DETAILED ACTION
This action is responsive to the application filed March 26, 2025, claims 1-20 are presented for examination. Claims 1, 8 and 15 are independent claims.
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for priority based on CIP application # 18202931 filed in on May 28, 2023 which papers have been placed of record in the file.
Oath/Declaration
The Office acknowledges receipt of a properly signed Oath/Declaration submitted March 26, 2025.
Drawings
The drawings filed April 2, 2025 are accepted by the examiner.
Abstract
The abstract filed March 26, 2025 is accepted by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-20 and specifically claims 1, 8 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention. The terms below lack a definition in the disclosure and it is not conventional, and it is unclear what is meant thus rendering the claim indefinite.
Claim 1 lacks antecedent basis, the terms “the first user, the second user, the first whiteboard screen, the content file and the file server” lacks antecedent basis.
Claim 8 lacks antecedent basis, the terms “the first user and the second user” lacks antecedent basis.
Claim 15 lacks antecedent basis, the terms “the user, file server and the second user” lacks antecedent basis.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-20 and specifically claims 1, 8 and 15 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention are directed to an abstract idea without significantly more. Claims 1, 8 and 15 recite wherein a first whiteboard user controls a first whiteboard to save content displayed on the whiteboard, and to transmit the saved content to a whiteboard file server connected to the communication network that is remote from the first whiteboard and wherein the user informs a user of a second whiteboard that is connected to the communication network of the key information, and the second user sends a content file request message to the file server that is comprised of the key information to request that the file server transmit the content comprising file to the second whiteboard.
Regarding claim 1, the claim recites a whiteboard content sharing system, comprising: first and second whiteboards, connected to a communication network, that operate under control of a computational device to display content that is maintained by the first and second whiteboards; and a whiteboard file server, connected to the communication network, operates to maintain content received from the first and second whiteboards; wherein a first whiteboard user controls the first whiteboard to save content that is displayed on the first whiteboard screen, and to transmit the saved content to the whiteboard file server; and wherein the whiteboard file server receives the content, maintains the content in a file system, assigns information comprising a unique key to the file, and sends a message to the first whiteboard that has the key information assigned to the content file; and wherein the first user informs a user of the second whiteboard of the key information, and the second user sends a content file request message to the file server that is comprised of the key information to request that the file server transmit the content file to the second whiteboard.
Regarding claim 8, the claim recites a method for sharing content between a plurality of multi-media whiteboard systems, comprising: a user controlling a first whiteboard to save whiteboard screen content to a file server located remotely from the first whiteboard; wherein the first whiteboard and the file server are connected to a common communication network; the file server assigning key information to the saved content and sending a message to the first whiteboard having the assigned key information; the first user informing a user of a second whiteboard of the assigned key information; and the second user controlling the second whiteboard to transmit a content request message having the key information to the file server to transmit the saved content to the second whiteboard.
Regarding claim 15, the claim recites a method of operating a whiteboard, comprising: a whiteboard, connected to a communication network, operating under control of a computational device to display interactive content maintained in non-volatile computer readable memory; wherein a first whiteboard user controls a first whiteboard to save content displayed on the whiteboard, and to transmit the saved content to a whiteboard file server connected to the communication network that is remote from the first whiteboard; wherein the first whiteboard receives information comprising a key from the file server that is assigned to the content saved by the first whiteboard; and wherein the user informs a user of a second whiteboard that is connected to the communication network of the key information, and the second user sends a content file request message to the file server that is comprised of the key information to request that the file server transmit the content comprising file to the second whiteboard.
In each claim, the apparatus is two elements: a whiteboard (“display”) and a computational device (“a computer” ) for saving and transmitting content to a server under the direction of a first user. Under its broadest reasonable interpretation, these claims recite an apparatus with a process that can be carried out by a human being and communicating a security key information (key, password, passphrase, etc..) from a first user to a second user by using the recitation of a generic computer component. The office notes that the communication of security information as per the recited claim does not require computer component communication between a first user and second user, the broadness of the claim allows the office to interpret the communication between the first user and the second user to encompass verbal, handwritten and/or any human form of communicating a security key. Thus, nothing in the claims precludes the steps from practically being an abstract idea encompassing methods organizing human activity MPEP 2106.04(a)(2)(II), specifically managing interactions between people. Accordingly, the claims each recite an abstract idea.
This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application. In particular, each claim recite the same elements, a whiteboard (“display”) and a computational device (“a computer” ) for saving and transmitting content to a server under the direction of a first user and the first user providing a security key for opening the generated content to a second user. The elements in these steps are recited at a high-level of generality (i.e., as a generic display and computer performing a generic computer function) such that it amounts to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer component. Accordingly, these elements do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because it does not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea. The claim does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception.
As discussed above with respect to integration of the abstract idea into a practical application, the element of using computer file saving methods, data password sharing between a computer (server) and a human; and human mediated data password sharing between two individuals (first user and second user) using generic computer component does not provide an inventive concept. Thus, the claims are not patent eligible.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over IDS submitted prior art Watanabe et al US 20180234579 Al in view Moffat et al. US 20190199673 A1.
As to Claim 1:
Watanabe et al. discloses a whiteboard content sharing system (Watanabe, see Start remote sharing process S28 in figure 9)), comprising: first (Watanabe, see 3b in figure 2) and second whiteboards (Watanabe, see 3a in figure 2)), connected to a communication network (Watanabe, see communication network 9 in figure 2), that operate under control of a computational device (Watanabe, see computational device 6b and 6a in figure 2) to display content that is maintained by the first and second whiteboards (Watanabe, see 3b and 3a in figure 2 and paragraph [0008], where Watanabe discloses that the electronic whiteboards includes a display device configured to display visible information); and a whiteboard file server (Watanabe, see server 90 in figure 4), connected to the communication network (Watanabe, see communication network 9 in figure 4), operates to maintain content (Watanabe, see paragraph [0137], where Watanabe discloses that the remote operation transmitting unit 65 transmits various types of operation data necessary for a remote
sharing process to the server unit 90) received from the first and second whiteboards (Watanabe, see server unit connected to electronic whiteboard 2 in figure 4 and 3b and 3a in figure 2); wherein a first whiteboard user controls the first whiteboard to save content that is displayed on the first whiteboard screen (Watanabe, see paragraph [0120], where Watanabe discloses that a PDF file may be created when the user performs a page data saving process at a given time (when the user presses a read and save icon as described below). When the saving process is performed multiple times, the PDF file is updated accordingly. The file name of the PDF file may include the current time (creation time of the PDF file) acquired by the termination process unit 53, for example. As will be described below, the PDF file is associated with a conference ID that is assigned by the user. The user can reproduce page data by specifying the PDF file with the relevant conference ID assigned thereto. The conference ID is identification information for uniquely identifying a PDF file. The user can also assign a file name to the PDF file)), and to transmit the saved content to the whiteboard file server (Watanabe, see paragraph [0137], where Watanabe discloses that the remote operation transmitting unit 65 transmits various types of operation data necessary for a remote sharing process to the server unit 90. Examples of the various types of operation data include data relating to addition of a stroke, deletion of a stroke, editing (enlarging, reducing, moving) of a stroke, storage of page data, creation of page data, duplication of page data, deletion of page data,
page turning, and the like); and wherein the whiteboard file server receives the content (Watanabe, see paragraph [0137], where Watanabe discloses that the remote operation transmitting unit 65 transmits various types of operation data necessary for a remote sharing process to the server unit 90. Examples of the various types of operation data include data relating to addition of a stroke, deletion of a stroke, editing (enlarging, reducing, moving) of a stroke, storage of page data, creation of page data, duplication of page data, deletion of page data, page turning, and the like), maintains the content in a file system (Watanabe, see paragraph [0111], where Watanabe discloses that the functional configuration of the file process unit 40 illustrated in FIG. 4 will be described with reference to FIG. 5. FIG. 5 is a block diagram illustrating an example functional configuration of the file process unit 40. The file process unit 40 includes a recovery process unit 41, a file input unit 42a, a file output unit 42b, a file conversion unit 43, a file transmitting unit 44, an address book input unit 45, a backup process unit 46, a backup output unit 47, a setting management unit 48, a setting file input unit 49a, and a setting file output unit 49b. Further, the file process unit 40 includes an address book management table 410, a backup data storage unit 420, a setting file storage unit 430, and a connection destination management table 440. The address book management table 410, the backup data storage unit 420, the setting file storage unit 430, and the connection destination management table 440).
Watanabe differs from the claimed subject matter in that Watanabe does not explicitly disclose assigns information comprising a unique key to the file, and sends a message to the first whiteboard that has the key information assigned to the content file ; and wherein the first user informs a user of the second whiteboard of the key information, and the second user sends a content file request message to the file server that is comprised of the key information to request that the file server transmit the content file to the second whiteboard.
However in an analogous art, Moffat discloses assigning information comprising a unique key to the file, and sends a message to the first whiteboard that has the key information assigned to the content file (Moffat, see claim 163 and figure 9, where Moffat discloses providing a third party data sharing server connecting the personal computing devices; establishing an encryption/decryption module on each personal computing device connected to the data sharing server; generating a file encryption key and a file decryption key associated with and unique to an original data file using the encryption/decryption module of a first personal computing device associated with a first user, the file decryption key being usable for reconstituting data files encrypted with the file encryption key; encrypting the original data file with the file encryption key for sharing with a second personal computing device associated with a second user selected by the first user); and wherein the first user informs a user of the second whiteboard of the key information (Moffat, see paragraph [0082], where Moffat discloses that the system of 2q in which the first user shares with a second user of the system the data and/or computer code(s) required to de-obfuscate the obfuscated data of the first user), and the second user sends a content file request message to the file server that is comprised of the key information to request that the file server transmit the content file to the second whiteboard (Moffat, see paragraphs [0232]-[0233] and [0236], where Moffat discloses a user's computing device 101 is connected to the Internet, or to some other electronic, digital or analog, data-sharing network. A program on the user's computer 101 (e.g. a browser program, a "stand-alone" program, etc.) exchanges messages and data with a DSS server by sending 102 properly addressed messages and/or data into the network 103. Those user messages and/or data arrive, via the network 103 at a DSS server 105. The DSS server responds to requests for data by sending, when appropriate, messages and/or data back to the user's computer 101 via the Internet 103. When any particular user wishes to view the messages, photos and/or other data created and/or uploaded by his contacts and/or friends he is able to do so via his local DSS_CP which, as a result of its possession of copies of the decryption keys of each of his friends, is able to decrypt the encrypted content of those friends and present it to him in a clear, intelligible and understandable manner, such as by means of the audio and/or visual output devices associated with his computing device).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the invention of Watanabe with Moffat. One would be motivated to modify Watanabe by disclosing assigning information comprising a unique key to the file, and sends a message to the first whiteboard that has the key information assigned to the content file; and wherein the first user informs a user of the second whiteboard of the key information, and the second user sends a content file request message to the file server that is comprised of the key information to request that the file server transmit the content file to the second whiteboard as taught by Moffat, and thereby a method of improving the privacy of a limited distribution of a packet of a user's data by encrypting that data packet with at least one key (Moffat, see paragraph [0172]).
As to Claim 2:
Watanabe in view of Moffat discloses the system of claim 1, further comprising the file server transmitting the requested content file to the second whiteboard (Moffat, see paragraphs [0232]-[0233] and [0236], where Moffat discloses a user's computing device 101 is connected to the Internet, or to some other electronic, digital or analog, data-sharing network. A program on the user's computer 101 (e.g. a browser program, a "stand-alone" program, etc.) exchanges messages and data with a DSS server by sending 102 properly addressed messages and/or data into the network 103. Those user messages and/or data arrive, via the network 103 at a DSS server 105. The DSS server responds to requests for data by sending, when appropriate, messages and/or data back to the user's computer 101 via the Internet 103. When any particular user wishes to view the messages, photos and/or other data created and/or uploaded by his contacts and/or friends he is able to do so via his local DSS_CP which, as a result of its possession of copies of the decryption keys of each of his friends, is able to decrypt the encrypted content of those friends and present it to him in a clear, intelligible and understandable manner, such as by means of the audio and/or visual output devices associated with his computing device).
As to Claim 3:
Watanabe in view of Moffat discloses the system of claim 1, wherein the whiteboard content is multi-media content (Moffat, see paragraph [0117], where Moffat discloses that a secure data sharing network share proprietary data, including, but not limited to: digital movies, videos, photos, screen savers, news reports, financial analyses and/or predictions, financial data, audio
files, documents, books, retail products, advise, guidance, other products, other services, and/or other types of data).
As to Claim 4:
Watanabe in view of Moffat discloses the system of claim 3, wherein the multi-media content is audio content, image content, video content, or any combination thereof (Moffat, see paragraph [0117], where Moffat discloses that a secure data sharing network share proprietary data, including, but not limited to: digital movies, videos, photos, screen savers, news reports, financial analyses and/or predictions, financial data, audio files, documents, books, retail products, advise, guidance, other products, other services, and/or other types of data).
As to Claim 5:
Watanabe in view of Moffat discloses the system of claim 1, wherein the whiteboard content is created by a whiteboard user or is content maintained on the whiteboard in association with a computer application (Watanabe, see paragraph [0120], where Watanabe discloses that a PDF file may be created when the user performs a page data saving process at a given time (when the user presses a read and save icon as described below). When the saving process is performed multiple times, the PDF file is updated accordingly. The file name of the PDF file may include the current time (creation time of the PDF file) acquired by the termination process unit 53, for example. As will be described below, the PDF file is associated with a conference ID that is assigned by the user. The user can reproduce page data by specifying the PDF file with the relevant conference ID assigned thereto. The conference ID is identification information for uniquely identifying a PDF file. The user can also assign a file name to the PDF file).
As to Claim 6:
Watanabe in view of Moffat discloses the system of claim 1, wherein the information comprising the key is comprised of a plurality of numerals, characters or any combination thereof (Moffat, see encryption key “XoBynpQ3t ubwz71PmN JlrfG9dYsA vW85xrTVzh” 922 and 953 in figure 9).
As to Claim 7:
Watanabe in view of Moffat discloses the system of claim 1, wherein the communication network is a wide area network or a local area network (Watanabe, see paragraph [0060], where Watanabe discloses that the communication network 9 may include the Internet, a LAN (Local Area Network), a cellular phone communication network, and the like).
As to Claim 8:
Watanabe et al. discloses a method for sharing content between a plurality of multi-media whiteboard systems (Watanabe, see Start remote sharing process S28 in figure 9), comprising: a user controlling a first whiteboard (Watanabe, see 3b in figure 2) to save whiteboard screen content to a file server (Watanabe, see server 90 in figure 4) located remotely from the first whiteboard (Watanabe, see paragraph [0120], where Watanabe discloses that a PDF file may be created when the user performs a page data saving process at a given time (when the user presses a read and save icon as described below). When the saving process is performed multiple times, the PDF file is updated accordingly. The file name of the PDF file may include the current time (creation time of the PDF file) acquired by the termination process unit 53, for example. As will be described below, the PDF file is associated with a conference ID that is assigned by the user. The user can reproduce page data by specifying the PDF file with the relevant conference ID assigned thereto. The conference ID is identification information for uniquely identifying a PDF file. The user can also assign a file name to the PDF file)); wherein the first whiteboard (Watanabe, see 3b in figure 2) and the file server (Watanabe, see server 90 in figure 4) are connected to a common communication network (Watanabe, see communication network 9 in figure 2).
Watanabe differs from the claimed subject matter in that Watanabe does not explicitly disclose the file server assigning key information to the saved content and sending a message to the first whiteboard having the assigned key information; the first user informing a user of a second whiteboard of the assigned key information; and the second user controlling the second whiteboard to transmit a content request message having the key information to the file server to transmit the saved content to the second whiteboard.
However in an analogous art, Moffat discloses the file server assigning key information to the saved content and sending a message to the first whiteboard having the assigned key information (Moffat, see claim 163 and figure 9, where Moffat discloses providing a third party data sharing server connecting the personal computing devices; establishing an encryption/decryption module on each personal computing device connected to the data sharing server; generating a file encryption key and a file decryption key associated with and unique to an original data file using the encryption/decryption module of a first personal computing device associated with a first user, the file decryption key being usable for reconstituting data files encrypted with the file encryption key; encrypting the original data file with the file encryption key for sharing with a second personal computing device associated with a second user selected by the first user); the first user informing a user of a second whiteboard of the assigned key information (Moffat, see paragraph [0082], where Moffat discloses that the system of 2q in which the first user shares with a second user of the system the data and/or computer code(s) required to de-obfuscate the obfuscated data of the first user); and the second user controlling the second whiteboard to transmit a content request message having the key information to the file server to transmit the saved content to the second whiteboard (Moffat, see paragraphs [0232]-[0233] and [0236], where Moffat discloses a user's computing device 101 is connected to the Internet, or to some other electronic, digital or analog, data-sharing network. A program on the user's computer 101 (e.g. a browser program, a "stand-alone" program, etc.) exchanges messages and data with a DSS server by sending 102 properly addressed messages and/or data into the network 103. Those user messages and/or data arrive, via the network 103 at a DSS server 105. The DSS server responds to requests for data by sending, when appropriate, messages and/or data back to the user's computer 101 via the Internet 103. When any particular user wishes to view the messages, photos and/or other data created and/or uploaded by his contacts and/or friends he is able to do so via his local DSS_CP which, as a result of its possession of copies of the decryption keys of each of his friends, is able to decrypt the encrypted content of those friends and present it to him in a clear, intelligible and understandable manner, such as by means of the audio and/or visual output devices associated with his computing device).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the invention of Watanabe with Moffat. One would be motivated to modify Watanabe by disclosing the file server assigning key information to the saved content and sending a message to the first whiteboard having the assigned key information; the first user informing a user of a second whiteboard of the assigned key information; and the second user controlling the second whiteboard to transmit a content request message having the key information to the file server to transmit the saved content to the second whiteboard as taught by Moffat, and thereby a method of improving the privacy of a limited distribution of a packet of a user's data by encrypting that data packet with at least one key (Moffat, see paragraph [0172]).
As to Claim 9:
Watanabe in view of Moffat discloses the method of claim 8, further comprising the file server receiving the content request message from the second whiteboard and transmitting the requested save content to the second whiteboard (Moffat, see paragraphs [0232]-[0233] and [0236], where Moffat discloses a user's computing device 101 is connected to the Internet, or to some other electronic, digital or analog, data-sharing network. A program on the user's computer 101 (e.g. a browser program, a "stand-alone" program, etc.) exchanges messages and data with a DSS server by sending 102 properly addressed messages and/or data into the network 103. Those user messages and/or data arrive, via the network 103 at a DSS server 105. The DSS server responds to requests for data by sending, when appropriate, messages and/or data back to the user's computer 101 via the Internet 103. When any particular user wishes to view the messages, photos and/or other data created and/or uploaded by his contacts and/or friends he is able to do so via his local DSS_CP which, as a result of its possession of copies of the decryption keys of each of his friends, is able to decrypt the encrypted content of those friends and present it to him in a clear, intelligible and understandable manner, such as by means of the audio and/or visual output devices associated with his computing device).
As to Claim 10:
Watanabe in view of Moffat discloses the method of claim 8, wherein the whiteboard content is multi-media content (Moffat, see paragraph [0117], where Moffat discloses that a secure data sharing network share proprietary data, including, but not limited to: digital movies, videos, photos, screen savers, news reports, financial analyses and/or predictions, financial data, audio
files, documents, books, retail products, advise, guidance, other products, other services, and/or other types of data).
As to Claim 11:
Watanabe in view of Moffat discloses the method of claim 9, wherein the multi-media content is audio content, image content, video content, or any combination thereof (Moffat, see paragraph [0117], where Moffat discloses that a secure data sharing network share proprietary data, including, but not limited to: digital movies, videos, photos, screen savers, news reports, financial analyses and/or predictions, financial data, audio files, documents, books, retail products, advise, guidance, other products, other services, and/or other types of data).
As to Claim 12:
Watanabe in view of Moffat discloses the method of claim 8, wherein the whiteboard content is created by a whiteboard user or is content maintained on the whiteboard in association with a computer application (Watanabe, see paragraph [0120], where Watanabe discloses that a PDF file may be created when the user performs a page data saving process at a given time (when the user presses a read and save icon as described below). When the saving process is performed multiple times, the PDF file is updated accordingly. The file name of the PDF file may include the current time (creation time of the PDF file) acquired by the termination process unit 53, for example. As will be described below, the PDF file is associated with a conference ID that is assigned by the user. The user can reproduce page data by specifying the PDF file with the relevant conference ID assigned thereto. The conference ID is identification information for uniquely identifying a PDF file. The user can also assign a file name to the PDF file).
As to Claim 13:
Watanabe in view of Moffat discloses the method of claim 9, wherein the information comprising the key is comprised of a plurality of numerals, characters or any combination thereof (Moffat, see encryption key “XoBynpQ3t ubwz71PmN JlrfG9dYsA vW85xrTVzh” 922 and 953 in figure 9).
As to Claim 14:
Watanabe in view of Moffat discloses the method of claim 8, wherein the communication network is a wide area network or a local area network (Watanabe, see paragraph [0060], where Watanabe discloses that the communication network 9 may include the Internet, a LAN (Local Area Network), a cellular phone communication network, and the like).
As to Claim 15:
Watanabe et al. discloses a method of operating a whiteboard (Watanabe, see Start remote sharing process S28 in figure 9), comprising: a whiteboard (Watanabe, see 3a and 3b in figure 2), connected to a communication network (Watanabe, see communication network 9 in figure 2), operating under control of a computational device to display interactive content maintained in non-volatile computer readable memory (Watanabe, see computational device 6b and 6a in figure 2); wherein a first whiteboard user controls a first whiteboard to save content displayed on the whiteboard (Watanabe, see paragraph [0120], where Watanabe discloses that a PDF file may be created when the user performs a page data saving process at a given time (when the user presses a read and save icon as described below). When the saving process is performed multiple times, the PDF file is updated accordingly. The file name of the PDF file may include the current time (creation time of the PDF file) acquired by the termination process unit 53, for example. As will be described below, the PDF file is associated with a conference ID that is assigned by the user. The user can reproduce page data by specifying the PDF file with the relevant conference ID assigned thereto. The conference ID is identification information for uniquely identifying a PDF file. The user can also assign a file name to the PDF file)), and to transmit the saved content to a whiteboard file server connected to the communication network that is remote from the first whiteboard (Watanabe, see paragraph [0137], where Watanabe discloses that the remote operation transmitting unit 65 transmits various types of operation data necessary for a remote sharing process to the server unit 90. Examples of the various types of operation data include data relating to addition of a stroke, deletion of a stroke, editing (enlarging, reducing, moving) of a stroke, storage of page data, creation of page data, duplication of page data, deletion of page data, page turning, and the like).
Watanabe differs from the claimed subject matter in that Watanabe does not explicitly disclose wherein the first whiteboard receives information comprising a key from the file server that is assigned to the content saved by the first whiteboard; and wherein the user informs a user of a second whiteboard that is connected to the communication network of the key information, and the second user sends a content file request message to the file server that is comprised of the key information to request that the file server transmit the content comprising file to the second whiteboard.
However in an analogous art, Moffat discloses wherein the first whiteboard receives information comprising a key from the file server that is assigned to the content saved by the first whiteboard (Moffat, see claim 163 and figure 9, where Moffat discloses providing a third party data sharing server connecting the personal computing devices; establishing an encryption/decryption module on each personal computing device connected to the data sharing server; generating a file encryption key and a file decryption key associated with and unique to an original data file using the encryption/decryption module of a first personal computing device associated with a first user, the file decryption key being usable for reconstituting data files encrypted with the file encryption key; encrypting the original data file with the file encryption key for sharing with a second personal computing device associated with a second user selected by the first user); and wherein the user informs a user of a second whiteboard that is connected to the communication network of the key information (Moffat, see paragraph [0082], where Moffat discloses that the system of 2q in which the first user shares with a second user of the system the data and/or computer code(s) required to de-obfuscate the obfuscated data of the first user), and the second user sends a content file request message to the file server that is comprised of the key information to request that the file server transmit the content comprising file to the second whiteboard (Moffat, see paragraphs [0232]-[0233] and [0236], where Moffat discloses a user's computing device 101 is connected to the Internet, or to some other electronic, digital or analog, data-sharing network. A program on the user's computer 101 (e.g. a browser program, a "stand-alone" program, etc.) exchanges messages and data with a DSS server by sending 102 properly addressed messages and/or data into the network 103. Those user messages and/or data arrive, via the network 103 at a DSS server 105. The DSS server responds to requests for data by sending, when appropriate, messages and/or data back to the user's computer 101 via the Internet 103. When any particular user wishes to view the messages, photos and/or other data created and/or uploaded by his contacts and/or friends he is able to do so via his local DSS_CP which, as a result of its possession of copies of the decryption keys of each of his friends, is able to decrypt the encrypted content of those friends and present it to him in a clear, intelligible and understandable manner, such as by means of the audio and/or visual output devices associated with his computing device).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the invention of Watanabe with Moffat. One would be motivated to modify Watanabe by disclosing wherein the first whiteboard receives information comprising a key from the file server that is assigned to the content saved by the first whiteboard; and wherein the user informs a user of a second whiteboard that is connected to the communication network of the key information, and the second user sends a content file request message to the file server that is comprised of the key information to request that the file server transmit the content comprising file to the second whiteboard as taught by Moffat, and thereby a method of improving the privacy of a limited distribution of a packet of a user's data by encrypting that data packet with at least one key (Moffat, see paragraph [0172]).
As to Claim 16:
Watanabe in view of Moffat discloses the method of claim 15, wherein the whiteboard content is multi-media content (Moffat, see paragraph [0117], where Moffat discloses that a secure data sharing network share proprietary data, including, but not limited to: digital movies, videos, photos, screen savers, news reports, financial analyses and/or predictions, financial data, audio
files, documents, books, retail products, advise, guidance, other products, other services, and/or other types of data).
As to Claim 17:
Watanabe in view of Moffat discloses the method of claim 16, wherein the multi-media content is audio content, image content, video content, or any combination thereof (Moffat, see paragraph [0117], where Moffat discloses that a secure data sharing network share proprietary data, including, but not limited to: digital movies, videos, photos, screen savers, news reports, financial analyses and/or predictions, financial data, audio files, documents, books, retail products, advise, guidance, other products, other services, and/or other types of data).
As to Claim 18:
Watanabe in view of Moffat discloses the method of claim 15, wherein the whiteboard content is created by a whiteboard user or is content maintained on the whiteboard in association with a computer application (Watanabe, see paragraph [0120], where Watanabe discloses that a PDF file may be created when the user performs a page data saving process at a given time (when the user presses a read and save icon as described below). When the saving process is performed multiple times, the PDF file is updated accordingly. The file name of the PDF file may include the current time (creation time of the PDF file) acquired by the termination process unit 53, for example. As will be described below, the PDF file is associated with a conference ID that is assigned by the user. The user can reproduce page data by specifying the PDF file with the relevant conference ID assigned thereto. The conference ID is identification information for uniquely identifying a PDF file. The user can also assign a file name to the PDF file).
As to Claim 19:
Watanabe in view of Moffat discloses the method of claim 15, wherein the information comprising the key is comprised of a plurality of numerals, characters or any combination thereof (Moffat, see encryption key “XoBynpQ3t ubwz71PmN JlrfG9dYsA vW85xrTVzh” 922 and 953 in figure 9).
As to Claim 20:
Watanabe in view of Moffat discloses the method of claim 15, wherein the communication network is a wide area network or a local area network (Watanabe, see paragraph [0060], where Watanabe discloses that the communication network 9 may include the Internet, a LAN (Local Area Network), a cellular phone communication network, and the like).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to
applicant's disclosure. Kanematsu (US 20180232138 A1).
Contact Information
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to NELSON ROSARIO whose telephone number is (571)270-1866. The examiner can normally be reached on Monday through Friday, 7:30am- 5:00pm EST. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Matthew Eason can be reached on (571) 270-7230. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of an application may be obtained from the Patent Application Information Retrieval (PAIR) system. Status information for published applications may be obtained from either Private PAIR or Public PAIR. Status information for unpublished applications is available through Private PAIR only. For more information about the PAIR system, see http://pair-direct.uspto.gov. Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative or access to the automated information system, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/NELSON M ROSARIO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2624