Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of Species E, Claims 1-5,9,11-14 and 17, Figure 9 in the reply filed on July 2, 2026 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that the species asserted by the examiner are: (1) different embodiments under the same inventive concept; (2) extending the number of buckle groups is a conventional design choice based on the same inventive concept and constitutes an obvious variant or equivalent substitution; (3) assertion of a serious burden for search and examination is unfounded.
Examiner partially agrees with applicant’s assertions and makes the following changes:
New Species CE formed with non-elected Species C, Figure 7 and elected Species E, Figure 9. Non-elected Species C, Figure 7 and elected Species E, Figure 9 are not patentably distinct and obvious variants.
New Species BD formed with non-elected Species B, Figure 6 and non-elected Species D, Figure 8. Non-elected Species B, Figure 6 and non-elected Species D, Figure 8 are not patentably distinct and obvious variants.
The examiner found the rest of the argument not persuasive, see below for the rationale. Reference examiner’s regrouping of Species above to support rationale.
First, the inventive concept may be similar, and dependent, but the grouped species are distinct from one another, having different structures that vary the operation. The different groups differ in terms of structure which changes their respective operation. Species A, Figures 1-5, have a closed loop rope structure, fit for one hanging buckle group. The regrouped Species BD, Figure 6 and Figure 8, have a closed loop rope structure between two or more hanging buckle groups, each hanging buckle group is connected to the adjacent hanging buckle group by a connecting rope. The regrouped Species CE, Figure 7 and Figure 9, have an open loop structure with one or more hanging buckle groups in the midline of the rope and a hanging buckle group at each tail end connected by one rope from the adjacent midline hanging buckle group.
Second, extending the number of hanging buckle groups may be based on the inventive concept, but that does not constitute distinctness, the number of buckle groups constituting an obvious variant applies where variants share similar structure and operation.
Third, the examiner’s search burden is still upheld due to the amount of classification and text needs, based on structural design and the plurality of structures which can change the operation and effect. These changes would constitute a broader search need. The following text words are examples for search: single thread, multi-thread closed loop, open loop, free end, single buckle group, multi buckle group. MPEP 806 (B)., MPEP 802.01(II).
Claim 17, is withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to the nonelected and regrouped Species BD, Figure 6 and Figure 8 (reference examiner’s regrouping of Species above), there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Applicant timely traversed the restriction (election) requirement in the reply filed on July 2, 2016. For the record, the examiner interpreted Claim 17’s language, “formed a closed structure with hanging buckle group” to be allocated to the non-elected and regrouped Species BD, Figure 6 and Figure 8 (reference examiner’s regrouping of Species above) which does not belong to the elected Species E Figure 9 and newly examiner revised election Species C Figure 7 because their rope structure is an open loop.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to because the labeling of reference numbers isn’t consistent and complete throughout Figures 1-9, making the drawing set incoherent. Figures 1 -4 label several features while Figures 5-9 only label the “hanging buckle group, 1”, and “flexible hanging rope, 2”. In Figures 5-9, the label of the “hanging buckle group, 1” is placed in manner which confuses it with the “connector, 12” Examiner suggests to label all core claimed features (“hanging buckle group, 1”, “flexible hanging rope, 2”, “hanging buckle body, 11”, “fixed part, 111”, “moveable part, 112”, “clamping block, 1111”, “connector, 12”, “through hole, 1121”, and “threading hole, 121”) for at least each species set, “Species A, Figures 1-5”, “Species BD, Figures 6 and 8”, “Species CE, Figures 7 and 9” (references Election/Restriction Species above). Examiner suggests labeling “whole” or “abstract” features such as “hanging buckle group” and “hanging buckle body” with arrow lead leader lines having space between the feature they are referencing; labeling “specific” and/or “subcomponents” with leader lines on the specific feature.
New corrected drawings in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in this application because the drawings filed March 26, 2025, are not proper black and white line drawings. This is frequently the result of drawings which are filed in a very dark grey (so dark that it appears black such as RGB value 37, 37, 37) instead of pure black (RGB value 0, 0, 0). While very dark grey may appear black, it causes artifacts and inconsistent line thickness. Applicant is advised to employ the services of a competent patent draftsperson outside the Office, as the U.S. Patent and Trademark Office no longer prepare new drawings. The corrected drawings are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. The requirement for corrected drawings will not be held in abeyance. All drawings must be made by a process which will give them satisfactory reproduction characteristics. Every line, number, and letter must be durable, clean, black (except for color drawings), sufficiently dense and dark, and uniformly thick and well-defined. The weight of all lines and letters must be heavy enough to permit adequate reproduction. This requirement applies to all lines, however fine, to shading, and to lines representing cut surfaces in sectional views. Lines and strokes of different thicknesses may be used in the same drawing where different thicknesses have a different meaning (see MPEP 608., 37 CFR 1.84(l).)
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
Hanging buckle group: [0025], line 1 is labeled “a” and should be “1”
Through hole/Threading Hole: [0038], line 121 is labeled “through hole 121”, “through hole” should be changed to “threading hole”
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Objections
The following claims are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 2, lines 4: “an other” should be “another” or “the other”
Claim 2, lines 4-5: “an other” should be “ the other”
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 5,13 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 5 recites the limitation " two threading holes are available" in lines 2-3. It is unclear if the “two threading” holes need to be available in the multi-purpose hanging buckle apparatus as a whole or a specific connector. For examination purposes, the examiner will interpret “two threading holes are available” as being available anywhere in the multi-purpose hanging buckle apparatus, but not specifically on one connector.
Claim 13 recites the limitation " two threading holes are available" in lines 2-3. It is unclear if the “two threading” holes need to be available in the multi-purpose hanging buckle apparatus as a whole or a specific connector. For examination purposes, the examiner will interpret “two threading holes are available” as being available anywhere in the multi-purpose hanging buckle apparatus, but not specifically on one connector.
Claim 14 recites the limitation " two threading holes are available" in lines 2-3. It is unclear if the “two threading” holes need to be available in the multi-purpose hanging buckle apparatus as a whole or a specific connector. For examination purposes, the examiner will interpret “two threading holes are available” as being available anywhere in the multi-purpose hanging buckle apparatus, but not specifically on one connector.
Dependent claims inherit the same issues from parent claims and do not resolve indefinite issues.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
A person shall be entitled to a patent unless –(a)(1) the claimed invention was patented, described in a printed publication, or in public use, on sale, or otherwise available to the public before the effective filing date of the claimed invention.
Claims 1-4,11,12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Boonstra et al. (US 20110283486 A1) referenced herein by [486].
Annotated Fig. 11 and annotated Fig. 10 of Boonstra et al.[486]
Regarding claim 1, [486] discloses a multi-purpose hanging buckle apparatus (39, Fig. 10, Fig.11, finger hook), comprising at least one hanging buckle group (hanging buckle group of annotated Fig. 11) and at least one flexible hanging rope (7, Fig. 11, elastic cord), and the at least one flexible hanging rope is sequentially connected with the at least one hanging buckle group in a penetrating manner (Fig. 11); each of the at least one hanging buckle group comprises a hanging buckle body (hanging buckle body of annotated Fig. 10) with an opening and closing function (opening and closing element of annotated Fig. 110) and a connector (1,Fig.11, adapter), each of the at least one flexible hanging rope (7) is disposed on connector of the at least one hanging buckle group in a penetrating manner (Fig. 11), and the connector and the hanging buckle body are detachably connected (par. [0042], line3 1-3; Fig.10,Fig. 11). For examination purposes, the examiner interprets a “flexible hanging rope” to be any elastic or threaded material/fabric; “disposed” to mean attached by some means; “sequentially connected” to mean connected.
Regarding claim 2, [486] discloses the multi-purpose hanging buckle apparatus (39, Fig. 10, Fig. 11) as claimed in claim 1, wherein the hanging buckle body comprises a fixed part (fixed part of annotated Fig. 11) and a movable part (movable part of annotated Fig. 11), the fixed part is of a hollow structure with an opening (annotated Fig. 11), the movable part blocks the opening (annotated Fig. 11), one end of the movable part is hinged with one end of the opening of the fixed part (annotated Fig. 11), an other end of the movable part is abutted to or clamped with a other end of the opening of the fixed part (annotated Fig. 11), the fixed part is further in threaded connection (threaded connection of annotated Fig. 10) with the connector, and the movable part is rotated to open or close the opening (annotated Fig. 10, annotated Fig. 11). For examination purposes, the examiner interprets “threaded connection” as any connection point and connection type that allows attachment; “hollow structure” to mean the fixed part has aspects of open space with no material; “hinged” to mean attached at a point that allows a structure to pivot or rotate; “rotate” means to be able to move in a non-prescriptive direction.
Regarding claim 3, [486] discloses the multi-purpose hanging buckle apparatus (39, Fig. 10, Fig. 11) as claimed in claim 2, wherein the movable part has a through hole with a variable cross section (through hole of annotated Fig. 10), an end part of the fixed part is provided with a clamping block (clamping block of annotated Fig, 10), and the clamping block is clamped with the through hole (annotated Fig. 10). For examination purposes, the examiner interprets “clamping block” as an element being able to grasp, hold, press, clip or clamp.
Regarding claim 4, [486] discloses the multi-purpose hanging buckle apparatus (39, Fig. 10, Fig. 11) as claimed in claim 1, wherein the connector has at least one threading hole (threading hole of annotated Fig. 11) for the flexible hanging rope (7) to pass through. For examination purposes, the examiner interprets “threaded hole” as any space that a material can pass through.
Regarding claim 11, [486] discloses the multi-purpose hanging buckle apparatus (39, Fig. 10, Fig. 11) as claimed in claim 2, wherein the connector has at least one threading hole (threading hole(s) for annotated Fig. 11) for the flexible hanging rope (7) to pass through. For examination purposes, the examiner interprets “threading hole” as any space that a material can pass through.
Regarding claim 12, [486] discloses the multi-purpose hanging buckle apparatus (39, Fig. 10, Fig. 11) as claimed in claim 3, wherein the connector has at least one threading hole (threading hole(s) for annotated Fig. 11) for the flexible hanging rope to pass through. For examination purposes, the examiner interprets “threading hole” as any space that a material can pass through.
Claims 1,2,4,5,9,11 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Steigerwald (US 7036189 B2) referenced herein by [189].
Annotated Fig. 3 of Steigerwald [189]
Annotated Fig. 4 of Steigerwald [189]
Regarding claim 1, [189] discloses a multi-purpose hanging buckle apparatus (4, Fig. 3, Fig.4, fastening means), comprising at least one hanging buckle group (hanging buckle group of annotated Fig. 3) and at least one flexible hanging rope (6, Fig. 3, Fig. 4, tension strands), and the at least one flexible hanging rope is sequentially connected with the at least one hanging buckle group in a penetrating manner (annotated Fig. 3); each of the at least one hanging buckle group comprises a hanging buckle body (11, Fig. 3, Fig. 4, hook element) with an opening and closing function (12 Fig. 3, Fig. 4, resilient tab; description of invention, col. 4, lines 11-26) and a connector (7,9,Fig.3, Fig. 4, seating element), each of the at least one flexible hanging rope (6) is disposed on connector of the at least one hanging buckle group in a penetrating manner (Fig. 3, Fig. 4), and the connector and the hanging buckle body are detachably connected (Fig. 3, Fig. 4). For examination purposes, the examiner interprets “flexible hanging rope” to be any elastic or threaded material/fabric; “disposed” to mean attached by some means; “sequentially connected” to mean connected.
Regarding claim 2, [189] discloses a multi-purpose hanging buckle apparatus (4, Fig. 3, Fig.4, fastening means) in claim 1, wherein the hanging buckle body (11) comprises a fixed part (fixed part of annotated Fig. 4) and a movable part (moveable part of annotated Fig. 4), the fixed part is of a hollow structure (hollow structure of annotated Fig. 4) with an opening the movable part (annotated Fig. 4) blocks the opening, one end of the movable part is hinged (hinged end of annotated Fig. 3) with one end of the opening of the fixed part (annotated Fig. 4), an other end of the movable part is abutted (abutting end of annotated Fig. 4) to or clamped with an other end of the opening of the fixed part (annotated Fig. 4), the fixed part is further in threaded connection (threaded connection of annotated Fig. 4) with the connector (7,9), and the movable part is rotated to open or close the opening (description of invention, col. 4, lines 11-26). For examination purposes, the examiner interprets “threaded connection” as any connection point and connection type that allows attachment; “hollow structure” to mean the fixed part has aspects of open space with no material; “hinged” to mean attached at a point that allows a structure to pivot or rotate; “rotate” means to be able to move in a non-prescriptive direction.
Regarding claim 4, [189] discloses the multi-purpose hanging buckle apparatus (4, Fig. 3, Fig.4, fastening means) as claimed in claim 1, wherein the connector has at least one threading hole (threading hole(s) of annotated Fig. 4) for the flexible hanging rope (6) to pass through. For examination purposes, the examiner interprets “threading hole” as any space that a material can pass through.
Regarding claim 5, [189] discloses the multi-purpose hanging buckle apparatus 4, Fig. 3, Fig.4, fastening means)as claimed in claim 4, wherein two threading holes (annotated Fig. 4) are available (threaded hole(s) of annotated Fig. 4), and the flexible hanging rope (6) is disposed in a manner of passing through the two threading holes (annotated Fig. 4) respectively (Fig. 4).
Regarding claim 9, [189] discloses the multi-purpose hanging buckle apparatus (4, Fig. 3, Fig.4, fastening means) as claimed in claim 1, wherein at least three hanging buckle groups are available (annotated Fig. 3, annotated Fig. 4), and 1-6 flexible hanging ropes (6) are available . For examination purposes, the examiner notes for “1-6 flexible hanging ropes” available for more than one hanging body group would mean that a rope can be used by multiple hanging buckle groups.
Regarding claim 11, [189] discloses the multi-purpose hanging buckle apparatus (4, Fig. 3, Fig.4, fastening means) as claimed in claim 2, wherein the connector has at least one threading hole (threading hole(s) of annotated Fig. 4) for the flexible hanging rope to pass through). For examination purposes, the examiner interprets “threading hole” as any space that a material can pass through.
Regarding claim 13, as best understood, [189] discloses the multi-purpose hanging buckle apparatus (4, Fig. 3, Fig.4, fastening means) as claimed in claim 11, wherein two threading holes (annotated Fig. 4) are available, and the flexible hanging rope is disposed in a manner of passing through the two threading holes respectively.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 5,13 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Boonstra et al. (US 20110283486 A1) referenced herein by [486] in view of Benavidez et al. (US 20190128375 A1) referenced herein by [375].
Annotated Fig. 2 of Benavidez [375]
Regarding claim 5, as best understood, [486] discloses the multi-purpose hanging buckle apparatus (39, Fig. 10, Fig. 11) as claimed in claim 4.
Regarding claim 5, as best understood, [486] does not explicitly disclose wherein two threading holes are available, and the flexible hanging rope is disposed in a manner of passing through the two threading holes respectively.
Regarding claim 5, [375] teaches an inventive synthetic rope socket (1, Fig. 1, Fig. 2) wherein a synthetic rope (7, Fig. 2) passes through an enclosing thimble (4, Fig. 2) and hangs on a multi-spaced compression thimble (8, Fig. 2 ) within the enclosing thimble which is enclosed by a screw-on cap (2, Fig.2). The feature synthetic rope (7) passes through two holes on the enclosing thimble (14, Fig. 2, rope entry and exit end) and (17, Fig. 2, solid compression thimble entry end); also passes through as the rope hangs on the compression thimble.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the connector (1 from [486]) to add an internal multi spaced thimble (8, Fig. 2) as taught by [375] in adapter in [486] to hold the rope in the adapter in order to expand the amount of ropes the adapter can contain, vary the internal structure of the rope to a loop which can increase the security and strength of the attachment (Fig.2 of [375]), as well as adding additional multi point connections in the adapter to secure the rope therefore adding tensile strength to the connection for safety measures (par [0003], lines 8-10; [0004]; lines 1-4 from [375]).
Regarding claim 13, as best understood, [486] discloses the multi-purpose hanging buckle apparatus (39, Fig. 10, Fig. 11) as claimed in claim 11.
Regarding claim 13, as best understood, [486] does not explicitly disclose wherein two threading holes are available, and the flexible hanging rope is disposed in a manner of passing through the two threading holes respectively.
Regarding claim 13, [375] teaches an inventive synthetic rope socket (1, Fig. 1, Fig. 2) wherein a synthetic rope (7, Fig. 2) passes through an enclosing thimble (4, Fig. 2) and hangs on a multi-spaced compression thimble (8, Fig. 2 ) within the enclosing thimble which is enclosed by a screw-on cap (2, Fig.2). The feature synthetic rope (7) passes through two holes on the enclosing thimble (14, Fig. 2, rope entry and exit end) and (17, Fig. 2, solid compression thimble entry end); also passes through as the rope hangs on the compression thimble.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the connector (1 from [486]) to add an internal multi spaced thimble (8, Fig. 2) as taught by [375] in adapter in [486] to hold the rope in the adapter in order to expand the amount of ropes the adapter can contain, vary the internal structure of the rope to a loop which can increase the security and strength of the attachment (Fig.2 of [375]), as well as adding additional multi point connections in the adapter to secure the rope therefore adding tensile strength to the connection for safety measures (par [0003], lines 8-10; [0004]; lines 1-4 from [375]).
Regarding claim 14, as best understood, [486] discloses the multi-purpose hanging buckle apparatus as claimed in claim 12, wherein two threading holes are available, and the flexible hanging rope is disposed in a manner of passing through the two threading holes respectively.
Regarding claim 14, as best understood, [486] does not explicitly disclose wherein two threading holes are available, and the flexible hanging rope is disposed in a manner of passing through the two threading holes respectively.
Regarding claim 14, [375] teaches an inventive synthetic rope socket (1, Fig. 1, Fig. 2) wherein a synthetic rope (7, Fig. 2) passes through an enclosing thimble (4, Fig. 2) and hangs on a multi-spaced compression thimble (8, Fig. 2 ) within the enclosing thimble which is enclosed by a screw-on cap (2, Fig.2). The feature synthetic rope (7) passes through two holes on the enclosing thimble (14, Fig. 2, rope entry and exit end) and (17, Fig. 2, solid compression thimble entry end); also passes through as the rope hangs on the compression thimble.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the connector (1 from [486]) to add an internal multi spaced thimble (8, Fig. 2) as taught by [375] in adapter in [486] to hold the rope in the adapter in order to expand the amount of ropes the adapter can contain, vary the internal structure of the rope to a loop which can increase the security and strength of the attachment (Fig.2 of [375]), as well as adding additional multi point connections in the adapter to secure the rope therefore adding tensile strength to the connection for safety measures (par [0003], lines 8-10; [0004]; lines 1-4 from [375]).
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Boonstra et al. (US 20110283486 A1) referenced herein by [486] in view of Steigerwald (US 7036189 B2) referenced herein by [189].
Regarding claim 9, [486] discloses the multi-purpose hanging buckle apparatus as claimed in claim 1.
Regarding claim 9, [486] does not explicitly disclose wherein at least three hanging buckle groups are available, and 1-6 flexible hanging ropes are available. For examination purposes, the examiner notes for “1-6 flexible hanging ropes” available for more than one hanging body group would mean a rope can be used by multiple hanging buckle groups.
Regarding claim 9, [189] teaches a fastening means (8, Fig 3, Fig. 4) which includes three hook elements (10, Fig. 3, Fig 4) and their connected seating elements (7,9, Fig. 3, Fig. 4) attached by 1 to 2 ropes (6, Fig. 3, Fig. 4, tension strand) in an open loop structure.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the multi-purpose hanging buckle apparatus (39 from [486]) to add more instantiations of the hanging buckle groups (annotated Fig. 11) in order to hold and secure multiple items of varying sizes and weights (summary of invention, col.1, lines 47-49; col. 1, lines 59-61).
Conclusion
Examiner notes the applicant is non-compliant with rule 37 CFR 1.121, MPEP 714.16 (II)(C). The applicant failed to submit an updated claim set to show amendments. If applicant continues, all submissions should be compliant with 37 CFR 1.121, MPEP 714.16.
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Peterson( US 20080016659 A1) teaches a fastening device with a fastener body including a fixed part and a movable part that has a through hole; a rope disposed on the end of the body.
Chou (US 20030217443 A1) teaches a fastening device with two fasteners, each with a body including a fixed and movable part connected by an elastic cord passing through two threaded holes on each connector.
Barbarite (US 6425167 B1) teaches a fastening device with multiple clips, each with a body including a fixed and movable part connected by multiple elongated cords disposed at one end of a respective clip and the other end in a centralize supporting element.
/D.O.J./Examiner, Art Unit 3677
/JASON W SAN/SPE, Art Unit 3677