DETAILED ACTION
Summary
2. This office action for US Patent application 19/091,200 is responsive to communications filed on 07/15/2026, in response to the Non-Final Rejection of 04/15/2026. Currently, claims 1-20 are pending and are presented for examination.
Response to Arguments
3. In response to communication filed on 07/15/2026, the obviousness-type double patenting rejection with respect to claim 1 has been withdrawn in view of the arguments and remarks.
4. Applicant's Remarks see pages 5-8, filed on 07/15/2026, with respect to the amendment and argument have been fully considered, but they are not persuasive.
Applicant urges that Grabau does not explicitly discloses “a transceiver configured to receive any of a plurality of signals indicating a plurality of time periods for operation of the camera in the low power mode; a controller configured to receive a signal of the plurality of signals, the signal indicating a time period of the plurality of time periods, and exit and enter the low power mode based on the time period” as recited in claim 1 (see pages 6-7: Applicant’s remark). The examiner respectively disagrees.
Grabau expressly discloses a security sensor 140 including transceiver 152 and processor 143 (see Figs. 1-2, paragraphs 0030-0031). The processor 143 is the primary processor of the security sensor and can be placed in a deep-sleep state (see paragraphs 0041-0044). The processor periodically wakes from the low-energy state and checks the relay station 120 for requests/commands and processes received requests/commands (see paragraphs 0047-0048).
Grabau further discloses that the security relay station 120 stores sensor settings and, upon receiving a check-in signal from the sensor, relays an instruction to change the settings to the sensor. The processor 143 receives the instructions and instructs the microcontroller 145 to update the settings (see paragraphs 0034-0038). The transceiver 152 also receives incoming data 220 and provides the incoming data to the processor 143 (see paragraph 0065). Thus, Grabau expressly teaches receipt of remotely supplied data/instructions for changing operational settings of the security sensor.
Significantly, the operational settings and operating cycle include the sleep cycle. The reference states that the processor sleeps and awakes according to a schedule, with the sleep cycle including an active time and a sleep time (see paragraphs 0066-0069). The reference further expressly states that “the sleeping period of the cycle may be predetermined or dynamically set.” (see paragraph 0070).
Grabau additionally teaches that the frequency at which the security sensor checks in with the relay station may be fixed or dynamic and that the management engine may output updated sleeping cycles for the sensors (see paragraphs 0122-0125). Grabau provides an example in which the processor checks in with the security relay station every six seconds and, under changed conditions, increases the frequency to every three seconds (see paragraph 0126).
Accordingly, Grabau discloses remotely supplied instructions/settings, dynamically updated sleeping cycles, and different applicable time periods for operation of the processor. The absence of the exact phrase “signal indicating a time period” does not, by itself, avoid anticipation because identical terminology is not required. The relevant inquiry is whether the claimed subject matter is disclosed expressly or inherently in the reference. See MPEP §2131.
Finally, Grabau expressly teaches that the processor enters a sleep state and subsequently wakes based on the sleeping period (see paragraphs 0066-0075). In particular, the reference explains that the processor sleeps during the sleep portion of the cycle and that a sleep timer can be triggered based on expiration of the sleeping period (see paragraph 0069 and paragraph 0074). Responsive to the wake event, the processor 143 is placed in an awakened state (see paragraph 0075). Thus, the processor enters and exits the low-power state based on the applicable sleep period. Accordingly, the rejection under 35 U.S.C. §102 is maintained.
It is noted that the examiner has cited particular columns or paragraphs in thereferences applied to the claims in previous and current office actions for the convenience of the applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings of the art and are applied to specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply as well. It is respectfully requested from the applicant in preparing responses to fully consider the references in entirety as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as the text of the passage taught by the prior art or disclosed by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
7. Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Grabau et al. (US 2016/0132099A1) (hereinafter Grabau) (cited by IDS).
Regarding claim 1, Grabau discloses a camera (e.g. see Fig. 1, paragraphs 0042, 0045: security sensor/camera 140) comprising:
one or more components configured to be deactivated during operation of the camera in a low power mode (e.g., see Fig. 1, paragraphs 0042, 0044: a low-power mode; Fig. 5A, paragraphs 0063-0068: low-power method for capturing a set of image using camera; also see Fig. 9, paragraphs 0122-0129: a low-power processing device);
a transceiver configured to receive any of a plurality of signals indicating a plurality of time periods for operation of the camera in the low power mode (e.g., see Figs. 1-2, paragraphs 0008, 0010, 0034, 0036: a transceiver 152 coupled to the processor to send and receive data and coupled to the battery power supply to receive power; Fig. 5A, paragraphs 0052, 0067, 0068); and
a controller configured to receive a signal of the plurality of signals, the signal indicating a time period of the plurality of time periods, and exit and enter the low power mode based on the time period (e.g., see Figs. 1-2, paragraphs 0041, 0042, 0045: microcontroller 145 can monitor interrupts received by the sensors 150 while operating in a low-power mode; also see Fig. 5A, paragraphs 0046, 0048, 0063; also see Fig. 9, paragraphs 0122-0126: processor 124).
Regarding claim 2, Grabau discloses the camera of claim 1, wherein the plurality of time periods comprises a pre-determined time period and a time period coterminous with a sensed condition (e.g., see paragraphs 0044, 0087: period of time; Figs. 3A-3B, 0054-0060: various time period).
Regarding claim 3, Grabau discloses the camera of claim 2, wherein the pre-determined time period is within a range of 2 and 5 minutes (Figs. 3A-3B, 0054-0060: various time period; also see paragraphs 0044, 0087, 0129: period of time range).
Regarding claim 4, Grabau discloses the camera of claim 1, wherein the transceiver is configured to receive at least one signal of the plurality of signals from a base station (e.g. see 1-2, paragraphs 0034-0038: a transceiver 152 and security station).
Regarding claim 5, Grabau discloses the camera of claim 4, wherein the at least one signal indicates motion detected by a motion sensor (e.g., see Figs. 1-2, paragraphs 0036, 0045, 0091: motion sensor 150n).
Regarding claim 6, Grabau discloses the camera of claim 5, wherein the motion sensor is distinct from the base station and the camera (e.g. see 1-2, paragraphs 0034, 0036, 0045: security station 120, motion sensor 150n, and camera 148).
Regarding claim 7, Grabau discloses the camera of claim 1, wherein the one or more components comprise a wireless transceiver (e.g., see Figs. 1-2, paragraphs 0073, 0074, 0077: a wireless transceiver 152).
Regarding claim 8, Grabau discloses the camera of claim 7, wherein the one or more component comprise an image sensor (e.g., see Figs. 1-2, paragraphs 0045, 0052, 0063: camera/image sensor 148).
Regarding claim 9, this claim is a system claim of a camera version as applied to claim 1 above, wherein the system performs the same limitations cited in claim 1, the rejections of which are incorporated herein.
Regarding claim 10, it contains the limitations of claims 2 and 9, and is analyzed as previously discussed with respect to those claims.
Regarding claim 11, it contains the limitations of claims 3 and 10, and is analyzed as previously discussed with respect to those claims.
Regarding claim 12, it contains the limitations of claims 4 and 9, and is analyzed as previously discussed with respect to those claims.
Regarding claim 13, it contains the limitations of claims 5 and 9, and is analyzed as previously discussed with respect to those claims.
Regarding claim 14, it contains the limitations of claims 7 and 9, and is analyzed as previously discussed with respect to those claims.
Regarding claim 15, this claim is a method claim of a camera version as applied to claim 1 above, wherein the method performs the same limitations cited in claim 1, the rejections of which are incorporated herein.
Regarding claim 16, it contains the limitations of claims 3 and 11, and is analyzed as previously discussed with respect to those claims.
Regarding claim 17, it contains the limitations of claims 4 and 15, and is analyzed as previously discussed with respect to those claims.
Regarding claim 18, it contains the limitations of claims 5 and 17, and is analyzed as previously discussed with respect to those claims.
Regarding claim 19, it contains the limitations of claims 6 and 18, and is analyzed as previously discussed with respect to those claims.
Regarding claim 20, it contains the limitations of claims 7 and 15, and is analyzed as previously discussed with respect to those claims.
Conclusion
8. THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ON S MUNG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2486