DETAILED ACTION
This office action is responsive to the application filed 03/26/2025 which claims 1-20 have been presented for examination.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 03/26/2025 has been considered by the examiner.
Specification
The lengthy specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant’s cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
Claim Objections
Claims 9 and 13 are objected to because of the following informalities:
In claim 9, substitute “an access network device” – the access network device – (see line 3).
In claim 13, substitute “an access network device” – the access network device – (see line 4).
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "a second network element" which renders the claim indefinite because the claim fails to identify a “first network element”. Therefore, the introduction of “a second network element” without the recitation of “a first network element” creates ambiguity since there is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 3 recites the limitation "a second network element" which renders the claim indefinite because the claim fails to identify a “first network element”. Therefore, the introduction of “a second network element” without the recitation of “a first network element” creates ambiguity since there is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 6 recites the limitation "the third network element" in line 3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Furthermore, the recitation of “the third network element” renders the claim indefinite because the claim fails to identify a “first network element”. Therefore, the introduction of a “third network element” without the recitation of a “first network element” creates ambiguity since there is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 7 recites the limitation “one or more electronic tags”. It is unclear to the examiner whether the applicant is referring to the previously mentioned “at least one electronic tag” or a different electronic tag or tags. Appropriate clarification is required.
Claim 7 recites the limitation "a second network element" which renders the claim indefinite because the claim fails to identify a “first network element”. Therefore, the introduction of “a second network element” without the recitation of “a first network element” creates ambiguity since there is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 8 recites the limitations "a second network element" and “a third network element” which renders the claim indefinite because the claim fails to identify a “first network element”. Therefore, the introduction of a “second network element” and a “third network element” without the recitation of “a first network element” creates ambiguity since there is insufficient antecedent basis for these limitations in the claim.
Claim 9 recites the limitation "a second network element" which renders the claim indefinite because the claim fails to identify a “first network element”. Therefore, the introduction of “a second network element” without the recitation of “a first network element” creates ambiguity since there is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 10 recites the limitation "a second network element" which renders the claim indefinite because the claim fails to identify a “first network element”. Therefore, the introduction of “a second network element” without the recitation of “a first network element” creates ambiguity since there is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 11 recites the limitation "a second network element" which renders the claim indefinite because the claim fails to identify a “first network element”. Therefore, the introduction of “a second network element” without the recitation of “a first network element” creates ambiguity since there is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 12 recites the limitation "a second network element" which renders the claim indefinite because the claim fails to identify a “first network element”. Therefore, the introduction of “a second network element” without the recitation of “a first network element” creates ambiguity since there is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 13 recites the limitations "a second network element" and “a third network element” which renders the claim indefinite because the claim fails to identify a “first network element”. Therefore, the introduction of a “second network element” and a “third network element” without the recitation of “a first network element” creates ambiguity since there is insufficient antecedent basis for these limitations in the claim.
Claim 13 recites the limitation “one or more electronic tags”. It is unclear to the examiner whether the applicant is referring to the previously mentioned “at least one electronic tag” or a different electronic tag or tags. Appropriate clarification is required.
Claim 14 recites the limitation "a second network element" which renders the claim indefinite because the claim fails to identify a “first network element”. Therefore, the introduction of “a second network element” without the recitation of “a first network element” creates ambiguity since there is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 15 recites the limitations "a second network element" and “a third network element” which renders the claim indefinite because the claim fails to identify a “first network element”. Therefore, the introduction of a “second network element” and a “third network element” without the recitation of “a first network element” creates ambiguity since there is insufficient antecedent basis for these limitations in the claim.
Claim 16 recites the limitation "a third network element" which renders the claim indefinite because the claim fails to identify a “first network element”. Therefore, the introduction of “a third network element” without the recitation of “a first network element” creates ambiguity since there is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 16 recites the limitation "the access network device" in line 4. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 17 recites the limitation "a third network element" which renders the claim indefinite because the claim fails to identify a “first network element”. Therefore, the introduction of “a third network element” without the recitation of “a first network element” creates ambiguity since there is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 18 recites the limitation "a third network element" which renders the claim indefinite because the claim fails to identify a “first network element”. Therefore, the introduction of “a third network element” without the recitation of “a first network element” creates ambiguity since there is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 19 recites the limitation "a third network element" which renders the claim indefinite because the claim fails to identify a “first network element”. Therefore, the introduction of “a third network element” without the recitation of “a first network element” creates ambiguity since there is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 20 recites the limitation "a third network element" which renders the claim indefinite because the claim fails to identify a “first network element”. Therefore, the introduction of “a third network element” without the recitation of “a first network element” creates ambiguity since there is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claims 2, 4, and 5 are rejected to since they are dependent upon a rejected claim, and inherit the problems of that claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Zhu et al. (US 2023/0345243 A1) (hereinafter referred to as Zhu).
Re claims 1-2, 8-10, and 14, Zhu discloses an access network device (RAN), comprising a processor and a memory, wherein a computer program executable by the processor is stored on the memory, and the processor, when executing the computer program, causes the access network device to perform operations of:
receiving, from a network element, identification information of at least one electronic tag and/or an operation request for the at least one electronic tag; and
performing an operation on the at least one electronic tag;
wherein the operation request is used to obtain relevant information of the at least one electronic tag; and when performing the operation on the at least one electronic tag, the processor causes the access network device to:
obtain the relevant information of the at least one electronic tag,
wherein the relevant information comprises at least one of: the identification information, position information, status information, timestamp information added by the access network device, stored information, or information determined based on the stored information; and
wherein the processor further causes the access network device to: send, to the network element, the relevant information of the at least one electronic tag;
wherein the identification information comprises an electronic product code. (See figs. 4, 9A-9B; paragraphs 0238-0244 and 0248-0282)
In particular, Zhu discloses in the cited paragraphs, a RFID-H for obtaining an operation instruction from the AF, the RFID-H sends an operation instruction to the AMF, the AMF sends an operation instruction to the Uni-AGF, the Uni-AGF sends an operation instruction to the corresponding RFID-L, and the Uni-AGF routes the downlink LLRP message to the RFID-L corresponding to the RFID tag according to the stored correspondence (implicitly disclosing that the LLRP message includes the identifier of the RFID TAG, that is, disclosing that the terminal device receives the identification information of the at least one electronic tag), and the RFID-L executes the communication operation indicated by the operation instruction the tag device receives the tag trigger signal, where the tag trigger signal may be used to trigger the inventory process, and the latter is used to trigger the tag access procedure, and the tag trigger signal may be a Query command, Read command, Write command; the tag device accesses the core network through the RAN; the tag device may send a core network interaction message to the access mobility management network element; the tag device identifier includes an EPC; the communications apparatus includes various functional modules; a computer-readable storage medium: and a computer program product.
Re claims 4 and 11, Zhu further discloses wherein the operation request is used to request at least one of: writing information into the at least one electronic tag, deleting at least part of information in the at least one electronic tag, or modifying at least part of information in the at least one electronic tag; and when performing the operation on the at least one electronic tag, the processor causes the access network device to: write the information into the at least one electronic tag; delete the at least part of information in the at least one electronic tag; or modify the at least part of information in the at least one electronic tag. (See paragraphs 0238-0244 and 0248-0282)
Re claim 5 and 12, Zhu further discloses wherein the operation request comprises at least one of: information to be written, information to be deleted, information to be modified, modified information, a type of information to be written, a type of information to be deleted, a type of information to be modified, or a type of modified information; writing the information into the at least one electronic tag comprises: writing the information to be written and/or information corresponding to the type of information to be written into the at least one electronic tag; deleting the at least part of information in the at least one electronic tag comprises: deleting the information to be deleted and/or information corresponding to the type of information to be deleted in the at least one electronic tag; and modifying the at least part of information in the at least one electronic tag comprises: deleting the information to be modified and/or information corresponding to the type of information to be modified in the at least one electronic tag, and writing the modified information and/or information corresponding to the type of modified information into the at least one electronic tag. (See paragraphs 0238-0244 and 0248-0282)
Re claim 6, Zhu further discloses wherein the processor further causes the access network device to: send, to another network element, a response message, wherein the response message comprises the identification information of the at least one electronic tag and/or at least one of: indication information of success or failure in writing the information into the at least one electronic tag, indication information of success or failure in deleting the at least part of information in the at least one electronic tag, or indication information of success or failure in modifying the at least part of information in the at least one electronic tag. (See paragraphs 0238-0244 and 0248-0282)
Re claim 7, Zhu further discloses wherein before receiving, from the network element, the identification information of the at least one electronic tag and/or the operation request for the at least one electronic tag, the processor causes the access network device to: obtain identification information of the at least one electronic tag; and send, to the network element, the identification information of the at least one electronic tag. (See paragraphs 0238-0244 and 0248-0282)
Re claim 13, Zhu further discloses wherein before receiving, from the another network element, the identification information of the at least one electronic tag and/or the operation request for the at least one electronic tag, the processor causes the network element to: receive, from an access network device, an access network device identification, and identification information of the at least one electronic tag; and store the access network device identification, and the identification information of the at least one electronic tag. (See paragraphs 0238-0244 and 0248-0282)
Re claims 15-17, Zhu further discloses a network element, comprising a processor and a memory, wherein a computer program executable by the processor is stored on the memory, and the processor, when executing the computer program, causes the network element to perform operations of:
receiving, from an application function (AF) entity, identification information of at least one electronic tag and/or an operation request for the at least one electronic tag;
sending, to another network element, the operation request and/or the identification information of the at least one electronic tag;
wherein the operation request is used to obtain relevant information of the at least one electronic tag, and wherein the relevant information comprises at least one of: the identification information, position information, status information, timestamp information added by the access network device, stored information, or information determined based on the stored information;
wherein the processor further causes the network element to: receive, from an access network device, relevant information of the at least one electronic tag; and
send, to the AF entity, the relevant information of the at least one electronic tag. (See paragraphs 0238-0244 and 0248-0282)
In particular, Zhu discloses in the cited paragraphs, a RFID-H for obtaining an operation instruction from the AF, the RFID-H sends an operation instruction to the AMF, the AMF sends an operation instruction to the Uni-AGF, the Uni-AGF sends an operation instruction to the corresponding RFID-L, and the Uni-AGF routes the downlink LLRP message to the RFID-L corresponding to the RFID tag according to the stored correspondence (implicitly disclosing that the LLRP message includes the identifier of the RFID TAG, that is, disclosing that the terminal device receives the identification information of the at least one electronic tag), and the RFID-L executes the communication operation indicated by the operation instruction the tag device receives the tag trigger signal, where the tag trigger signal may be used to trigger the inventory process, and the latter is used to trigger the tag access procedure, and the tag trigger signal may be a Query command, Read command, Write command; the tag device accesses the core network through the RAN; the tag device may send a core network interaction message to the access mobility management network element; the tag device identifier includes an EPC; the communications apparatus includes various functional modules; a computer-readable storage medium: and a computer program product.
Re claims 18-20, Zhu further discloses wherein the operation request is used to request at least one of: writing information into the at least one electronic tag, deleting at least part of information in the at least one electronic tag, or modifying at least part of information in the at least one electronic tag;
wherein the operation request comprises at least one of: information to be written, information to be deleted, information to be modified, modified information, a type of information to be written, a type of information to be deleted, a type of information to be modified, or a type of modified information;
writing the information into the at least one electronic tag comprises: writing the information to be written and/or information corresponding to the type of information to be written into the at least one electronic tag;
deleting the at least part of information in the at least one electronic tag comprises: deleting the information to be deleted and/or information corresponding to the type of information to be deleted in the at least one electronic tag; and
modifying the at least part of information in the at least one electronic tag comprises: deleting the information to be modified and/or information corresponding to the type of information to be modified in the at least one electronic tag, and writing the modified information and/or information corresponding to the type of modified information into the at least one electronic tag;
wherein the processor further causes the network element to:
receive, from an access network device, a response message, wherein the response message comprises the identification information of the at least one electronic tag and/or at least one of: indication information of success or failure in writing the information into the at least one electronic tag, indication information of success or failure in deleting the at least part of information in the at least one electronic tag, or indication information of success or failure in modifying the at least part of information in the at least one electronic tag, and
send, to the AF entity, the response message. (See paragraphs 0238-0244 and 0248-0282)
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Asahina et al. (US 7,210,626); Pandey et al. (US 2022/0343088)
/APRIL A TAYLOR/Examiner, Art Unit 2876
/THIEN M LE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2876