DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant's claim for foreign priority based on an application filed in KR on 09/27/2022 and 10/28/2022.
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 03/26/2025 and 02/10/2026 have been considered by the examiner.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the features must be shown or the features canceled from the claims:
Claim 5 recites “The electronic device of claim 1, further comprising a connector disposed between a conductive dielectric and the first surface” but drawings do not show a conductive dielectric. Examiner thinks Applicant means the non-conductive dielectric 1221 in fig. 14 which has been recited in claim 1.
Claim 6 recites “the conductive portion is a conductive via provided on the other printed circuit board” but fig. 14 shows the conductive via C1 is provided in the other PCB 12311.
No new matter should be entered.
Specification
The specification is objected to as failing to provide proper antecedent basis for the claimed subject matter. See 37 CFR 1.75(d)(1) and MPEP § 608.01(o). Correction of the following is required:
Claim 5 recites “The electronic device of claim 1, further comprising a connector disposed between a conductive dielectric and the first surface” but the specification does not mention about this limitation.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 5-6, 9 and 12-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 5 recites the limitation " The electronic device of claim 1, further comprising a connector disposed between a conductive dielectric and the first surface, wherein the conductive dielectric comprises a conductive via included in the printed circuit board and a conductive portion included in the connector so as to be electrically connected to the conductive via, and wherein the conductive portion is in physical contact with the non-conductive dielectric" in lines 1-7 which renders the claim indefinite. It is not clear how the connector is disposed between the conductive dielectric and the first surface of the PCB but the conductive dielectric comprises parts that are in the PCB (below the first surface) and the connector. Moreover, it is not clear how the conductive via and the conductive portion relate to the conductive path recited in claim 1 because both the conductive portion and the conductive path are in physical contact with the non-conductive dielectric. For the purpose of examination, Examiner interprets the claim as best understood.
Claim 6 inherits the indefiniteness of claim 5 and is subsequently rejected.
Claim 9 recites the limitation " wherein the wireless communication circuit varies an electromagnetic signal provided to the antenna element and a phase of an electromagnetic signal provided to the conductive path" in lines 1-3 which renders the claim indefinite. It is not clear if these electromagnetic signals are same or different. For the purpose of examination, Examiner interprets the claim as best understood.
Claim 12 recites the limitation "The electronic device of claim 11, further comprising a matching circuit disposed in an electrical path between the conductive path and the other wireless communication circuit" in lines 1-3 which renders the claim indefinite. It is not clear if this electrical path is the same or different to the electrical path recited in claim 11 because they both disposed between the conductive path and the other wireless communication circuit. For the purpose of examination, Examiner interprets the claim as best understood.
Claim 13 recites the limitation "wherein, the portion of the non- conductive dielectric overlapping with the antenna element has a relatively greater thickness, when viewed from above the first surface" in lines 1-3 which renders the claim indefinite. There is insufficient antecedent basis for the limitation “the portion” in the claim. Furthermore, the term “relatively greater” is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “relatively greater” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. Moreover, it is not clear which component the thickness of the overlapping portion is being compared to. For the purpose of examination, Examiner interprets the claim as best understood.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-6, 8-10 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) & (a)(2) as being anticipated by Park et al, US-20210151853-A1 (hereinafter Park).
Regarding claim 1, Park discloses the following:
an electronic device comprising:
a wireless communication circuit (310, fig.5B);
an antenna structure (111b, 151a, 200, fig. 2B) including a printed circuit board (115a, 200 which are PCB, see para [0076]) electrically connected to the wireless communication circuit (310, para [0125]), wherein the printed circuit board includes a first surface, a second surface facing an opposite direction from the first surface (fig. 2B below), and an antenna element (111b) disposed on the first surface (fig. 2B) or disposed inside the printed circuit board closer to the first surface than the second surface;
a non-conductive dielectric (151b) facing the first surface and overlapping with the antenna element when viewed from above the first surface (fig. 2B); and
a conductive path (122b-1, 122b-2, 112b) at least a portion of which is disposed on the printed circuit board (115a, 200) and which is electrically connected to the wireless communication circuit (para [0106]: the conductive path 122b-1, 122b-2, 112b is configured to transmit/receive and RF signal and the wireless communication circuit 310 is connected to a wiring the PCB 200 to transmit or receive an RF signal, see para [0125], it is implied that the conductive path 122b-1, 122b-2, 112b is electrically connected to the wireless communication circuit 310),
wherein the conductive path (112b) is in physical contact with the non-conductive dielectric (151b, 152b).
Regarding claim 2, Park discloses wherein the conductive path (122b-1, 122b-2, 112b, fig. 2B) is physically separated from the antenna element (111b, para [0107]).
Regarding claim 3, Park discloses wherein the conductive path (122b-1, 122b-2, 112b, fig. 2B) penetrates an opening (through-holes, para [0107]) provided in the antenna element (111b).
Regarding claim 4, Park discloses wherein the conductive path (122b-1, 122b-2, 112b, fig. 2B) comprises a conductive via (122b-1, 122b-2) included in the printed circuit board.
Regarding claim 5, as best understood, Park discloses the electronic device of claim 1, further comprising a connector (152b, fig. 2B) disposed between a conductive dielectric (151b) and the first surface (fig. 2), wherein the conductive dielectric comprises a conductive via (122b-1, 122b-2) included in the printed circuit board (151a) and a conductive portion (122b-1, 122b-2, 112b) included in the connector (152b) so as to be electrically connected to the conductive via, and wherein the conductive portion (122b-1, 122b-2, 112b) is in physical contact with the non-conductive dielectric (151b).
Regarding claim 6, Park discloses wherein the connector (152b, fig. 2B) is another printed circuit board (see para [0076]), and the conductive portion is a conductive via (122b-1, 122b-2) provided on the other printed circuit board.
Regarding claim 8, Park discloses wherein the wireless communication circuit (310, fig. 5B) is disposed on the second surface (fig. 2B above, para [0125]: under 200).
Regarding claim 9, as best understood, Park discloses wherein the wireless communication circuit varies an electromagnetic signal provided to the antenna element and a phase of an electromagnetic signal provided to the conductive path (para [0125]).
Regarding claim 10, Park discloses wherein the printed circuit board further comprises a ground plane (204a, fig. 2B) disposed closer to the second surface than the antenna element (111b).
Regarding claim 13, as best understood, Park discloses wherein, the portion of the non- conductive dielectric (151b, fig. 2B) overlapping with the antenna element (111b) has a relatively greater thickness, when viewed from above the first surface (fig. 2B).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park as applied to claim 1 above in view of Han et al, US-20210151889-A1 (hereinafter Han).
Regarding claim 7, Park does not disclose wherein the printed circuit board further comprises another antenna element disposed closer to the first surface than the antenna element, and wherein the antenna element and the other antenna element overlap each other when viewed from above the first surface.
Han suggests wherein the printed circuit board (100a, para [0053]) further comprises another antenna element (116a-1, 116a-2, 117a-1, and 117a-2, fig. 1A) disposed closer to the first surface than the antenna element (111a-1, 111a-2, 112a-1, and 112a-2), and wherein the antenna element and the other antenna element overlap each other when viewed from above the first surface (fig. 1A).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide another antenna element as suggested in Han to the electronic device taught in Park as claimed for the purpose of broadening the bandwidth of the antenna in order to improve the antenna performance (Han, para [0095]).
Claims 11-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park as applied to claim 1 above in view of Li et al, US-20230083466-A1 (hereinafter Li).
Regarding claim 11, Park does not disclose the electronic device of claim 1, further comprising another wireless communication circuit and a switching circuit disposed in an electrical path between the conductive path and the other wireless communication circuit.
Li suggests the electronic device further comprising another wireless communication circuit (80, 36, fig. 6) and a switching circuit (78-1 to 78-6, para [0072]) disposed in an electrical path between the conductive path (42-1 to 42-6) and the other wireless communication circuit (80, 36).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide a switching circuit as suggested in Li to the electrical path of the electronic device taught in Park as claimed for the purpose of selecting which antenna element to feed signal to and providing different signals to different antenna elements simultaneously (Li, par [0072]).
Regarding claim 12, as best understood, Park does not disclose the electronic device of claim 11, further comprising a matching circuit disposed in an electrical path between the conductive path and the other wireless communication circuit.
Li suggests the electronic device further comprising a matching circuit (78-1 to 78-6, fig. 6, para [0072]) disposed in an electrical path between the conductive path (42-1 to 42-6) and the other wireless communication circuit (80, 36).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide a matching circuit as suggested in Li to the electrical path of the electronic device taught in Park as claimed for the purpose of matching the impedance between the conductive path and the antenna element (Li, par [0072]) in order to reduce the transmission loss to improve the antenna’s performance.
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park as applied to claim 1 above in view of Son et al, US-20200021016-A1 (hereinafter Son).
Regarding claim 14, Park does not disclose the electronic device of claim 1, further comprising a cover providing an outer surface of the electronic device, wherein the non-conductive dielectric is positioned between the first surface and the cover.
Son suggests the electronic device further comprising a cover (610, fig. 8) providing an outer surface of the electronic device, wherein the non-conductive dielectric (660) is positioned between the first surface (fig. 6: antenna element 651 and para [0096]: antenna element is disposed on the first surface of the PCB) and the cover (610).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide a cover as suggested in Son to the electronic device taught in Park as claimed for the purpose of protecting the components for external impact in order to maintain wireless communication.
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park as applied to claim 1 above in view of Sudo et al, US-20180219281-A1 (hereinafter Sudo).
Regarding claim 15, Park does not disclose wherein, the non-conductive dielectric is included in a housing that provides an appearance of the electronic device.
Sudo suggests wherein, the non-conductive dielectric (10, fig. 4A, para [0047]) is included in a housing that provides an appearance of the electronic device (fig. 5B).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include the non-conductive dielectric taught in Park to be included in the housing of the electronic device as suggested in Sudo for the purpose of reducing the thickness of the assembly and reducing the distance between the antenna element and the external environment in order to improve the signal strength of the antenna element to improve the wireless communication.
Citation of Pertinent Art
Yun et al, US-11276926-B2, fig. 6A could read on claim 1
Lee et al, US-20220158359-A1, fig. 3A could read on claim 1
Wang et al, WO-2014176868-A1, fig. 1 could read on claim 1
Conclusion
/DAMEON E LEVI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2845
/ANH HO/Examiner, Art Unit 2845