DETAILED ACTION
Double Patenting
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being anticipated over claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 12,284,420.
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because at least one examined application claim is not patentable distinct from the reference claims(s) because the examined application claim is either anticipated by, or would have been obvious over, the reference claim(s).
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being anticipated over claims 1-18 of U.S. Patent No. 11,595,725.
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because at least one examined application claim is not patentable distinct from the reference claims(s) because the examined application claim is either anticipated by, or would have been obvious over, the reference claim(s).
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being obvious over claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 11,910,062 in view of Randell (US 2014/0040760).
Patent No. 11,910,062 discloses most of the claim except receiving device data indicating interactions of a user with a first set of media content, identifying genres associated with the first set of media content and selecting an icon.
Randell discloses receiving device data indicating interactions of a user with a first set of media content (user interaction is monitored and stored at a server; see at least paragraph 0034, identifying genres associated with the first set of media content (user data indicates content in specific category or interested genres; see at least paragraphs 0045 and 0060) and selecting an icon (see at least Fig. 5 and paragraph 0063).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Patent No. 11,910,062 by the teachings of Randell by having the above limitations so to be able to provide an entertainment content personalization system; see at least the Abstract.
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because at least one examined application claim is not patentable distinct from the reference claims(s) because the examined application claim is either anticipated by, or would have been obvious over, the reference claim(s).
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being obvious over claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 10,791,369 in view of Randell (US 2014/0040760).
Patent No. 10,791,369 discloses most of the claim except receiving device data indicating interactions of a user with a first set of media content, identifying genres associated with the first set of media content and selecting an icon.
Randell discloses receiving device data indicating interactions of a user with a first set of media content (user interaction is monitored and stored at a server; see at least paragraph 0034, identifying genres associated with the first set of media content (user data indicates content in specific category or interested genres; see at least paragraphs 0045 and 0060) and selecting an icon (see at least Fig. 5 and paragraph 0063).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Patent No. 10,791,369 by the teachings of Randell by having the above limitations so to be able to provide an entertainment content personalization system; see at least the Abstract.
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because at least one examined application claim is not patentable distinct from the reference claims(s) because the examined application claim is either anticipated by, or would have been obvious over, the reference claim(s).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 7-8, 11, 17-18 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Randell (US 2014/0040760).
Regarding claim 1, Randell discloses a method comprising:
receiving device data indicating interactions of a user with a first set of media content (user interaction is monitored and stored at a server; see at least paragraph 0034);
identifying genres associated with the first set of media content (user data indicates content in specific category or interested genres; see at least paragraphs 0045 and 0060);
generating, based on the received data indicating interactions of the user with the first set of media content, media content recommendations including a second set of media content corresponding to the genres (generating recommended\personalized content based on the user data wherein the user data indicate content in specific category or interested genres; see at least paragraphs 0045 and 0060);
providing the media content genre recommendations to a device, by the device displaying icons representing the second set of media content by genres calculated as relevant (user interface displays the recommended\personalized content; see at least Fig. 3 and paragraphs 0046 and 0049); and
displaying at least one of the second set of media content when a corresponding icon is selected (displaying the personalized content; see at least Fig. 5 and paragraph 0063).
Regarding claim 7, Randell discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the media content recommendations comprise one or more videos (see at least the rejection of claim 1).
Regarding claim 8, Randell discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the icons representing the second set of media content are displayed in a grid format (see at least Figs. 3-4).
Claim 11 is rejected on the same grounds as claim 1.
Claim 17 is rejected on the same grounds as claim 7.
Claim 18 is rejected on the same grounds as claim 8.
Claim 20 is rejected on the same grounds as claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2-6, 9-10, 12-16 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Randell in view of Hampson (US 9,703,838).
Regarding claim 2, Randell discloses the method of claim 1, and discloses the genres and the media content recommendation; as in the rejection of claim 1, but is not clear about generating a plurality of personas, each persona of the plurality of personas representing a character having a particular interest; and determining corresponding content for each persona, the corresponding media content for each persona comprising media content that shares a common theme corresponding to the particular interest of each persona of the plurality of personas, wherein the media content recommendations are based on the corresponding media content for each persona.
Hampson discloses the above missing limitation; recommendations are received from sending user personas and playlist of recommendations are generated based upon specified criteria and sending the recommendations to friends having similar interests; see at least col. 4, lines 16-53 and col. 12, lines 9-35.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Randell by the teachings of Hampson by having the above limitations so to be able to provide multi sender and source recommendation aggregation and prompting system; see at least the Abstract.
Regarding claim 3, Randell in view of Hampson disclose the method of claim 2, wherein determining the corresponding media content comprises determining most popular media content for a genre corresponding to the particular persona of the plurality of personas (the combination of Randell; see at least paragraphs 0013, 0033 and 0043 and the personas of Hampson; see at least the rejection of claim 2).
Regarding claim 4, Randell in view of Hampson disclose the method of claim 2, wherein determining the corresponding media content comprises determining most highly rated media content for a genre corresponding to the particular persona of the plurality of personas (the combination of Randell; see at least paragraphs 0013, 0033 and 0043 and the personas of Hampson; see at least the rejection of claim 2).
Regarding claim 5, Randell in view of Hampson disclose the method of claim 1, but is not clear about in response to receiving a selection of an icon representing a selected persona of a plurality of persona, causing display of icons representing media content recommendations generated for the selected persona.
Hampson discloses the above missing limitation; recommendation are generated and displayed when a user selects a persona’s icon; see at least Fig. 4 and col. 11, line 47-53 and col. 14, lines 1-5.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Randell by the teachings of Hampson by having the above limitations so to be able to provide multi sender and source recommendation aggregation and prompting system; see at least the Abstract.
Regarding claim 6, Randell in view of Hampson disclose the method of claim 2, wherein the at least some personas are generated based on the device data corresponding to the user (the combination of Randell’s device data; see at least the rejection of claim 2 and the personas of Hampson; see at least the rejection of claim 2).
Regarding claim 9, Randell in view of Hampson disclose the method of claim 2, wherein generating the plurality of personas comprises generating personas that provide media content recommendations for a general audience (personas of Hampson; see at least the rejection of claim 2).
Regarding claim 10, Randell in view of Hampson disclose the method of claim 2, wherein generating the plurality of personas comprises generating customized personas based on the device data (the combination of Randell’s device data; see at least the rejection of claim 2 and the personas of Hampson; see at least the rejection of claim 2).
Claim 12 is rejected on the same grounds as claim 2.
Claim 13 is rejected on the same grounds as claim 3.
Claim 14 is rejected on the same grounds as claim 4.
Claim 15 is rejected on the same grounds as claim 5.
Claim 16 is rejected on the same grounds as claim 6.
Claim 19 is rejected on the same grounds as claim 10.
Conclusion
/YASSIN ALATA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2426