DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 19, the claim recites: “the thickness of the base within the second lateral side tapers thinner toward the second lateral side” is unclearly worded. This would have the second lateral side tapering thinner toward itself, which would be unclear how the tapering relative to the second side could be thinner toward itself. For the purposes of examination this will be treated as if the bas becomes thinner toward the first lateral side and this limitation will be treated as if it was a typo and should read “the thickness of the base within the second lateral side tapers thinner toward the first lateral side”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and (a)(2) as being anticipated by Sato (US 6,533,028 B2).
Regarding claim 1, Sato discloses (figure 1-12) a heat sink for a power inverter assembly in a motor vehicle (a heat sink with fins 1 for heating element 3 is disclosed in the figures, limitations to the power inverter appear only in the preamble and are therefore not limiting to the claim), the heat sink comprising: a base having a lower surface (the lower surface of plate 2 on which heating element 3 is disposed) and an opposing upper surface that define a thickness of the base (the upper surface of plate 2 with fins 1 on it), wherein the lower surface contacts a heat-generating device (heating element 3); and a plurality of fins (fins 1) extending from the upper surface of the base (as seen in figures 1-10), wherein the plurality of fins include a first group of fins extending directly from a first region of the base, and a second group of fins extending directly from a second region of the base (as the regions are only defined later in the claim by their thickness one region could be on the side of the heat sink with thickness h1 and the other could be on the side of the heat sink with thickness h2 as seen in figure 1B and as similarly seen throughout the other figures); wherein the first region of the base has a first thickness, and the second region of the base has a second thickness that differs from the first thickness (as the difference is not further defined one region could be on the side of the heat sink with thickness h1 and the other could be on the side of the heat sink with thickness h2 as seen in figure 1B and as similarly seen throughout the other figures).
Regarding claim 2, Sato discloses the claim limitations of claim 1 above and Sato further discloses at least one of the first thickness and second thickness tapers (the plate has a gradually increasing slope from thickness h2 to h1 as seen in the figures and per Col. 5, line 5-23) .
Regarding claim 3, Sato discloses the claim limitations of claim 2 above and Sato further discloses at least one of the first thickness and the second thickness tapers in a linear fashion (the plate has a gradually increasing slope from thickness h2 to h1 as seen in the figures and per Col. 5, line 5-23).
Regarding claim 4, Sato discloses the claim limitations of claim 2 above and Sato further discloses at least one of the first thickness and the second thickness tapers in a stepped fashion (some of the spaces between columnar fins 1 are shown with a stepped slope sections as well as clearly shown in figure 1A, 10C and 12A).
Regarding claim 5, Sato discloses the claim limitations of claim 1 above and Sato further discloses each of the fins in the first group of fins have a uniform height (as the groups are not further defined the groups could be as few fins as the fins directly on the side with thickness h1 or h2 which could be just one row of fins which all have the same height as seen in the figures) , and wherein the fins in the second group of fins varying heights (if the other group contains multiple rows of fins, which it can since the group of fins is only generally defined, it would contain fins of differing heights as seen in the figures).
Regarding claim 6, Sato discloses the claim limitations of claim 5 above and Sato further discloses the first thickness is less than the second thickness (when the first group of fins is on the side with thickness h2 and the second group of fins is on the side with thickness h1).
Regarding claim 7, Sato discloses the claim limitations of claim 6 above and Sato further discloses the first thickness is uniform through the first region of the base (the first group in the first region is the row of fins directly on the side with thickness h2 which would have a uniform thickness at the base of the fins 1), and wherein the second thickness tapers within the second region of the base (the second group in the second region is multiple rows of fins on the side with thickness h1 which would have a tapering /sloping thickness as seen in figure 1B).
Regarding claim 8, Sato discloses the claim limitations of claim 7 above and Sato further discloses the lower surface of the base at the first region of the base contacts a heat-generating device ( the lower surface of plate 1 at the row of fins on the side with thickness h2 indirectly contacts the heating element 3).
Regarding claim 9, Sato discloses the claim limitations of claim 8 above and Sato further discloses the lower surface of the base at the second region of the base does not directly contact any heat-generating device (the second group in the second region is two rows of fins on the side with thickness h1 which are not directly above the heating element 3 in figure 2A and additionally the bottom surface below the second region in figures 7B and 7c does not contact the heat generating element 3).
Regarding claim 10, Sato discloses the claim limitations of claim 1 above and Sato further discloses the first region of the base is located at or near an inlet of the heat sink, and the second region of the base is located at or near an outlet of the heat sink (fins in a group closer to the inlet side of airflow 5a or 5b form the first group in the inlet region and fins in a group closer to the outlet side of airflow 5a or 5b form the second group in the outlet region).
Regarding claim 11, Sato discloses the claim limitations of claim 1 above and Sato further discloses the first thickness is tapered, the second thickness is tapered (the plate has a gradually increasing slope from thickness h2 to h1 as seen in the figures and per Col. 5, line 5-23), and the first thickness is thicker than the second thickness (when the first group of fins is on the side with thickness h1 and the second group of fins is on the side with thickness h2).
Regarding claim 12, Sato discloses the claim limitations of claim 11 above and Sato further discloses the fins within both the first group of fins and the second group of fins have upper surfaces that are coplanar with each other (the tops of the fins 1 are in the same plane as seen in the figures ).
Regarding claim 13, Sato discloses the claim limitations of claim 11 above and Sato further discloses the fins within both the first group of fins and the second group of fins have uniform heights (the fins 1 have uniform heights above the bottom surface of the plate 2 on which heating element 3 is disposed).
Regarding claim 14, Sato discloses (figure 1-12) a device (limitations to the power inverter appear only in the preamble and are therefore not limiting to the claim) comprising: a heat-generating component (heating element 3); and a heat sink having (a heat sink with fins 1 for heating element 3): a base (plate 2) that includes a lower surface (the lower surface of plate 2 on which heating element 3 is disposed), an upper surface (the upper surface of plate 2 with fins 1 on it), and a thickness therebetween, wherein the lower surface contacts the heat-generating component (heating element 3 is on the lower surface as seen throughout figures 1-9); an inlet region at or near an inlet of the heat sink; an outlet region at or near an outlet of the heat sink (where flow as seen by airflow arrows 5a and 5b flow into or out of the heat sink as seen in figures 2-9), wherein fluid flows from the inlet to the outlet (along arrows for airflow at 5a and 5b); and a plurality of fins (fins 1) extending from the upper surface of the base (as seen in figures 1-10), wherein the plurality of fins include a first group of fins in the inlet region and a second group of fins in the outlet region (fins in a group closer to the inlet side of airflow 5a or 5b form the first group in the inlet region and fins in a group closer to the outlet side of airflow 5a or 5b form the second group in the outlet region); wherein the thickness of the base at the inlet region is different than the thickness of the base at the outlet region (as the difference is not further defined one region could be on the side of the heat sink with thickness h1, as seen in figure 1B, and the other could be on the side of the heat sink with thickness h2 as seen in figure 1B since the inlet side and outlet side can vary depending on how the airflow is connected to flow through the heat sink as seen throughout the figures 1-10 in the different embodiments), and wherein the first group of fins have a different height than the second group of fins (similarly the fins have a different heights on the side with thickness h1 from the side with thickness h2).
Regarding claim 15, Sato discloses the claim limitations of claim 14 above and Sato further discloses the thickness of the base at the inlet region is greater than the thickness of the base at the outlet region, and wherein the first group of fins are shorter than the second group of fins (when the first group of fins in the inlet region is on the side with thickness h2 and the second group of fins in the outlet region is on the side with thickness h1, as seen in figures 2B, 4B, 6B and 8B).
Regarding claim 16, Sato discloses the claim limitations of claim 15 above and Sato further discloses the thickness of the base tapers from the inlet region to the outlet region (as seen in figures 2B, 4B, 6B and 8B).
Regarding claim 17, Sato discloses the claim limitations of claim 15 above and Sato further discloses the thickness of the base tapers in a linear or stepped fashion (the plate has a gradually increasing slope from thickness h2 to h1 as seen in the figures and per Col. 5, line 5-23).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 18-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sato (US 6,533,028 B2) in view of Hoffmann (US 5,844,313).
Regarding claim 18, Sato discloses (figure 1-12) a device (limitations to the power inverter appear only in the preamble and are therefore not limiting to the claim) comprising: a heat sink having a base (plate 2) that includes a lower surface (the lower surface of plate 2 on which heating element 3 is disposed), an upper surface (the upper surface of plate 2 with fins 1 on it), a thickness therebetween, and a plurality of fins (fins 1) extending from the upper surface of the base (as seen in figures 1-10), wherein the heat sink includes an inlet region and an outlet region such that fluid flows across the heat sink from the inlet region to the outlet region (where flow as seen by airflow arrows 5a and 5b flows into or out of the heat sink as seen in figures 2-9), and wherein the heat sink has a width extending in a lateral direction (the Y direction as seen in figure 1A) and a length extending in a longitudinal direction perpendicular to the lateral direction (the X direction as seen in figure 1A); a heat-generating components contacting the lower surface of the base (heating element 3 is on the lower surface as seen throughout figures 1-9), wherein the heat-generating component is distributed along a first lateral side of the base (the side of the base with thickness h2 as seen in figure 1B), and wherein the base has a second lateral side (the side of the base with thickness h1, as seen in figure 1B); wherein the thickness of the base in the first lateral side is less than the thickness of the base in the second lateral side (as seen in figure 1B).
However, Sato is silent as to a plurality of heat generating components as Sato only explicitly discloses one heat generating element 3.
Hoffmann teaches (figure 1-4) a heat sink with a variable thickness base with fins (4)on a top surface (upper surface 6) and a heat generating component (at semiconductor element 8) on a lower surface (lower surface 10) where the heat generating component comprises a plurality of heat generating elements (8, where the heat sink be multiplied by the number of components to be cooled and directly attached to each other to form a heat sink for multiple components per Col. 5, line 1-14).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to have modified the heat sink of Sato to be extruded to be longer to accommodate more than one heat generating component as taught by Hoffmann. Doing so would provide a heat sink that could provide cooling to multiple heat generating components as recognized by Hoffmann (per Col. 5, line 1-14).
Regarding claim 19, Sato as modified discloses the claim limitations of claim 18 above and Sato further discloses the thickness of the base within the second lateral side tapers thinner toward the second lateral side (the plate has a gradually decreasing slope from thickness h1 to h2 as seen in the figures and per Col. 5, line 5-23).
Regarding claim 20, Sato as modified discloses the claim limitations of claim 18 above and Sato further discloses the plurality of fins within the first lateral side (the side with thickness h2) of the base are longer than the plurality of fins within the second lateral side of the base (the side with thickness h1 has shorter fins than on the first lateral side with thickness h2 as seen in figure 1A and 1B).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Inagaki et al. (US 20250198709 A1), Yamada et al. (US 20210335693 A1), Yamada et al. (US 20210084799 A1), Yu et al. (US 20210015005 A1), Tang-Kong (US 20180077817 A1), Natali (US 20150144319 A1), Taras et al. (US 20140332182 A1), Yu et al. (US 20060042787 A1), Nair et al. (US 20030131973 A1), Zhao et al. (US 7760509 B1), Tucker et al. (US 6295202 B1), Tracy et al. (US 5930115 A), Grabbe G. (US 4918571 A), and Lorenzetti et al. (US 4899210 A) all disclose heat dissipation structures with varying base thickness many which could potentially read on independent claim 1.
/HANS R WEILAND/Examiner, Art Unit 3763
/ERIC S RUPPERT/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3763