DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-8, 11-12, and 15-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Oreo (NPL) in view of Szeles (WO0135896, previously cited but not relied upon).
Claim 1: Oreo discloses a wire bonding system (title) comprising a transducer including a body portion (see annotated page 1) defining an aperture (page 3), the aperture configured to engage a wire bonding tool (Id.); and an installation tool (tweezers) including (i) a body portion configured to be held by a user of the installation tool (see page 1), the body portion including a tip portion (generally the tip of the tweezers), and (ii) a gripping portion (the gripping jaws thereof) configured to hold the wire bonding tool such that the user can engage the wire bonding tool in the aperture of a transducer of the wire bonding system while the wire bonding tool is held by the installation tool (evident in the video frames).
Oreo does not disclose a too, specifically as claimed. However, Szeles teaches an installation tool (Fig. 8) for a similar electrode (1), the tool including (i) a body portion (20) configured to be held by a user of the installation tool, the body portion including a tip portion (30), and (ii) a gripping portion (28) configured to hold the electrode, the gripping portion including a hook contact portion (29) configured to mate with a curved surface of the wire bonding tool during engagement of the gripping portion and the wire bonding tool (the tool would be capable of this function), the installation tool being configured to operate between (a) an open position where a space is defined between the gripping portion and the tip portion to receive the wire bonding tool (page 5, lines 180-181 - the gripper is pushed outward when open and the tool would be capable of receiving the wire bonding tool) and (b) a gripped position where the wire bonding tool is held in place by the gripping portion (page 5, lines 178-180 - the tool would be capable of gripping the wire bonding tool in the closed position), the installation tool being biased in the gripped position when engaged with the wire bonding tool (influenced by spring 25 - Id.). Because both Oreo and Szeles teach manual tools for gripping electrodes, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have substituted one tool for the other to achieve the predictable result of allowing a firm hold of the electrode with a simple structure (page 3, lines 80-101). See MPEP 2143 I. B.
Whether the hook-like gripper of Szeles can be considered “curved” is not entirely clear. However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have made the hook curved since it has been held that the configuration of a claimed product is a matter of choice which a person of ordinary skill in the art would have found obvious absent persuasive evidence that the particular configuration of the claimed product is significant. In re Dailey, 357 F.2d 669, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1966). Please note that in the instant application, paragraph 17, Applicant has not disclosed any criticality for a curved hook and contemplates various diverse grippers.
Regarding the above, a recitation of the intended use of the claimed invention must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim. In this case, “installing a wire bonding tool on a wire bonding system” and “hold a wire bonding tool such that the user can engage the wire bonding tool in an aperture of a transducer of the wire bonding system while the wire bonding tool is held by the installation tool” pertain to the intended use of the tool. The Szeles tool is presumed capable of gripping and holding a wire bonding tool as claimed.
Claim 2: Referring to Szeles, the installation tool is a spring-based (spring 25) installation tool, the spring configured to provide the bias in the gripped position (as cited above).
Claim 3: The body portion includes (i) a fixed portion (32, which appears analogous to that of the instant application) and (ii) a sliding portion (20/26, which appears analogous to that of the instant application) that is configured to move with respect to the fixed portion (i.e. the button 32 moves relative to the body 20 or vice versa - page 5, lines 178-181).
Claim 4: Movement of the sliding portion with respect to the fixed portion operates to hold the [held object] by the gripping portion, and to release the wire bonding tool from the gripping portion (as cited above). As noted above, specific use with a wire bonding tool pertains to the intended use of the tool and does not limit its structure, and Szeles is presumed capable.
Claim 5: Movement of the sliding portion with respect to the fixed portion operates to compress, and decompress, a spring portion (25) housed within the body portion (evident from the overall construction of the tool).
Claim 6: The spring portion is connected to the fixed portion (32) at a connecting surface (lower side of 32) and is connected to the sliding portion at a connecting tab (lower/inner wall of 20).
Claim 7: The installation tool further comprises a coupling portion (31), the coupling portion coupling the gripping portion to the fixed portion (page 5, lines 178-181).
Claim 8: The coupling portion appears to be unitary with the gripping portion as shown. However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have made the coupling portion unitary with the gripping portion since it has been held that forming in one piece an article which has formerly been formed in two pieces and put together involves only routine skill in the art. In re Larson, 340 F.2d 965, 968, 144 USPQ 347, 349 (CCPA 1965). Please note that in the instant application, paragraph 17, Applicant has not disclosed any criticality for the unitary or separable nature of the coupling.
Claim 11: The limitation “engagement of the wire bonding tool in the aperture biases the wire bonding tool in a predetermined orientation within the aperture” does not limit the structure of the claimed system per se and pertains only to the installation of the wire bonding tool into the aperture.
Claim 12: The limitation “the wire bonding tool is biased in the predetermined orientation when the user releases the installation tool while the installation tool continues to hold the wire bonding tool, and while the wire bonding tool is engaged in the aperture” does not limit the structure of the claimed tool per se and pertains only to the installation of the wire bonding tool into the aperture. The tool is presumed capable of holding the wire bonding tool depending on various factors beyond the purview of the claims.
Claim 15: The limitation “the wire bonding tool is a capillary tool” does not limit the structure of the claimed system per se and pertains only to the article worked upon. See MPEP 2115.
Claim 16: The limitation “installing the wire bonding tool using the installation tool results in the application of a force towards the transducer” does not limit the structure of the claimed tool per se and pertains only to the installation of the wire bonding tool into the aperture. The tool is presumed capable of performing in this manner depending on various factors beyond the purview of the claims.
Claim 17: The limitation “the force provided results in a back bias position” does not limit the structure of the claimed tool per se and pertains only to the installation of the wire bonding tool into the aperture.
Claim 18: The installation tool is configured to hang from the transducer via the wire bonding tool when the user releases the installation tool (e.g. due to the biasing into the gripped position, but also this would partially depend on the wire bonding tool).
Claim 19: The installation tool is configured to provide a force with respect to the transducer, the force resulting from a weight of the installation tool as the installation tools hangs via the wire bonding tool, the force being applied in connection with bias contact points of the wire bonding tool (the installation tool inherently has mass and would be capable of applying the force via its weight, for example). The limitation does not necessarily limit the structure of the claimed tool per se.
Claim 20: The installation tool includes a spring portion (25) housed within the body portion, the spring portion being connected to a fixed portion (32), wherein the installation tool further includes a coupling portion (31), the coupling portion coupling the gripping portion (29) to the fixed portion (necessary for the hook to move relative to the body portion, evident as shown).
Claims 9-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Oreo and Szeles as applied to claim 7 above and further in view of Osbourne (U.S. Patent 9,816,659) or Shnol (U.S. Patent 9,181,666).
Claim 9: Chan discloses an installation tool substantially as claimed except for wherein the gripping portion is removable from coupling portion. However, Osbourne teaches that a gripping portion (hook 501) may be removably coupled to a coupling portion (column 5, lines 42-43). Alternatively, Shnol teaches that a gripping portion (claw 11) may be removably coupled to a coupling portion (column 6, lines 8-21). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have made the gripping portion removable from coupling portion for the purpose of replaceability in the event of wear or damage, for example. Additionally, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have made the gripping portion removable from coupling portion since it has been held that constructing a formerly integral structure in various elements involves only routine skill in the art. In re Dulberg, 289 F.2d 522, 523, 129 USPQ 348, 349 (CCPA 1961). Please note that in the instant application, paragraph 17, Applicant has not disclosed any criticality for the unitary or separable nature of the coupling.
Claim 10: The gripping portion is removable via one or more of a threaded connection (as with Osboure above), or friction (as with Shnol).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the rejections over Chan have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Applicant additionally argues the following (italicized):
Further, one of ordinary skill in the art would understand that a wire bonding tool (e.g., a capillary tool) is formed of a ceramic material that may be easily damaged (e.g., cracked, scratched, etc.). Thus, a “gripping portion including a curved hook contact portion configured to mate with a curved surface of the wire bonding tool during engagement of the gripping portion and the wire bonding tool” provides for a reduction in pressure applied to the wire bonding tool during installation. Additionally, such a curved hook also provides for ease in supporting a wire bonding tool between an open position (e.g., when the wire bonding tool is loaded) and a gripped position (e.g., wherein the wire bonding tool is secured), as it provides adequate support to prevent the wire bonding tool from falling out of the installation tool prior to being gripped. The art of record does not provide a motivation or suggestion to utilize such a feature.
The above is the argument of counsel without evidence. The original disclosure provides no discussion of the alleged benefits of a curved hook and contemplates various and diverse gripping portions (paragraph 17).
Further, biasing the installation tool in the gripped position such that a “neutral” position of the installation tool engages the wire bonding tool provides for a user to release the installation tool such that the installation tool continues to hold the wire bonding tool while hanging from the transducer, creating the repeatable “back bias” position to solve the issues of conventional methods of installing a wire bonding tool. The art of record does not provide any teaching, suggestion, or motivation of this feature in connection with a wire bonding system.
This benefit presumably flows naturally from a design wherein the gripper is spring biased into the gripped position. Any substantially similar tool having this configuration, such as Szeles, would be presumed capable of this ability.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Contact Information
/Matthew P Travers/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3726