DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4 and 6-13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Miyai et al (WO 2021/039692) (See Miyai et al. (US 2022/0259437) for citations).
Regarding claims 1-2 and 6, Miyai discloses a gas barrier coating composition (0019) comprising zirconium hydroxide, i.e. a metal hydroxide, (0020), zirconium oxide, i.e. metal oxide, (0014, 0020) and phosphoric acid (0023).
Regarding claims 3-4, Miyai discloses the gas barrier coating of claim 1, wherein given that Miyai discloses metal hydroxide, metal alkoxide is not required by Miyai.
Regarding claim 7, Miyai discloses the gas barrier coating of claim 1, wherein the phosphoric acid is polyphosphoric acid (0023).
Regarding claim 8, Miyai discloses gas barrier laminate (0034) comprising on a base material, a coating film including the gas barrier coating of claim 1 (0034) wherein the coating film is a reaction product produced by a reaction (abstract) of the metal hydroxide, metal oxide and phosphoric acid as explained above.
Regarding claims 9-11, Miyai discloses the gas barrier laminate of claim 8, wherein given that Miyai discloses the same gas barrier coating composition as claimed in present claims, it is clear that the gas barrier coating film of Miyai would inherently have the same properties as presently claimed.
Regarding claim 12, Miyai discloses the gas barrier laminate of claim 8, further comprising an anchor coat layer provided between the base material and the coating film (0034).
Regarding claim 13, Miyai discloses the gas barrier laminate of claim 8, wherein the base material comprises a biaxially stretched PET with a thickness of 12 microns (0036, 0046), the coating film in applied amount of between 0.05 to 2 g/m2 (0072) is formed on the base material and a non stretched PP film with a thickness of 50 microns is disposed on the coating film (0036) via adhesive layer (0079), the gas bas barrier laminate has an oxygen transmission rate is 25 cc/m2dayatm (at 40C and 90% RH) or less and a water vapor transmission rate of 5.5 g/m2day (at 40C, 90% RH) or less (0012).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Miyai et al (WO 2021/039692) in view of Suemastsu et al. (US 2019/0284389).
Regarding claim 5, Miyai discloses the gas barrier coating of claim 1 wherein gas barrier coating comprises flame retardant (0033) but Miyai does not disclose any specific type such as aluminum hydroxide.
Suemastsu discloses gas barrier material comprises flame retardant such as aluminum hydroxide (0082) to obtain flame retardant gas barrier coating (0081, 0082).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to use aluminum hydroxide of Suematsu in the flame retardant of Miyai to obtain flame retardant gas barrier coating.
Conclusion
/SAMIR SHAH/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1787