¶ 60 wherein the one or more classified images (labeled training images with pixel classification) are received and comprise identification of a particular type of damage such as cracking; wherein the use of “or any combination thereof” makes it so that the prior art is only required to teach of one of the limitations of the classified image and wherein the use of the word “or” when referencing annotated or classified images makes it so the prior art must only teach of the classified or annotated image limitations and not both)
and training the one or more machine learning models based on the one or more annotated images or classified images. (See ¶ 60 and 61 wherein the classified images (labeled training images with pixel classifications) are used to train the machine learning models (neural network)).
Regarding independent claim 9, Bian teaches of:
A method, comprising: receiving a plurality of annotated images or classified images, wherein the each of the plurality of annotated images comprises annotations identifying a surface of interest of a part, one or more instances of damage on the part, or both, and wherein the one or more classified images comprise identification of one or more particular types of damage, identification of one or more features, a location of the one or more particular types of damage, a location of the one or more features in the image, or any combination thereof; (See ¶ 60 wherein the one or more classified images (labeled training images with pixel classification) are received and comprise identification of a particular type of damage such as cracking; wherein the use of “or any combination thereof” makes it so that the prior art is only required to teach of one of the limitations of the classified image and wherein the use of the word “or” when referencing annotated or classified images makes it so the prior art must only teach of the classified or annotated image limitations and not both)
and training one or more machine learning models based on the plurality of annotated images or classified images to analyze an additional plurality of images of an additional surface of an additional part (See ¶ 60, 61, 45 wherein the classified images (labeled training images with pixel classifications) are used to train the machine learning models (neural network) to analyze an additional plurality of images of an additional surface of an additional part (input images to the neural network including first set of images ‘304’ in figure 3))
identify an additional region of interest on the additional surface of the additional part; (See ¶ 59 – 63 wherein the plurality of images (set of images) are input into a neural network, ‘402’ in figure 4, (machine learning model) to identify one or more regions of interest on the surface of the part (candidate regions, ‘412’ in figure 4))
identify one or more additional instances of damage on the additional surface of the additional part; and determine that the one or more additional instances of damage intersect with the additional region of interest. (See ¶ 77 wherein one or more instances of damage/defect on the surface of the part/workpiece is identified (predicted defect detection); and wherein it is determined that the one or more instances of damage/defect intersect with the one or more regions of interest/candidate regions; as it is determined that the candidate region contains said damage/defect, and therefore the sections must intersect).
Regarding dependent claim 10, claim 10 is a method claim corresponding to claim 2, please see the discission of claim 2 above.
Regarding dependent claim 11, Bian teaches of:
Identifying the additional regions of interest on the additional surface of the part comprises identifying a first boundary of the additional regions of interest; (See ¶ 63, 73 wherein the one or more regions of interest (candidate regions) of the surface of the workpiece are delineated using rectangular bounding boxes (identified boundaries)).
Regarding dependent claim 12, Bian teaches of:
Identifying the one or more additional instances of damage on the additional surface of the additional part comprises identifying one or more second respective boundaries of the one or more instances of damage. (See ¶ 77, 76 wherein the one or more instance of damage/defect on the surface of the part/workpiece comprise a respective second boundary (overlap area, ‘710’ in figure 7, representing the overlapped portion between two predication images)).
Regarding dependent claim 13, claim 13 is a method claim corresponding to claim 5, please see the discission of claim 5 above.
Regarding dependent claim 15, Bian teaches of:
receiving the additional plurality of images of the additional surface of the additional part and for each image of the additional plurality of images, applying the one or more machine learning models to: identify the additional region of interest on the additional surface of the part: (See ¶ 59 – 63 wherein the plurality of images (set of images) are received and are input into a neural network, ‘402’ in figure 4, (machine learning model) to identify one or more regions of interest on the surface of the part (candidate regions, ‘412’ in figure 4))
identify the one or more additional instances of damage on the additional surface of the additional part; and determine that the one or more additional instances of damage intersect with the additional region of interest; (See ¶ 77 wherein one or more instances of damage/defect on the surface of the part/workpiece is identified (predicted defect detection); and wherein it is determined that the one or more instances of damage/defect intersect with the one or more regions of interest/candidate regions; as it is determined that the candidate region contains said damage/defect, and therefore the sections must intersect).
determine whether the one or more additional instances of damage that intersect with the additional region of interest from the plurality of frames exceeds a threshold value; (See ¶ 82, 77, 79 wherein it is determined if the one or more instances of damage/defect that interest with the one or more regions of interest/candidate region comprising defects, from the plurality of images exceeding a threshold value (probability threshold amount))
in response to the one or more additional instances of damage that intersect with the additional region of interest from the plurality of frames exceeding the threshold value, generating an indication that the additional surface of the additional part has failed inspection; (See ¶ 82, 83, wherein a control signal indicating the failure of inspection is generated that is configured to segregate the work piece that has failed inspection upon the exceeding of the threshold value)
and in response to the one or more additional instances of damage that intersect with the additional region of interest from the plurality of frames not exceeding the threshold value, generating an indication that the surface of the part has passed inspection. (See ¶ 82, 83, wherein a control signal indicating passing of the inspection is generated that is configured to group the workpiece with other work pieces that passed the inspection upon the workpiece not exceeding the threshold value).
Claims 16, 18 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Chatfield Ken et al. (US 20230334642 A1; hereinafter simply referred to as Chatfield).
Regarding independent claim 16, Chatfield teaches:
A non-transitory computer readable medium storing instructions that, when executed by a processor, cause the processor to perform operations (See ¶ 88, 17 - 19, 22, Figure 1, wherein a non-transitory computer readable storage medium is disclosed storing software code/instructions that are executed by a processor, ‘105’ in figure 1, causing the execution of vehicle inspection operations)
receiving, via a user interface of a mobile device, instructions to begin an inspection of a surface of a part; (See ¶ 31, 33, 12, 13, 26, 74, 36, wherein a user receives via a user device ‘100’ in figure 1, which is a mobile phone/device, instructions to begin an inspection of a surface of a part (vehicle inspection, including inspection of surface of certain vehicle parts))
capturing via a camera of the mobile device, a video of the surface of the part as the mobile device is moved about the part; (See ¶ 23, 42, 79, Figure 5a, wherein a user captures video of the surface of the part / area of interest of vehicle as the mobile device/user device is moved about the part)
receiving, via the user interface of the mobile device, information associated with the part, the inspection, or both; (See ¶ 54, 55, 22, wherein the mobile device/user device comprises a display displaying an interface/user interface receives and displays information associated with the part (cost of repair for the part) and the inspection (initial inspection results))
generating, via the processor of the mobile device, an inspection data set comprising the video and the information; (See ¶ 53 – 58, figure 4, wherein the mobile device / user device generates an inspection data set comprising the video and the information represented by the video viewer which displays both the video of the part and the information of the part such as the cost of repair for the part).
and displaying, via the user interface of the mobile device, an indication of whether the surface of the part passed the inspection or failed the inspection based on a machine learning-based analysis of the inspection data set. (See ¶ 36, 38, 68, 21, 25, 33, wherein the user device comprises an AI-based application / machine learning based analysis, that conducts the inspection on the data set (the data set comprising the surface of the part being inspected such as the surface of a quarter panel), and wherein the inspection results are displayed to interested parties indicating whether or not repairs are needed (passing or failing inspection)).
Regarding dependent claim 18, Chatfield teaches:
Transmitting the inspection data set to a local server, a remote server, a cloud-based server, or a combination thereof for the machine learning-based analysis of the inspection data set; (See ¶ 18, 21, 20, 24, 36, 37, 33 Figure 3, wherein the inspection data set is transmitted to a local server, a remote server, a cloud based server, and/or any combination of server, for the machine learning model /AI based application (machine learning model), hosted on the server, to conduct the analysis of the inspection data set/ images captured)
and receiving from the remote server, the cloud-based server, or the combination thereof, results of the machine learning-based analysis of the inspection data set. (See ¶ 36, 38, 52, 33 wherein results of the machine learning based analysis of the inspection data set are received from the server combination that hosts the AI system/machine learning models).
Regarding dependent claim 20, Chatfield teaches:
The operations comprise recognizing identifying information on the surface of the part. (See ¶ 41 the operations comprise recognizing identifying information on the surface of the part such as identifying Vehicle identification numbers, and license plates using optical character recognition).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bian; Xiao et al. (US 20200175669 A1; hereinafter simply referred to as Bian) in view of Domingo; Mery et al. (Automated Flaw Detection in Aluminum Castings Based on the Tracking of Potential Defects in a Radioscopic Image Sequence; hereinafter simply referred to as Mery).
Regarding dependent claim 7, Bian does not explicitly disclose:
Identifying a particular instance of damage of the one or more instances of damage in a first image of the plurality of images; and identifying the particular instance of damage of the one or more instances of damage in a second image of the plurality of images, wherein the first image precedes the second image in the plurality of images.
However, Mery teaches of identifying a particular instance of damage of the one or more instances of damage in a first image of the plurality of images; and identifying the particular instance of damage of the one or more instances of damage in a second image of the plurality of images, wherein the first image precedes the second image in the plurality of images (See Page 891 Right Column Paragraph 2, Page 893 Right Column Paragraphs 3 – 5, Page 894, Right Column Final Paragraph, Figure 6, wherein a particular defect/damage in a radioscopic image sequence, comprising a plurality of images, is tracked throughout the sequence, including the tracking in a first image preceding a second image in the sequence of images).
As taught by Mery the method used to track the defect across the sequence of images allows for only real defects to be considered and tracked and not false positives. (See Page 891 Right Column Paragraph 1 and 2 wherein the false positive rates are not satisfactory using other methods but the method of tracking defects as taught by Mery allows for only real defects to be tracked). As both the teachings of Bian and Mery deal with technical field of image processing regarding defect detection in images it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Bian with Mery to teach of identifying a particular instance of damage of the one or more instances of damage in a first image of the plurality of images; and identifying the particular instance of damage of the one or more instances of damage in a second image of the plurality of images, wherein the first image precedes the second image in the plurality of images in order for only real defects to be identified and tracked in the plurality of images.
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chatfield Ken et al. (US 20230334642 A1; hereinafter simply referred to as Chatfield) in view of Bian; Xiao et al. (US 20200175669 A1; hereinafter simply referred to as Bian).
Regarding dependent claim 17, Chatfield teaches:
Separating the video into a plurality of frames; for each frame of the plurality of frames, applying one or more machine learning models (See ¶ 42, 46, 49, 40 wherein the video is split into a plurality of frames/images that make up the video and wherein each of the images/frames is analyzed by the AI system/ machine learning model)
identify a region of interest on the surface of the part; (See ¶ 42 and 44 wherein a region of interest on the surface of the part is identified, being the specific location on a part of the vehicle, such as a vehicle door, that is prompted to the user using some sort of indication such as a bounding box or cross-hair)
identify one or more instances of damage on the surface of the part; (See ¶ 44 and 45 wherein one or more instances of damage on the surface of the part are identified, being the potential damage that is identified on the surface of the part such as a vehicle door)
displaying via a user interface of the mobile device an indication that the surface of the part has failed or passed the inspection (See ¶ 36, 38, 68, 21, wherein the user device comprises an AI-based application / machine learning based analysis, that conducts the inspection on the data set (the data set comprising the surface of the part being inspected such as the surface of a quarter panel), and wherein the inspection results are displayed to interested parties indicating whether or not repairs are needed (passing or failing inspection)).
Chatfield does not explicitly disclose determine that the one or more instances of damage intersect with the region of interest and determine whether the one or more instances of damage that intersect with the region of interest from the plurality of frames exceeds a threshold value; in response to the one or more instances of damage that intersect with the region of interest from the plurality of frames exceeding the threshold value, providing an indication that the surface of the part has failed inspection; and in response to the one or more instances of damage that intersect with the region of interest from the plurality of frames not exceeding the threshold value, providing an indication that the surface of the part has passed inspection.
However, Bian teaches of determine that the one or more instances of damage intersect with the region of interest (See ¶ 77 wherein one or more instances of damage/defect on the surface of the part/workpiece is identified (predicted defect detection); and wherein it is determined that the one or more instances of damage/defect intersect with the one or more regions of interest/candidate regions; as it is determined that the candidate region contains said damage/defect, and therefore the sections must intersect)
determine whether the one or more instances of damage that intersect with the region of interest from the plurality of frames exceeds a threshold value; (See ¶ 82, 77, 79 wherein it is determined if the one or more instances of damage/defect that interest with the one or more regions of interest/candidate regions comprising defects, from the plurality of images exceeds a threshold value (probability threshold amount))
in response to the one or more instances of damage that intersect with the region of interest from the plurality of frames exceeds the threshold value, providing an indication that the surface of the part has failed inspection; (See ¶ 82, 83, wherein a control signal indicating the failure of inspection is generated that is configured to segregate the work piece that has failed inspection upon the exceeding of the threshold value)
and in response to the one or more instances of damage that intersect with the region of interest from the plurality of frames not exceeding the threshold value, providing an indication that the surface of the part has passed inspection. (See ¶ 82, 83, wherein a control signal indicating passing of the inspection is generated that is configured to group the workpiece with other work pieces that passed the inspection upon the workpiece not exceeding the threshold value).
As taught by Bian comparing the intersected region of interest and defect areas with a threshold that allows for an indication to be made of passing or failing an inspection wherein failed pieces can be categorized together and pieces that passed can be categorized together. (See ¶ 82 and 83 wherein pieces that passed the inspection are categorized together and pieces that failed the inspection are categorized together). As both the teachings of Chatfield and Bian deal with the technical field of image processing regarding the inspection of defects/damage of pieces/parts in an image, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Chatfield with Bian to teach of determine that the one or more instances of damage intersect with the region of interest and determine whether the one or more instances of damage that intersect with the region of interest from the plurality of frames exceeds a threshold value; in response to the one or more instances of damage that intersect with the region of interest from the plurality of frames exceeding the threshold value, providing an indication that the surface of the part has failed inspection; and in response to the one or more instances of damage that intersect with the region of interest from the plurality of frames not exceeding the threshold value, providing an indication that the surface of the part has passed inspection in order for pieces that passed the inspection to be categorized together and for pieces that failed the inspection to be categorized together.
Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chatfield Ken et al. (US 20230334642 A1; hereinafter simply referred to as Chatfield) in view of Amtrup; Jan et al. (US 20170111532 A1; hereinafter simply referred to as Amtrup).
Regarding dependent claim 19, Chatfield does not explicitly disclose:
Performing, prior to transmitting the inspection data set to the local server, the remote server, the cloud-based server, or the combination thereof, one or more processing or pre-processing operations on the inspection data set.
However, Amtrup teaches of performing prior to transmitting the inspection data set to the local server, the remote server, the cloud-based server, or the combination thereof, one or more processing or pre-processing operations on the inspection data set. (See ¶ 105 wherein pre-processing of the frames of the digital video / inspection data set, is performed prior to the transmitting of the inspection data set to the server; wherein the use of the word “or” makes it so that only one server must be disclosed and only one of processing or pre-processing must be disclosed by the prior art).
As taught by Amtrup pre-processing the video data before transmittal to the server allows for the determination of the quality of the image data before it is sent to the servers. (See ¶ 105 wherein the quality of the image data is determined prior to the transmittal of the data to the servers). As both the teachings of Chatfield and Amtrup deal with the technical field of image processing regarding the transmittal of video data to a server, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Chatfield with Amtrup to teach of performing prior to transmitting the inspection data set to the local server, the remote server, the cloud-based server, or the combination thereof, one or more processing or pre-processing operations on the inspection data set in order for the quality of the video data to be determined prior to the transmittal of the video data to the servers.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4 and 14 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indications of allowable subject matter:
Regarding claims 4 and 14, the reason of allowable subject matter is that the prior art fails to teach or reasonably suggest the limitations of claims 3 and 12 respectively, further comprising determining that the one or more additional instances of damage intersect with the additional region of interest comprises generating projections of respective ellipses of the one or more second respective boundaries of the one or more additional instances of damage onto the first boundary of the additional region of interest via contour ellipse fitting.
Prior Art Made of Record
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to Applicant’s disclosure and is as follows:
U.S. Patent Application US 20220058591 A1 (Xiong) discloses the inspection of specific asset component types using artificial intelligence to determine if parts of the specific asset comprise defects/damage and the displaying of the inspection results (Xiong [0028]).
Furthermore please See attached PTO-892.
Conclusion
/ALEJANDRO HERNANDEZ/Examiner, Art Unit 2661
/JOHN VILLECCO/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2661