Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 7/28/2026 was filed after the mailing date of the application on 3/26/2025. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Response to Arguments
Applicants’ arguments, filed 9/28/2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1-17 under 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Ellis.
Double Patenting
Double Patenting
Claims 18 is rejected on the ground of non statutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 and 18 of U.S. Patent No. 12,267,409. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the limitations in each claim set relate to the same concept.
US Patent 12267409
19/091,166
An apparatus, comprising: a processor configured to:
generate a receiver modified block of data at least partially responsive to adding an error detecting code to a block of data, the receiver modified block of data including the error detecting code;
generate a receiver authentication code at least partially responsive to the receiver modified block of data; and
generate an indication of a difference between the receiver authentication code and a transmitter authentication code.
An apparatus, comprising: a processor to:
generate a receiver modified block of data including an error detecting code;
generate a receiver detection code based, at least in part, on the receiver modified block of data; and
generate an indication of a difference between the receiver authentication code and a transmitter authentication code.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Weaver (US Patent 5935268) in view of Ellis (US Patent Publication 2019/0050417) and in view of Naeimi (US Patent Pub. 20210211467).
As per claim 1 and 10: (Currently Amended) An apparatus, comprising:
a processor to: generate an error detecting code at least partially responsive to a plain text data (Col 3, lines 9-35; generate the modified data block. A second error detection code is calculated for the first data. For example, where the original data block is modified by the insertion of the first data into the original data block to generate the modified data block);
However, Weaver does not specifically disclose generate a transmitter modified block of data at least partially responsive to adding the error detecting code to a block of data that includes the cipher text data; the authenticated encrypted block of data excluding the error detecting code (See Ellis; claim 3-4; wherein storing the encrypted data further comprises adding an outer error detection code to the encrypted data and storing the combination of the outer error detection code and the encrypted data in the upper tier of the multi-tier storage system; wherein reading the combination of the outer error detection code and the encrypted data from the upper tier of the multi-tier storage system, removing the outer error detection code, and storing the encrypted data in the lower tier of the multi-tier storage system); and
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains, having the teachings of Weaver and Ellis in it’s entirety, to modify the technique of Weaver for generating an error detection code for a modified data packet by adopting Ellis's teaching for generate an inner error detection code. The motivation would have been to improve authenticated encryption algorithms.
Weaver in view of Ellis do not specifically disclose generate a cipher text data at least partially responsive to applying an encryption algorithm to the plain text data; generate an authentication code at least partially responsive to the transmitter modified block of data; generate an authenticated encrypted block of data at least partially responsive to the authentication code and a transmitter to transmit the authenticated encrypted block of data (See Naeimi; Paragraph 23; computing platform 200 can provide data for transmission and offload encryption of data to network interface 240 and also control which specific packets, that contain segments of data, are transmitted (or re-transmitted) by network interface 240. For example, data can be encrypted using TLS or other encryption scheme).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains, having the teachings of Weaver, Ellis and Naeimi in it’s entirety, to modify the technique of Weaver for generating an error detection code for a modified data packet by adopting Naeimi's teaching for cryptographic protocols providing security of communications made over a computer network. The motivation would have been to improve authenticated encryption algorithms.
As per claim 2 and 11: (Currently Amended) The apparatus of claim 1, wherein the processor is configured to perform a derivation function generate the error detecting code from the plain text data (See Weaver; Col 3, lines 9-35; generate the modified data block. A second error detection code is calculated for the first data. For example, where the original data block is modified by the insertion of the first data into the original data block to generate the modified data block).
As per claim 3 and 12: (Currently Amended) The apparatus of claim 1, wherein the process is configured to generate an authenticated encrypted block of data at least partially responsive to the block of data and the authentication code (See Naeimi; Paragraph 23; computing platform 200 can provide data for transmission and offload encryption of data to network interface 240 and also control which specific packets, that contain segments of data, are transmitted (or re-transmitted) by network interface 240. For example, data can be encrypted using TLS or other encryption scheme).
As per claim 4: (Original) The apparatus of claim 1, wherein the transmitted block of data includes the cipher text data (See Ellis; claim 3-4; wherein storing the encrypted data further comprises adding an outer error detection code to the encrypted data and storing the combination of the outer error detection code and the encrypted data in the upper tier of the multi-tier storage system; wherein reading the combination of the outer error detection code and the encrypted data from the upper tier of the multi-tier storage system, removing the outer error detection code, and storing the encrypted data in the lower tier of the multi-tier storage system).
As per claim 5 and 13: (Original) The apparatus of claim 1, wherein the transmitted block of data docs not include the error detecting code that was added to the block of data to generate the transmitter modified block of data (See Naeimi; Paragraph 23; computing platform 200 can provide data for transmission and offload encryption of data to network interface 240 and also control which specific packets, that contain segments of data, are transmitted (or re-transmitted) by network interface 240. For example, data can be encrypted using TLS or other encryption scheme).
As per claim 6 and 14: (Original) The apparatus of claim 1, wherein the authenticated encryption algorithm is AES-GCM (See Naeimi; Paragraph 43; In accordance with some embodiments, described herein, decryption circuitry 250 can perform TLS data-path offload of decryption and authentication in accordance with AES-GCM).
As per claim 7 and 15: (Original) The apparatus of claim 1, wherein the processor is provided at a communication system (See Naeimi; Paragraph 3; Various cryptographic protocols provide security of communications made over a computer network. Secure Sockets Layer (SSL) and Transport Layer Security (TLS) are examples of security protocols).
As per claim 8 and 16: (Original) The apparatus of claim 7, wherein the communication system is for a Compute Express Link (CXL) interconnect (See Naeimi; Paragraph 90; Compute Express Link (CXL)).
As per claim 9 and 17: (Original) The apparatus of claim 7, wherein the communication system is for a Peripheral Component Interconnect Express (PCIe) interconnect (See Naeimi; Paragraph 90; Peripheral Component Interconnect express).
Relevant Prior Art References
The following prior art is cited as being of interest to the claimed invention but has not been applied in any of the current rejections.
Peeters et al. - US Patent Pub. 2025/0117499 A1: The prior art teaches techniques for improving data encryption
Kim et al. - US Patent Pub. 2016/0180102 A1: The prior art teaches secure data management
Yuan et al. – US Patent Pub. 2013/0305061 A1: The prior art teaches data storage device and data protection by encrypting data
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Contact Information
/ANTHONY D BROWN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2433