DETAILED ACTION
This action is in response to the application filed on 3/26/2025.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3 and 11-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Hirahara (US Patent 5920466). Regarding claims 1 and 14, Hirahara discloses (see fig. 5) a system comprising: a pulse width modulation controller (63) configured to control a first output voltage (output on 18) of a first power supply (8) associated with the system, wherein the first power supply is referenced to a first input ground associated with the system (see ground connection to 63) and the first output voltage is referenced to a first output ground associated with the system (see ground connection to 18); and a programmable device (40/41) configured to configured to control a second output voltage (output voltage of 12) of a second power supply (8 connected in parallel with 10) associated with the system, wherein the second power supply is referenced to a to a second output ground associated with the system (see ground connection to 8 which is connected in parallel with 10), wherein the programmable device is powered based on the first output voltage (18 connection to 40/41). Regarding claims 2 and 15, Hirahara discloses (see fig. 5) a first voltage regulator (63/7/6/14/16/24) comprising the pulse width modulation controller (63), wherein the pulse width modulation controller is referenced to the first input ground (ground connection to 63); and a second voltage regulator (10/63/7/6/9/11/22), wherein: the programmable device (40/41) is configured to generate and provide a drive signal to the second voltage regulator (output from 41 to 10) in association with controlling the second output voltage (operation of 10 controls the output at 12); and the second output voltage is based on the drive signal (drive signal to 10 controls the operation of 10, thus controlling the output at 12). Regarding claims 3 and 16, Hirahara discloses (see fig. 5) that the first output voltage at the first power supply (output of 18) is based on a first input voltage received at the first voltage regulator (output at 18 is based on 8 input to first voltage regulator); and the second output voltage at the second power supply (output at 12) is based on a second input voltage received at the second voltage regulator (output at 12 is based on 8 input to the second voltage regulator). Regarding claim 11, Hirahara discloses (see fig. 5) that a control device (10) configured to control one or more functions of the system (operation 10 enables output at 12), wherein the programmable device is comprised in a portion of the control device. Regarding claim 12, Hirahara discloses (see fig. 5) a transformer (see transformers in fig. 5) configured to: generate the first output voltage at a first winding of the transformer based on a first input voltage (output voltage at 14 based on 8); and generate the second output voltage at a second winding of the transformer based on a second input voltage (output voltage at 9 based on 8 that is in parallel with 10), wherein the first winding is galvanically isolated from the second winding (see isolation of 9 and 14). Regarding claim 13, Hirahara discloses (see fig. 5) an apparatus comprising: a pulse width modulation controller (63) configured to control a first output voltage (output on 18) of a first power supply (8), wherein the first power supply is referenced to a first input ground associated (see ground connection to 63) and the first output voltage is referenced to a first output ground (see ground connection to 18); and a programmable device (40/41) configured to configured to control a second output voltage (output voltage of 12) of a second power supply (8 connected in parallel with 10), wherein the second power supply is referenced to a to a second output ground (see ground connection to 8 which is connected in parallel with 10), wherein the programmable device is powered based on the first output voltage (18 connection to 40/41).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 9 and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hirahara (US Patent 5920466) in view of Orr (US Patent 7856566). Regarding claims 9 and 19, Hirahara does not disclose that the programmable device is configured to at least one of: generate or modify a first drive signal associated with controlling the first output voltage, based on a measurement associated with the first output voltage; generate or modify a second drive signal associated with controlling the second output voltage, based on a measurement associated with the second output voltage. Orr discloses (see fig. 2) that a programmable device (20) is configured to at least one of: generate or modify a first drive signal (output from 20 to control circuit 32) associated with controlling the first output voltage (operation of 32 controlling 28 to produce the output voltage is based on output from 20), based on a measurement associated with the first output voltage (20 receives a supply power from the output voltage) ; generate or modify a second drive signal associated with controlling the second output voltage, based on a measurement associated with the second output voltage. Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the system of Hirahara to include the features of Orr because it provides for a transient control means to prevent unwanted fluctuations in operation, thus increasing operational efficiencies.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4-8, 10, 17-18 and 20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure: Lee et al. (US Patent 6333862) discloses a switched mode power supply and controlling method thereof. Louvel et al. (US Patent 7532494) discloses a power supply unit with multiple output voltages. Suzuki et al. (US 2017/0003641) discloses a power supply device and image forming apparatus. Kasper et al. (US 2025/0158507) discloses a method and control circuit for operating a power converter.
/JEFFREY A GBLENDE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2838