DETAILED ACTION
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-16 and 18-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Filiz et al. (US 20150331517) in view of Kitada (US 20170371454).
As to claim 1, Filiz discloses a method comprising:
configuring an electronic apparatus (Fig. 1B) comprising (a) a housing (Fig. 1B, [0041] – [0042]),
(b) piezoelectric capacitors (Fig. 10, [0085]: top electrodes 9010 and the bottom electrodes 9012 about a piezoelectric element 9000, [0096]: As piezoelectric elements are generally dielectric in nature (e.g., they are not conductive), they may be utilized as a dielectric member for a capacitor. The touch sensor can use the piezoelectric element as one plane or part of a mutual-capacitance array to detect such touches or near-touch events. Therefore, “top electrodes 9010 and the bottom electrodes 9012 including piezoelectric element 9000” are interpreted as piezoelectric capacitors. Note that this piezoelectric capacitor structure in Filiz is the same as defiled in the originally filed specification (see Fig. 3, [0059])), and
(c) a host controller (Fig. 4(2010), [0052]: touch I/O device 1006 may be embodied as an integrated touch screen where touch sensitive components/devices are integral with display components/devices, [0059], [0067]),
the housing comprising a front face, a back face, and a side face extending between the front face and the back face, the side face having an outer surface which can be touched by a finger and an inner surface opposite the outer surface ([0053]: gesture (touch) may be performed by moving one or more fingers or other objects in a particular manner on touch I/O device 1006 such as tapping, pressing, rocking, scrubbing, twisting, changing orientation, pressing with varying pressure and the like at essentially the same time, contiguously, or consecutively),
the piezoelectric capacitors being mechanically coupled to the housing at the inner surface (Fig. 10, [0085], [0096]: force applied to the cover glass can be translated into strain on the piezoelectric element. Therefore, piezoelectric element including electrodes are under the cover glass. i.e. at the inner surface of the housing. Note: “top electrodes 9010 and the bottom electrodes 9012 including piezoelectric element 9000” are interpreted as piezoelectric capacitors, see explanation above);
configuring at least some of the piezoelectric capacitors into groups of piezoelectric force-measuring elements, each group corresponding to one of a plurality of virtual buttons ([0054]: virtual buttons, [0071]: user can directly interact with graphical objects that are displayed on the touch screen, [0085] – [0087]: piezoelectric elements can have different shapes as per design and can be configured as discrete pixels that may sense force at a particular location; Note: “piezoelectric elements’ are interpreted as “piezoelectric force-measuring elements”);
configuring the host controller, in communication with the piezoelectric force-measuring elements (Fig. 4, [0069] – [0070], [0085] – [0087]: piezoelectric elements can sense force at a particular location);
obtaining, by the host controller, force-localization features and force-resolution features of each of the groups of piezoelectric force-measuring elements ([0069]: cooperation between the touch and force modules allows multi-force discernment in some embodiments. For example, similar to multi-touch, a determination of a threshold amount of force in multiple locations on the surface may be interpreted as a particular user input different from a threshold force measured at a single location, [0070], [0085] – [0087]: piezoelectric elements can be configured as discrete pixels that may sense force at a particular location. Note: detecting force in a location is interpreted as “force-localization” and determining measured force is interpreted as “force-resolution”); and
determining, by the host controller, whether an event is a false-trigger event, using at least in part a model that has the force-localization features and the force-resolution features as inputs ([0075]: force measurement and/or sensed touch may be false).
Filiz does not expressly teach the false-trigger event comprises a deformation of the housing.
Kitada teaches the false-trigger event comprises a deformation of the housing ([0091]: If, due to a deformation of the operation surface, an invalid touch operation is determined, the user can rest the system by depressing the reset switch 2B. For example, the display may inform the user that an invalid touch operation has taken place and then the user can reset the system by depressing the reset switch 2B).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Filiz’s electronic apparatus by incorporating Kitada’s idea of determining false-trigger event due to the deformation of the housing in order to draw user’s attention.
As to claim 2, Filiz (as modified by Kitada) teach the method of claim 1, wherein:
the side face is elongate along a longitudinal direction perpendicular to a transverse direction, the transverse direction extending between the front face and the back face (Filiz: Fig. 1B); and
the groups of piezoelectric force-measuring elements are arrayed along the longitudinal direction (Filiz: Fig. 10, [0085] – [0087]: piezoelectric elements can sense force at a particular location, Note: “piezoelectric elements’ are interpreted as “piezoelectric force-measuring elements”, [0088]: piezoelectric elements (piezoelectric force-measuring elements) can have the form of electrically conductive strips oriented in a first direction (longitudinal direction), claim 14).
As to claim 3, Filiz (as modified by Kitada) teach the method of claim 2, wherein: for each of the groups, at least two of the piezoelectric force-measuring elements are arrayed along the longitudinal direction (Filiz: [0088]: piezoelectric elements (piezoelectric force-measuring elements) can have the form of electrically conductive strips oriented in a first direction (longitudinal direction), claim 14).
As to claim 4, Filiz (as modified by Kitada) teach the method of claim 2, wherein: for each of the groups, at least two of the piezoelectric force-measuring elements are arrayed along the transverse direction (Filiz: [0088]: piezoelectric elements (piezoelectric force-measuring elements) can have the form of electrically conductive strips oriented in a second direction (transverse direction), claim 14).
As to claim 5, Filiz (as modified by Kitada) teach the method of claim 2, wherein: for each of the groups, at least two of the piezoelectric force-measuring elements are arrayed along a diagonal direction between the longitudinal direction and the transverse direction (Filiz: [0080]: piezoelectric elements may be located at different positions within a display stack, [0088]: piezoelectric elements (piezoelectric force-measuring elements) can have the form of electrically conductive strips oriented in a first direction (longitudinal direction) and second direction (transverse direction). Therefore, it is obvious piezoelectric elements (piezoelectric force-measuring elements) can be arrayed along a diagonal direction between the longitudinal direction and the transverse direction, claim 14).
As to claim 6, Filiz teaches the method of claim 2, wherein: each of the groups of comprises four piezoelectric force-measuring elements ([0088]: multiple piezoelectric elements (piezoelectric force-measuring elements)).
Filiz does not explicitly teach for each of the groups, the four piezoelectric force-measuring elements are positioned in respective quadrants.
Kitada teaches for each of the groups, the four piezoelectric force-measuring elements are positioned in respective quadrants (Fig. 4, [0052]: the detection electrode 32 and the detection electrode 33 are formed so as to face each other in each region formed by dividing the main surface of the piezoelectric film 31 into several parts (e.g., four parts in the drawing shown)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Filiz’s electronic apparatus by adapting Kitada’s idea of four piezoelectric force-measuring elements are positioned in respective quadrants in order to simplify the device design.
As to claim 7, Filiz (as modified by Kitada) teach the method of claim 2, wherein: the deformation comprises a twisting of the housing about the longitudinal direction (Filiz: Fig. 6B, [0053]: twisting, [0090]: local deformation is a function of force translated through the cover glass and/or the display stack. That is, the display stack curves).
As to claim 8, Filiz (as modified by Kitada) teach the method of claim 2, wherein:the deformation comprises a bending of the housing along the longitudinal direction (Filiz: Fig. 6B: bending, [0090]: local deformation is a function of force translated through the cover glass and/or the display stack. That is, the display stack curves).
As to claim 9, Filiz (as modified by Kitada) do not specifically teach the method of claim 1, wherein the force-localization features comprise a sum of data obtained from two or more of the piezoelectric force-measuring elements of each of the groups of piezoelectric force-measuring elements. However, it is obvious for Filiz (as modified by Kitada) to design the force-localization features that comprise a sum of data obtained from two or more of the piezoelectric force-measuring elements of each of the groups of piezoelectric force-measuring elements for certain applications.
As to claim 10, Filiz (as modified by Kitada) do not explicitly teach the method of claim 1, wherein the force-resolution features comprise a difference among data obtained from two or more of the piezoelectric force-measuring elements of each of the groups of piezoelectric force-measuring elements. However, it is obvious for Filiz (as modified by Kitada) to design the force-resolution features that comprise a difference among data obtained from two or more of the piezoelectric force-measuring elements of each of the groups of piezoelectric force-measuring elements for certain applications.
As to claim 11, Filiz (as modified by Kitada) teach the method of claim 1, wherein: the electronic apparatus is a smartphone (Filiz: Fig. 1C, [0043]: smart phone); and the front face includes a flat panel display (Filiz: Fig. 1C(14), [0052]: touch I/O device 1006 may be embodied as an integrated touch screen where touch sensitive components/devices are integral with display components/devices, [0073]: touch I/O device 2012 is a touch screen, the touch screen can use LCD (liquid crystal display) technology, LPD (light emitting polymer display) technology, OLED, or OEL (organic electro luminescence)).
As to claim 12, Filiz (as modified by Kitada) teach the method of claim 11, wherein: the deformation comprises typing at the flat panel display (Filiz: [0053]: pressing, note that typing requires pressing, [0054]: virtual keyboard is for typing, [0093]: plate deformation-based algorithms to correlate a deflection map of the force-sensing surface to one or more force inputs).
As to claim 13, Filiz (as modified by Kitada) teach the method of claim 1, wherein: the deformation comprises a tapping at the housing (Filiz: [0053]: tapping, [0093]: plate deformation-based algorithms to correlate a deflection map of the force-sensing surface to one or more force inputs).
As to claim 14, Filiz (as modified by Kitada) teach the method of claim 1, wherein: the deformation comprises a pinching of the housing between the front face and the back face (Filiz: [0053]: pinching, [0093]: plate deformation-based algorithms to correlate a deflection map of the force-sensing surface to one or more force inputs).
As to claim 15, Filiz (as modified by Kitada) teach the method of claim 1, wherein: the deformation comprises a bending or twisting of the housing (Filiz: Fig. 6B: bending, [0053]: twisting, [0090]: local deformation is a function of force translated through the cover glass and/or the display stack. That is, the display stack curves, [0093]: plate deformation-based algorithms to correlate a deflection map of the force-sensing surface to one or more force inputs).
As to claim 16, Filiz (as modified by Kitada) teach the method of claim 1, wherein: the piezoelectric capacitors are mechanically coupled to the housing via an adhesive, the adhesive comprising double-sided tape, pressure sensitive adhesive (PSA), epoxy adhesive, or acrylic adhesive (Filiz: Fig. 6A, [0081]: a piezoelectric element 5022 is positioned within a display stack 5010 directly under the cover glass 5012. That is, the piezoelectric element 5022 is in front of the adhesive 5014. Therefore, it is obvious for Filiz’s piezoelectric capacitors (Fig. 10) are mechanically coupled to the housing via an adhesive).
As to claim 18, Filiz (as modified by Kitada) teach the method of claim 1, wherein the piezoelectric comprise one or more of aluminum nitride, scandium-doped aluminum nitride, polyvinylidene fluoride (PVDF), lead zirconate titanate (PZT), KxNaixNbO3 (KNN), quartz, zinc oxide, and lithium niobate (Filiz: [0099]: polyvinylidene fluoride (PVDF)).
As to claim 19, Filiz (as modified by Kitada) teach the method of claim 1 further comprising: determining, by the host controller, whether the event is a finger-touch event or a finger-press event at one or more of the virtual buttons, using at least in part the model that has the force-localization features and the force-resolution features as the inputs (Filiz: [0054]: virtual buttons, [0069]: cooperation between the touch and force modules allows multi-force discernment in some embodiments. For example, similar to multi-touch, a determination of a threshold amount of force in multiple locations on the surface may be interpreted as a particular user input different from a threshold force measured at a single location, [0070], [0085] – [0087]: piezoelectric elements can be configured as discrete pixels that may sense force at a particular location. Note: detecting force in a location is interpreted as “force-localization” and determining measured force is interpreted as “force-resolution”).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 17 and 20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/AFROZA CHOWDHURY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2628