DETAILED ACTION
This is in response to amended claims filed on 3/26/25, in which Claims 2-21 are presented for examination of which Claims 2, 11 and 19 are in independent form.
Claim Objections
Claim 9 recites “ for sending send a notification…” should it read “ for sending
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2, 11 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cohn et al. (Cohn; US 9412248 B1), in view of Haupt et al. (Haupt; US 20170059743 A1).
Regarding Claim 2, Cohn discloses a system (Abstract) comprising a controller (120, 510 of Fig 6A of Fig 5); and one or more storage devices on which are stored instructions that are operable (Figs 1, 2), when executed by the controller, to cause the controller to perform operations comprising:
accessing first data that was received from one or more sensors (Col 10 Lines 62-Col 11 Line 14 Sensors 530(1)-(N) can be installed at various points of entry for a building to detect when such a point of entry is reached, and can also include, for example, motion, smoke, and fire detectors) at a property that are physically connected with a hardwired connection to the controller (Col 10 Lines 62-Col 11 Line 14 sensors 530(1)-(N) can be hard wired to controller unit 510), each of the one or more sensors in a corresponding zone from a plurality of physical zones at the property (Col 11 Lines 1-14 Alarm processor 520 can be configured with zones each of which can include one or more sensors…providing information related to the type of security breach (e.g., identification of zone, fire or intrusion alarm, etc.));
accessing an identifier for a corresponding zone at the property for the sensor from which the first data was received (Col 14 Lines 46-56 SMA controller 120 receives a signal on keypad bus 590 from legacy security processor 520 (820). Such information can include, for example, an identifier of the sensor experiencing a state change in the protocol of the legacy security system. The SMA controller will interpret the received signal in light of the stored sensor and zone information related to the legacy security system's sensors (830). Such an interpretation can be performed, for example, by comparing the received legacy security system identifier with stored SMA controller identifiers for those sensors through an appropriate mapping), but doesn’t specify in response to accessing the identifier for the corresponding zone, selecting, using the identifier for the corresponding zone, settings for the corresponding zone.
In the same field of endeavor, Haupt discloses a remote location monitoring system, a home monitoring or weather monitoring system may include one or more sensors and receivers at a remote location such as a residence or business to be monitored. The sensors and receivers may communicate with a central server via a gateway device, and may be controlled by users locally or remotely via the server. Users may register to receive remote notifications of weather events and other home monitoring events. Users may also access remotely sensors and receivers to configure alerts, notifications, and automatic responses for the devices and integrated appliances at the remote location.
Haupt discloses in response to accessing the identifier for the corresponding zone, selecting, using the identifier for the corresponding zone, settings for the corresponding zone ([0054] In step 603, the server 101 may retrieve a set of detection parameters based on the location, detector type and/or data type information identified in step 602, and in step 604 a determination is made whether or not to notify users of the received detection reading… notification parameters may comprise a user identifier, a sensor identifier).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Cohn with Haupt using identifiers in order to provide clarity and efficient processing of desired data gathered from sensors at a remote location.
Regarding Claim 11, Cohn discloses a computer-implemented method (Abstract) comprising:
accessing, by a controller, first data that was received from one or more sensors at a property (Col 10 Lines 62-Col 11 Line 14 Sensors 530(1)-(N) can be installed at various points of entry for a building to detect when such a point of entry is reached, and can also include, for example, motion, smoke, and fire detectors) that are physically connected with a hardwired connection to the controller (Col 10 Lines 62-Col 11 Line 14 sensors 530(1)-(N) can be hard wired to controller unit 510), each of the one or more sensors in a corresponding zone from a plurality of physical zones at the property (Col 11 Lines 1-14 Alarm processor 520 can be configured with zones each of which can include one or more sensors…providing information related to the type of security breach (e.g., identification of zone, fire or intrusion alarm, etc.));
accessing an identifier for a corresponding zone at the property for the sensor from which the first data was received (Col 14 Lines 46-56 SMA controller 120 receives a signal on keypad bus 590 from legacy security processor 520 (820). Such information can include, for example, an identifier of the sensor experiencing a state change in the protocol of the legacy security system. The SMA controller will interpret the received signal in light of the stored sensor and zone information related to the legacy security system's sensors (830). Such an interpretation can be performed, for example, by comparing the received legacy security system identifier with stored SMA controller identifiers for those sensors through an appropriate mapping); but doesn’t specify in response to accessing the identifier for the corresponding zone, selecting, using the identifier for the corresponding zone, settings for the corresponding zone.
Haupt discloses in response to accessing the identifier for the corresponding zone, selecting, using the identifier for the corresponding zone, settings for the corresponding zone ([0054] In step 603, the server 101 may retrieve a set of detection parameters based on the location, detector type and/or data type information identified in step 602, and in step 604 a determination is made whether or not to notify users of the received detection reading… notification parameters may comprise a user identifier, a sensor identifier).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Cohn with Haupt using identifiers in order to provide clarity and efficient processing of desired data gathered from sensors at a remote location.
Regarding Claim 19, Cohn discloses a non-transitory computer storage medium encoded with instructions that, when executed by one or more computers, cause the one or more computers to perform operations (Abstract) comprising:
accessing, by a controller, first data that was received from one or more sensors (Col 10 Lines 62-Col 11 Line 14 Sensors 530(1)-(N) can be installed at various points of entry for a building to detect when such a point of entry is reached, and can also include, for example, motion, smoke, and fire detectors) at a property that are physically connected with a hardwired connection to the controller (Col 10 Lines 62-Col 11 Line 14 sensors 530(1)-(N) can be hard wired to controller unit 510), each of the one or more sensors in a corresponding zone from a plurality of physical zones at the property (Col 11 Lines 1-14 Alarm processor 520 can be configured with zones each of which can include one or more sensors…providing information related to the type of security breach (e.g., identification of zone, fire or intrusion alarm, etc.));
accessing an identifier for a corresponding zone at the property for the sensor from which the first data was received (Col 14 Lines 46-56 SMA controller 120 receives a signal on keypad bus 590 from legacy security processor 520 (820). Such information can include, for example, an identifier of the sensor experiencing a state change in the protocol of the legacy security system. The SMA controller will interpret the received signal in light of the stored sensor and zone information related to the legacy security system's sensors (830). Such an interpretation can be performed, for example, by comparing the received legacy security system identifier with stored SMA controller identifiers for those sensors through an appropriate mapping), but doesn’t specify in response to accessing the identifier for the corresponding zone, selecting, using the identifier for the corresponding zone, settings for the corresponding zone.
Haupt discloses in response to accessing the identifier for the corresponding zone, selecting, using the identifier for the corresponding zone, settings for the corresponding zone ([0054] In step 603, the server 101 may retrieve a set of detection parameters based on the location, detector type and/or data type information identified in step 602, and in step 604 a determination is made whether or not to notify users of the received detection reading… notification parameters may comprise a user identifier, a sensor identifier).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Cohn with Haupt using identifiers in order to provide clarity and efficient processing of desired data gathered from sensors at a remote location.
Claims 3, 12 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cohn and Haupt, further in view of Siegler, II et al. (Siegler; US 20110169637 A1).
Regarding Claim 3, 12 and 20, Cohn discloses the operations further comprise: requesting second data from the one or more sensors; using the second data to the selected settings for the corresponding zone; and using Alarm processor 520 can be configured with zones each of which can include one or more sensors…providing information related to the type of security breach (e.g., identification of zone, fire or intrusion alarm, etc.)), but doesn’t specify comparing the second data to the setting.
In the same field of endeavor, Siegler discloses a control system for a security system having a plurality of sensors includes a sensor communication device configured to communicatively couple to the plurality of sensors and to receive a plurality of sensor notifications from the plurality of sensors. Each sensor notification of the plurality of sensor notifications includes at least one of a detection type, a detection location, and a detection duration. The control system also includes a processor configured to receive the plurality of sensor notifications from the sensor communication device, associate a plurality of detection states with the plurality of sensor notifications such that at least one detection state of the plurality of detection states is entered upon receiving at least one combination of sensor notifications of the plurality of sensor notifications, and associate at least one detection response with each detection state of the plurality of detection states.
Siegler discloses comparing the second data to the setting ([0046] Processor 120 compares 312 a combination of the first sensor notification 208 and the second sensor notification 208 to a second detection condition 216 to determine if the second detection condition 216 is satisfied. Alternatively, processor 120 compares 312 only the second sensor notification 208 with the second detection condition 216).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Cohn with Siegler using a comparison in order to provide security systems and control panels that reduce false alarms while maintaining a high level of intrusion detection, as suggested by Siegler ([0004]).
Claims 4-8, 13-16 and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cohn and Haupt, further in view of Nalukurthy et al. (Nalukurthy; US 20170061783 A1).
Regarding Claim 4, 13 and 21, Cohn discloses a security panel (120 of Fig 6A) physically connected to the controller and at least some of the one or more sensors each of which are in a corresponding zone, the operations comprising: determining a location of the one or more sensors (Col 11 Lines 1-14 Alarm processor 520 can be configured with zones each of which can include one or more sensors…providing information related to the type of security breach (e.g., identification of zone, fire or intrusion alarm, etc.) that generated the first data and the corresponding zone of the one or more zones for the location (Col 14 Lines 46-56 comparing the received legacy security system identifier with stored SMA controller identifiers for those sensors through an appropriate mapping?); but doesn’t specify sending the identifier for the corresponding zone to the controller using the location.
In the same field of endeavor, Nalukurthy discloses a diagnostics and prediction system including a cloud system that continuously collects operating parameters from each of a number of environmental sensors and provides access to this data by a plurality of processing applications including a predictive modeling system including health prediction system, a sensor false alarm prediction system, a zone false alarm prediction system and a reporting system, a system that diagnoses and predicts environmental hazardous areas and clusters areas based upon concentrations of CO in the site or building; and a battery prediction system that predicts a battery life for the sensor.
Nalukurthy discloses sending the identifier for the corresponding zone to the controller using the location ([0022] an alarm processor responds to the status processor entering the armed state by monitoring the sensors. Upon detecting activation of one of the sensors, the alarm processor may compose an alarm message for transmission to the central monitoring station. The alarm message may include an identifier of the security system (e.g., an account number, an address, etc.), an identifier of any activated sensors, an identifier of the type of sensor, a location of the sensor within the secured area and a time).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Cohn with Nalukurthy using an identifier for the zone in order to provide security systems that reduce false alarms and reduce the cost, effort and time of the maintenance as suggested by Nalukurthy ([0035], [0039]).
4>Regarding Claim 5, Cohn discloses one or more physical ports in the controller and at least some of which physically connect directly to a corresponding first sensor (Col 10 Lines 62-Col 11 Line 14 sensors 530(1)-(N) can be hard wired to controller unit 510) in the plurality of physical zones at the property (Col 11 Lines 1-14 Alarm processor 520 can be configured with zones each of which can include one or more sensors…providing information related to the type of security breach (e.g., identification of zone, fire or intrusion alarm, etc.)); and one or more wireless ports in the controller and at least some of which wirelessly couple to a corresponding second sensor in the plurality of physical zones at the property (130 of Fig 1 RF sensors; Col 1 Lines 44-57 legacy security system includes a controller connected by wireless or wired connections to sensors deployed at various locations throughout the secured dwelling).
Regarding Claims 6 and 14, Nalukurthy discloses operations comprising maintaining, for each of the plurality of physical zones, a corresponding setting that identifies a different alarm signal ([0022] alarm message may include an identifier of the security system (e.g., an account number, an address, etc.), an identifier of any activated sensors, an identifier of the type of sensor, a location of the sensor within the secured area and a time [since the alarm message contains each of the different sensor identifiers each alarm message is different]).
6>Regarding Claims 7 and 15, Nalukurthy discloses operations comprising determining, using a plurality of settings that include the setting, a first alarm signal for the corresponding zone that is a different alarm signal than if a different identifier for a different zone were used ([0022] alarm message may include an identifier of the security system (e.g., an account number, an address, etc.), an identifier of any activated sensors, an identifier of the type of sensor, a location of the sensor within the secured area and a time [since the alarm message contains each of the different sensor identifiers each alarm message is different]).
6>Regarding Claims 8 and 16, Cohn discloses operations comprising: receiving, from a security panel that is separate from the controller (510 of Fig 6A), the first data that includes a first alarm signal SMA controller 120 receives a signal on keypad bus 590 from legacy security processor 520 (820). Such information can include, for example, an identifier of the sensor experiencing a state change in the protocol of the legacy security system. The SMA controller will interpret the received signal in light of the stored sensor and zone information related to the legacy security system's sensors (830). Such an interpretation can be performed, for example, by comparing the received legacy security system identifier with stored SMA controller identifiers for those sensors through an appropriate mapping; Col 6 Lines 25-30 Server 165 can determine a correct central station to contact based upon user account settings associated with the transmitting SMA controller. Thus, alarms can be routed to different central stations based upon user accounts; Col 10 Lines 58-60 Configurability of SMA controller 120 is also driven by user determined actions and reactions to sensor stimulus).
Nalukurthy teaches a first alarm signal that is a different alarm signal than if a second alarm signal for a different zone ([0022] alarm message may include an identifier of the security system (e.g., an account number, an address, etc.), an identifier of any activated sensors, an identifier of the type of sensor, a location of the sensor within the secured area and a time [since the alarm message contains each of the different sensor identifiers, at each location, each alarm message is different]).
Claims 9 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cohn and Haupt, further in view of Gagvani et al. (Gagvani; US 20090022362).
Regarding Claim 9 and 17, Cohn discloses operations comprising maintaining, for each of the plurality of physical zones, Alarm processor 520 can be configured with zones each of which can include one or more sensors…providing information related to the type of security breach (e.g., identification of zone, fire or intrusion alarm, etc.), but doesn’t specify different preference for different zones to a client device associated with the property.
In the same field of endeavor, Gagvani discloses a method for verification of alarms. The method involves receiving an alarm signal trigger associated with an alarm signal, receiving video data from a premise associated with the alarm signal, rapidly analyzing the video data to test for the existence a significant event, and when a significant event exists, sending a representation of a segment of interest of the video data, the segment of interest being associated with the significant event, to a user.
Gagvani discloses different preference for different zones ([0046] User profiles can be used to create different alert parameters and behaviors for different zones) to a client device associated with the property ([0042]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Cohn with Gagvani using different preferences in order to provide a security system that can efficiently verify alarm conditions before alerting a user and save on costs, as suggested by Gagvani ([0004], [0006]).
Claims 10 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cohn and Haupt, further in view of Hicks, III (Hicks; US 20130120131 A1).
Regarding Claim 10 and 18, Cohn discloses operations further comprising receiving, from
In the same field of endeavor, Hicks discloses alarms in security systems. Sensor data is received from an alarm sensor, and an alarm condition is determined by an alarm controller. Video data associated with the alarm sensor is retrieved. An alarm message is sent over a wireless network connection, while the video data is send over a wireline broadband connection.
Hicks discloses a mobile device used to arm a property through a backend system ([0109] the customer puts the system into an "armed" state via a wireless keypad, Wi-Fi Touch Pad, Mobile Device or PC, the client-side security application 152 monitors the status of wired and/or wireless sensors, such as window contacts, door contacts, motion detectors, glass breakage and smoke/CO detector).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Cohn with Hicks using a mobile device to are the system in order to provide convenience for a user in a remote location to arm the settings.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
a. Elliot et al. (Elliot; US 20150123783 A1) teaches providing, by the hub device and to a backend system (820 of Fig 2; [0023] middleware server; 3 of Fig 1) using a network (internet) other than the plain old telephone system, the alarm signal ([0023] the alarm panel may convert a POTS signal to an IP signal using a VoIP technique or other conversion technique 820 such as disclosed in the present application or applicant's previous applications incorporated by reference. This converted IP signal may then be sent to the middleware server) to cause the backend system to provide data for the alarm signal to the central monitoring system.
/MARK S RUSHING/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2689